Terracan Deisel

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 08:59
ThreadID: 18587 Views:4615 Replies:9 FollowUps:18
Hi all , first time here not the last .

Has anyone had a proper look at the new terracan deisel . Its on the floor now and was wondering what your thoughts about it were , constructively speaking of course .
2.9 ltr @120 KW thats about 4 KW more than the 3ltr patrol and the car is about 400kilos lighter .

peter

Reply By: flappan - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 10:08

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 10:08
KW's are only one small part. Torque is as much a factor.

Having said that though , a Diesel Trashcan sounds interesting.

You see quite a few Petrol ones running around , and some pretty good reports.

Wonder where the Diesel come from (the Petrol is a bishi motor).
AnswerID: 88843

Reply By: firestang - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 11:15

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 11:15
As far as i know it has 350 nm of torque . I can't find the engine make yet .
AnswerID: 88860

Follow Up By: flappan - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 12:22

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 12:22
The manual 3.0l Patrol is 380 , the auto is 354 nm.

I would prefer the petrols . . . 180kw & 420nm ;)
FollowupID: 347725

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 14:25

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 14:25
What do you want to do with it?

Patrol will go further than a garbage can, accessories everywhere for them off the shelf, thousands of bits available second hand as well, plenty of people know about the patrols and how to work on them, nissan will replace the motor when it blows up...

IMHO wouldnt touch a garbage can.
AnswerID: 88885

Follow Up By: bigfella - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 14:53

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 14:53
Own a Terracan - 29000Kms - Not a thing gone wrong.
Anyone comparing them to a Patrol or Cruiser are (I can't think of a word!).
Different type of vehicle and for $34500 brand new with a 5 year/ 130000Km warranty then I have got bloody good value for money.
And it does the job I want.
Goes off road where I want to go.
Tows my 1000Kg Camper Trailer with ease.
As for "garbage can"- Have you driven one?
Do you own one?
Do you know anyone who does?
I am very defensive of the Terracan as it gets a lot of unfair crap spoken about it.
Just my opinion.
Great forum and enjoy the "Banter"
End of story
FollowupID: 347754

Follow Up By: Baldrick - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 16:15

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 16:15
I agree Bigfella,

may not be quite as hard core as a Patrol but will fulfill 99% of most people's requirements and certainly value for money.
FollowupID: 347771

Follow Up By: flappan - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 16:21

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 16:21
A guy I know went froma fully kitted Patrol to a Trashcan.

Other then the Suspension , was happy with it.

I looked at them , but couldn't get Dual Aircon , which was a requirement at the time.
FollowupID: 347773

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 16:35

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 16:35
As for "garbage can"- Have you driven one?
Not for a bet.

Do you own one?
Not for all the gold on earth.

Do you know anyone who does
most people I know actually like to go offroading, so nope, but have read on forums from owners, some happy, some think that Circuit road upto Craigs is severe 4wding though...
FollowupID: 347777

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 17:32

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 17:32
Truckster,

You're a truly amazing man, you know everything, even about things you have no experience or knowledge of.

I'm sorry I didn't check with you before getting my son's braces fitted, I'm sure you would have known more than the Orthodontist and could have given me some of your "well researched" advice.

I am in awe if you.

FollowupID: 347801

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 21:38

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 21:38
Ohhhh Jimbo, Truckster's just grumpy 'cos he backed the Paki's.
FollowupID: 348059

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 21:43

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 21:43
. . . . and then bragged about it here when the Aussies were five for!
. . . . and then had the post deleted!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 348060

Follow Up By: firestang - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 22:53

Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 22:53
well i pick one up in a couple of weeks , it has the sold sticker on it now and just waiting for the bank to transfer the money .
FollowupID: 348478

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 11:44

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 11:44
Prove it womby.. :P No evidence.. but hey with a performance like that and 4/4's of the team crooks, Im bettin they bet against themselves..
FollowupID: 348523

Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 11:51

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 11:51
I noticed the post disappeared almost as quickly as a Gilly boundary. . . and you're correct they did look like they may have had money on Australia. But then again you wouldn't make it THAT obvious, would you?
Have the best Christmas possible, Bruce.
FollowupID: 348524

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 15:26

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 15:26
Sounds cool, I've never heard a bad word about the Terracan. I too would be interested to find out the origion of the new motor and some more technical specs on it, weather it's a eruo style diesel or common rail etc etc.
AnswerID: 88893

Follow Up By: firestang - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 20:20

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 20:20
They are common rail .

A funny thing happened at the last Melbourne fishing show when a mate and i were looking at the Patrol on the Nissan stand . The car was 60 k and was black .
Now for that much money i would really want a good paint job but it had more orange peel in it than a juice factory , when i asked the sales guy about it ( loudly so all could here ) he pulled me aside and said " we have the name , we don't need finish quality ". Follwed by an unprintable piece of advice .
Good car , overpriced and very kind to the oil company executives wallet.
Is bush bashing really worth 60 k
FollowupID: 347825

Reply By: Member - Tim D (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 02:47

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 02:47
Well My terracan has done just on 15000kms and most of that has been hard kms at that which includes over 3000kms on dirt roads from sale to Katherine in the NT via the boar track birdsville big red. So far cannot fault it. Have joined the local 4x4 club copped a lot of bagging up here over the fact is a jerrycan but they have soon shut up after a couple of trips with them when the jerrycan went everywhere the land cruisers and patrols went and did it with ease. Now the fun starts as the wet season sets in and everything turns to mud. Tows my 2 ton boat with ease pulls it out of the water no problems at all wear my patrol (GQ) struggled
AnswerID: 89007

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 07:31

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 07:31
Tim - sounds like you are going through similar experiences as me with a "different" 4WD. Although I'm with the Sydney Jeep Club, my old club would have had fun bagging me for my non-standard choice - the Grand Cherokee. The diesel engine is common-rail, pumps out 120kw and 400Nm and because the car is light (only 1900kg) it performs so much better on the road than the big clunker Patrol I also have. It tows my caravan (1800kg) like it really wasn't there on the back. The Jeep still has solid axles front and rear, so it's pretty capable off road. On trips I'll keep up with the big guys over any terrain that they'll do without damage to themselves.

Enjoy being different to the rest by driving a Terracan - I do by driving the Jeep :)

FollowupID: 347892

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 07:41

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 07:41
Tim,

Haven't heard from you in ages. Mem mes your numbers at home and work.

FollowupID: 347894

Follow Up By: firestang - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 07:54

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 07:54
Test drive time is Friday morning ,should be interesting. The more i go to seperate dealers to get their spin on it the more it looks like the best value around and a pretty capable car.
It also seems the people bagging these cars really have no basis on which to lay their claims .
Every model have faults such as a freinds patrol that kept blowing water pump seals every 3 months from new .

Is there an alternative 4wd club around ,not for the big names so to speak ?

Thanks guys
FollowupID: 347896

Follow Up By: Terry - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 21:18

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 21:18
Good on ya Firestang I hope you get one and you really enjoy it.It would be incredibly boring place if we all drove Patrols and Landcruisers.

There are guys who unless it wears a Toyota or Nissan badge they won`t look at it....It`s automatically a lesser vehicle regardless of how good that vehicle performs .They base their opinion of the vehicle on the first bit of critisism they hear. Despite the fact that the almighty brand that they worship may have many more problems their almighty brand is still better.

It`s funny when you`re in a fleet of 4bys out in the bush and the biggest flashest Patrol with the $10 000 worth of accessories is the one sitting on the side of the road with it`s bonnet up while the lesser brands have pulled up to help get it going..... or push it off a cliff lol....especially when the owner of the Patrol is the one boasting how good it is that morning.

FollowupID: 348054

Reply By: dingbat - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 21:00

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 21:00
Have briefly checked it out at dealer here in ACT, I liked the look of the white HIghlander diesel because of the bonnet scoops but the black petrol looked ok as well.
We have had a Highlander petrol auto since May 04(same as Jimbo's) and to date we have done 20,000k touring and towing 1200+kg van to NSW far north coast and 3 weeks in Tassie. Been on beach at Redhead Newcastle a couple of times and left impressed with its ability, mud and dirt dont appear to cause any problems either but have not tackled any real serious 4wd areas.
Have removed rear jump seats, fitted cargo barrier, homemade Capral aluminium and marine ply drawers/shelves, an ECB 63mm nudge bar(same as some Pajeros) and TJM XGS shocks and springs(pajero springs again) with a torsion bar lift of about 25mm and a rear lift of 40-45mm. Front shocks have improved ride greatly(wife even noticed) and rear changes enable towing 1200kg+ van with minimal sag, although I would like rear springs to be a tad softer.
Fuel usage varies from about 13L/100k to 15-17 towing van and up to 20L/100k when towing in hilly areas, but I get impatient with slow travelling so use heavier foot. It could probably use a 5 speed auto and needs a bigger fuel tank and I would like a trip computer to provide distance to empty reading like our Commodore. A bumper replacement bullbar would be nice as well. Leather seats, climate control, ABS with EBD(works well with van braking), MP3/cd 6 speaker audio also appreciated, wife likes driving and riding in it due to comfort of seats. We/I chose the Highlander because of the automatic torque transfer in 8 stages up to 50/50, the other bits just come with it. The auto gearbox also has a form of HDC whereby the output shaft is braked and yes I know that 8k is not all that slow, but its better than FJ55, Range Rover and Bravo ute in my past.
No hassles or problems and its been serviced twice at quite reasonable costs compared to some brands but that is also reflected in its purchase price structure, maybe a diesel one next time-info about diesel is on Hyundai o/s web site.
Enjoy your test drive they are a greatly underated/overlooked vehicle and boy is that price right in comparison with others.
AnswerID: 89147

Reply By: firestang - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 10:03

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 10:03
I have had bad news from the finance minister(wife) the new deisel is "out" i am still gunna have a drive though.
Also i did a few sums on the cost to run as opposed to a petrol with the deisel at a low fuel consumption and the petrol at a high. we would end up svaing about 900 over the year , we don't do a lot of kms these days ,add to that the extra service shedules to keep the warranty going it ends up about a 500 saving .
Looks like the highlander is the one now ,even though the runnout cars have the tow bar and nudge its easier to whack them on later than miss out on the leather and stuff . Just waiting for thebank to get their act together now ,it's been two weeks .

Thanks for all the advice .

AnswerID: 89204

Reply By: Terracan - Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 22:26

Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 22:26
We have had our Terracan since June 2003, it's done about 20,000 kms. Been relatively fault free.

For the our purposes, it's great, we do 3 - 4 offroad trips a year. Last trip we kept up with the Patrols, Pajero and Jeeps.

The choice was between a 3 - 4 year old Pajero / Prado with 100,000+ kms or a new Terracan with 5 year warranty.

Certainly agree about suspension, but I'll upgrade it soon.

People should try driving one before being so critical.

That's my 20cents.

AnswerID: 89503

Follow Up By: Austin - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 23:28

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 23:28
Hi Guys

Thaught that I would put my twenty cents worth in also. We have just arrived in Darwin in our Terracan Highlander. Traveling from Wodonga in VIC. Great Trip no problems with the Terracan only the fuel consumption. We have been towing a heavy camper and fully loaded so cant really complain. Worst part of the trip so far was the 200k of corrogrations on the loop road from Kings Canyon to Hermansburg, some damage to trailer due to vibration and several cans of soft drink turned in to bombs & went of, what a mess. Saw your car in Kathrine Tim but forgot your phone no etc, and was unable to find you so kept on going. Start heading back in a couple of days.

Garry
FollowupID: 349765

Reply By: Tez - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 17:56

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 17:56
I have had an exhaustive look at pretty much every 4x4 on the market over the last 6 months. With 3 kids (twin 6yr olds and a 19mth boy) and another on the way, my wife and I both had VX Commodores (hers is the S and mine was a 5.7ltr V8 exec with 6spd man), the Commodores would no longer be capable of taking the family due to lack of seats. We recently moved from Syd up to the Central Coast and the V8 was costing way too much to run - so it has been replaced and I now run to work in a Corolla Wagon (for the price/space and fuel economy).

Sooo..the new car is mostly going to be a taxi for the kids, but we hope to get away for a holiday 3-4 times a year. My brother lives in Darwin so we hope to get up there in April this year. The wife wants a Landcruiser Sahara (or will settle for the Kakadu) and I have stipulated Turbo Diesel - for economy/distance per tank/towing etc. I cant justify (or afford) $60K for a 4x4 let along $80K+ for a new Sahara! We took a step down from the wifes dream bus and looked into the Prado, Pajero, Patrol. I have driven each of these vehicles, read so much info on them from all the 4x4 mags, websites, etc. I really wanted a Common Rail Diesel after driving a BMW X5 3.0d 150Kw/480Nm and fell in love with it, but will only seat 5 and way too much moolah! (could sell one of the kids, hee hee!!). Then I heard about the Terracan CRD last September and was eager to see as I was not impressed by anything but the Prado (albeit a bit sluggish). I can say that having driven the Terracan CRD, it leaves even the 118Kw Patrol for dead off the mark and breaking. It is in the smaller class category from the Patrol & Landcruiser, which is one of the things I dont like about Terracan/Prado/Pajero, but it will do for at least 3 years with the current family situation. Now for the best part, the wife likes it (if we get the Highlander 'cause of the leather) but the Highlander also gets the "auto" 4wd transfer between front and rear wheels where the GL doesnt. The Highlander also gets climate control a/c with woodgrain dash. For the best bang for your buck, the Terracan is it for me. On road, fully optioned with Bullbar, towbar, driving lights, mats, rubber mat for rear, tint, front bonnet chip protector, it comes in at $45K for the Highlander auto. For that price I can get the bottom of the range Prado GX with same options.

There are a couple of Diesel Terracans in stores at the moment. I have seen one at Ryde (Terracan GL) and two at Booths in Gosford (1 Highlander auto and a GL auto). They are also throwing in a camping pack with a decent tent and some cooking gear etc if you buy one. You will have to wait until late January for the first shipment of '05 plated and compliance models which will also see the arrival of the Manual Highlander (which is what the wife wants).

With 5 year/130,000km warranty, and because of the new technology CRD turbo Diesel engine, service intervals are at 15,000km instead of the crap 5,000km on the Toy-mota.

I can also tell you that the Prado has a new CRD Turbo Diesel coming in March. It is already out in Kraut-land (Germany) and has the same spec as the Terracan at 120Kw power and around 346Nm torque. This is the same time the new Discovery 3 will hit the stores - I would love the new disco 2.7lt V6 CRD but starts at about $67K for the 7 seater. My dilemma is..do I wait until March (which is when the new baby arrives) and see what Toyota and Land Rover have to offer (and I get to drive these 2 new models), or do I jump in now and get the new Terracan in late Jan and the boat i've wanted since moving to the Central Coast....

Best Regards,
Terry
AnswerID: 91458

Follow Up By: pjchris - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 22:53

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 22:53
The 'new' Prado turbo deisel has been available in Europe for 3 years now....

FollowupID: 350081