Light options for campsite

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 20:00
ThreadID: 18574 Views:7535 Replies:20 FollowUps:27
G'day all,

What options do you suggest for light at night. I've seen quite a few comments about 12v flouros, but I'm not getting a dual battery any time soon and often camp a bit away from the car anyway.

At the moment, we use a gas lantern, but it's a bit dangeous with the kids now running amock.

Would appreciate some advice on good quality options.

Smocky.

Reply By: Member - David 0- Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 20:16

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 20:16
I found a dual tube flouro powered by two of those dolphin torch batteries very usefull.

A question to others, though I don;t want to hijack your thread. Can you buy a LED lantern similar in size and output to a 12v flouro? That is what I would like to have.

David O
AnswerID: 88741

Follow Up By: Glenno - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 22:18

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 22:18
There was a post a few days ago - campmart are selling 60LED versions of them for $75.

I think they were yet to be compared to the normal Fluoro's.

If I knew the thread id list it here, but it was only 1-2 days ago.

Glenn.
FollowupID: 347866

Follow Up By: Member - David 0- Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:48

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:48
Glenn,
Yes thanks, I saw the thread and have ordered one.
David O
FollowupID: 348035

Reply By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 20:19

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 20:19
I usually only use lights to eat and cook by - the rest of the time I rely on the fire and a torch.

I would suggest you make you own using a 12V electronic fluoro from Jaycar (SL2850) and base (PS4072) plus a plastic food container from the $2 shop. You can happily run this from your normal car battery for at least 10 hours before having to consider charging it.

The cheap 12V lights from Super Cheap et al are OK, but they use more current and are less efficient.

AnswerID: 88742

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 21:18

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 21:18
Smocky

12 V fluoros are the way to go INMO ... negilble current draw even off the main battery so can be used with confidence. Bloody gas units ... blooby mantles ... bloody glasses ... bloody jets ... get my drift. Only other option ... hurricane lamp.

AnswerID: 88753

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 21:25

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 21:25
Agreed Rosco!!

I run two Piranha (any similar brand will be the same) fluoros off my main battery for hours on ens and have never had a flat battery.

Then again, my main battery is an 88Ah jobbie....
FollowupID: 347628

Follow Up By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 21:27

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 21:27
Mate, you're making all the right noises, but any suggestions for a flouro?

There's quite a few and at varying prices. Any suggestions from anyone as to where I can buy a reasonable one with good light?

BTW, there's no dimmer on a flouro. BUT, I agree with your post about mantles, glass, burnt kids fingures, mantles, empty bottles, mantles etc.

FollowupID: 347629

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 21:30

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 21:30
That other option, Rosco....bloody kerosene!!!

Piranha flouro's get my vote too. Have a rechargeable Coleman flouro that is good too. Only thing the switch has been left on, and reckon the battery is stuffed. Ah well....

Hooroo...

FollowupID: 347630

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 21:34

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 21:34
I have an assortment of 3 ... Versalite .. top unit. Narva .. sh@t itself on the way to the Cape, bought a Primus in Cairns .. top unit. Got a replacement Narva unit on our return .. also works bloody well.

All good ... but PAY the dollars .... you won't regret it.

FollowupID: 347632

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 21:44

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 21:44

Don't mention Coleman units to me .... what a bloody lemon.
Bought it last year prior to trip outback ... lasted the trip and that's about all. Had it back for this and that .. but you know what .. still tastes like a lemon.

A few mates had the same prob so INMO give them a miss.

FollowupID: 347633

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 22:29

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 22:29
Smocky

The Piranha units you can buy from pretty well anywhere - and most ARB stores have them I suspect. Expect to pay around the $110 mark for them and they will last you for years. Any less (like the $15 Chinese jobs) and you will kick yourself back to your nearest capital city when they fail on you when you need them most.

The Veralite's are very good too.... not that I've personally had one - but lots of people I know do.

I like the Piranha units because the light reflected off the silvered backing behind the tube is fairly directional at close range - and are great under the bonnet or chassis if needed to find a problem - otherwise, they have great spread light at distance - i.e. around your campsite. The hook at the top slides off the tube casing if you don't intend to hang them up all the time, and this saves getting the damn hook caught up in everything....
FollowupID: 347642

Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 23:07

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 23:07
Hi Smocky as said elsewere Go the Piranha great light & if you can get it up high like I do on a stand or wog pole at about 3.6metres it will light up 3 camp sites

FollowupID: 347653

Follow Up By: joc45 - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 01:35

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 01:35
Looking at the Pirana light, it looks like it's made by Versalite anyway. Great light.
Otherwise, as mentioned, do the Jaycar trick with their 12v CFL and put it in a plastic container, all for about $20.
Prefer the colour temp of the Versalite tho, as the Jaycar ones are a softer light (2700deg).
Gerry
FollowupID: 347673

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 21:27

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 21:27
Smocky,

good to see you as a member mate. The lowest current draw I have seen for light is the LED option but they are very directional. Someone had a mention of them last week at about .25 of the current draw of the fluro option. I saw white light LEDs at the Melbourne outdoors show at about $60-70.00 for reversing lights. I would have the phone number somewhere but you may find it in the archives here. A flouro would still be my best suggestion with 11 watts required if you required a flood. I do understand the question over the single battery, but still the flouro.
AnswerID: 88755

Follow Up By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 21:32

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 21:32
Cheers John,

Have already covered my cost of membership through savings made by suggestions on this forum. In my opinion, it's an awesome site and exceptional value. Even though you can be in the forums without being a member, the site survives on contributions.

Anyway, back to the topic. 11 watts is a good start. Any suggestions about where to get a reasonable one?
FollowupID: 347631

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 22:10

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 22:10
Smocky,

Jimbo was saying just a couple of weeks back that he bought Arlec cheaply where we have Bushlites I think. I did post at the time. Not all lights have the switch at the light so not all are equal. They have fantastic output anyway. One fellow had one plugged into a separate battery at Robe and it would not require charging often anyway. If you have a small battery that is on the way out they can still be of use. I have one from the computer UPS that still isn't bad and a gel battery too.

I also have a magnetic part to place one on a metal surface which I find valuable. It just fixes onto the light with cable ties. I bought mine through a local garage which amazingly enough seems to be very competitive.
FollowupID: 347640

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 22:52

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 22:52
As John said I bought an Arlec from Super Cheap for $50 and took it down to ARB to compare with a Versa Light at $90 and ARB's own version of the Versa at $80.. The Arlec was brighter, no question. Both only draw 11 watts.

Didn't compare it to the Bushlite, which John has and I found it mightily impressive at Robe. Super Cheap also sell Bushlite so a comparo there may settle it for you.

Ther is also a Pirahna version that I have not tried but comes well recommende.

Important point is that the Arlec does not come fitted with a switch. OK if you don't ming unplugging it but I got an in line switch from Middy's for $8 and wired it in. Effectively the Arlec is $58.

They all throw immense light for the power draw. Jaycar also sell one for $16 which is good, but out of its league compared to the others. However I use one inside the camper because it throws enough light. K Mart also sell a Projecta with a switch for $20, you might as well use an old kero powered hurricane lantern.

For my money, the Arlec wins hands down. How well it lasts, well time will tell, but Super Cheap support their products.

Good Luck,

FollowupID: 347648

Follow Up By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 23:02

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 23:02
Thanks Jim,

Amongst other things, I think I'll definately get a 12v fluoro. Supercheap is a fair way from me, so will have to figure out when I'm in that vacinity next.

As usual, best solution is to take a few items. It seems like everyone's got about 10 different light sources. I do like the gentle hisss of the gas lamp plus the fact that it's bright and you can dim it, BUT it's just too dangerous for my 3 year old. (As would any burning fuel type.) Last thing I want to do though, is end up with a flat battery.

Will have a bit of a look around and will certainly check out the Arlec. No point paying more than you need to.

Smocky.
FollowupID: 347651

Reply By: locallaw - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 21:40

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 21:40
Gidday All, I agree with the fluro idea.I purchased 3 of those power saver fluro's in 12 volts mounted them in a plastic container and they are fantastic.Very little drain on the battery.I also put in the container a sheet of orange or yellow plastic wrapped around the fluro to act as a insect reppellent (yes it does work just like those yellow tubes).I take them everywhere with me and they work well.You can plug them into the cig lighter or power supply with the correct plug and socet.
Seeya Locallaw
AnswerID: 88760

Reply By: Wisey (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 22:20

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 22:20
Smocky,

I use the versalite to light up camp and for after dinner etc a "miners light", from Jaycar. Triple LED torch that can detach from headband/attach to a cap or many other places. $20 inc 3xAAA.
Consider a "power pak" for the light that can be charged on the fly from your cig lighter. The low draw of the fluro will have minimal impact, $250? (pak & light)with change
my 2c worth.

See ya in the bush, well maybe::::::))) is that you Smocky

AnswerID: 88766

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 22:37

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 22:37
Smocky, you need to get that rig picture up mate so we can see who you are!!

Here we go again, everyone has an opinion on this one.

You can't go wrong with one (or even 2) of these fluro's for around the camp kitchen/dinner table. We started with a Versalite as it was pretty much the only decent one available a few years back. Since then the copies have come out and we bought another Primus one quite a lot cheaper and it works much the same only the lead is a couple of metres shorter. They only draw 1A so you will not need dual batteries. Great to just jump out and hang one off a tree to set up camp by after dark, so quick, safe, powerfull.

We also have one of the Coleman black brick fluro rechargeables that the kids use, it's portable and I don't care if they fllatten it, just charge off the car the next day. Not cheap to start with but ours is 4 YO still going strong.

Everyone in the family has a different colour Dolphin

We have a medium sized Hurricane running on citronella for after dinner

In winter we often don't use the Fluro's as much and fire a Tilley X246 Storm Lantern (pressure kero, now odourless) for the camp kitchen and dinner table for the heat and atmosphere....hissssss.
AnswerID: 88767

Follow Up By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 22:51

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 22:51
There you go.

I haven't had a chance to take any "dirty" pictures yet, but after Chrismas Hols will have some nice ones I hope.

I must admit, I don't mind the Tilley lamps or gas lamps, BUT with kids around they just aren't all that practical.

I'm going to look into making some from the Jaycar components mentioned and I think I might get a decent (perhaps Versa-lite) fluoro for as you said, throwing in a tree to get things going.

Smocky.
FollowupID: 347646

Reply By: Magnus - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 22:41

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 22:41
Hi Smocky

Inexpensive fluros can be had from Whitworths Marine and the say Springers 12 volt shop. These cost about a quarter of the $80 Camping Goods store lights and provide up to 16 watts of light. So $20 - $25 depending on whats on sale. Super Cheap also has them.

If you want radio free inteference then you will need to pay around $60 per light from Springers or a specialist 12 volt shop of some sort.

For expensive lights, the camping goods stores all have good ranges. Personally I can't see the difference in a Versa light for $90 and a Whitwoths light for $20 and I have both. All of which are about to be surplus to requirements.

I have just converted totally to LED lights in my CT. Expensive but now drawing less than .6 - .7 of an amp where before the combined drain was over 5 amps.

I use three 20 degree spread MR16 Dichroic LED lights for reading lights, two over the dining table and one over the bed, a 3 watt MR16 Dichroic 100 degree spread Luxeon Emitter LED for general lighting in the annex. A 28 LEDs on panel light that plugs into a standard car light fitting (ie like in a tail light) for general lighting in the tent itself.

Lastly 3 LED Festoon bulbs that don't even move the ammeter for lighting in the pots and pans storage area near the kitchen.

The 20 degree LEDs came from Australia via the Net and the rest were from the USA also via the net. (the 3 watt LED Emitter, the 28 LED panel and the 3 festoon LEDs)

They throw more than enough light but of course not as much a a fluro (which I reckon are too bright in any case), draw almost zero current, do not attract insects, give off no heat and do not intefere with the radio.

But visit your bank manager first to take out a second loan. Lights average $50 - $60 each made up. So far I have invetsed well over $250 on the lights but consider it well worth it.

So, fluro or LED is a good choice. Know a few people who use only LED in camp. Never any worries at all about battery drain.

Magnus
AnswerID: 88768

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 14:06

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 14:06
Magnus,

if it's those $20 "Lucky" twin fluro's from Whitworths you are talking about then I would have to beg to differ. I've got one on the inside of the rear door of the Patrol and there is a BIG difference between it and the Versalite. They are good vaule though to stick somewhere where you need a light to switch on to find something and turn off again, otherwise they use too much juice.

Impressed with your investment in LED's, definitely the way of the future.
FollowupID: 347743

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 22:42

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 22:42
Hi Smocky
We have some rechargalble twin fluro lanterns from Supercheap auto. You can have 1 or 2 of the fluros on. Great cheap option, you can pick them up for about $20 on special. They have a fantastic battery, ours are about 4 years old now and still on the original tubes. I have wrap some reflective material around half of one of them to focus the light.

Adam
AnswerID: 88769

Reply By: Member - KG (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 23:02

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 23:02
i always laugh at the silly b%stards playing with mantles and trying to get gas lights to go.

generally end up using my fluro for 30 minutes trying to get their gas light going!

ive run the fluro for up to 6hours a nite off my single battery. i dont have a voltmeter on the battery so i dont know how much life it actually sucks out of it but ive never noticed any difference when i turn the key in the morning.

also have a rechargable coleman fluro that i use when moving around.... it gets about 4hours with both tubes running.... you can run it on single tube only and i guess youd get longer. 4 hours isnt much but it recharges off a cigarette lighter after just a few hours driving.

AnswerID: 88774

Follow Up By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 23:10

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 23:10
Got to tell you, I'm gathering cords for the cigarette lighter !!!!!!

At the rate I'm going, I'll need to drive for 8 hours a day just to charge everything!

Problem is, there really isn't much of a choice. It's either burn something for light, or use electricity, which runs out pretty quick.

Can't see me charging the lantern while the kids are watching a DVD though. LOL. Nor the spotlight for the nightwalks, or the UHF radios, or the laptop, or the digital camera......

I do like the idea of a decent light though that runs WITHOUT needing to be connected to the car. As I said, we often camp away from the car a bit and I just can't run 50 metres of lead.
FollowupID: 347654

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 23:39

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 23:39
Probably shouldn't tell you all this as my supplier has jacked up her prices already realising she has a saleable commodity and this'll only make it worse but here goes....

Routine servicing of electric wheelchairs and scooters involves replacement of batteries whether they are stuffed or not.

I started buying 12v 26Ah and 40Ah gel cells 2 years ago of the local Scooters Australia joint for about $5 each. I only bought the ones that held 12volts after they had been off charge in the scrap heap for a while.

I have three banked together powering the electric trolling motor in the tinnie and can troll for two days fishing on impoundments off the combined 120Ah capacity. Less against the current on the Murray.

I have three others that I keep charged in the shed and I just grab one and chuck it in when i go camping. A cigarette socket and a Hella socket with bulldog clips on them live in the light box and if I want to run a light away from the ute I just sit a battery there and hook up the versa/pirhana light and away i go.

Gel cells have the advantage that you can use them upright, on their side, or upside down. They need to be kept on a float charge when not in use and should never be run to completely flat.

I use a Projecta On Board charger to keep them in good nick ($55 Bursons) which you just leave on them all the time when not in use. You can bank them up together to charge and I float two or three of one charger.

I can rotate them through the boat if I'm away more than 2 days too.

A 26 Ah will run a single Versa light for about 5 hours a night for 4 nights. The 40Ah about 7 nights.

On that topic too. The Versalight is made in Australia by Burnbrite in Melbourne (Mountain Hwy I think) and I reckon just looking at it they are contract manufacturing for Pirhana. Can anyone state otherwise as 100% fact? The design is too similar for it not to be the case or Burnbrite would have had Pirahna in court yonks ago.

They are a great light whichever color the packet - and you are buying Aussie.

Anyway, I was paying $5 a battery (they have to pay to dispose of them if they chuck them) and that has doubled in the last 18 months. I expect it will either double again now - or they'll never have any when I want them because you've all bought them!

Of all the ones I've bought they are all still going fine, either at my place, in my boat, in Frank's boat running his sounder or any number of other mates who have got them off me.

You could price them new but make sure you are sitting down......

DJ
AnswerID: 88783

Reply By: Member - Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 00:55

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 00:55
Smocky,

Don't know your budget constraints, but here's my dollar's worth.

Firstly, I agree with most on the efficiency and practicality of a good 12 volt fluro such as the Versalite or Piranha (same manufacturer with a different badge)
These can be run off the car battery, or if you wish to use them away from the car, a 12 volt battery pack which doubles as a jump starter.
e.g. Projecta which were on special recently at Repco. There are other brands available such as the Waeco units but these are expensive by comparison, although very good.

Secondly, I would recommend a good quality fluro battery powered lantern. The one I have runs off a 6 volt lantern battery (energiser type) and lasts ages.
The lantern I use almost exclusively in the tent (now camper trailer) is a Coleman Northstar and has a low and high setting, plus a yellow night light. My search on the Coleman Web site shows a similar unit that runs off 2 6 volt lantern batteries, or 8 D-cells. Mine is several years old and may be out of production by now.

My suggestion is to buy good quality gear, bit by bit, as funding permits and you should receive many years of trouble free service in return.

Happy Camping!

AnswerID: 88796

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 01:01

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 01:01
Im currently using some 36 LED reversing lights which are 86mm square, and throw some excellent light.
AnswerID: 88798

Follow Up By: Wok - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 07:39

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 07:39
GO_OFFROAD,

This looks good......more details please?

rgds
FollowupID: 347679

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 08:43

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 08:43
L05VW Multivolt Range 10-30 volts List Price $79.90+gst

on this page

Reverse Lamp with 45 LED's
Polycarbonate Lens 100% waterproof 110mm round
2 year warranty same size as Trucklite and Peterson
DOT/SAE approved

square one here

LED80W (12volt) LED80W24 (24volt) List Price $89.90+gst
12 Volt or 24 Volt . Dual voltage not available . Reversing Lamp 36 LED's 100% waterproof by a 3 process resin
80mm x 80mm Polycarbonate Lens
clips into a 85mm x 85mm bracket
30cm wire stainless steel screws

I find the round one throws a more camp friendly spread light, and the square one more like a stop light, but white, intense more of a beam.
FollowupID: 347684

Follow Up By: Wok - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 10:42

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 10:42
Thank you GO_OFFROAD, I will check it out

rgds
FollowupID: 347922

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 09:20

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 09:20
I have a 12v fluoro (Nelson) but since I have acquired an LED headlight I rarely switch it on. Get all the kids headlights too. Much less light pollution and you can still see the stars.
AnswerID: 88818

Reply By: Rod W - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 10:44

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 10:44
Smooky as a few have said, LED's are the way to go. Here's another mob to link to, they're over you way somewhere.

I've ordered the 24LED maglight torch, should be here this week.

http://www.ledshoponline.com/24_led-flashlight.htm
AnswerID: 88853

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 11:43

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 11:43
Have a look at Nelson energy saver globes go to garden lights scroll down to 12v fluro globes they are brilliant as good as versalite if not better we have them in our camper they only use 1amp hour.

AnswerID: 88863

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 11:55

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 11:55
Any colour preference Baz, natural or warm white.
I see they are radio interference suppressed too.
FollowupID: 347719

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 12:14

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 12:14
We use the natural light they are really good, they come in screw in or bayonet.

We used the bell shaped desk lamps to put them in, a couple of dollars at vinnies and attach them to the poles in the camper with spring type clamps.

Have a look at this setup a good idea and cheap.

FollowupID: 347723

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 12:20

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 12:20
Interesting stuff, thanks Baz.
FollowupID: 347724

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 21:27

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 21:27
The Nelson Compact Flouros (Edison Screw mount) work a treat when fitted to the Arlec worklight which is available from Bunnings ($10) or Mitre 10 ($8)...
All that's required is to replace the 240v plug w/- the 12v (cig. lighter or Hella type) connector of your choice....
Very good light, & seemingly quite robust, as I've carted a couple of them (in a C/T) literally from one side of the continent to the other "through the middle"....
Good value too (around $40 all-up), when compared to the likes of the versalites etc...
Regards, Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 347846

Follow Up By: Member - Spook (SA) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 10:21

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 10:21
Pardon my ignorance but I'm not up with all this electronics stuff...
This sounds interesting but will the "edison mount" globe fit straight into the worklight socket? I would have thought that a 240v socket would be different to a 12v one? Do you have to change the socket as well??

Brad
FollowupID: 347920

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 12:17

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 12:17
G'day Brad,
The Nelson 12v compact flouros come with standard 240v fittings (Edison Screw & bayonet types), so the screw type fits straight into the Arlec worklight socket...
Yes, it does seem odd, but it's not unusual... You just need to ensure that you don't fit them to a 240v socket.. (they go ffffttt when switched on, I presume)...
On the worklights that I've "converted" to 12v (by fitting cig. lighter plugs), I've used a paint marker pen to paint "12v" on the body of the light itself, though not necessary as they can't be plugged into 240v anyway... There is no risk here if a 240v globe is inadvertently fitted, they simply don't work on 12v....
It really is as simple as cutting off the 240v plug & fitting a 12v one, and you have a very good light...

Regards, Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 347931

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 12:40

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 12:40
I'll get some pix and show you when i can.

AnswerID: 88872

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 15:20

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 15:20
Supercrap Auto do two different portable battery/rechargable camp lights. I have 3 x lights at the moment.
1 x Coleman Twin Fluro Rechargable Light $99
1 x Supercrap Cheapies (same as above) $19.95
1 x Supercrap Cheapie (upmarket one) $29.95

All three lights come with 240v Power Pack and 12v Cigarete lighter plug for recharging, they last 8 hours when running one lamp and you can charge them while driving or do what I do and charge them during the day with my aux lighter plugs in the back.
There really isn't any difference between them, I've opened them all up at one time or another and they all use the same brand's of battery etc. If you get 2 or 3 you can hang them in the tents and off trees all around the place. Cheap, flexiable and reliable IMO.
AnswerID: 88891

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 08:16

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 08:16
Hey Jeff we used our Nelsons(2) and Narva(1) and watched a DVD on our laptop via an inverter each night at a camp site we stayed at for 5 days straight before recharging, oh and using the water pump every now and then for washing up and a cuppa too.

2 Nelson fluro's $56
2 lamps for Nelsons $4 came with switches
1 Narva fluro $89 on special at ARB.

We use the $10 solar garden lamps from Big W (3) for finding our way to toilet, just like at home on your garden path !!

FollowupID: 347898

Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 16:42

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 16:42
Best camp light I've found is the Superlight from WA Solar which uses a 2D square fluro tube. When we hang 2 of them up they are so bright most people swear we're running off a genny but they only use the same power as Versa Lights on 12V. Cheers Craig..................
AnswerID: 88905

Reply By: old-plodder - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 20:45

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 20:45
All the different fluoros sound interesting, and LEDs too. Gives me something to follow up before the next trip.

I have run fluoros off one of our car batteries, and even made up an extension lead for those national park camp sites where you need to park ther car on the other side of a barrier. Got fed up with people tripping over the lead though.

Tried those rechargeable fluro lights a few years ago and the batteries didn't last that long. They were NiCad so I suppose they only had so many reharges. Ended up throwing the whole thing out because I couldn't replace the batteries.

Last trip I got a 18amp hour SLA (small lead acid battery 12V sealed) which weighs about 2kg from Jaycar and set that up to plug the light (or 2) into. Got one of thier 1.5amp output regulators for a solar panel and hooked it up to the car battery. Too much charge and you fry these batteries, and used it to charge the battery every few days.

The portable lighting was great. Battery went 4 nights with recharging.

John C
AnswerID: 88961