Air Horns From Air Tank.

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 19:29
ThreadID: 18389 Views:3345 Replies:5 FollowUps:7
Just to let those who were interested know, the ARB air locker 12v Solinoids work fine for activating your air horns from an air tank.

I was concerned origionally about the size of the pin hole the air had to get through in the slinoid that it may not allow enough of a volume of air to make the horns work effectivly, but holy mother of crap it works alright!
hee hee.

Reply By: Member - Stillthinkinaboutit - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 20:01

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 20:01
So I take it your ears are still ringing Jeff.
AnswerID: 87655

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 20:09

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 20:09
hee hee, I watched my mate lean over to the steering wheel to push the horn so I could here what it was like at the front of the car, I still jumped! :->>

It's rather high pitched as they are only small plastic trumpets that were never designed to have 105psi blasted through them but it's certainally effective.

I've got 2 trumpets hooked up to the air tank and the other three still running off the 12v pump that comes with those cheap air horn kits, that way if I run out of air I still have horns and if I don't want the SUPER loud horns I can simply switch the air compressor isolator so the tank want charge at the start of the day. However, the only time I want my horns, I WANT MY BLEEPING HORNS. So I don't mind having them hooked up all the time.
I used them on some of the indiginous kids who thought that it was just the done thing to have their two ferrel dogs run around in front of all the traffic on a main road, the dogs scattered into the bushes and the kids looked like they needed to go home and change their underpants! ROTFLMAO!
FollowupID: 346452

Follow Up By: Matt M - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:32

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:32
Jeff thanks for the image, Im still cracking up after your post!!!

But just as a side thought, have you connected the horns up through the main horn button on the steering wheel? I still believe air horns are technicaly illegal, so its good to have the origional there for the gents in blue, but a flick switch can be fitted easily.

That way you can have normal horn off the button, flip the switch and have the air horns off the same button!!

But hey...once you have had air horns, its hard to ever be without them, certainly gets the desired effect when 'instruction' is necessary!

FollowupID: 346579

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:32

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:32
The Surf's factory horns have swalloed a little too much water over the years and were pretty much inoperative. That's why I origionally went the cheapie air horns. So no switch. Yeah I've heard mixed reports about their legality.
I always thought they were illegal too, but my mate who's been over the pits with his cars more times than I've opened cold beers reckons that in WA air horns themselves aren't illegal, but "musical" air horns are illegal to have hooked up to your horn.

Maybe someone in the know could straighten that one out for me, I'd be interested to know the facts on that one. Not that it's going to change what I've done! LOL.
FollowupID: 346597

Reply By: Paul from Ozroamer Sunshine Coast - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 21:30

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 21:30
Jeff
I bought proper truck metal air horns from a Truck accessory place in Sydney and they make all the difference, they don't have a compressor attached. My sparky connected them to the ARB compressor and tank and I know what you mean about noise.
AnswerID: 87682

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 13:17

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 13:17
Yes Yes, I remember the good old days,, both inner guards of the HK GTS Monaro were free of engine bits, Yes I had the old Klaxon and the 5 airhorns and of course the Wolf Whistle on the intake manifold. The downside was it had no aircon, no power steering, and no ABS, come to think of it, it didn't have much at all. As with all modern cars, its damn hard to sight the bloody starter motor let alone fit airhorns!!!!!
AnswerID: 87774

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:34

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:34
Michael, if I can find a place for them under the surf's bonnet, anyone should be able to get them in there! LOL
I've got some much crap cramped under there it's not funny. Not to mention the EFI diesel's mess of hoses, wires and misc crap to start with! :-)
FollowupID: 346598

Reply By: Andrew - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:36

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:36
Air horns are legal every where provided they don't play tunes.

A
AnswerID: 87798

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:38

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 15:38
Fantastic Andrew, thanks mate.

Hooo haa hoo haa, excellent.........
FollowupID: 346599

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 19:02

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 19:02
Gday Jeff, i was flicking through the Hela book the other day and came across Part number 6025 - compressed air horn, 12v 3 amp 330mm long 90-125 psi operating pressure - Just hook up to air tank, the solenoid is built into the horn body. Here's the best bit ---- 124db at 2 meters YEE HAAAAAAAA look out kids.........
AnswerID: 87840

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 19:07

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 19:07
Excellent!! I looked everywhere and could only find 24v versions of that. That's why I bit the bullet and bought the bloody rip off prices ARB solinoid.

Do you know how much they are? Sounds excellent!
FollowupID: 346641

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 19:43

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 19:43
no idea on price but they are a very heavy duty piece of kit, and around 5 db louder than the plastic versions, so nearly 4 times as loud . can't put a price on that !!!!!!!

Just quote that part number to your local repcos / bursons etc. they should be able to give you a price fairly easily..

They might even be on the hella website to look at, cheers mate
FollowupID: 346646