Fridge use Survey
Submitted: Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 08:36
Craig from Craig Myatt
Sometimes people make really good suggestions about how to improve products. I am doing a quick survey to establish how people use
camping fridges for daily
camping and travelling, in order to improve
camping fridge design.
Any information users can provide on
camping fridge use, would be most helpful. (The
forum organiser, Michelle, has approved the survey.) If you would like to take part, be as detailed as you can, and if you have any suggestions on
camping fridge design features, here's your
forum to make the suggestion.
1. Are you a camper, or a traveller who is
camping?
2. Do you use a generator?
3. Where do you sleep while
camping?
4. Where do you keep your fridge while
camping,
5. Where do you keep your fridge while travelling in your car?
6. How do you setup your fridge for daily
camping or travelling? (ie, remove from vehicle, put under tent awning, etc)
Any other comments?
You can refer to my website,
http://home.iprimus.com.au/cmyatt/index.html and take a link to my email, or you can post your responses back onto the
forum for other users to have a look at.
Craig
Reply By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:00
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:00
* Both a camper & a travelling camper.
* No generator.
* Sleep in a swag.
* Fridge kept in rear of 4 x 4 wagon at all times, on a fridge slide. Therefore fridge needs a handle at each end to provide for tie down (my Waeco does not).
* Rectangular or square design is much easier to pack around - many fridges have rounded edges, curved lids etc.
* Often I disconnect fridge from 12 V power source over night - insulation & contents keep temps low enogh overnight.
* I also use a top quality fibreglass esky for drinks on ice - keeps ice for days. Basket inside is usually where bulky salad type vegies are kept - in the cool box but not on ice.
* Would like a basket style for 12 v fridge that enables horizontal storage, as
well as vertical.
Reply By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:01
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:01
We have a three way fridge , that we take with us
camping & travelling. We cool it on 240V at home prior to travelling, run it on 12V in the troopy when travelling & when we set up
camp we run it on LP gas under the tent awning. It is very economical on gas.
Sparky
Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:07
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:07
Same as Troopy Travellers except Fridge is permanent in the camper on a slide.
Reply By: fozzy - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:09
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:09
1.camper
2. havent used generator in past but mate has bought one so may use this christmas hols as will be in one place for over a week up to 40-45 deg last yr-normally dont need gennie as driving each day keeps sufficient charge in battery to run fridge. in past when stopped in one place for week or so have driven car for few hrs every couple days or idled for few hrs if aux battery dead
3. sleep in tent or swag while
camping which is normally a few feet from car
4.5.6. fridge is strapped to fridge slide which is bolted to false floor in back of cruiser and stays in vehicle from when i leave home to when i return from trip.
i have shelving set up which covers top of fridge so genrally out of direct sunlight and have metal grill either side to stop things touching side of fridge and give sufficient air flow round fridge.
would be good if fridge suppliers made available plastic containers to fit exactly in fridge as it would save a lot of time for me measuring containers in safewy,coles,kmart etc to fit into space-but then again everyone has different ideas
at present have 73l autofridge and use 4 containers to pack meat,vegies,marg etc in and have a
water container-5litre which i top up daily and rest of room is for grog and soft drink which gets rotated sometime late at night or in morning.
pack differently depending on length of trip
idea is to eliminate movement of product in fridge to save explosions and mess
Follow Up By: stapo - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 12:19
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 12:19
fozzy,
We have just moved from 39l Autofridge to 73l and are facing the issues of containers in the fridge.Would be pleased to learn what containers you have found as I'am sure you
well understand the constant measuring etc.
My requirements and mode of operation seem to be very similar to yours.
Follow Up By: fozzy - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 12:36
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 12:36
stapo-fantastic choice-you wont regret it
ended up getting 4 containers from k-mart in their food container/kitchen section
these containers fit across the fridge from side to side(narrowist side) and u fit 4 high with the ability to fit another diffewrent sized one about 25mm thick on top(they are reasonably tight fit especially when inside walls ice up a bit
usually split containers ie meat kryovac on bottom and vegies up top in another one
containers fit side to side and are big enough to fit 6 440ml cans in each(just to give u rough idea of width etc) on weekend trips put cans in them to stop them getting damaged and bursting
they are i think made by "starmaid" and were about $5 each
over period of say 12mths the edges of the lids crack simply cos there is a bit of movement inside fridge and sometimes some of containers have bit of weight in them
the
water container is a rectangle one and 5litres -clear plastic from one of supermarkets-not sure where. i did try a blue one with tap in it but wasted to much space with tap hanging off
yell out if want me to measure in next few days
i
Follow Up By: fozzy - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 12:59
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 12:59
camper and traveller-awake a bit more now
Follow Up By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 19:26
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 19:26
Regarding containers for the fridge.....I took my inner basket into Bunnings and sat in the Decor aisle for about an hour mix and matching containers of different sizes. Worked for me.
Reply By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:20
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:20
camping? Yes....
2. Do you use a generator? No....
camping? In a tent, or passenger side
seat....
camping, In the back of vehicle....
5. Where do you keep your fridge while travelling in your car? In the back of vehicle...
camping or travelling? (ie, remove from vehicle, put under tent awning, etc) Leave it in the back of the vehicle, slide out to get beer, oh and food as
well, slide back in when finished....
Reply By: fozzy - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:21
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:21
one item i would like to be able to get for a fridge would be a container which holds securely 375ml cans and 440ml cans say 6 of each to stop them getting dented on rough rds rather than using stubby holders or alternatives
Reply By: old-plodder - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:24
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:24
Traveller and
camp - usually 2 to 4 nights at one place.
Don't use generator or solar, use 2nd battery
sleep in tent
fridge stays in back of car, any runs charge battery
fridge setting depends on temperature, turn power down at night, back up in the morning. Try and
park car in shade during the day.
don't run fridge on freezer, only cold setting of about +4 deg C for the food.
(so there is just a thin coating of frost on the inside of the fridge, but not cold enough for the milk or beer to freeze)
only 2 way fridge - 12/240v.
N70ZZ battety lasts 2 to 4 days without charging, depending on air temperatures
need something robust that can take car leaning and also corrugations.
(any one seen good vibration mounts?)
have made extra jacket to add to insulation
need good tie downs
those cigarette type connectors for 12v power are not really suitable, can vibrate loose.
I keep a back window open while travelling to help with cooling air to fridge coils.
a little dust does come in, oh
well, we are travelling! (We seldom use the A/C in the car.)
John C
Follow Up By: Member - Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 11:41
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 11:41
Oldy,
Without meaning to push brands, Engel have a Transit Base available.
This is a base board and springs which attach to the (Engel) fridges.
Removes ALL vibration.
Fridge/Transit Base can be secured to vehicle or fridge-slide via stretch straps such as the excellent ROK-STRAP which allows some movement but provides a secure method of attachment.
Sorry about the (brand) name dropping, but that's what I know and use.
Follow Up By: old-plodder - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 21:04
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 21:04
Sand Man,
Thanks. It is 16 year old 39l engel too. Oops, mentioned that name again.
After various trips bouncing it around the Cape, central oz, gulf country a few of the major tracks and other
places thought it time I gave it a bit of TLC for the next trip. I miss those
suspension seats I used to have in the old 85 pajero too.
Will get onto Engel.
Reply By: Member- Starky - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:27
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:27
Craig,
We use a 45lt fridge and keep it in handy in the back of the Prado so we have access to it throught the rear door. Works off the rearstandard power socket.
When camped over night we usually put it on the floor of the camper and plug into 240 where we can. The wife loves her luxuries. It will last overnight in winter quite
well with no power and this aspect could be slightly improved and used as a promotional point because you never see this information given. One flaw in the design of our Wacoe is there are no real handles. I get the job of shifting it all the time and there is nothing to hang onto. Better handles needed.
Ours has a portable tranformer (i think that what it called) that you have to walk back to pick up or juggle it on top of the lid when you carry the fridge. This could be attached to the fridge somehow so you don't drop it or trip over it.
We do not use a generator and never will.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:35
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:35
Work on a fridge slide that comes out and then drops down, so the fridge is at waist height instead of above your head.
Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 10:55
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 10:55
What a great idea Bruce. With the Triton jacked up I need to climb up onto the tailgate to access the fridge . . . and I'm not THAT short.
Follow Up By: jackablue - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 12:57
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 12:57
Saw one on another
forum, cant find it now though. It was home made, I think it was in the back of a rodeo. The slide came out off the top off the storage compartment and then unlocked to fold down onto the tailgate, so the fridge was on an angle facing you. Great design.
Follow Up By: Mr Z - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 16:53
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 16:53
that exactly what i need, i have to climb tyre to get to fridge
it would keep the mrs quiet too
Follow Up By: TheUndertaker - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 20:29
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 20:29
5ft8' no problems with the 80lt waeco on fridge slide on drawer system.
Follow Up By: Mr Z - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 20:35
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 20:35
sounds like you need a lift kit :-)
Reply By: Wok - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:55
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:55
camping?..........camper
2. Do you use a generator?.................no
camping?..........tent or swag
camping,...........fixed in vehicle
5. Where do you keep your fridge while travelling in your car?..........as above
camping or travelling? (ie, remove from vehicle, put under tent awning, etc) ............as above
There needs to be a Rating Standard so that performance can judged....eg star rating on domestic fridges.
Reply By: beatit - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 10:00
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 10:00
camping? - traveller.
2. Do you use a generator? - Yes when not at a powered site.
camping? - Camper trailer.
camping, - 2 X 50 Weacos are set up in the rear passenger spaces on a false floor, with storage underneath.
5. Where do you keep your fridge while travelling in your car? - as above.
camping or travelling? (ie, remove from vehicle, put under tent awning, etc) - leave them in the car hard wired to 2nd and 3rd batteries, batteries are topped up (when not driving) via a 3 way charger in the trailer and this is powered by a Honda genie or 240 (if available). Following discussions on this
forum will now also make fridge covers.
Follow Up By: Member - Spook (SA) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 12:25
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 12:25
Beatit
I wonder if you could email a pic of your setup in the rear
seat section of your rig. I am planning on doing the same thing in my Hilux D/C with a frindge on the top and storage for
camp chairs etc underneath.
Any info/tips would be helpful.
braddenATbigpondDOTcom (just replace AT with @ and DOT with .)
Brad
Reply By: Squizzy - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 10:09
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 10:09
G'day Craig,
My answers are;
camping? We do both.
2. Do you use a generator? No (too noisy)
camping? A camper trailer, tent or swags.
(Not sure what this has to do with fridges! unless noise issue)
camping, In the rear of the 4WD on a fridge slide.
(On larger trips we remove the rear bench
seat and have the fridge behind the passenger
seat strapped to a hurdle which is fixed to the
seat mountings.)
5. Where do you keep your fridge while travelling in your car? As per Q4.
camping or travelling? (ie, remove from vehicle, put under tent awning, etc) The fridge is always as per Q4.
One issue I have with my 40L Engel is the lid. The hinges are side sliding pins, and are a pain in the A when parked on a slope as the lid tends to want to slide off. When it is off the pins are the same length which makes it awkward to put back on.
Hope this helps Craig.
Follow Up By: jackablue - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 11:53
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 11:53
squizzy
"One issue I have with my 40L Engel is the lid. The hinges are side sliding pins, and are a pain in the A when parked on a slope as the lid tends to want to slide off. When it is off the pins are the same length which makes it awkward to put back on."
Cable tie around one hinge works a treat. Easy to remove if need be. Haven't taken
mine off yet.
Jackablue
Follow Up By: Member - Ross P (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 12:10
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 12:10
Hey,
I'll use that one. Good idea.
Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 12:28
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 12:28
You are absolutely right about the pins. Crazy idea to make them the same length as it's a pain to align both at the same time to slide the lid back on. Another thing which helps with this little problem is a transit bag. Once the bag is velcro'd to the lid it tends to stop the sliding sideways problem to a fair extent.
Follow Up By: Squizzy - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 12:52
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 12:52
Thanks Jackablue,
I will try that one.
There is a god after all.
Geoff.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:59
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:59
Engel have a fix for the lid sliding sideways problem .... it is plastic tabs that fit behind the hinges, one of which has a tab that stops the lid moving sideways, but also has a thumb tab to depress for lid removal.
If you ask the Engel reps nicely they will give them to you free.
Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 15:07
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 15:07
Well darn my socks with a baseball bat!
Thanks for
the tip! I'll be giving our friendly Engel rep a call :)
Follow Up By: Wok - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 16:31
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 16:31
The problem with difficulty in refitting slide on lid is solved by shortening 1 pin......5mm worked for me
rgds
Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 10:41
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 10:41
1. Are you a camper, or a traveller who is camping? ..... Traveller who camps every night.
2. Do you use a generator? ..... No
3. Where do you sleep while camping? .....Up top in an EezyAwn rooftop tent.
4. Where do you keep your fridge while camping, ..... On the fridge slide/roller _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx.
5. Where do you keep your fridge while travelling in your car? ..... Ditto
6. How do you setup your fridge for daily camping or travelling? (ie, remove from vehicle, put under tent awning, etc) ..... I leave it in the car at all times. If it's really hot outside, I crack a window and put a white sheet over the rear window to keep the sun off.
Reply By: Member - Ross P (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 10:46
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 10:46
1. Off-road caravan and tent camping when it's a bit rough for the van.
2. No. I have dual battery system and a spare sealed battery for the car fridge. The van fridge is an absorption (3-way) unit which runs on 12V while we are on the move and either gas or mains when we are not. The absortion fridge is very poor, even on gas, when ambients get above about 35 Deg. I will be installing a 12 volt dc van to try improve heat dissipation.
3. Caravan or tent.
4. The Engel stays in the car. I remove the rear passengers
seat and install a custom made mounting platform and slide with tie down straps. The 3-way fridge is an Electrolux unit built into the van.
5. See above. The fridge is readily accessible through the rear passenger's door when we are camperd and from the front passenger's
seat while driving.
6. The Engel stays in the car at all times. The caravan fridge struggles to keep food frozen in high ambients and doesn't keep bevearages cold enough for my liking. We use the Engel to keep our drinks cold.
Reply By: Mal58 - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 13:02
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 13:02
Craig,
Please see attached my responses,
1. Are you a camper, or a traveller who is camping?
We do both.
2. Do you use a generator?
No.
3. Where do you sleep while camping?
In the camper trailer.
4. Where do you keep your fridge while camping,
In the back of the vehicle, in a
home made box arrangement.
5. Where do you keep your fridge while travelling in your car?
In the back of the vehicle, in a
home made box arrangement.
6. How do you setup your fridge for daily camping or travelling? (ie, remove from vehicle, put under tent awning, etc)
We leave the fridge in the vehicle. We also use an esky, and if we are camped this is under the awning of the Camper Trailer. We run our fridge as a freezer and use 8 sheets of techni-ice which we rotate through into the esky to keep things cold.
Any other comments?
We bought a Bushman Fridge (5 years ago next Feb). What we liked about it, is that it has a temperature read out, where you set the temperature you want and the fridge cools down to that temperature and then cycles at that point. This takes the guess work out of setting the fridge.
One thing that would make it better, would be an alarm, that is able to be set off if the fridge can't maintain the set temperature.
We have had this happen a couple of times due to low battery voltages.
Also, and I think some others have said this before, there needs to be a uniform rating system which shows energy consumed versus ambient temperature, (similar to the tests which were down 2 years or so ago by the ADI ?) so that when purchasing a fridge you can make a comparison of relative efficiency.
Mal
Reply By: Marko - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:18
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:18
1. Are you a camper, or a traveller who is camping? CAMPER
2. Do you use a generator? NO
3. Where do you sleep while camping? TENT RV-2
4. Where do you keep your fridge while camping, BACK OF 4x4
5. Where do you keep your fridge while travelling in your car? BACK OF 4x4
6. How do you setup your fridge for daily camping or travelling? (ie, remove from vehicle, put under tent awning, etc) LEAVE IN 4x4 or under awning if setup for more than two days.
Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 15:04
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 15:04
1. Are you a camper, or a traveller who is camping? ...... Both
2. Do you use a generator? ...... Sometimes. but never for the fridge
3. Where do you sleep while camping? ...... Camper Trailer
4. Where do you keep your fridge while camping, ....... Usually in vehicle on slide, occasionally under trailer awning.
5. Where do you keep your fridge while travelling in your car? ....... On the
Cargo Drawers on a slide.
6. How do you setup your fridge for daily camping or travelling? (ie, remove from vehicle, put under tent awning, etc) ...... Refer answers for 4 & 5
Reply By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 16:41
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 16:41
Gday Craig,
i've got an anniv.edition 40 lt Engel with engel transit bag.
1. Are you a camper, or a traveller who is camping? - mainly camping from overnight to a week or 2 at a time.
2. Do you use a generator? - no never - hate the noise
3. Where do you sleep while camping? - depending on trip, either in the back of car or in the oztent
4. Where do you keep your fridge while camping, - in rear of wagon while in transit, when camped, it sits inside the awning / 2nd room in tent, the standard long power lead into the dedicated rear outlet.
5. Where do you keep your fridge while travelling in your car? - in rear
6. How do you setup your fridge for daily camping or travelling? (ie, remove from vehicle, put under tent awning, etc) - as above, short trips it is used as a fridge, long trips as a freezer with ice packs transferred between it and an esky.
Any other comments?
like the idea of a rating compliance, will stop a lot of myth and fable...
even with the bag, i have added extra insulation/ padding at the sides and front . As recommended by another forumite , went to clark rubber, got the insulation foam with silver foil layer on one side, about an inch thick, $40 per linear metre, about 1.2 wide. works
well, helps with cold retention when switched off or between cycles.
Durable , custom fitted multi-option containers - YES PLEASE.
Temp display is nice also..
Fridge has to be of sturdy build with a lid capable of being sat on etc. and solid handles.
A nice 'built in' tamper proof lockdown point for a cable / chain may also be good.
See ya
Reply By: TheUndertaker - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 21:03
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 21:03
1/ both
2/yes
3/ in camper trailer
4/close/is full of beer
5/ as above
6/CLOSE. is full of beer/scotch/red/ white/ gin/ FOOD.
Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 23:17
Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 23:17
1. Traveller who camps maximum of 4 nights in one spot.
2. Never use a generator.
3. Tent.
4, 5 & 6. Fridge mounted on slides in rear storage system, wired into duel battery.
Currently use 73L Auto fridge. Set on low as fridge only.
Improvements....
A multi layered removable basket with a built in sealed storage box, both sized to fit common milk containers, cans, Prima's etc.
Heavier gauge wire out of the fridge to reduce line loss.
Most important features to me are low daily power consumption & reliability.
Cheers Craig................
Reply By: MrBitchi - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 09:19
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 09:19
1. Traveller. Max ~ 4 nights in one spot.
2. NO
3. Camper Trailer.
4. Usually in car on slide, sometimes under annex if mains power available.
5. On fridge slider (Black Widow _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx)
6. Usually leave it in the vehicle.
Design Suggestions?
I use a Waeco 50Lt and find the electronic pushbutton control setup to be excellent but easy to knock. Similar control panel with a clear cover would be good.
A small gas strut/spring to hold the lid up. In car I don't have enough clearance to swing the lid past vertical and it's a PITA to hold it up. Usually end up taking the lid off to rummage around inside.
John.
Reply By: Outbacktourer - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 11:12
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 11:12
1. Are you a camper, or a traveller who is camping? Both, mainly latter.
2. Do you use a generator? No
3. Where do you sleep while camping? Rooftop
4. Where do you keep your fridge while camping, In Vehicle
5. Where do you keep your fridge while travelling in your car? On Slide
6. How do you setup your fridge for daily camping or travelling? (ie, remove from vehicle, put under tent awning, etc) Leave in vehicle
Reply By: Member - Mozza (Newcastle-NSW) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:11
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 14:11
1. Are you a camper, or a traveller who is camping? - CAMPER
2. Do you use a generator? - NO (don't like the noise)
3. Where do you sleep while camping? - TENT
4. Where do you keep your fridge while camping, - IN BOOT OF CAR -
HOME MADE FRIDGE SLIDE AND _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx
5. Where do you keep your fridge while travelling in your car? - SEE ABOVE
6. How do you setup your fridge for daily camping or travelling? (ie, remove from vehicle, put under tent awning, etc) - LEAVE IN CAR (SAFER)
Reply By: Craig from Craig Myatt - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 08:47
Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 08:47
Thankyou very much to all of you people who have kindly replied to this survey. The next stage is to analyse the results, and use them partly to undertake a user analysis, which is a critical look at how people actually perform the tasks involved with fridge use. The user analsysis will generate a set of recommendations, which will go directly to the design of the camping fridge. All the best.
Craig Myatt
Reply By: Paul from Ozroamer Sunshine Coast - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 20:57
Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 20:57
1. Camper
2. No (own one but try not to use it)
3. Hard Floor Trailer
4. In Storage Box On front draw bar (73lt Autofridge)
5. As Above
6. As Above
- We also carry a smaller Waeco in Vehicle and use as Freezer Only.