Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 15:10
D110V8D
Gday all,
Just curious to see if anyone has ever heard of, seen or partaken in a trip up the
Cape York peninsula in the wet season. It is one of the last trips on MY list of
places to see in Oz and unfortunately I don't get hols in the middle of the year when it is best to go. Now you hear everyone say it can't be done in the wet but I would like to know if anyone has done it or has heard of it being done.
I would imagine some 'extra' prep would be involved but hey, anythings possible isn't it? Floatation tyres maybe. Build a pontoon perhaps for the rivers. Who knows.
I doubt I would seriously undertake such a mission but like I said, has anyone done it?
Mick
Reply By: porl - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 15:18
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 15:18
Girl from my office went up their last February with her boy and SWB Maverick, no winch no lift . Point is they knew people on communities up there, including actual relatives. So i thought they were friggin crazy but up they went and back they came no troubles except for waiting for half a day for one river to go down.
But i spose the point is their relatives probably kept them fully informed, and of course they would have had local help and known who to call if they did get into trouble. I suppose they were also lucky last year was pretty much one of the driest summers on record.
But the story is of course, yes they did go up in the wet season and no they didn't get into any trouble.
Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 15:37
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 15:37
Mick
When the wet really starts the only way around is by air, unless you don't mind sitting in the middle of nowhere for a month or two.
Even the locals don't try to get around by road.
Reply By: TD6 - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 16:06
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 16:06
Mick,
About 15 or 20 years ago a mate and I attempted this as a bit of a challenge. We had a heavily modified Land Rover, empty drums etc to make a raft, even a trail bike stripped down just in case we needed to get out without the car. Sure we weren't the most educated blokes around but had a bucket load of guts and determination. Short story is we didn't get far at all. When it's wet up there it's real wet. You can be lucky and strke a "dry" wet season but still you never know when it's going to change.
With all the advances in vehicles and equipment now days we seriously contemplated having another go 2 years ago but decided against it. Mortgage, kids, and common sense had a lot to do with the decision. What you see in the dry or on the glossy advertising is nothing like what it's like in the wet.
Reply By: Peter 2 - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 18:51
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 18:51
A friend and a mate and their wives went up in late april 20 + years ago in 40 series cruisers, made big floats to get across rivers, had nearly 3 months to do it.
As has been said you would want an open ended time frame especially if it is decent wet
Reply By: Groove - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 22:25
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 22:25
One of my most vivid memories of the cape was
camping on the banks of the Archer river. I was collecting fire wood one day when I realised just how much drift wood there was in the trees, very high up in the trees. Thats when it sunk in just how much
water must be there during the wet, Its really quite amazing.
Reply By: Eric Experience. - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 23:21
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 23:21
Mick.
One of the most valuable contacts in any area is the local Telstra lines staff, they are under pressure to get there maintenance done as soon as it is possible. They drive standard utes with standard tyres and get in and out very late or early in the wet. If you know anybody in that game they may help you with local conditions.
Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 00:01
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 00:01
Norm Needham, who used to run Traction 4 in
Sydney did the cape, in the wet season, making pontoons out of polystyrene and concrete mesh, and floating 3 cars across the rivers.
They lived off the land, as they were up there for 3 months at the time.
Was an article in Overlander in the last 12 months on Norm, and some of his expeditions, including that one.
Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 06:38
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 06:38
Norm is a bit of a legend in the cape.
I think he did this about 25 odd years ago.
If you would like to do the cape in the wet morton telegraph station could be the ones to get in contact with.
They are on the wenlock river and have an air strip.
Angie and steve were saying they are going to start fly in fly out stays.
Reply By: Well 55 - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 07:15
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 07:15
The wet is from late november to end of april, but like all things nothing goes to plan, at the moment the build up has not seen any big rains. It's usually the Archer that will stop you getting to
Weipa, I have seen it 40' over the causeway.A mate of the son-in-law (they both live in
Weipa) has family all through that part of the cape and they don't bother going anywhere during the wet .
I fly in for Xmas and the NY and have been to the top during that period with not to much bother and that was before the bridge over the Wenlock, of cause the other thing the ferry over the
Jardine closes down for the wet season.
That will be the biggest hurdle. The best way to see it is from the air, then see if you can get a vehicle up there.