Trailers to Cape York

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 12:15
ThreadID: 18026 Views:3839 Replies:6 FollowUps:14
Hi all, we are new to four wheel driving but with one trip under our belt along the Oodnadatta track are new hooked. Am hoping more experienced members out there can answer some questions. We (me, wife, 2 kids) are planning to go to Cape York around July next year and are seeking advice wether to take a trailer or not. We always seem to have a heap of stuff eg the landcruiser is completely full just after a trip to woolworths (those kids can really eat). So am not sure if it is best to load the car right up or put it all in a trailer as per last trip. But are the conditons in the Cape not good for towing trailers?

Also any advice concerning vehicle modifications/tyres etc would be great. The landcruiser is pretty standard sydney north shore shopping trolly, auto petrol, about 4yrold with 90K. (now know should have bought manual diesel) I have no mechanical knowlege or ability (but am learning slowly) so any tips are greatly appreciated. Wife has just proof read this post and said looks ok but leave out the word "mechanical" in the previous sentence. Thanks for your help

Reply By: flappan - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 12:34

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 12:34
A good quality offroad trailer or Campertrailer can be taken to the Cape. Many do it.

There would be no way known a garden variaty trailer should be taken there.

Its probably not the place to be learning to tow a trailer offroad , but , you could take the Bypass Route all the way , and only have to worry about corrigations.

In my view , loading a vehicle up to the roof (not necessarily overloaded) , is worse then trying to tow a trailer.

As for mods. No need to go overboard , but for that type of trip , Good Suspension and Tyres are vital.

Along with all the usual recovery gear (which you should have/get anyway).
AnswerID: 85524

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 14:13

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 14:13
Spot on......

We just did a trip up there with 3 vehicles all towing a trailer. No real problems except for suspension on Prado, shocker bolt fell off Trak Shak, my exhaust clamp broke and my radiator fractured (both the latter were after market mods which weren't up to the job....standard stuff would've been okay in all liklihood.

Trailer MUST MUST MUST be an off road type, preferably with matching wheels to tow vehicle. Tyres must be A/T at least (or M/T better) of the light truck variety. Best to carry a couple of spare tyres, although on our trip, we had 18 tyres on the ground and not one problem. Tyre pressures are very important....lower them as soon as you hit the rough stuff.

Lots of other advice, but you'll pick that up as you edge closer to departure.

Cya mate
FollowupID: 344069

Follow Up By: mikeE - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 10:01

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 10:01
Thanks for your help flappan. We will take a trailer and see how we go. Last time hired one from Complete Campsite at Gosford and seemed really good. Have started getting the recovery gear, nothing like Xmas as an excuse for buying some toys for yourself. Will do a weekend with a fwd club to learn how to use it.
Thanks again mikeE
FollowupID: 346976

Reply By: beatit - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 12:52

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 12:52
Hi Mike,

Don't be too concerned about taking a trailer just make sure its a good off road one AND make sure you know how heavy it is when loaded (trust me the little things add up) THEN make sure you know the load ratings of your axle and springs. We have done most of the tracks with a trailer without a problem but learned the hard way that it is easier to know what weight you're dealing with prior to the "big one" then along the track.

Kind regards and have a good trip.
AnswerID: 85526

Follow Up By: mikeE - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 10:04

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 10:04
Hi Beatit
Thanks for the advice. Am pleased that the overall response was to take the trailer as reckon will be less likely to break something on the fwd and will have a bit more room.
Thanks Mike
FollowupID: 346978

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 13:03

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 13:03
I agree totally with Flappan. I recently led a convoy of 6 vehicles (3xGUs, 2xDisco, 1xRodeo) to Cape York and 3 of them towed trailers (1xKanga, 1xCavalier, 1xT-Van). No major problems from either vehicles or trailers and we did the southern (bypassing gunshot via Heathlands) part of the OTL. However, we bypassed the northern part (after visiting Elliot and FruitBat Falls) not only because of the trailers but other vehicles also had clearance problems.
So by all means take your trailer but if you intend driving the full length of the OTL park it somewhere and come back for it. You should also lift your vehicle at least 50mm and if you have the hooch - invest in a front locker (assuming you have an LSD rear). Another good investment would be dual batteries expecially if you intend bush camping, which from my viewpoint is much better than the commercial facilities.
It is definitely a great trip but you need time - my first run I did alone in 3 weeks (from Canberra) the second in 4 weeks - the next time I will take 6 months and investigate all those tempting side roads.
Just do it.

Pete
AnswerID: 85528

Follow Up By: beatit - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 14:31

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 14:31
Totally agree on the vehicle mods (+fridge and tinnie if the budget allows). Not sure that 4 weeks is enough though our last trip was with 5 vehicles (all with various trailers) for 2 months and still ran out of time to see Pomperaw and Kowinjama. We did do the whole OTT (except gushot). Mike, depending on your time, try to fit in camping at Punsand Bay, Verilya point (no fresh water), Cape Melville (need a long range tank for this one), Port Stewart, Chilli Beach as well as the old vehicle crossing on the Jardine and the falls mentioned above. We'll be going back trailers and all in 2006 for an extended camp at Cape Melville.

We had to camp with all 5 trailer at various bush camps along the OTT and did not have any problems regarding space or turning.

By the way my Patrol is an auto petrol and I can asure you that yours not being a manual is not a disadvantage.

FollowupID: 344073

Follow Up By: flappan - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 14:58

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 14:58
Any idea on your fuel use, and fuel availablity in general.

Mine is also a Petrol patrol.
FollowupID: 344078

Follow Up By: beatit - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 15:22

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 15:22
Hi Flappan,

Been working on 3.2 Km/ltr when off roading (Including soft sand) and towing my trailer (1400Kg fully loaded including tinnie). Decided to install a long ranger tank for 185 litres overall which is about a 600 km range - on some trips still require a couple of jerries. I found that the road houses and major towns were close enough except for Chilli beach where we had to divert to the neighbouring aboriginal community for fuel ( actually crossed paths with a fuel tanker on its way out - anyone seeing this guy drive his truck would have had no concerns about taking their trailer!). On the Chilli Beach leg we last fueled at the Jardine River (I heard this may now not be functioning?). You may need to take extra fuel if planning to go to Cape Melville if you plan to do much driving there, closest fuel is Mulgrave and Cooktown. Hope this helps.

FollowupID: 344085

Follow Up By: locallaw - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 21:33

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 21:33
Gidday Beatit,Just noticed you said that Verilya Point had no water.Last time I was there there was a fresh water spring at the high tide mark,plenty of water.Also you missed nothing at Pormpuraw.They charge $35.00 per night and all you get is a cold shower and a filthy toilet that has to be cleaned before you can use it.You are limited to a carton of light beer.Yet the locals were seen blind drunk carrying six packs of heavy.The fishing was terrific and the mudcrabs hugh.
Seeya Locallaw
FollowupID: 344136

Follow Up By: beatit - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 08:54

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 08:54
Hi Locallaw,

Want to go back to Verilya Point one day - great fishing. We got our water from Crystal Creek on the way in but will look for the spring in the the futute - thanks. Pormpuraw souinds like some of the boat ramps I've been to except it has great fishing, I could still be tempted to have a look just won't show this post to the bride.

FollowupID: 344184

Follow Up By: mikeE - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 10:15

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 10:15
Dear patrol22
sounds like yoy had a great trip. Thanks for the advice. Now that have decided to take a trailer will get the suspension sorted as appropriate. Planning on getting the lift done and have installed dual batteries. Plan is to do a fair bit of bush camping and so am relieved that have decided to take the trailer as much easier to carry water and xtra fuel as opposed to inside (or roof) of the car. Probably only have about 4 weeks for this trip but six months sounds much better.
Thanks Mike
FollowupID: 346980

Reply By: DARREN - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 13:06

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 13:06
Hi Mike,

I took a trailer up there last year and it was my first big trip as driver, it was well built with eye to eye leaf springs and had no problems at all. We saw quite a few broken ones along the way but honestly I would not tow some of them to the (rubbish) tip. I think the definition of off road traler varies a lot so make sure you get a decent one if you have not yet purchased.

Darren
AnswerID: 85529

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 15:50

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 15:50
You should also add Darren that you did the entire length of the OTL without any dramas. Bypass roads are probably worse due to the amount of corrugations.
I don't think a lift is absolutely necessary on the Cruiser as my ol' Rodeo made it up and back. Even crossed the Pascoe R.

Leroy
FollowupID: 344092

Follow Up By: mikeE - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 10:19

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 10:19
Hi Darren
Thanks for the advice hopefully will have as good a trip as you did. However we always expect a few dramas, when camping the kids usually refer to me as "The Master of Disaster".
FollowupID: 346982

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 17:11

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 17:11
Mike we take many trailers on our tag alongs as long as they are good quality off road types.
As per modifications the majority of 4wds that come away with us are stock standard.

www.capeyorkconnections.com.au
AnswerID: 85568

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 21:48

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 21:48

Stock standard rig and tough off road trailer ... you'll have no probs. Most likely bits to break are after market changes or add-ons ... funny that.

Don't bypass any of the OTL except possibly Gunshot.

Great trip.

AnswerID: 85619

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 06:32

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 06:32
How are you rosco
On my second trip the old gunshot was a shocker.
We took the by pass around it and came back and had a look.

FollowupID: 344168

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 08:23

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 08:23
G'day Eric

Lucky bastard ... mongrel of a job hey?? But I guess someone's gotta do it.

So Gunshot's deteriorated even further. I suppose there's still a few tossers who insist on having a go though?

See ya mate
FollowupID: 344177

Follow Up By: mikeE - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 10:22

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 10:22
Rosco
Thanks for the feedback. Will check the trailer out well before we go and hopefully will be ok. Your right though, Erics job does sound like a shocker.
FollowupID: 346983