80 series fuel tanks
Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 17:56
Davoe
what is the capacity of factory duel tanks in a diesal 80series and how far would you expect to get highway driving (I assume 12-15 l/100k)
Reply By: Member Eric - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 18:56
Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 18:56
Main
tank 90 and rear
tank 45 , I believe most get around 900 to 1000 kms hwy driving
Follow Up By: Davoe - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 19:07
Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 19:07
Ta I had a feeling the subs were substantially smaller unlike the utes although that would give me simular range as to my current campervan with 150l
Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 00:01
Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 00:01
My previous 1990 1HZ standard had a 90 litre main and a 55 litre sub, so a total of 145 L. Most i ever squeezed into both tanks was 143 L total, but ran the sub
tank out more than once and always got 55 Linto it.
Reply By: 80scruiser - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 20:28
Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 20:28
Fuel economy decreases dramatically around town.
I get about 250 k's from the sub and about 550 k's from the main around city traffic. Have just fitted a turbo so to early to tell however economy has gone down a bit but I think that is due to me liking the extra power and sticking the foot into it.
Going to the high country in a few weeks so will do a long distance economy test then.
Reply By: Tony N. (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 09:03
Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 09:03
I get 900k from both tanks 135ltr (90Ltr and 45Ltr) around town. Don't know about highway still to do a long trip but would expect better that around town. (approx 12Ltr/100).
Tony N
Reply By: Drew - Karratha - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 11:16
Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 11:16
I have a 96 Standard 80 Series - I recently filled up the Sub
Tank and managed to put 57L into it - Not bad for a 45L
tank. I spoke to the attendant who was adamant that the bowser was accurate, but could not explain where the additional 12L went to.....
Follow Up By: Moose - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:51
Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:51
Mate that happens regularly - it just spills across to the other
tank. Same deal when filling the main first.
Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:00
Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:00
Davoe - I reckon Captain is correct - 145 total litres (I thought it was 95 and 50 - but it doesn't really matter). My standard diesel used to regularly get 21mpg fully loaded (with roof rack) on the road (ie not around town, which I guess is also technically on the road!)- that's a bit under 1100kms range. At a speed of no more than 105kmh.
Reply By: Rob80 - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 13:39
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 13:39
Davoe
My 2 bob's worth on this.
I have a 1995 80 series diesel with 1HZ engine. Vehicle manual gives Main
tank at 95 litres and Sub-Mains at 50 litres - total 145 litres.
Travelled outback last year and for all off road travel including
Birdsville and
Oodnadatta Tracks,
Cordillo Downs Road, Coongie Lakes,
Innamincka area - I averaged around 7.5 km per litre. That's around 1000 km for both tanks. On sealed roads (Stuart Highway etc) this increased to about 9 km per litre - around 1300 km per
tank.
Vehicle was fairly heavy with roof rack with spare wheel, 2 X 20l
water containers, tent plus poles with 3 guys plus gear, 12V fridge, food,
water,
camp gear, seats, tools, sleeping gear etc inside.
Hope this helps with the travel planning
Follow Up By: Davoe - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 20:33
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 20:33
Na havnt got that far yet still looking at it. I was wondering if it may need bigger aftermarket tanks but by the sounds of it a couple of additional jerries max should do most of the time