Quick blast to and from Melbourne...Report

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 08:37
ThreadID: 18198 Views:4351 Replies:3 FollowUps:6
Howdy all,

Just got back from a quick blast down to Melbourne in the Patrol. Although not offroad, thought I'd give you a basic report.

Left Brisbane 3.30am 25 November. Travelled down the coast road. Plenty of toilets on the way down (handy in between servos when the missus is making coffee etc). They have put 'truck stops' in with toilets, and picnic tables the majority of the way down. Allow for time through Sydney, if I was traveling with others, I would have shot off down the newell from Newcastle.

Newcastle to Sydney to Woolongong was the longest part of the trip. Took almost 2 hours just to get through Sydney. Continued on to Eden (beautiful as usual) but not one motel or caravan park answered the night bell at 11.00pm. We ended up crashing in car in microsleep stop till 4.00am. Cranked on to Melbourne and arrived at around 11.00am. G.P.S reported total traveling (moving) time at about 23 hours and was 1,996 k's. Stuffed.

Left Sunday 9.00am, travelled up Hume then Newell. Went through locust plague coupla hundred k's south of Parkes. Front of car, radiator, cross member, diff, tyres, snorkel, tyres all look like burial grounds. In my years of traveling, I have never come across such a large amount of locusts, and they were unfortunately still airborne. Talked to someone in a truckstop who stated that they had been around for a week. The recent rain had apparently caused the females to land and lay more eggs. They expect another plague after December...poor buggers.

Stopped in at Dubbo and arrived at 7.30pm. Stayed at Formule 21 for the night, for $49 you get bed, ensuite and T.V. Reckon that's great value. Left Dubbo around 5.00am, travelled through remaining towns at 38 degree heat with aircon cranking. Dubbo expect 42 degrees tomorrow. Arrived home 4.18pm. G.P.S reported total moving/traveling time at 19 hours and 1,729 k's. Again stuffed.

In my opinion, if you have time, take the ocean road. If you need to get down ASAP, take the newell hume into Melbourne (very hot and boring).

Now, I've just gotta go and clean the truck. As for truck performance, towed down 7x5 deep side offroad trailer (not the camper) and have to say that the truck performed brilliantly. Sat comfortably on 100-110 and overtook with ease. I can tell this 4.2 is wearing in nicely and I think the best way to wear one of these beasts in is to run them for long periods at 100. Average economy 7.8k's/L. Serviced 2 weeks ago by Nissan, due again this week. Wouldn't go anywhere without the lightforce 240's. 15,000 on the MTRs, reckon they are worn about 15-20%.

Cheers!

Sleepy Chris.

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 08:41

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 08:41
P.S - Also went through white butterfly mass past Dubbo which lasted for a couple of hours. They made just as much mess as the locusts! Watch out for skippy's, they are really out and about at the moment and we stopped in time (no swerve) 30 mins out of eden. The big lights helped me pick the skippy up and I began slowly braking 100 meters before he/she decided to cross the road.
AnswerID: 86501

Follow Up By: beatit - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 08:59

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 08:59
Hi Chris,

Hope you didn't dirty the EO wheel cover?

FollowupID: 345116

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 09:06

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 09:06
beatit,

mate, i did what someone else did on this site and didn't take a spare! I have one that ROH and Goodyear are arguing about somewhere been tested to see what's at fault, the tyre or the rim. Hence, my brand new spare is now on the truck with 5000 clicked up on it!

Chris.
FollowupID: 345117

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 09:52

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 09:52
Hi Chris
Were you in Melbourne long enough to catch your breath..... or at least have a beer.
Talk about a whirlwind adventure. Glad to hear the truck went fantastically. Should have joined us in the high country on saturday haha
Ads
FollowupID: 345119

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 10:14

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 10:14
Gday Crazie,

Maybe you should call me crazy! I tell you what though, I'm totally knackered!

Had more than 1 beer!

Just worked out that I've had the truck since aug 6 this year and she's done 15,400 k's. Probably would have been the most boring person to spend time with on Saturday, I was ambling round the streets of ascotvale with my eyes halfshut! ;-)

Chris.
FollowupID: 345127

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 16:15

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 16:15
I just spent weekend in Melb too although went by plane. Not a bad place, but I could live without the traffic.
Mate, from Brisbane there is only one way to Melb - via the Newell. Did it in 14 hours when I was a student (pre radar days).
AnswerID: 86590

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:04

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:04
No offence to the southerners, great place to visit, couldn't live there! Traffic in Melbourne is better than Sydney!

Chris.
FollowupID: 345303

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 17:15

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 17:15
goodday chris

obviuosly you didnt have time to stop and talk about long range tanks while you were down here

AnswerID: 86606

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:03

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:03
Nope, but I'll be back, my sister will be moving back up to QLD in the new year, so I'll allow more time!
FollowupID: 345302