IT,S MILDURA FOR XMAS

Submitted: Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:31
ThreadID: 18120 Views:2233 Replies:6 FollowUps:15
After all the discussions between the wife and i we decided to head to Mildura instead of kangaroo island for a week so if any one has same interesting places they now of to visit let me now ,we will be staying at the Golden river gardens cp from the 26th dec till the 2nd jan cheer,s GREENDOG

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:38

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:38
Pop over to Wentworth and have a look at where the Murray and the Darling meet.
Day trip down to the bush at Hattah and Murray Sunset
AnswerID: 86081

Follow Up By: peter in sa - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:44

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:44
THANKS MADDOG well put that on our list murray sunset sounds good cheer,s GREENDOG
FollowupID: 344702

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 23:29

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 23:29
Plently of easy sand tracks, Rather remote so go prepared, warm to hot so take the fridge or esky, plently of flies to keep you active. enjoy the trip
FollowupID: 344708

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:41

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:41
Mungo NP
AnswerID: 86083

Follow Up By: peter in sa - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:47

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:47
THANKS WOLFIE i had Mungo in mind for a day trip see how we go it,s on the list cheer,s GREENDOG
FollowupID: 344703

Reply By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 23:22

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 23:22
Hi Peter, bound to be warm up there then, make sure you have plenty of drinking water on board if you go out driving. Victoria's Desert map is a good start, check out Rocket Lake & the Gypsum mine hopper on the Nowingi line track.

Cheers & save travelling
AnswerID: 86088

Follow Up By: peter in sa - Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 13:58

Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 13:58
thanks Bernie for the info
FollowupID: 344738

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 23:55

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 23:55
The bar counter in the Working Mans Club used to be the longest in the world. That was some time ago. Don't know if it still exists. There are a couple of nice campsites on the Murray half way between Gol Gol and Euston.
AnswerID: 86092

Follow Up By: peter in sa - Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 14:03

Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 14:03
Willem did you say BAR thats on the top of the list but i.ll try and keep that one a secret cheers GREENDOG
FollowupID: 344740

Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 14:11

Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 14:11
I think I read recently that the bar is no more. Still can't hurt to pop in and have a look though, any excuse to visit a pub.

It's years since I was in Mildura but there used to be a pioneer cottage museum which was pretty good from memory.
FollowupID: 344744

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 14:18

Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 14:18
What! The bars gone!

That's the worst thing I've heard since the Doobey Brothers broke up
FollowupID: 344745

Follow Up By: peter in sa - Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 14:25

Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 14:25
oh i was so looking forward to a bar cruel instead of a pub cruel i planned that for the missus shopping day
FollowupID: 344747

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 16:39

Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 16:39
They removed the bar, longest in the world, to make room for poker machines.
I believe they now regret the decision & are considering reinstating it.
FollowupID: 344762

Reply By: Member - Mungo Explorer (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 01:37

Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 01:37
Spending time in Mildura without visiting Mungo NP is a crime, or should be :-) Best place in NSW, only a couple of hours drive from Mildura.
AnswerID: 86098

Follow Up By: peter in sa - Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 14:00

Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 14:00
hi mungo explorer a visit to mungo np can that be done in a day or not i would like to go out there to have a look cheer,s GREENDOG
FollowupID: 344739

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 15:02

Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 15:02
Peter, I don't know your family limitations, but this is what I would do.

Go to Mungo mid afternoon, and head straight out to the lunette.

Watch the sun go down, and marvel at the colours.

When it is dark, or nearly dark, have your tea at the picnic tables in the car park, then take a slow, safe 2 hour drive home to Mildura.

Something different, something to break the daily time monotony, just a nice simple change.... and you get to drive back on a reasonable dirt road at night, windows down....... warm breeze.......... music.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 344749

Follow Up By: Member - Mungo Explorer (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 15:22

Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 15:22
Agree with Wolfie, except that rather than heading straight for the lunette I'd do the loop around the park first. About 60km, and the sand dunes behind the lunette are particularly impressive.
And be extremely careful when driving back in the dark: Mungo NP is absolutely crawling with roos, and I have even come across wild horses. Plus the quality of the Mildura road varies a lot with recent weather: it is usually okay, but can also be quite treacherous especially in the dark.
If you want to stay overnight, there's plenty of choice: the shearers quarters, several camp sites, and Mungo Lodge which offers comfortable accommodation, a bar, and a restaurant.
FollowupID: 344752

Follow Up By: peter in sa - Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 19:52

Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 19:52
thanks wolfie will consider that sounds good i,d really like to get same nice pic,s on the digie camera aspeacially at sun set ,do u have a place in the park that cames to mind to take such pic,s thanks cheer,s GREENDOG
FollowupID: 344781

Follow Up By: Member - Mungo Explorer (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 20:54

Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 20:54
Park the car in the car park at the lunette, walk down to a particularly interesting formation, and wait for the sun to go down. You'll quite often see a whole gaggle of photographers assembled there, it's a very popular motif. We went there recently for the same purpose, had to share our spot with several other photographers, and then a cloud popped up to spoil the sunset...
Seriously, you can't miss it!
FollowupID: 344784

Follow Up By: peter in sa - Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 00:57

Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 00:57
thanks mungo ex i reckon that will be the go after all the info i,ve got i cant wait to get there thanks GREENDOG
FollowupID: 344807

Reply By: jules15 - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 08:01

Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 08:01
Hi -also going to be in Mildura - actually Buronga just over the river - Riverside Caravan Park - right on the water - fantastic place - Mungo is spectacular - we may go as a group for the sunset - 4 carloads - and a moonlight picnic - if you get up early enough you can get to Broken Hill and back (especially with daylight saving) - heaps to see there - about 2.5 hours drive - Whites Mining Museum, Desert Sculpture park, - Pro Hart's gallery, Jack Absolom, and lots more - Mildura itself has heaps, Gol Gol - yabbies - Wentworth Jail, there is a gian play park with large size swings for adults - also good for kids around Mildura somewhere - but hot!!! be prepared.
have fun
jules
AnswerID: 86337