150K Service 3.5L SE Petrol Jack

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 19:50
ThreadID: 18092 Views:2428 Replies:8 FollowUps:11
I have just been warned by Holden Dealer it will between $1500 and $2000 because of timing belt changover and whatever else they find when they pull it down to do it. I expected it to be big, does this sound fairly typical?
Does anyone know anyone in Sydney who is not a Holden dealer who could be trusted to do it properly at a better price?
One interesting comment from Dealer was that they had only ever done a couple - perhaps everyone goes elsewhere.
The jack is great and should last another 100K so that aspect is no prob.
Any advice will be appreciated.

Reply By: Member - Jack - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 20:06

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 20:06
Struth !!!!! They must be charging Toyota rates. I would be surprised if it is that much of a job. I had my 80 Series timing belt done and (with a full lube service) got out of it for a tad under $400. I think I would shop around.
Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 85920

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 20:29

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 20:29
ROTFLMAO.

That's good, I like it Jack!
FollowupID: 344513

Reply By: Savvas - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 20:25

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 20:25
The 4WD Service Centre at Taren Point on 02 9526 1881. Speak to Mike and tell him Savvas sent you. He's not necessarily cheap, but everything is done correctly and honestly. He does everything on my Jackaroo now.

Jackablue also has a mechanic that he's happy with. Maybe he'll let you know who he is.
AnswerID: 85923

Follow Up By: Savvas - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 20:47

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 20:47
Actually, if your are mechanically inclined, I can email you the pdf with the procedure for the belt change.

Pop me an email at savvas_e@yahoo.com.au
FollowupID: 344515

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 20:38

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 20:38
Quote.....

"The jack is great and should last another 100K"

Strike me pink mate, I'd be hopin' it'd be good for a helluva lot more than 250,000klm!

I'd be shopping around big time.....no way they should be able to rip you off for that much.

AnswerID: 85925

Reply By: Richard & Leonie - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 22:10

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 22:10
Buy a Range Rover and see how much it costs you. The Holden costs are normal and I found my Holden dealer reasonable when they work to the service book. Other people I have had service cars who are not dealers generally only do 2/3rds the service and so will charge less. I have a guaranteed service cost for the first 150,000 of $145 each service plus oils etc. Everything else thay have had to repair has been done under warranty. I do not think that would have happened if I had taken it to any other service centre regardless of how competant they are.
By the way I had the diff oils changed on my Frontera after my last trip and it cost $250. There is no drain on the diff and they have to remove the back plate. I really must extend the breather pipe.
By the way my dealer is Hunter Holden in Sydney.
AnswerID: 85942

Follow Up By: Savvas - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 07:41

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 07:41
Richard,

Goes to show how much the dealer knows.

The drain for the Isuzu front diff is the bolt at the 5 o'clock position on the back, the only one with a copper washer under it. Same on Jackaroos, Rodeos & Fronteras. It should have cost you less than $50.

FollowupID: 344564

Follow Up By: Richard & Leonie - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 08:54

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 08:54
Savvas,
The bill shows only the rear diff had to have the plate removed. What about that diff?
FollowupID: 344573

Follow Up By: Savvas - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 09:27

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 09:27
OK ... I thought you were referring to the front. That's the one most don't realise that there is actually a drain for.

The Frontera has a DANA diff at the rear which is different to the Jackaroo, and yep, no drain hole.

So I retract my previous smart-arsed statement then ... sorry :-(
FollowupID: 344579

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 15:22

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 15:22
What a stupid bloody idea! Why the heck wouldn't you put a drain on a diff???? What were they thinking?
FollowupID: 344630

Follow Up By: Savvas - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 16:04

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 16:04
Americans .... who knows what they are thinking?

Keep in mind the Frontera is built in Indiana and the Dana diff is a US product.
FollowupID: 344635

Reply By: WDR - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 23:47

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 23:47
Thanks guys I will shop around. I could not imagine it being less than 1000 with other stuff that needs to be done at that interval - Savvas I am not technically minded and will give your guy at Raen Point a bell - This was Mike Smith Holden who specialise in Isuzu Trucks so that worries me, they should know what they are talking about - mind you they quoted me $400 for 140,000 service I just had done and charged me $162 so they may overquote as a matter of policy to ensure no one thros lower prices bck at them.
I wish you guys would't make expensive noises about Toyotas, I also have a Kluger which I might add runs one hellava lot better on 98 octane than the recommended 91 octane. If anyone else has one of these rockets and have noticed the lag between normal car and jet propulsion while excellerating, try the higher octane, it gets rid of it (These things have Lexus 300X Motors and 0-100 = 8 secs - not bad for an awd running at about 13.5 L100K with a wife, two kids and a load of junk in the back) But they do scrub out tyres if not rotated and they do need injector cleans if low octane used.
AnswerID: 85952

Reply By: theshadows - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 07:26

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 07:26
Check to see what you are getting though.
You might find you getting water pump, hoses, oil pump,timing belt , idle bearings ....etc

If it is a cat "d" service then it might not be a bad price. or if you want to you can tell them hold off the large service and ill get it down next time when I can afford it.{unless you are still in warrenty period then you got to suck eggs or void the warranty}

shadow
AnswerID: 85971

Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 08:54

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 08:54
Some things in this life are known:1. Dealers will always want more than you expected, when you pick it up (under-quoting is good business practice in their eyes).. Dealers will replace eveything that they think they can justify on their terms, worn or not (and at their prices !).3. Dealers seem not to care if you ever come back.4. Banjo will never go to a dealer again !PS: Find a good mechanic - one who seems interested in keeping your business - put your trust there initially - after a service or two, you will have had the opportunity to check on a few items to see how they attend to working detail and fair trading.... I'm happy with mine.
AnswerID: 85981

Follow Up By: Savvas - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 10:44

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 10:44
Agree ... a year ago, the dealer told me that all 4 brakes need relines at $700.

They also told me the front bearings need replacing at $300-$400 because the previous mechanic had overtightened them and they wore prematurely. It was hilarious looking at their faces when I pointed out that they were the only ones that until that point had done any mechanical work on it and if anyone had overtightened the bearings, then it was them. Told them to bugger off.

Took it to 4WDSC, Mike checked it all out ... nothing wrong with the brakes, bearings cleaned and repacked, $100 ... see ya later. In fact, a year and 15000kms later I'm still on the same pads, still meat on them. New Bendix 4WD pads sitting on the shelf at home waiting to go in.

So the dealer was looking to get an extra $1000 out of me for stuff that did not need doing. Until that time, I had a good relationship with them.

FollowupID: 344596

Reply By: ianmc - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 15:31

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 15:31
Arent the timing belt changes due at 100,000km intervals, not 50,000kms???
AnswerID: 86025

Follow Up By: Savvas - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 16:01

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 16:01
On the Jackaroo 3.5V6 it's due at 160,000kms. I think the sohc 3.2 is 100,000km
FollowupID: 344634

Follow Up By: mr diamond - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 18:03

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 18:03
gday savvas.
what are the timing belt intervals on the 24 valve 4 cam 3.2 petrols.
please
cheers.
FollowupID: 344653

Follow Up By: Savvas - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 20:50

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 20:50
Not entirely sure, but I think it's 160,000 just like the 3.5.

I've been told it's actually a statutory requirement in the US since about 1998 that timing belts in cars manufactured and sold since then must be capable of doing 100,000miles or 160,000kms.

It's in the owner's manual anyway.
FollowupID: 344670