Testing the Solar Panel-Uni Solar 64 watt

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:09
ThreadID: 18636 Views:5354 Replies:13 FollowUps:25
For those that have been following the solar debate, here's what I'm going to do to simulate a three day, two night camping trip.

In the morning (Friday) I'm going to plug the CF 80 fridge into the battery (both inside) with the panel in the back yard. As the fridge inside will be in a cooler environment than the back of a car, I'll leave the fridge empty to make it work harder. The panel will be laid flat on the ground as I won't be home to chase the sun. Saturday and Sunday I will move the panel around to follow the Sun and I will then disconnect it late Sunday, leave the battery to settle for a few hours and take a voltage reading to gauge approximately how much drain there has been over a "three day" trip. I'll also open the fridge regularly on Sat and Sun to simulate normal conditions.

I'll then post the results Sunday night.

Sound OK or am I a d!ckhead (more so than usual)?

Reply By: Glenno - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:27

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:27
Im am not a physics professor (far from it), but I would assume its harder to keep 80litres of Air cold that it is 80 lites of food cold. So your statement of "ill leave the fridge empty to make it work harder" may not be correct. It might be more realworld to fill up some 2l milk bottles with water etc.

Apart from that im certainly interested. I wished id spent the extra $20 to get the solar regulator with the LCD readout so I could see Amp's in / Amp's out etc.

Glenn.
AnswerID: 89124

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:38

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:38
Glenn,

I'm trying to make it work harder because the temp in the back room will only be about 22 whereas in the back of the car it is usually around 30.

However I have chucked in a few cold items tonight whilst it runs off the power pack to simulate putting a cooled down fridge onto the panel as you would when you stopped trvelling.

FollowupID: 348032

Reply By: Mainey... - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:28

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:28
Jimbo,
When you go on your "3 day trip" why not 1/2 fill the fridge with room temp water bottles etc and run on 240v the day prior to the test, to equate to the drive to your favourite camping spot for the 3 days, and to compensate for some food contents as empty fridge is not fully realistic as we all have some stuff in them... yeh we often open the lid but there has to be some compromise.. can you open the lid a few times on Saturday and Sunday?

Also the test assumes that the vehicle was not driven during the 3 days... as the only battery charge is as supplied by the panel for the entire time.

What temperature is the fridge going to be set at?

Sounds OK to me...
I will be watching for the answer!

AnswerID: 89126

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:42

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 19:42
Mainey,

I will be opening it on Sat and Sun.

Yes, test will assume no running of car. My type of camping is no more than two days stopped without going for a drive for one reason or another.

Fridge will be set on 3 lights which maintains about 0 at the element end and 5 at the far end with graduating temps in between. This is how I run it; icy cold beer down one end, food at 2-4 in between and water, soft drinks at 5 down the "warm" end.

FollowupID: 348033

Follow Up By: hl - Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 09:46

Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 09:46
Ok,

Looks like it's pie for dinner.

Not bad going.

FollowupID: 348224

Reply By: Member - Stillthinkinaboutit - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 20:27

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 20:27
The test sort of sounds fair Jimbo.

But it would be fairer to load the fridge like Mainey said, it will give a more realistic result when the fridge has a chilled mass inside.
Without some sort of mass in it the thing will cycle more often than normal and give you poor figures. Chill it up first on the mains, just like we all do prior to a trip.

AnswerID: 89138

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 22:07

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 22:07
It is currently (Thursday night) running off the mains to ensure when I put it on the batt it will be like stopping at a camp site after driving.

As I've said, I'm not loading it because it will be in an environment that is not the same as in the back of the car, so I'm trying to work it a little harder to try and replicate a real world situation.

If I work it harder than it will do in "the real world", wonderful. I can then expect better in the bush.

Just trying to produce a real test of its capabilities.

I'll then again post after I do a 5 day trip in late December.

Jim
FollowupID: 348066

Reply By: hl - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 21:04

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 21:04

Battery will be flat saturday morning.

Anyone else want to guess when?

AnswerID: 89149

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 23:40

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 23:40
hl,

Ran the fridge all day off the panel from 8 am. Started at 12.64 V this morning and at 11 pm it was showing 12.68 after settling for 30 min.

I doubt it will be flat in the morning. I'm guessing it will be down to about 12.4 by morning and then the panel will start boosting it again.

Time will tell.

FollowupID: 348213

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 09:21

Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 09:21
Saturday morning 8.30 12.48V.
FollowupID: 348220

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 10:26

Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 10:26
Good guess Jim, plently of sunshine hrs today so the amps will be flooding in. Have you got an amp meter connected ?
FollowupID: 348225

Follow Up By: hl - Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 17:33

Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 17:33

Is it still going or can I cancel the pie?

FollowupID: 348248

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 21:51

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 21:51
Jimbo,
I'm about to go through the same stuff you have over recent weeks; trying to work out what size panel i need etc.
I've recently taken out the inefficient 3 way fridge from the camper trailer and installed a 80 litre upright Engel unit and now have 2 Exide Orbital batteries (the spiral wound jobbies). These are rated at 50ah each and I've wired them in parallel to give me 100ah. I have them constantly being charged by my new Hybralec 3 stage smart-arze charger whilst I'm here at home on the 240v; so they should be in tip top state when we head off for 4 days on the Murray over Xmas.

I'm not kidding myself, I know they won't go for 4 days; especially if it's stinking hot. So I'm gunna have to hook the Patrol up to re-charge them at various times over the weekend.

I'm leaning towards getting a 100w solar panel at present, but all these different brand names of panels and regulators just leave me wondering......WTF??? where do I start??? Well, I've sort of started by following your lead and we'll see where I end up.

Good luck with your experiment mate. (better to do it at home where there's no real damage done if things go wrong, rather than be out bush with a fridge full of hot beer).LOLOLOL
AnswerID: 89159

Reply By: Eric Experience. - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 22:15

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 22:15
This is good stuff, everybody should do it, my only problem is the measuring the battery voltage to determin the charge, the voltage is a very poor indication of charge, if you spend about $5 and get a battery hydrometer you will find the actual state of charge and we will all learn something from it. Thanks for your efforts. Eric.
AnswerID: 89163

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 22:35

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 22:35
My problem Eric is that my battery is an AGM and is totally sealed.

Can't use an hydometer unfortunately.

FollowupID: 348073

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 22:44

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 22:44
Eric,

I've just received an email from Rex (aka Magnus) with charts concerning state of charge according to voltage about numerous different types of batteries.

I'll use it as it is the best guide I've got.

I'm hoping that given the consistency of the indications it can't be too far wrong.

Thankyou very much Rex. You're a gentleman, but I already knew that.

FollowupID: 348074

Follow Up By: hl - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 07:00

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 07:00
Don't worry about measuring the voltage. If the fridge won't start, you can safely assume the battery is flat.
A full charged lead acid battery will read >12.5V at 20C if it is fully charged.
You need to let it stand without a load or charge for about 1/2 hour to get a meaningful reading.

FollowupID: 348091

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 07:25

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 07:25
This is a good idea to test things before you go away not when you go away !!!

Hope it's a sunny weekend Jimbo !! and good luck.

See you at Murry Sunset.

FollowupID: 348093

Follow Up By: porl - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 12:51

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 12:51
hl said 12.5V at full charge ? That is so not right for my batteries. Even after a day the 90 amp lead acid marine battery reads 12.65v as it is meant to, my yellow top optima reads 12.70v as it is meant to, and my AGM 33amp battery reads 12.68, as it is meant to. At 12.50 i'd take it to the dump for recycling.
FollowupID: 348138

Follow Up By: hl - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 13:09

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 13:09
I did say >12.5V (meaning MORE THAN). Although rest assured, if it reads 12.5 under those conditions it's pretty close to full.
And precisely where is that dump?

FollowupID: 348140

Follow Up By: porl - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 13:18

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 13:18
fair enough hl, but i am led to believe that at 12.45v a battery is only at 75% capacity so if it won't charge to 100% then it is a certain to fail and quite soon and 12.50v is not far off when it should be in the 12.60's. In any event as i also understand only 80% of a battery's capacity is useable on most appliances the math starts to indicate it's not really worth keeping if you don't want to deal with a battery failure. But i would love to be convinced otherwise and my sources are only general knowledge based.
FollowupID: 348142

Follow Up By: hl - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 13:45

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 13:45
Hi again,

As Eric said, voltage is not a totally reliable indication but if you have nothing else, i.e a hydrometer is very hard to stuff into a sealed cell, then it will have to do. You may also be surprised at the range of voltage you can measure on the same battery using different digital multimeters!!!! They can easily disagree by .2V!
The other thing voltage will not tell you, as I have found out by experience, if a battery has a bad (low capacity) cell in it. Only a load test or hydrometer will tell for sure.
I use an Exide Extreme ZZ aux battery in my Patrol and a little Jaycar digital thermometer/voltage meter combo to monitor the voltage. I also have a small kit built digital ammeter in circuit.
When the battery reads more than 12.5V, it will take very little or no current when the engine is running, i.e. it's full!
Drop down to say 12.3, and it will take 20 amps for a while before reducing. I have found that ammeter quite invaluable, as it gives a true indication of what goes on when you're on the move.
It is also quite interesting to see just how long it takes to fully recharge a flat aux. In my experience it can take 5-6 hours driving.
FollowupID: 348148

Reply By: sav - Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 23:51

Thursday, Dec 16, 2004 at 23:51
Great idea Jimbo.
Look forward to some results - while there are lots of opinions out there - there seem to be very few people willing to put time and energy into some actual testing.
The results will also benefit yourself - it's always good to know the limits of your equipment (something my wife always comments on anyway...).

Sav.
AnswerID: 89173

Reply By: Member - Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 01:56

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 01:56
Jimbo,

I can suggest an improvement to your testing process.

Put some beer in the fridge, (will help load it up) then when you are opening and closing it regularly on the Saturday and Sunday, you will have something to do between tasks:-))

AnswerID: 89185

Follow Up By: techo2oz - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 10:28

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 10:28
Have to agree here.

I have a similar setup to what you are trialling, except I have a "larger" bank of batteries, (just in case) and I have two 68 Watt panels hinged together. I too use the 80litre Waeco.

You really need to load the fridge with beverages of your preference *prior to* going away. That way you can experiment with temp settings so that you can manage to get the flavour right.

My mistake was first trip out I hadn't done any testing and was worried about running out of power but I should have been more worried about either freezing the drinks or having them too warm.

Can happily report now that with my set up can go for at least a week, have frozen food at one end and cold stuff at the other. I have mine set up as Fridge/Freezer.

I reckon as long as you have suitably heavy cables between panels and regular and then onto the battery, you should have no issue, as long as the sun stays out for the majority of the weekend.

Good luck.

FollowupID: 348113

Reply By: muzzgit - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 02:05

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 02:05
A mate of mine has the same burning questions as you guys... what if I do this? what if I do that?

My mate does OK with his two panels and bateries for lighting, but gets into all sorts of strife whenever he's tried to keep up with the demands of his fridge.

I simply purchased a quality generator, along with a steel cable and padlock, whacked a jerrycan holder on the front of da Jayco and I run it whenever I feel I need to... rain, hail or shine (but not at night).

Stones won't break it & meat-heads can't steal it.

It runs 240v for the camper and tops up the deep cycle battery in da patrol while it runs the wayco on 12v.

Cheers Muzz
AnswerID: 89187

Follow Up By: Member - Peter H (NSW) - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 05:21

Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 05:21
G'day muzzgit
Can you send me the type of generator that you use, and how do I wire it up so that I can charge the car battery? My Jayco Heritage will be ready to pickup in March 2005. If there are any tips that you think I need to know, please don't hesitate to let me know.
Have a merry Christmas and happy New Year to you and your family and friends, from Peter and Dawn.
FollowupID: 348388

Reply By: Member - Geoff M (NSW) - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 10:39

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 10:39
I'm in the process of looking at panells too!
Really looking forward to the real world results rather than a lot of "You Shall do it My Way" theory.
In an odd kind of way, wouldn't it be good if it was cloudy all weekend. That way the test would truly be worst case.
If the system came through on empty fridge, cloud cover, opening door etc, you'd truly know you'd designed a winner.

Geoff.

AnswerID: 89210

Follow Up By: Mainey... - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 11:49

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 11:49
Geoff M
The clouds won't be a problem with this solar panel!

my only suggestion is as I stated above "should have at least some water bottles in to replicate food" as I believe the refrigerant plates are only on two sides in this model fridge, and NOT on all four sides.
Within the empty fridge there will be warmer areas with only air not circulating, as there is only one temperature pick-up in the fridge for the compressor on/off times, it may be tricked to switching on after the fridge is opened, as the 'food' would normally retain heaps of cool with less air, as in the eutectic principal.

This test will give a worst case scenario result, and if that is desired, then I have absolutely NO problems at all with the test method.
FollowupID: 348127

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 22:50

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 22:50
That's the plan Mainey, to work it hard.

FollowupID: 348209

Reply By: Topcat (WA) - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 15:36

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 15:36
Hi Jimbo, I did this test many years ago when I started using solar power systems. When I bought my 60 litrer Trailblazer (17years ago) I was told that I would need at least 120watts of solar power to run the fridge in good weather (6-8 hrs sunlight) to maintain a battery at 75% charge capacity. Since then the best set-up I have found to keep me fully self sufficient to run the fridge in full freeze condition plus lighting at night for up to 2 weeks in fair weather conditions ( 2-3 days/week good sunlight) is 160 watts solar power (2 x 80watt BP panels) coupled to 2 x 190amp 6 volt Deep Cycle Batteries connected in series. In fact I have been camping in places for over 3 weeks at a time & never had to discharge my batteries more then 25%, which allows me to get a good life out of the batteries. This setup in good sunlight gives me a 8-9 amp charge rate which averages around 5 amps. All I need is 4-5 hours of sunlight each day. The fridge draws about 20 amps daily. I'm interested in seeing how your test goes. Cheers.
AnswerID: 89245

Reply By: Gajm (VIC) - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 18:06

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 18:06
If you lay the panel flat on the ground Jimbo put it up on something just to give it a bit of ventilation.
AnswerID: 89262

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 09:22

Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 09:22
FollowupID: 348221

Reply By: Mainey... - Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 17:07

Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 17:07
Jimbo,
as a bit of general information for the non solar users, can you advise, if known, what your battery voltages were during the middle of the afternoon on either of the days while recieving solar power, and prior to the fridge starting, relevant to various statements of the battery only recharging to the 70% - 80% etc of capacity.
I would be expecting to see well over 13v while connected and the fridge not actually running!
AnswerID: 89468