Fridge experts please

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 22:18
ThreadID: 18579 Views:2820 Replies:9 FollowUps:5
One for the fridge gurus.

Waeco 60l worked like a charm on extended trip to the Cape. Now decided to play up. Error light blinks at about 4 sec intervals. Works perfectly on 240V transformer so no probs with fridge. Ran new 6mm2 wire as earth from battery. Power supply even bigger through relay and circuit breaker direct from battery to fridge.

Error light extinguishes when engine running and for quite a while afterwards .. is the battery on the way out .. if so crap, it’s only 18 months old. Will check charge voltage.

Considering a check of current draw capacity by linking multi in series with light or even compressor to check capacity of circuit.

Next option .. buggered if I know …. any suggestions

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 22:59

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 22:59
Hi Rosco,

My Engel played up before cod opening despite working fine all the way around the Border Track 3 weeks earlier.

Chased the problem in a similar fashion to you - worked fine on 240v.

Voltage no load at 12v socket in the back of the ute read 12.5v without fridge plugged in. 12.5 v at end of lead with lead unplugged from fridge.

Tested under load (ie with fridge turned on) by pulling Engel 2 bladed plug just enough to get meter leads onto blades without disconnecting fridge, and voltage was dropping to 3.5v.

Pulled fuse under bonnet and it looked & measured fine but there was a thin white film on blades which indicated a little oxidisation. Put new fuse in and out a few times to clean contacts up a bit. Worked like a charm immediately.

Can I suggest you grab a battery terminal cleaner, pull the terminals off and clean inside them and the outside of the posts. And pull and clean any other contacts between battery and fridge.

I'll lay odds it'll fix the problem. Even at 2 amps a 1 ohm increase in resistance will drop voltage 2 volts and this or any more will affect fridge operation.

AnswerID: 88772

Follow Up By: Glenno - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 22:03

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 22:03
Thanks for the tip on the fuse corrosion. Ive never thought to check that when chasing problems. I always just look and make sure it isnt blown and move on.

Something to add to the memory bank.

Glenn.
FollowupID: 347864

Reply By: ianmc - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 23:00

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 23:00
This can happen if cabling is too light & too long, ie too much resistance, or the connections are not up to the task, . If your battery was down you should pick this with a voltmeter. Maybe get it checked professionally.
AnswerID: 88773

Reply By: derraux - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 23:03

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 23:03
Rosco
Sounds to me like your battery is on the way out , my advise to you is go to www.fridge-and-solar.net check out his technical info pages there is some info in there on the life expextancy on batteries depending on how you use them ie depth of discharge. he also explains charge rates and capacity of deep cycles. I found this info was explained very well and easy reading for a novice. hope this helps
derraux
AnswerID: 88775

Reply By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 23:04

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 23:04
Im no expert but from what i read, sounds to me like a power feed problem to the fridge in your car. If fridge was faulty, it would do same when plugged in to power supply out of car. You said you ran NEW earth wire from battery, what about the power wire? did you replace that with 6m2 as well?
Just dont panic yet, if your not 100% sure what to check, get an auto sparky to do some quick meter tests for you, Most would not charge for that hoping to get the repair job.
Im intereted to see what you find.
Cheers angelo
AnswerID: 88776

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 23:14

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 23:14
Rosco,

According to my Waeco manual, if the error light blinks every 5 seconds it is not getting enough power. Is it 4 or 5?

If 5 you know the problem. If not, get it back to the dealer, it means someting else that the dealer will understand, according to the manual.

Good Luck,

AnswerID: 88778

Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 23:33

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 23:33
Jimbo are you sure about the 5 flash thing? I though it was 5 too but this says otherwise.

Since the flashes are for low RPM then it could be voltage related but then why would it not give the one flash? I'd check the wiring first anyway.

This is from the Waeco FAQ page
Number of Red
Flashes Danfoss BD35/50 Kompressor Guide Red Flash Guide Type

One Flash
Can be caused by:
• Insufficient cable size
• Too many connections
• Poor connections
• Not designating fridge
with own direct circuit
from battery
Battery Protection Cut-Out
If the error light on your fridge flashes once every 5 seconds, it is
definitely indicating that you have a voltage drop problem. This
means that the wiring in your car may be inadequate to carry the
correct amount of volts to the fridge. To test if this is the problem,
plug the fridge into a suitable AC adaptor. If you find that the
fridge works, you can eliminate that there is a problem with the
fridge and the car wiring configuration or plug connections
should be stringently checked.
We recommend car/motorhome/caravan wiring to be a minimum
of 6-8mm cross section wire for up to 4 metres. Above this
length the wiring would need an extra millimeter for every metre.
If the fridge does not work on the correct Waeco AC Adaptor,
further investigation is required. Contact Waeco if this occurs.

Two Flashes
Fan over current cut-out
If the fan circuit in the control module has a load in excess of 0.5
Amps, the system will fail.

Three Flashes
Motor Start Error
If your error light is flashing three times every 5 seconds, the
rotor may be blocked or the differential pressure in the
refrigeration system is too high. Faulty compressor or faulty
control module.

Four Flashes
Minimum Motor Speed Error
This failure occurs if the compressor is running slower than 1850
rpm.

Flash Flashes
Thermal cut-out of electronic unit
If the error light is flashing five times every 5 seconds, the
refrigeration system has been too heavily loaded, or if the
surrounding temperature is high, the electronics will run too hot.
This is generally caused by not allowing enough ventilation
around the vents of your fridge. To overcome this, simply
ventilate your fridge more effectively.
FollowupID: 347659

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 07:57

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 07:57
utemad...i could have charged for such info lol
FollowupID: 347681

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 08:30

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 08:30
Utie,

Maybe I didn't put that well. One flash every five seconds indicates insufficiet power according to my manual.

FollowupID: 347682

Reply By: Member - Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 23:44

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 23:44
Rosco,

What type of battery do you have?

If it is not of the sealed type, the best way of performing a health check is with a hydrometer. This will indicate if one or more cells are crook.

Apart from the battery, check all connections as other forumites have indicated.

"relay and circuit breaker direct from battery......"
What's the relay for??? Maybe bypass it???

AnswerID: 88785

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 01:04

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 01:04
Thanks guys for all responses and suggestions, shall check them out one by one.
Relay in power circuit is so I can turn power to fridge on and off if so required.

Very heavy cable ... read about 10 mm2 from battery to main circuit breaker which then feeds various other circuits, let's consider it as a main GPO.

Perhaps I have a dry (dodgy) contact somewhere along the line. I'll keep checking and post the solution ... if I can find one.

Ta and cheers
AnswerID: 88799

Reply By: Member - Raymond - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 09:18

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 09:18
Hi Rosco
One final thing to check is the plug and socket, if you are still using the original cirgarette lighter plug and socket, this may be the problem. While in Broome last year getting a fridge repaired the mechanic there was making a fortune out of replacing the plug and socket on 5 fridges while he repaired ours, all had the light flashing once in 5 secs.

Regards Ray
AnswerID: 88817

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 14:17

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 14:17
Looks like we've got to the bottom of it.

Ray, you got me thinking. Tried a 100W hand held spottie and the Max Air at the fridge point, both worked like a charm and obviously both draw a sh#t load more current than the fridge.

So it must be a dodgy plug on the original Waeco cable. I'll take it up with them and let you know.

Cheers and thanks again for all the suggestions.
AnswerID: 88884

Follow Up By: Nino & Kerry (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 17:25

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 17:25
Rosco,
Just have a look to make sure that the high/low switch is set to low. I have just read my manual and if i read it correctly, low allows the fridge to operate on reduced voltage as would be the case if the car was not running for a while.
Cheers Nino
FollowupID: 347795