Submitted: Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 16:08
flappan
Hypothetical situation:
You're driving along in a suburban street, in your mirror, you see another car closing fast, doing 80 or 90 in a 50 zone.
A) Ignore them and stay at your current speed
B) Speed up
C) Slow down
D) Pull over and let them go past
Reply By: flappan - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 16:09
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 16:09
A
Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 21:22
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 21:22
D ... no question.
Reply By: Terry - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 16:23
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 16:23
If the car has red and blue disco lights on top most definetly D but if it`s some P plater trying to be Peter Brock A
Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 21:23
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 21:23
So if you do this and the guy road rages you, are you to blame because you started the issue?
And you would look real funny waiting for the tow truck after he hits you, when simply moving over and letting him by, removes him from your life, in a very quick amount of time.
Follow Up By: Terry - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 21:50
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 21:50
Well I`d rather that anyday than him cleaning up that girl pushing a pram and or a 7 year old kid on a bmx crossing the road up ahead.
Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 21:52
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 21:52
Thats very noble of you, to save the world from itself like that.......
Ohhhh Im awake, is that roses I can smell?...
Follow Up By: Terry - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 22:23
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 22:23
Have you ever seen a kid get hit by a car doing 80km/h in a 50k zone???...seeing a kid bouncing off a car and onto the bitumen..
well have you????. have you seen the distress the parents go thru????and all that time the
young moron behind the wheel of the car can say is "I`m really sorry"...
Well Christmas day 4 years mate that`s exactly what I had the misfortune of witnessing sitting out front of my girlfriends place.I`d rather get a dose of road rage from a hoon anyday than see that again.
Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 22:37
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 22:37
Your never going to save everybody, regardless, and holding them up just makes them speed more in the next sector of the trip theya re racing through, but for the record,
Ive seen 3 fatalities, Ive seen one happen, Ive seen 4 people be run over, one by a car doing 80kph +, with the person cartwheeling in the air, and one who got run over by a semi's trailer
wheels squeezing his insides out of his head like a tube of toothpaste, which is all the more reason I get out of the persons way......
This doesnt count my time in the CFA on the Hume, where we would turn out to 25+ accidents on a long weekend.
Follow Up By: Terry - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 02:15
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 02:15
Well lets see I`ve attended 23 fatalities in my time, seen 4 of them happen and I`ve seen a guy get squished by a truck too.Also seen an old guy working under his car on the side of major highway with his legs sticking out into traffic and a low loader with a 16 ton grader on the back go straight over the top of his legs.
I`ve seen it from all angles. I`ve been the kid crossing the road. I`ve been the invincible
young hoon who nearly did clean someone up. How it didn`t happen before then is plain lucky. 5 years later watched what could have happened right before me and last but not least I`ve been the person who`s had to scrape people off the road.
Alright Go offroad I`m doing the 50 km/h limit ,minding my own business, I get out of his way then what.. On a 2 lane surburban street there`s going to be more traffic further up.There`s traffic banked up behind the little old lady on her Sunday drive doing 35 km/h and traffic coming the other way with no chance of him getting around .Are all those people plus the old lady gonna get out of his way ...is he gonna have road rage with all of those people..He`d be pretty peeved too cos he would have had road rage from having to get around cars before he got up to me assuming they didn`t get out of his way...Meanwhile having got out of his way I`ve now caught up to him and all he can see in his mirrors now is my big shiny bull bar and the hunter has now become the hunted.Oh yes and a cop doing license checks further up spots some defects on his car and gives him a yellow sticker. I think he`s wishing he took the bus now
Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 06:10
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 06:10
My terry, you have read alot into the statement to suit what you think, 2 lanes, old ladies, cops, and you even become a hunter LOL... all of a sudden you have lowered to the speedsters level, because he passed you?
Its pretty simple really, if you dont want a person on another agenda up your bum, who is obviously in a hurry, let him by, and let his agenda clash with someone else would be the smart thing to do, anywhere, anytime the opportunity arrises......
Follow Up By: Terry - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 14:14
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 14:14
I`m going on the basis that it`s only 2 lanes because if there was additional lanes available he wouldn`t be sitting in the left hand lane pedalling it with me and everyone else in front of him.Me being there wouldn`t be an issue. He would be in that right lane going past everything.Also taking into account if it was a busy time like peak rush hour a multi lane carrigeway with a posted speed limit of 50km/h and going by
Melbourne,
Sydney even
Perth traffic there`s no way he could do 80km/h in the 50km/h zone regardless which lane he`s in because the traffic conditions simply wouldn`t allow it.
I`m going on the basis he`s a
young guy on P plates and has just got his first hot car and he wants to see how fast it will go and doesn`t know any better.....He`s not flashing his headlights and blasting his horn to indicate that that he is in any kind of an emergency and which if he was everyone would get out of his way without question.The old lady doing 35km/h and the vehicles behind her he is forced to slow down.I`m going along doing 50km/h see the slow moving traffic and slow down accordingly so ofcourse I`m going to be right behind him and behind me is the truck he sideswiped getting onto the road in the first place.The old lady turns off at the lawn bowls and the traffic picks up pace.He takes off and then further down the road there`s the cop.
But ofcourse I don`t know anything I only build roads for a living.Even managed to do some traffic management studies to as to what kinds of traffic reacts to various situations but no I still know nothing.
Reply By: timglobal - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 16:26
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 16:26
A, with lots of assumptions, most of which are too dull to go into here.
Reply By: beatit - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 16:28
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 16:28
G'day,
Not enough info. Is the car sideways and totally out of control (B on that one), Is it on of the boys in blue - check speed (C on that one), is the driver the Prime Minister or our infamous Mr Scruby (an A on that one), Is it the wife in our other car trying to beat me home to
cook dinner (a D on that one)
Geez, hope I got the right attitude?
Reply By: Member Eric - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 16:29
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 16:29
Defenently D for me ,
I spend all day on the road, so i can't be bothered with causing issues. He wants to be a madman , or mad woman , let them be .
Reply By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 16:31
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 16:31
A) my camper has very limited vision behind so I probably didnt see them and as for B) it is powered by a 2h and weighs 3t - not an option C) what for I am probably going slow enough D) stuff that Ive got
places to be also
Follow Up By: Member Eric - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 18:31
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 18:31
You should always be in the left lane anyway lol
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 18:52
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 18:52
Lanes what are they? I think I saw one last time I was in
perth but that was ages ago
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 20:59
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 20:59
I read the other day that Campers behind diesel Toyotas are only going to be allowed on the road, between the hours of 1 and 5 AM.
Pollies are amazing
Follow Up By: Member Eric - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 22:25
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 22:25
We wouldnt be bagging Toyotas would we ??
I have information and I aint scared to use it lol
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 23:14
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 23:14
Did I say Toyota, I meant LandRover................
Reply By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 16:43
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 16:43
A for me, but I would be keeping a pretty close eye on what's going on in case I have to change my actions. For example, if it looks like he is going to hit me or something like that.
Follow Up By: Cabbage - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 16:48
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 16:48
B.
C.
D.
Cause I'm old, wear a hat, and drive a Volvo
Leave nothing but footprints & take nothing but photos
Reply By: Member - Scrubba (NSW) - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 16:47
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 16:47
D) if there's enough bitumen to the left of me
A) if not
Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 11:58
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 11:58
Ditto
Reply By: Member - T-bone (ACT) - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 16:51
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 16:51
If I'm in the Rangie, then A - I'll ignore the buggers. If I'm on the motorbike, then also A, but with a wary eye on the mirrors if I should need to do B or D.
What prompts you to ask the question flappan - had something similar happen recently?
T-Bone.
Follow Up By: flappan - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 16:56
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 16:56
We are doing a bit of research for the ADG (Australian Drivers Group).
There's a general idea that Drivers Attitude , probably plays a big a role in accidents , road rage etc etc, as anything else.
there's nothing sinister in the poll. Its just purely to get some
views , from a different driving group.
Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 21:26
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 21:26
When you spend alot of time driving, you soon learn what the issues are, and drivers who think they can keep you at the speed they wish to travel at, is one attitude problem of many I see.
Reply By: Member - Graham P (QLD) - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 17:31
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 17:31
Probably D, though I have taken off and gone through a red light at which I was stopped a 1am. had I not done so the skid marks of the other vehicle indicated I would have been shunted clear across the
intersection. Main street,
Brisbane 1966.
graham
Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 17:46
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 17:46
A followed by D if his/her actions require
Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 17:49
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 17:49
A, but keep an eye on them at all times just in case to many victims of these drongos already don't want to be one of them.
Reply By: Member - Tim - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 17:50
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 17:50
Definitely A with the rider that I don't ignore them. If I am travelling at the speed limit then they need to find somewhere safe to pass me. I will not try to block anyone but as was said before, I am also going somewhere. I won't be going slow enough to hold somone below the speed limit.
This was exactly the situation I had the other day, I was travelling at the speed limit on a straight but not really wide suburban street, the idiot who was sitting a couple of inches from my back bumper decided to overtake just as someone pulled out of a side street on the right and he nearly took all three vehicles out. Then I pulled up beside him at the next set of traffic lights, got his attention and called him the ****wit that I thought he was. Probably not the best for good relations but I wasn't particularly impressed and for all his dangerous idiocy he ended up at the same place I did at the same time.
Tim.
Reply By: Member - Jack - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 18:07
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 18:07
a.
If you are a serious group you may want to look at attitudes of drivers in other cities to see how they compare. I spent some time driving around California over many months and found drivers' attitudes to be brilliant.
One example ... caught 4 lanes out on Wiltshire Boulevarde, in peak hour and within 200 metres of my hotel. Wound the window down and asked the driver next to me it he'd mind if I cut across when the lights changed. No problem .. he also advised the driver next to him .. and so it went on. I was able to get across 4 lanes in peak hour and into my hotel with absolutely no aggro. Try that on Parramatta Road.
Best advice I received there was .. don't get caught queueing across intersections .. that is when the guns will come out. I was extra careful at intersections.
I have friends who have also driven extensively in Europe and they tell similar stories.
Here in
Sydney it is just a sh** fight. Very little in the way of courtesy, patience or even good manners. Pity really.
Jack
Follow Up By: Tim - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 07:23
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 07:23
Same deal in Thailand and other countries in SE Asia. You can be driving in the 6th lane on a 3 lane highway, chuck the indicator on and start moving and people just get out of your way.
Another one is when your going around someone you give them a good blast on the horn, it's normal practice. Try that over here and you'll be in all sorts.
And just for the survey I would maintain my speed, if they sat on my @ss I would slow down. Its amazing what going from 4th to 2nd will do in a diesel!
Tim
Reply By: Member - Camper (SA) - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 18:54
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 18:54
I'd go for A unless D looked like it might be a safer bet or might develop into a safer bet.
Never could resist a serious survey!
Camper
Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 18:56
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 18:56
A) Unless I feel they are going to cause me harm. then D)
Reply By: theshadows - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 19:42
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 19:42
Not enough info.
Hat one driving car {c} at the same time looking to try to do a {d}
hat 2 in the Semi {a} and only A .I speed enough time trying to get up to 50 he isnt going to overtake me im too long in the 'b' double . This only happen 100 thousand times a week. to me
shadow
Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 20:03
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 20:03
D every time. If its a hoon you don't want to get hit or induce a collision. It could be an emergency and you could be obstructing a mercy dash or similar. A. is stupid - you never ignore anything
on the road, B. is stupid too, C. if it helps them get past, but if you are doing to obstruct then you deserve the road rage you are likely to encounter sooner or later.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 21:19
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 21:19
G'day Bob....
I reckon you've got it in one mate.....
Quote:
"A. is stupid - you never ignore anything
on the road, B. is stupid too"...
Let the silly sods head off and kill themselves, not you and your family.
Might be a bit different if I was driving a Centurion Tank or similar.
Reply By: 28patrol - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 20:30
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 20:30
A and prepare for D
Reply By: mr diamond - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 21:01
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 21:01
i would say(e)
(e)pull over and stop the speeding motorist beat the living daylights out of them.
Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 21:29
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 21:29
Yeah, the toughest man in the world routine will solve all the traffic problems..........
Follow Up By: mr diamond - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 12:23
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 12:23
lol i would expect this type of follow up from someone like YOU.
HAHAHA.
very funny
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 21:01
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 21:01
A) most times but sometimes D) as it allows me a greater accuracy through the "scope" hehehehehe
Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 21:15
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 21:15
Depends on my mood at the time tbh. Probably A
Reply By: Member - Gecko (WA) - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 21:17
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 21:17
A unless it was an emergency or the other car was driving dangerously in which case d
Happens quite alot in
Perth funny thing is that I mostly drive in the left lane so people scream up behind you, then sit on your bumper because they couldnt be bothered changing lanes.
Reply By: Member - Jiarna (SA) - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 22:41
Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 22:41
D. Life's too short to waste it on imbeciles. Also take the rego number so the police have a lead on the stolen vehicle's movements.
Reply By: Member - Nick K (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 00:14
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 00:14
D
Who can be stuffed
Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 00:28
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 00:28
C every time if you can fight LOL.
My fighting days are behind so I reckon A, but get into a puch up if you have to LOL.
It's good exercise ROFLMAO.
If I've got my two sons and my brother with me it's E. Come to a stop in the middle of the road to really p!ss the goose off.
Nothing wrong with giving a bit of curry back to a road rager, makes them think twice about doing it again.
Any wonder my wife hates driving with me LOL.
Just jokes (well mainly),
Reply By: Tuff60 - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 00:38
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 00:38
Always D, if you hold em up, it just encourages stupid and dangerous overtaking moves. I am not a policeman and unlike some don't ever want to be, besides in Melb we have more camoflaged(spelling) kodaks than hospital beds so they get thiers in the end anyway. Quite satisfying to let them go flying by only to find a speed camera a couple hundred metres infront, or even better them pulled over by a police car.
Reply By: motherhen - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 01:21
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 01:21
A. Assuming i was doing around the 50 speed limit, continue at that speed and stay in my lane. Whereever i go people whiz past me when i am doing the speed limit. In this hyperthetical case, if they looked like they were going to plough into the back of me rather that pass me, i would consider evasive action. Perhaps we need bull bars on the back as well. Now there's a good idea!
Safe holiday motoring
Reply By: muzzgit - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 01:27
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 01:27
I'm guilty of all 4 I must admit.
Must agree with others,
perth drivers obviously eat weetbix, how else do they get their license, te he
I'm a very patient driver, thats what every one tells me, but WA drivers suck.
Young, old, Man, Woman. Never noticed it so much untill we spent a month up north,
Broome,
Exmouth etc; Couldn't beleive the idiots
on the road when we got back to
perth, untill we realised that we were just used to it before.
Muzz
Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 08:03
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 08:03
D) if they're obviously in a helluva hurry...
Tailgaters... people who drive "normally" but ride toooooooo close to my rear, get the "I-go-slow-now" treatment...
If someone is speeding up behind you... what if they're on their way to a hospital... woman in labour... that sort of thing... yep.. shouldn't be speeding, but... usually they're in a bit of a panic!
Let 'em on their way, I say. And if they kill someone, it isn't your fault for letting 'em pass. But if you frustrate them and not let them by, and they do something stupid that causes an accident then and there... well, you HAVE contributed to the accident, haven't you!
Reply By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 09:28
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 09:28
A)
D) if its emergency services, ambulance etc.
Reply By: bushfix - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 09:44
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 09:44
an African or European car?
(one for the Pythons amongst us)
Reply By: Member - Bradley- Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 11:38
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 11:38
each situ is different , have to make a judgement call and keep an eye on them, usually A , but if it looks dangerous sometimes B, if they look like a bong smoking clown then sometimes C. In a suburban street i wont do a D because i dont think its safe to do any overtaking on them , but on the open road, yes i always move over and give them a view of the road ahead and let them make the call.