Fuel prices

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 10:44
ThreadID: 18056 Views:2523 Replies:15 FollowUps:22
OK folks, how much longer are we going to put up with these crazy fuel prices.

I was watching a news broadcast about a week ago and at the time the price of crude had just slipped under $50US a barrell, and a reporter was asking a spokesman for the fuel companies "when can we expect to see prices come down at the bowser". The reply was "it could take a couple of weeks before the consumer sees the prices drop at the bowser. This is because we have bought all this crude at the higher prices and we have to use it up before buying the cheaper supplies and then the prices will come down"

My question is this.

Why is it that when the price of crude goes up, we instantly see a rise in prices at the bowser ?

Surely the fuel companies have stock of crude bought at a lower price and are just taking advantage of the price going up, so that they acan rip us the consumers off.

Why dont they apply the same thinking as in the reply to the reporter. If they did, the price should not go up until the stock of cheaper crude is used up and then apply the price increase when they obtain stock of the higher priced crude.

It seem to me that they are getting it both ways so that they can maximise their profit (and the Government gets more taxs) and we the poor motorists are the ones who pay throught the nose.

I have not seen any price drop at any of the bowsers in my area.

How about you.

Reply By: Matt14 - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 12:05

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 12:05
Cruiser

Unfortunately oil companies dont need to drop the price as the consumers are still willing to pay at the higher prices. If the demand for fuel fell as the price rose as it does with most other goods then fuel companies would drop prices as soon as the cost of production fell. You may not like it but it is us who allow this to happen by ignoring the basics of supply and demand economic theory! The only solution is that when the prices rise above what you think is fair, you should park the beast in the shed and get the treddly out. until the price falls!!

sorry this isnt good news!!!
AnswerID: 85688

Follow Up By: cruiser - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 12:18

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 12:18
Matt14.

I am fully aware of what you say and do not disagree at all. But we have just seen a samll bit of success with "people power" here in NSW with the fare frre Monday on the rail system, and that all started with 1 person like me who said "enough is enough" and maybe, just maybe, we should start thinking along the same lines and unite in some way to try to stop it happening so much. As you said "is us who allow this to happen by ignoring the basics of supply and demand economic theory"

Just a thought. The revolt has to start somewhere. who knows, it might just be with you and I, although I seriously doubt it, because we will all just continue to follow along like sheep.

And another example of how we are being ripped off, is why is diesel more expensive that unleaded. it only goes through half the refining process as unleaded and is in fact a by product of the refinery process to get unleaded.

Thats my 2 bobs worth, and I will sign off with a big

"Baa Baa"
FollowupID: 344216

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 15:08

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 15:08
The main reason diesel is dearer is that most of it used by people & companies that MUST use it! Trucks, buses, earthmoving equipment etc etc. They can't say, "oh, we'll put of our trip", or "we won't visit grannie this weekend".
They have no choice but to grin & bear it.

My question is: "why are ALL governments too weak to take on the oil companies, or for that matter .... banks"?

Yesterday I saw diesel 12c dearer than unleaded.
FollowupID: 344253

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 15:11

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 15:11
.......... and furthermore, as oil prices are based on the US Greenback, why don't they take into account the rising Aussie Dollar?
FollowupID: 344255

Follow Up By: Terry - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 18:43

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 18:43
Because if governments both state and federal threaten the oil companies,the oil companies can just say ok we`ll just pull our multi billion dollar refinery out of your state and move it elsewhere possibly overseas and we`ll leave you to sign the dole cheques for those left behind.
FollowupID: 344286

Reply By: Schevchenko - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 12:41

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 12:41
there is not much wrong with the fuel prices in Brisbane - so I'm not complaining. It is already near the cheapest in the first world. I usually fill up under 90c/L. Let us weep for our brothers in Europe who are paying 3x.
AnswerID: 85694

Follow Up By: cruiser - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:01

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:01
I know prices are 3x ours in Europe, but we are not in Europe are we.

The only reason your prices are cheaper in Qld are less Gov taxs and good luck to you. Wish it was the same in NSW and other states, but the reality of it is the majority of the population suffers from higher state taxs than Qld.

My original point is:

Why do we see an instant rise in prices at the bowser when crude goes up, but not an instant decrease in price at the bowser when the price of crude falls.

Simple question, obviously a complicated answer because I have never heard anyone give a satisfactory answer.

FollowupID: 344221

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 15:38

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 15:38
yer!!! You guys have your fuel subsidised by your lovely government. everyone knows when driving up the Newell, just to buy enough fuel to get you to QLD where its about 15c/l cheaper than NSW and Vic.

FollowupID: 344259

Follow Up By: Schevchenko - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 23:41

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 23:41
Cruiser - get yourself a big fuel tank, get to know the cycles of pricing, and only fill at the right time. Its not that hard, i do it all the time.
good luck!
FollowupID: 344363

Follow Up By: cruiser - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 09:38

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 09:38
Schevchenko,

I have a big tank (look at my user name)

If you live in the city there might be as you call it price cycles. I don't live in the city and there are no such things as price cycles. Besides, I think you have missed my point altogheter, so I won't waste any more time trying to get it across to you.
FollowupID: 344396

Reply By: Smocky - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:12

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:12
Hello all, Smocky here.

I have an idea (although I won't claim it as mine, I read it somewhere).

The idea is this: In order to as you rightly point out re-introduce competitive pricing, you as a consumer should NEVER EVER fill up at the biggest servos. For example, say we all boycotted SHELL and BP (not that I'm picking on them, they may be listening). As their sales dropped, they would have to lower prices in order to regain their market share which they NEED because they are so big.

The only way this works of course is in volume, but I think it's a winner. You simply force the largest chain to lower there prices in order to get business and everyone else will have to follow suit.

And a slight correction on another post, it isn't that consumers are necessarily willing, just that most don't have a choice. You can choice WHERE you buy your petrol from of course.

Just a thought,

Smocky.
AnswerID: 85704

Follow Up By: cruiser - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:17

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:17
Here here, someones listening.

Thank god, I was beginning to think thought I was the only consumer of fuel that was concerned.

Power to the People. lets start doing as Smokey suggested.
FollowupID: 344224

Reply By: Austravel - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:20

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:20
If you do a search for info on oil reserves and when it's to run out you'll be very surprised. Was also a report on late line the other night which confirmed a number of reports I've read via investment managers. The facts and a some figures are out there but as for global warming etc most countries and for that matter people don't want to know. As for global warming some researchers are now saying don't worry about globab warming as fossil fuels will run out well before that kills the planet. We all know oil is a finite resourse but most believe they won't see the time it runs out. Well, the wake up call has been sounded by quite a few researchers and even OPEC have stated that they've grossly over estimated the reserves left by as much as 20-30 %. If what they say is correct we may have already reached peak production and from here in it's all down hill. Due to demand, the shape of oil wells and the fact that no major new oil discovery has been made since the 60's oil could run out within your childerns life time. What does that mean for those of us that are middle age? Once it's confirmed we have reached the turning point it's predicted petro-chemical products will increase significantly this means pretty much everything in our life. Petro chemicals are used in food, fertlisers, plastics, cloths, medicines, chemicals, bases of many items, fuel, oils, etc, etc, etc. Next will be energy wars which we may see more of lead by bigger countries. Oil for energy is only one small portion of what is used, oil is used in every aspect of our life.

For those that think that there is still bulk oil to be found, forget it there are small fields that maybe found but nothing on the scale already found. If it could have been found it would have been. Shale oil, gas, solar, tidal, nucular etc, again forget it, they will help but look at how many billions of barrels of oil you will need to compenstate for stationary power, transport and all the products crude is used for. From what I've read we (middle age) will see major changes starting soon with prices and if we are lucky to make old age we won't like what we see. I could go on with more info but if your interested just check it out yourself. Could they be wrong?? Probably not, the timing could be wrong but even if they are 100% out our generation will still see significant changes and I'd hate to be around in another 50 or so years.
AnswerID: 85705

Follow Up By: cruiser - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:34

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:34
Austravel,

No arguement from me, but I see little relevance in your post to the fact that we as comsumers are being ripped off.

Maybe I haven't explained my original point very clearly. its simple to me.

Crude up in price - Bowser price up INSTANTLY
Crude down in price - Bowser price takes 2 to 3 weeks to fall.

Fuel reserves disappearing or not, we are being ripped off.

That is my point, and I don't think its right.

Believe me, I to fear for what sort of world we are leaving to my grandchild, but the fact is, we have been heading down this path for a long time and now we are all paying the price and unfortunately, our grandchildren will pay a bigger price.

As I said, no arguement from me re your post, just don't think it is relevant to mine.
FollowupID: 344227

Reply By: EpicurIan - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:56

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:56
I agree with all of the above. We are being shafted by the oil companies then screwed by our government.
Petrol vs diesel pricing is about the same as buying a loaf of bread for $2 and paying $2.50 for a bag of flour. It just doesn't make sense, unless you are doing the shafting and screwing.
AnswerID: 85714

Follow Up By: Austravel - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 14:16

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 14:16
Not really sure we are getting ripped off or screwed. If we want the level of living we have, the infrastructure, investment business/jobs, social security etc someones got to pay for it. There's more people on the dole, retired or some other benifet than ever before and someones got to pay for it. It's dear, I don't want to pay it but as for all costs unless society as a whole wants changes it won't happen. As for petrol verse diesel, yes there is less refining but doesn't that also mean that they then have less products removed from the diesel to recoup costs. Don't know,just an idea.
FollowupID: 344238

Reply By: Austravel - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 14:10

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 14:10
True, guess I'm saying get used to high prices!! We don't have the fluctations here that you must have, our prices are pretty stable. Have never seen the case were crude goes up one day the bowser prices move up the follow day.
AnswerID: 85720

Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 14:29

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 14:29
G'day Cruiser
I reckon it's got a lot to do with greed and market manipulation. I completely agree - it's bloody unjust that prices rise much faster than they fall relative to crude oil price movements. The oil companies do it because they can. And there is nothing we can do about it. The post about boycotting an oil major will never work simply because no-one will be able to get every motorist to support it. So in answer to your question "how much longer are we going to put up with these crazy fuel prices"? - for as long as they sell fuel is probably the correct answer!
AnswerID: 85723

Follow Up By: cruiser - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 14:53

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 14:53
Moose,

I like you and probably everyone else in this forum know that we will never win and that we will continue to pay these crazy prices as long as they sell fuel, but, I bet that the young legal secretary here in Sydney thought that she would not win with her campaign against State Rail and the unreliable timetables, but that didn't stop her from having a go and guess what, she did win.

She appealled to the users of that form of transport and she had a win for the people.

Now I don't expect that we would ever get Smockey's idea of boycotting the oil companies off the ground because as you say, "boycotting an oil major will never work simply because no-one will be able to get every motorist to support it", but just imaging the mesage it would send if we could do it.

I would like to see the following happen:

1. Crude prices up - bowser prices rise INSTANTLY - motorists stop buying fuel INSTANTLY

2. Crude prices drop - when the oil companies drop prices at the bowser INSTANTLY - motorists start buying INSTANTLY.

Now that would be a win for the consumer.

A pipe dream I know, but hey, one can live in hope.

I am just sick of being taken advantage of, and at least airing my concerns with my fellow forumites makes me feel better.

FollowupID: 344248

Reply By: Alan S (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 15:22

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 15:22
The only way to ensure that the price falls as quickly as it increases is through market pressure, fuel is a high volume low margin item and sellers need volume to make profit. Once the volume falls so does there profit.

Here in the west our government legislated so that petrol stations can not change their price during each day. They have to nominate their next days price by 3pm each day. This price is then listed on a website for the public to view. I receive an email each day with a list of the cheapest sellers for the next day so i can ensure that i buy only from the cheapest.

I have no idea if this system actually leads to cheaper prices but the price seems to drop quicker when crude prices fall.

AnswerID: 85731

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 15:51

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 15:51
i agree with most things said here, love the idea of a fee free day for public transport. sick of being used as a cash cow, the fed govt is making about 100million a week in extra gst because of the current prices so they dont care, diesel vs petrol yes excellent point, but how about gas, it is only a waste byproduct of refining, and they mix butane etc. in with it because they cant get rid of it any other way, 50cpl thanks very much. Europe - higher taxes on fuel but they get a lot better social infrastructure because of it, and hey in most of europe if you drive for an hour it's a long trip. next country sometimes!!
not buying from the big guys - never works - only a couple of refineries in aus, who do you think supplies all the 'little guys' . big boys still get their money one way or another.

Best thing to do is work the fluctuations during the week to your advantage if you can.
Most disturbing to me is the 'duopoly' being set up in aus with coles myer and woolworths, mobil are pulling out of aus entirely, bp will go along with the big 2 prices just for the hell of it, and watch our grocerie / fuel creep slowly up. Have a look at coles/wollies latest battle to gain full control of all alchohol dist in aus, they are unstoppable.

But yeah it gives me thebleepes with the instant rise, slow drop process.

'thud' just fell off soapbox, time for a nap......
AnswerID: 85738

Follow Up By: cruiser - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 16:18

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 16:18
I like your style. Sounds like you are me, if you know what I mean
FollowupID: 344267

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 09:05

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 09:05
hey what can i say - great minds think alike !!!

Just remembered, we export lpg to japan at 5 cents per litre !! thanks very much..
FollowupID: 344387

Reply By: jackablue - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:24

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:24
Its a bank mortgage rate drop system!
AnswerID: 85760

Reply By: locallaw - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:55

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:55
Gidday All,
Trip to NZ recently Unleaded $1.40 Diesel 83 cents.
What,s the go !!!!!!!!
Seeya Locallaw
AnswerID: 85769

Follow Up By: Salty - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 01:51

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 01:51
Locallaw,
Diesel in NZ mabe only 83 cents but I believe that all diesel vehicles have milage meters on them and the owners have to pay a tax on distance that the vehicle travels. This tax brings the price of diesel to the same as or dearer than petrol.
Regards Salty.
FollowupID: 344368

Follow Up By: Wazza (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 04:53

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 04:53
The pay a road user charge per 1000km - link here

A 2-tonne distance licence costs $24.74 per 1,000km.
A 3-tonne distance licence costs $26.83 per 1,000km.
A 4-tonne distance licence costs $28.36 per 1,000km.

There is also a transaction fee when you buy each licence, regardless of the distance you purchase. The fee is based on how you pay:

* Counter sale through a RUC agent: $9.56 per licence
* Phone or fax: $6.98 per licence
* RUC card at BP shops and Truckstops: $5.06 per licence
* Direct Connects (for fleet vehicles only): $3.38.

My favourite bit:

All the revenue collected from Road User Charges goes into the National Roads Fund. <<--- Gee, what an interesting concept !!

FollowupID: 344370

Reply By: ianmc - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 21:22

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 21:22
Austravel, there is a huge difference between the FACTS & the TRUTH>
The facts are usually disseminated by the govt, press & media but the truth
is elsewhere & hopefully it shall set U free.Who do U believe Austravel??
Certainly supply is being interrupted constantly in Iraq & there have been an
enormous number of pipeline & refinery fires in the US & elsewhere.
They are documented on stevequayle.com.
It is said (truth?) that there is a huge oil field off the Falklands waiting to be developed & also in eastern Israel plus the Russians have used technology to
prove that oil fields regenerate much faster than previously thought & they are doing it now.
Anyway bring on the suppressed technology that our handlers have deprived us of for yonks.
AnswerID: 85787

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 22:03

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 22:03
A lot of talk and ideas but maily hot air

If you want to travel somewhere you have to put the fuel in the tank

How much extra are you paying for a full tank of fuel $5? maybe $6? How far does that go? How much extra is it per week?

Not worth worrying about.

I found a servo in Adelaide today selling unleaded at 98.5c/l Thought it was a bargain. How quickly we get used to things!
AnswerID: 85794

Follow Up By: rickwagupatrol - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 23:49

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 23:49
willem...it may only be $5 or $6 to you,,,,but to me its about $100,,,,and i fill up every three days,,,sometimes more.
and yes, it does hurt my wallet.

rick.
FollowupID: 344364

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 10:37

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 10:37
G'day Rick

I was referring to the run of the mill day to day fuel usage by the masses which includes me of course.

If you are using that much fuel then there must be a tax deduction in it somewhere. Unless of course, you are running trucks(I think you have mentioned something like that in a previous post). I have two diesels and yes, why is there such a disparity in the price of diesel.

The way I see it is that there is some collusion between the government and oil companies. The high diesel price will eventually lead to higher commodity prices as truckies will have to pass the fuel increase on to the retailers and ultimately the public. This will cause inflation to rise and then the Reserve Bank will say that the economy is 'overheating' and then they could justify an interest rate hike. This in turn will screw the borrowers and we will have a downturn in operations of all industries....then the government will announce new incentives etc.......its a vicious circle.
FollowupID: 344402

Follow Up By: rickwagupatrol - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 22:49

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 22:49
gday Willem.
dont know about your side of the country, but over here,, there are business's that using higher transport costs as a mean's to justify the higher prices they are charging.
the problem, by and large, is that the vast majority of owner/operator's, and most of the transport companies- are NOT passing on any costs to their customers. there are a few that are, but not many,,,,due largely to the fact that if we say that we need a rate increase to cover our own cost's,,,we are told----there is the door...seeya.
fro example,,,,tyres are about to rise 8%,,,,the cost of steel to build a trailer is about to rise 12%,,,,the price of a loaf of bread, or a litre of milk has also gone up....
i could go on for hours,,,,,but the basic message is that,,,as yet, the transport industry generally has not put up their costs,,,,,so we lose as a result.

rick.
FollowupID: 344539

Reply By: Dennis (Mackay) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 23:07

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 23:07
And yet I am sure we source ALL our oil from local reserves (bass straight & north west shelf), I remember reading that auto gas is 100% local.

So why then should world indicators always affect a local supply?
AnswerID: 85809

Follow Up By: Member - Gary W (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 09:37

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 09:37
If you owned a gas producer and the world was offering to pay a higher price than local - who would you sell to?

That why world prices effect what we pay.

Its a global economy

gaz
FollowupID: 344394

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 13:44

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 13:44
Dennis
FollowupID: 344622

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 14:15

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 14:15
Dennis

All crude oil is different and comprises different components. Typically Australian Crude is light and sweet and comprises mainly components in the lighter end of the scale. Diesel comes from the heavier end. The majority of our crude is exported for mixing overseas. Similarly what we import is heavy crude and is then mixed with our light.

In effect we pay for the heavy crude based on world markets and sell our light at a premium price.

If we were to use just our light crude for processing we would be paying an even higher price at the pump.
FollowupID: 344625

Reply By: Member - Gary W (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 09:51

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 09:51
I just checked the CPI - I can remember in 1980 fuel being 33cpl I remember it being cheap at that price then.

If you apply the CPI to that price you get 98cpl today.

Doesn't make it hurt less but does put it in perspective.

And if you really think the oil companies are ripping us off then buy some shares and get some of the profits for yourself.

Gaz
AnswerID: 85841