First 4x4 to cross Simpson Desert was a NissanPatroll

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 08:40
ThreadID: 18242 Views:7457 Replies:10 FollowUps:14
I am reading the book The Simpson Desert, Natural History and Human Endeavour by Mark Shephard to refresh my knowledge of the vasrious crossings done by earlier explorers through the Simpson Desert.

The first 4x4 crossing of the desert was done from West to East in 1962 by Dr Reg Sprigg and his family driving a 3 speed Nissan(Datsun) Patrol while they were conducting gravity surveys for petroleum exploration. The book does not actually mention the vehicle I suggest but the photograph attributed to the the crossing has a soft top Patrol in it. Any Simpson lumenaries may correct me if I am wrong.

The book is fascinating reading and should be a 'must' read before crossing the desert on your adventure. The book is available through ExplorOz Shop.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 09:04

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 09:04
Why are you suprised? You wouldnt risk it in anything else would you???

But ... was it Rosie?
AnswerID: 86742

Reply By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 09:24

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 09:24
It follows that one should read

" Dune is a four letter word "
by Griselda Sprigg & Rod Maclean. pub Wakefield.

This is an easy read, full of anecdotes about their holiday/working trips to many Outback regions, before they became 'fashionable'.

And if you wish to have some more references about the Simpson, including how it got its name:

"Crossing the dead heart" by Dr C (Cecil) T Madigan. pub JB Books, with a forward by Colin Harris, a pre eminent source of knowledge about the mound springs/ L Eyre/ Simpson region.

Or you could look up www.simpsondesert.fl.net.au

AnswerID: 86752

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 09:40

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 09:40
And one of the members here actually has that nissan patrol G60 that first crossed the Simpson.
AnswerID: 86758

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:01

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:01
G'day G O

Maybe you could ask him to post a pic of it on the forum..for general interest?
FollowupID: 345300

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:08

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:08
Im sure he will see the thread.
FollowupID: 345309

Follow Up By: Andrew - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:54

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:54
The vehicle was indeed a Nissan Patrol.
Reg Sprigg was unable to get commercial backing for his crossing so he went to great lengths not to acknowledge the make of vehicle used. This stance is continued today by his family.
The Patrol was later sold to locals from Oodnadatta and was rolled and extensively damaged. It then went to a junk yard and was partly stripped but the parts were never sold. It is pretty much beyond restoration as every panel is damaged and the chassis is bent/broken.
FollowupID: 345324

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:59

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:59
Really? Wow! How very cool!

I'm sad about having to sell our G60 - but the rust had eaten the chassis out to the point of no return. I was in the middle of planning a competition truck based on it, as Zeke Steggall (Aussie champion snow boarder and brother to Zali - the champion skier) has done.

Didn't realise that they dated back to 1962 though.... mine was a '74.

Tough as nails.... just drive one and see how your back is after a few hundred kays... :)
FollowupID: 345329

Follow Up By: Utemad - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 11:06

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 11:06
We used to tow a 25 foot tandem axle van with a G60 when we went on family holidays. 3.9L 3 spd. Only stopped using it because of extensive rust as it also went to Moreton Island every year for about 10 years. We stopped using it all in about 1997 I think. It was a 1979 model bought brand new as a runout model.
FollowupID: 345331

Reply By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:34

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:34
And I thought it was some lanky South African and his mate driving a couple of Suzuki's. How dissapointing.
Both books mentioned by Rick are a great read. Reg and his family were crossing the desert while his company were running out sisemic lines and is was not without incident.
AnswerID: 86764

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:49

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:49
A bit before my time Des. I was a still at school then and you were still in diapers.......hahahaha
FollowupID: 345321

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:53

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:53
Some might argue that I should still be in diapers.
I might grow up one day but no plans to do that yet.
FollowupID: 345323

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 12:39

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 12:39
"Lanky South African" Hmmm not how I picture him. LOL

FollowupID: 345350

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 16:09

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 16:09
Not that far before your time Willie!!

FollowupID: 345398

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 18:33

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 18:33
John and Bonz....You are marked!!!!!
FollowupID: 345420

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 20:25

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 20:25
7/10 Willem? I dont go out for less than them marks?

FollowupID: 345448

Reply By: theshadows - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 12:03

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 12:03
Only thing to say ...GO THE G60 ...Go you good thing

shadow
AnswerID: 86784

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 18:29

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 18:29
I retired my G60 to a station in the Flinders three months ago. It is still in daily use.
FollowupID: 345418

Reply By: Peter - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 17:10

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 17:10
i bought a new g60 in 1970/71 for $5143.00 incl f/w hubs,drove it to Gove,and used it for 8yrs incl 2 trips to darwin,which then took about 4/5 days sold it when i left for more than i paid for it
AnswerID: 86836

Reply By: Rhubarb - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 18:11

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 18:11
I was of the believe that the Leyland brothers were the first to cross the Simpson by vechile in Landrovers.

I read it in Mike Leylands Biography. I will pull it out tonight to double check if I am remembering corrrectly. (Unless they are claiming the first South/North crossing...?)
AnswerID: 86845

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 18:32

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 18:32
The Leyland Brothers were some of the early travellers and my bibliography tells me their first journey was in 1966.
FollowupID: 345419

Reply By: Peter 2 - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 21:06

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 21:06
Just looking at the Leylands book about their trip (Where Dead Men Lie) and they travelled west to east from Andado to Birdsville roughly in line with the Madigan line.
Started from Steep pt on 3rd May 1966 and finished in Byron Bay on 20th august 1966. The section from Andado to Birdsville took from 15th July till August the 5th.
The Spriggs travelled in similar route, possibly a bit further south, but it would appear that the first vehicle crossing should go to them in 1962 in a G60 Patrol. They were joined by two Toyota's and an International Scout towards the eastern side for the trip into Birdsville.
Funny though I couldn't find any pics of the G60 in 'Dune' but there are quite a few of the Toyota's. But the Nissan is definitely mentioned as the vehicle used in the text.
I also echo Willem's comments on Mark Shephards book on the Simpson.
Mark also wrote a similar book on the Great Victoria Desert which is also a must read before travelling in the area.
AnswerID: 86870

Reply By: Bros - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 22:01

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 22:01
Willem,
Are you sure that there was not a little piece of toyota on the nissan somewhere. Maybe a wheel nut or two.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 86881

Reply By: Davoe - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 17:42

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 17:42
There you go , I would have just assumed it was a landrover as they seem to be the comercial vehicle of choice before yota took over
AnswerID: 87010

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 00:33

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 00:33
Have a read of this

link text
FollowupID: 345748