Wombat asked me to post this..............

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:47
ThreadID: 18435 Views:2548 Replies:12 FollowUps:18
I refer to part of a question and post in the thread of post 18396.

Any thoughts on

Whats the Meaning of Life?

No, the answer isn't 42, 4.2 or 4.3(according to Wombat via a long interchange of ideas)

Someone said the other day that life isn't a dress rehearsal

So do it now...whatever you heart desires.

Reply By: Member- Starky - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 15:22

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 15:22
Hi Willem,

This question has puzzled mankind since the start of time. It is a rather complex question and therefor is not adequtely covered by any simple single answer.

I have heard that the answer is to have fun, but I had this updated recently to "have fun and be helpfull". I will like this answer as it is not technical, scientific, or religious. Will also fit in with all cultures.

Very simple but has a very deep meaning if you care to think it through.

And as I said above, seeing that it is so simple, it is more than likely not the right answer. But I'm happy with it and that is what is important to me.
AnswerID: 87962

Reply By: beatit - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 15:23

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 15:23
OK, I'll have a lash, life is not worrying about the little things so therefore it will need to be a 4.8. Lets face it, if you didn't die in your sleep last night today is one hell of a great day and all those life's annoyances seem so terribly insignificant when you consider the alternative.

I guess it means different things to different people but the more I can get away from work, like the outdoors and this forum for that matter, the more of a sense of purpose there is to dealing with the daily obstacles.

Happiest 4 wheeling in the outdoors.

AnswerID: 87963

Reply By: Wombat - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 15:23

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 15:23
I don't like those chat internet inspired abbreviations but in this instance Willie I have no other response than - RTFLMFAO.
AnswerID: 87964

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 15:32

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 15:32
You left out the O, hey thats it the meaning of life !!!
AnswerID: 87967

Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 10:42

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 10:42
Aha Baz - I may not have been "rolling on" the floor I may have been doing something else to it!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 346986

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 16:43

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 16:43
Well, while we may disagree on most things..... "So do it now...whatever you heart desires." ... sums it up wonderfully.

As long as we are responsible, and don't hurt others in our pursuits, all is okay.

Like my mum says...."Use it, or Lose it."

BTW.... it is still 42!

Wolfie
AnswerID: 87980

Follow Up By: Pluto - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 17:21

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 17:21
Arthur Dent: You know, it's at times like this, when I'm trapped in a Vogon airlock with a man from Betelgeuse, and about to die of asphyxiation in deep space, that I really wish I'd listened to what my mother told me when I was young.
Ford Prefect: Why, what did she tell you?
Arthur Dent: I don't know, I didn't listen.
-THGTTG-
FollowupID: 346872

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 17:23

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 17:23
.."And thanks for all the fish"........!
FollowupID: 346873

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 20:48

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 20:48
No Regets, never saying no to something you want to do......
AnswerID: 88036

Reply By: bushfix - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 07:43

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 07:43
Gotta give Python a go here, according to Gaston the waiter.....
"
You know, one day, my-- my mother, she put me on her knee and she said to me, 'Gaston, my son, the world is a beautiful place. You must go into it and... love everyone, try to make everyone happy, and bring peace and contentment everywhere you go,' and so, I became a waiter. Well, it's-- it's not much of a philosophy, I know,... but, well,... **ck you. I can live my own life in my own way if I want to. **ck off

AnswerID: 88095

Follow Up By: Pluto - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 08:06

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 08:06
Oh no... What have I started!? :-)
FollowupID: 346961

Reply By: Wombat - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 10:41

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 10:41
I think John Lennon summed up the meaning of life when he said "Life is what happens to you while you're making other plans". So to paraphrase, I figure life's only purpose is life itself.
AnswerID: 88125

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 10:49

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 10:49
Very wise words indeed

Aren't you supposed to be at work? Or are you sneaking off to ExplorOz while the BOSS is out of the office....hahahaha
FollowupID: 346988

Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 10:59

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 10:59
Working very hard I am Willem. Just breaking up the tedium of the day with a laugh or two. The BOSS will just have to work harder to make up for my "breaks in concentration".
FollowupID: 346990

Reply By: Karsten from Birdsville Studio - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 10:45

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 10:45
Are you really sure that "What's the Meaning of Life ?" is the right question ?

I wonder what answer those dolphins & whales recently beached around Tasmania would have given.......Don't think it would have been "So long and thanks for all the fish"......or any other "living thing" mmm...I do take it that you included the trees....they're certainly very helpful, in general I'd love to know what they do for their kicks?

Great question Willem, many different directions one can go, and being human (I think) uniquely able to find the time to ponder it. How much time do all the city dwellers get to contemplate it though ??

AnswerID: 88127

Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 10:52

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 10:52
Same number of hours in the day here in the city Karen!
FollowupID: 346989

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 11:03

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 11:03
G'day Karsten

Did you get any rain? We have have had two days of rain and have now equalled last years total of 217mm

Trees bow in the breeze and talk to the wind. They also communicate to humans when we go and give them a hug. When we prune home grown trees severely they pay us back by not bearing fruit the following year as I am witnessing now....life is a learning curve and you are never too old to learn something.

To quote from Banjo Pattersons poem Clancy of the Overflow

"And the bush is there to meet him
And their kindly voices greet him
From the murmur of the breezes and the river on its bars
And he sees the vision splendid
Of the sunlit plains extended
And at night the wonderous glory of the everlasting stars"

Maybe that is the Meaning of Life

All of this and more at Bridsville.
FollowupID: 346991

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 11:08

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 11:08
Typo corrections...I am getting as bad as Des Lexsic

217 should read 271

Bridsville should read Birdsville, of course
FollowupID: 346992

Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 11:08

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 11:08
Oooops sorry for mis-spelling Karsten - fingers moving faster than brain
FollowupID: 346993

Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 11:12

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 11:12
Maybe dyslexia is contagious (or toncagious).
FollowupID: 346995

Follow Up By: Karsten from Birdsville Studio - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 11:57

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 11:57
Having grown up in Sydney (spent the first 30 years there before moving to Birdsville) I realise, Wobble....Ooops...Wombat that there are, indeed, the same number of hours in the the day . But the oddist thing is mate, it stretches out here! You have alot more time to be.

Time is relative, me 'ol matie!

Willem, eloquently put ! I was just noting that the answers to date seemed rather limited to the human experience, and although most of the responses were from homo sapiens, (I think), being human gives us that "special ability" to project....ie. put ourselves in somebody else's shoes.....or something else's.....aggghhhh....anthropomorphism.....Just wanted to make sure nobody forgot that we're not the only Life on the planet.....(or probably in the universe)!

No mate, not a drop of rain here. Though watched an amazing electrical storm move north to south-east last night about 2am. Could have been some rain to the east. There's a steady breeze blowing at the moment from the east, a little bit of fluffy stuff in the sky, but all in all a corka of a day - not too hot.

FollowupID: 347006

Follow Up By: Member - Rohan - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 15:00

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 15:00
This question has always bothered me. There is no single, identifiable "meaning of life" since "meaning" is an 'intention' or a 'significant quality' or 'special significance' and will therefore be different for each organism based upon its individual experiences and stimuli.

To confuse the whole concept even further, we have attached emotion to the word. But, in essence, "life" is just a sound (word) we use to label the circumstances and experiences of our "state of being" - the fact that we are anything at all and can actually recognise and conceptualise that notion.

Life is what you make it but that doesn't mean it has meaning.

Life is an accident waiting to happen.

Life is what you do while waiting to die.

I live because I exist.

etc, etc, etc.

FollowupID: 347044

Follow Up By: Member - Rohan - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 15:02

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 15:02
Now, what I really want to know is ....

"What is the meaning of our existence?"

FollowupID: 347046

Follow Up By: Karsten from Birdsville Studio - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 15:46

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 15:46
It's a bit like trying to plot a path through infinity, isn't it ?
FollowupID: 347054

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 11:48

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 11:48
The meaning of life is EASY as walking....

I'd like to know how a womans mind works.. We know theres no common sense in them, so.. how does the rest of it work?
AnswerID: 88141

Follow Up By: Karsten from Birdsville Studio - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 12:11

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 12:11
Me thinks you might be generalising somewhat, Truckster. Can't speak for all of woman-kind, but my wife Jackie is as smart as a very smart cookie that's just been appointed professor of smartology at Oxford university! There's absolutely nothing common about her, but she makes more sense than most men I talk with!

The rest of it works on the same principles as any other mind. If you're interested there's a great book available called "Goedel, Esher, Bach" by a fellow called Douglas R Hofstadter. It's very revealing with regards to the working of mind.

FollowupID: 347012

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 11:49

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 11:49
what a book to refer to Karsten, it does nothing but open the floodgates for millions of other options to the way a mind works hahahaha. Its still a mystery the mind of a woman.

IMHO The key to a womans mind s that its a one piece package, its all in there at once so a reaction to a broken nail might be caused by something that happened the day before, or something else entirely independant, however due to the unitary mind the reaction happens.

Mens Minds are compartmentalised, we have a bit for work and a bit for home and a bit for the footy and a bit for this and that, so if something happens at home and we are working from our home compartment we react to what is happening at home. Thats why we forget to pick up the dry cleaning during the day cause we're working from our work compartment, and thats also why the drycleaning "pops" into our mind when we're on the way home from work as our mind lollops from the work compartment to the home one.

Its also the reason the scratch is down the side of the car when you arrive home and noone knows how it got there.

FollowupID: 347175

Reply By: bushfix - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 13:09

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 13:09
I like Madame Curie's take..
"Life is either an adventure...or nothing"
AnswerID: 88155

Reply By: Skinny- Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 15:20

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 15:20
The meanign of life an Aussie Koan

What does the sound of a tree falling onto a Nissan in the forest make
if no one is there to hear it?

Skinny
AnswerID: 88180

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:29

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:29
It take that the Nissan got there by itself.......smart truck!!!
FollowupID: 347112