How to buy a decent tent when you live in NSW !!!

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 17:48
ThreadID: 18961 Views:12987 Replies:22 FollowUps:14
Hello from a couple of newbies to exploroz. Found your forums the other night as I started to research what sort of tent to buy with a view to car/bush camping around the country. After many hours of sifting through the advice based on much experience by many of you, we had happily narrowed down our choice to a family sized tourer from either Southern Cross or Freedom. (I hope it's ok to use business names here, but it's critical to the story...) (Given that we want to start travelling and camping more, I hope to spend more time around here checking out other tips from the experienced folk here!)

Anyway.. Naturally, given the price!! we wanted to see these tents on display. We're travelling down to Sydney from Coffs Harbour(where we live) next week, and, after finding that the local Coffs camping store listed as a dealer on the website for SC didn't deal in SC ( *blank look* "We only have Camping World tents").. I've just made some phone calls around Sydney, only to find that there is _no way_ we are going to be able to see the tents we are interested in on display.

The "big camping store" at Prospect sells SC, but have none on display, as "at this time of year only the dome types sell, so that's all we put on display". They offered to put a SC tent up for us, if they had it in stock.. but of course they don't stock the bigger ones - and can only get them in on order.

I rang Freedom's head office to ask where the heck we could see one of their tents.. and they told me two places in Sydney.. one of whom I had already rung and who had referred me to their other store which has "one on display" and which didn't answer when I rang!!! "Doh.. sorry" was the only response I got from the guy at Freedom.! Here's someone maybe prepared to spend big bucks with them, and I get a *shrug* and a sorry!!

SC's head office say on their website that they are closed over the xmas break!

So... I don't suppose anybody has any suggestions for us... Anyone heard about the bigger single pole touring tents?... ie. either the Ultimate Trekker Double Ender from SC, or one of the Family Tourers with Freedom. We have 3 kids... 11, 9 and 6. The OH (Other Half.. aka Marc) had already decided we wanted a tent, and not a camper trailer (storage room, towing and price issues). He also wanted something that will remain standing through any weather... so the thoughts expressed in many threads confirmed that the dome tents were not for us.. that canvas was, and that as we wanted to combine touring with the occasional base camping, that a tourer was actually the way to go.. as is for one night stays (and to prevent divorce proceedings when setting up camp!) and with a fly, and an extra little 3 man for the kids to fight in on extended stays. Prepared to spend the $$$ for quality.. hence narrowing it down to those two.

With issues with living 'regionally' , and limited vacation time spent around any capital cities!... we had decided that _next week_ we were doing the deed instead of just talking about it, and buying a tent!!

So.. thoughts, experience? Or I don't suppose anyone between here and Sydney actually _has_ one and would be prepared for a family of strangers to lob in and have a look at one put up in your backyard!!!

Thanks for putting up with the monologue, and hope to hear back!

Tracey

Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 17:57

Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 17:57
Can't help where to buy or see them but you are on a good thought re the centre poles - so damned easy to put up and take down - I hate frigging about with tents but the centre poles might be the easiest of the lot - and you can stand up in them !
AnswerID: 90769

Reply By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 18:22

Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 18:22
Hi Tracey, sorry can't help you viewing one, but I understand your frustration, its bad enough choosing when you can see them erected.

Have stayed in a 9x9 SC with the side poles for 2 weeks touring.
Finished up buying a Freedom "Northern Tourer" 10x8 & using the center pole we can both sleep one side of the pole.
It also has a D type door with flymesh attached, door just hangs open, the SC doors are fixed at the top & have a seperate fly mesh, spent all our time doing up zips.
The Freedom spring pole is super, and the spike protrudes through the top of tent, making it easier to attach a large fly, whereas the SC pole is all inside the tent.
I think Freedom have a family version (extended at the Rear) of the Northern Tourer.
Tourer also has 1/2 window flap attached external which is also good.

Hope this is some help.
AnswerID: 90772

Follow Up By: Trace 'n Marc - Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 18:35

Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 18:35
Ah, thanks, interesting points Bernie, as we were unclear about where the centre pole went with either brand. What stops the water getting in when the pole goes through the top of the tent? (That's the sort of stuff we were expecting to be able to look at.)

As I'm beginning to think we'll have to buy this tent sight unseen.. (unless we take an unplanned detour to Victoria) and basically take the quality at face value. *gulps*.. Most interested in any other reasons that have swayed people one way or another with aforementioned brands. The doors/zips are a good point. Also.. read somewhere (the SC site?) that they deliberately don't do the spring loaded poles, yet Freedom use them as a selling point. :S
FollowupID: 349337

Reply By: Member - Michael- Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 18:29

Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 18:29
Hi Guys

Having had a dome tent then switching to the centre pole, the centre pole is the way to go. Get the one with the rear extension and also for more space there is a side pole setup that replaces the centre pole it costs about $50 and well worth it

May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

AnswerID: 90774

Follow Up By: Trace 'n Marc - Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 18:42

Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 18:42
(Excuse my enthusiasm here... )... Mike.. when you say the rear extension, do you mean as opposed to the largest one (in both brands) ? (ie. with the side extensions each side?) Can you get a 'side pole setup' kit for that type (does anyone know?!)... as that idea certainly appeals for extended stops! (And as OH says.. "if it's getting windy, stick the centre pole back in again!" )

T.
FollowupID: 349338

Reply By: Member - Moggs - Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 18:58

Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 18:58
I went through the same frustrating process a few years ago in Sydney. I ended up buying a COI Tornado Extended Touring tent from Kangaroo Tent City for $750 on sale just after xmas (25% off sale). The tent is magnificent and is 10' x 14'. I have used it extensively over the past couple of years and love it. I have also ourchased the side pole kit for it which makes it easier to set stuff up inside. These are a top quality tent and it has never leaked or failed me in anyway.

Check them out here:

http://www.discountcamping.com.au/index/products/touringtents/tents#81

I reckon they are every bit as good as the SC and Freedom brands, and heaps better than the overpriced GreatOutdoors models. As for price of the one Igot, well, keep a look out over January for the sales, but at least you are looking to buy at the right time.

Actually, it is on sale at Discount Camping (above link) for $890....worth every cent at $890, let alone $750 :)

Good luck with it.
AnswerID: 90777

Reply By: derraux - Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 21:25

Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 21:25
Tracey
If you are chasing quality i would sujest freedom, Freedom camping in there tourer range of tents still use the bradmill canvas, sc are using a wax converters canvas , which freedom use in there camper range of tents the bradmill cnavas is more breathable in hot and cold conditions and has a higher life expectancy. the wax converters is a cheaper material to start with, freedom also use only ykk zips in all of there tents, these zips are used in such things as life jacket and wetsuits,they use an australian made steel centre pole wich is spring loaded this allows the tent to move in extreme conditions, without some movement something must give, the pole seals from the pressure up against the leather patch in the roof, they also use steel D rings in the peg loops two rows of webbing in the corner to create even load down the walls the mosquito mesh is sand fly proof and is a good fiberglass mesh, I am from W.A and have had alot to do with these tents hope this helps

Derek
AnswerID: 90790

Reply By: Peter 2 - Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 21:49

Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 21:49
As you are coming into Sydney from the north have a look and see what All Camping Supplies (used to be Thornleigh Tents) has on display, they are in Railway Parade Thornleigh just off Pennant Hills Rd. They usually have a few tents on display. Can be expensive price wise though.
Can recomend Kangaroo Tents to deal with we bought our centre pole from them 25 years ago and it is still going strong. (we had to have it made to order as no one made one for retail sale in those days.
AnswerID: 90796

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 22:09

Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 22:09
We had a club open day down here in Melb, just off the frankston freeway at the boat racing club area, and a big storm blew up.
Was brilliant to see the next day which ones were still standing.

There were domes, SC, Freedom, even the old A style kids tents!!

1 Freedom was down, all domes were standing, and the SC had fly issues, but it was a real storm... (12mths ago)

For me that was one test I could see in the flesh.

Went into melbourne to look at the freedom ones. Instantly, I hated the way the Freedom fly mounts on to the center pole, just loops on, it doesnt really seal to the roof of the tent, so if it rains from behind the tent area, you get wet, or thats how it appeared. Also the info from the chick there that was all of 20, saying things like, had personal experience doing it this way for 20 years.. she was a sperm when she first designed a tent.

The SC fly Zips to the tent, but in the rain, its not easy, specially since its a HEAVY PRICK, but I have the largest fly they make, which is pretty much the same as Freedom's one, you can sit 4 easily in there to eat and cook.

Both are pretty much the same, the fly was the seller for me, I got the SC extreme trekker with the extra frame on the back to give more room inside.

The trick is learning how to pack it away again :(
AnswerID: 90808

Reply By: Red Patrol - Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 22:13

Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 22:13
Hi Trace and Marc.

I have the SC extended tourer with side pole kit and the canvas awning. Had it four years and absolutely love it. It is 3 x 4 metres in size and fits wife me and kids, 15, 11, 9., and all the assorted junk. Its terrific. It has never leaked and gets used probable 3-4 weeks a year. Been to Tassie, Simpson and every where in between. Freinds have the same tent and love theirs. I shopped around and ended up choosing between the SC and Freedom. The SC is made in Aussie (VIC) whilst from memory the Freedom is made in NZ from aussie design. Zips etc have been no issue. The awning zips on the front of the tent and is very versatile. It usually falls down in a heavy wind though, especiaelly if the wind gets under it (Awning). If you get to it first and have it follow the line of the tent it is okay. We have the side pole kit and use it when staying in one spot for a few days, otherwise use the centre pole. The beauty of this tent is you can use it for overnight stops, and still use it for those long stays where the kids have dome tents. I would reccomend them.

Red
AnswerID: 90809

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 09:51

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 09:51
I agree with the sidepole kit as almost a MUST! creates so much more room inside the tent.
FollowupID: 349402

Reply By: Trace 'n Marc - Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 22:57

Thursday, Dec 30, 2004 at 22:57
Thanks guys, this is great feedback - though each time I convince myself one brand is the way to go, I get arguments against that, and for the other! (I had already picked up on your decision to go with SC, Truckster, so I'd been hoping you were home and available to answer! (I have to say I wasn't impressed with the dope on the phone at F's head office today either.. *black mark against F* - but the features Derek have mentioned like the zip, D ring, and the canvas, have me wavering. And what Freedom tout as a positive (eg. the spring loaded poles), are mentioned as a negative at SC.

So much for the testimonials at F re them being the only ones standing after a storm...

Interested in exactly which tents you got (Truckster and Vic)... as the ones you have mentioned don't match exactly what I'm seeing on their website

We were looking at the Ultimate Trekker Double Ender for the space... (thinking of the times when we want to spend a few days somewhere) and height (OH is 6 ft 1) ... but is it likely to be too big (in terms of weight)? (and given that Red fits his older family into a 3 x 4m) Does the Double ender style come with the side pole kit? (These are questions I can't even ask head office at the moment as they are closed till the 12th Jan.)

I had disregarded the COI one because they weren't big enough... but maybe I should look again.... not sure about the quality.

I rang the Thornleigh store, (as we are heading for Pennant Hills anyway!) today but they are closed till some time in the new year... :S (At least they had a message.. so many other places just don't answer! Bad time of year I know...

T. (the dilemma continues..!!)

AnswerID: 90815

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 09:27

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 09:27
Ultimate Trekker
[ View Image]

I think you would be happy with either the Freedom, OR the SC.

The Double ender is MASSIVE - you really wouldnt need that much space unless you had 8+ people... I would think that tent with poles etc and a fridge would take up ALL the space in the rear of a GQ. The Ultimate Trekker takes up a bit of room but fits in well in the GQ...

How many people are you trying to pack in? We can fit 4 people sleeping in ours, and theres still room for everything else.

You also lose the advantage of single pole tent then.. If the spring loaded poles are on your shopping list, you could always buy some for the SC tent.

There are different awnings too, that give you more room, btu the largest one that SC makes rolls up to the size of a sleeping bag! and its HUGE when opened out..

Me thinks you need to wait and physically see these things up, or more photos.

I'll try and dig some up at home adn post them tonight
FollowupID: 349396

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 09:29

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 09:29
PS. Andrew(awill4x4) has had his for over 10 yrs, and would sell it today for more than he paid for it - think of a canvas tent as an investment.
FollowupID: 349397

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 09:33

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 09:33
PPS its only 8 hours from sydney to bayswater to SC home office.. they have everything there.. :)
FollowupID: 349398

Follow Up By: Trace 'n Marc - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 10:43

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 10:43
(And then 15 hours back home again!!.. though if we then had the tent I guess we could camp our way back!) You're right though, sounds like we need to see the big ones up.. reading through what you have said, the size you have is probably more than adequate, especially if we plan to chuck up a small one for the sprogs if we are staying a few days. We haven't even got the 4WD yet !!!

Thank you re offer to show us some photies.. much appreciated. Will you need an email address?

T.
FollowupID: 349408

Follow Up By: Red Patrol - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 12:29

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 12:29
Hi again,

Mine is the ultimate trekker the same as Truckies Photo.

Red
FollowupID: 349416

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 16:40

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 16:40
Tracey.
"We have 3 kids... 11, 9 and 6."

Ultimate trekker would blitz it in for 3 kids.. Get the awning, and your set.
If you really think you need more, buy a $30 dome as well from Big W and store the extras you dont need every day in there, have seen that work...
FollowupID: 349447

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 08:17

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 08:17
Hey Trace n' Marc try Paddy Pallin or Tent City
or Boots Camping in the yellow pages or white business pages no web page that i could find also Great Outdoors not the TV show.

Hope this helps, Baz.
AnswerID: 90832

Follow Up By: Trace 'n Marc - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 10:48

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 10:48
Baz, Boots were the ones who deal in SC, but don't have any on display at this time of year. This is the time of year for selling dome tents, apparently.. and the touring tents sell more at Easter. Go figure!! (Unfortunately I don't want to be buying one at Easter, I want to be camping in one!!) (TheProspect store did offer to put one up for me by appointment, but didn't have the big ones.)
FollowupID: 349410

Follow Up By: Trace 'n Marc - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 12:46

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 12:46
Later... rang the Prospect store again, and they are in fact going to put one up today.. (sold out on something so space available). A 9 x 9 probably, but at least we'll get to inspect. Might get to see similar at an Emu Plains store for the Freedom, if they are open next week.

Think we've decided to go with either the SC or Freedom.
FollowupID: 349418

Reply By: DrewT - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 10:08

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 10:08
I'm also looking at either the SC Ultimate 11 or the Freedom northern tourer (just for 2 of us). Question for anyone re the SC fly ... does the fact that you zip it on mean that in a big gust of wind it acts like a big windsock? ie: the Freedom design would allow the wind to pass thru beteen the tent & fly?
AnswerID: 90842

Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 17:55

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 17:55
Hi Drew when we were checking tents SC said big flys work like a parachute in the wind or RS
Freedom no problem as center pole point is through the roof and tarp is on the spike , also center pole is spring loaded so the tent can flex in the wind not like the SC which is rigid.
At Parachilna at Easter 04 ( open plains) we must of had a big wind when we were away from camp, small dome RS, large dome semi RS, SC RS, 1 other center pole RS, sguare type RS, rolled swags OK our Freedom Ok allbe it covered inside & out with dust as we left the flywire on the door un covered, no big Flys to check the parachute theory.

FollowupID: 349456

Reply By: Brad and His Disco - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 11:34

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 11:34
Give budget camping at minchinbury a call they might have the tent you are asking about.

Budget Camping

or try these people

Amazon Outdoors Superstore
Unit 2/ 1273 The Horsley Drive, Wetherill park
Ph: 02 9757 4466
Fax: 02 9757 2299
AnswerID: 90848

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 13:57

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 13:57
Tracey and Marc ,
I have a Southern Cross single pole with the rear extension and it has a heap of room in it - t would take your family. It takes up a fair bit of space when folded up though , as it ends up as a big square folded around the roof which has a four sided frame . It's very quick to put up and if you are just overnighting in good weather it only need four pegs .
If you want to see all the SC tents on display you must come down to the caravan and Camping Show at Rosehill Racecourse at Easter . ( do web search for dates )
Cheers ,
Willie .
AnswerID: 90861

Reply By: Simon T - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 20:15

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 20:15
Try and find a shop that has a SC brochure to send you - they are good and will answer some of your questions. Yes you can get side pole kits for the double ender (well, they have them in there price list anyway). I can emial the price lists for both F and SC, as of July 04, if you give your email address.

SC do use Bradmill Canvas. There very helpful when I contacted them - they even sent out a copy of the Bradmill spec for the canvas they use.

The pole doesn't poke out through the tent. For SC, the end is 'blunt' (ie similar at both ends) and simple sits in a plastic holder at the top of the tent. I've found with the SC that the U door is good - I can leave it largely unzipped and it will sit as though closed. Makes it easy to get in and out when you don't have to unzip and zip up again. Both are good quality and either brand should do the job well.
AnswerID: 90898

Follow Up By: Trace 'n Marc - Saturday, Jan 01, 2005 at 14:41

Saturday, Jan 01, 2005 at 14:41
Cheers Simon, would appreciate a price list if you don't mind emailing it. You could use tracenmarc (at) hotmail (dot) com
FollowupID: 349509

Reply By: lx470 - Saturday, Jan 01, 2005 at 13:51

Saturday, Jan 01, 2005 at 13:51
Try Great Divide Tours Pty/Ltd, the are a dealer in SC tents and may have the one you want in stock.

Vic and Julie Widman

Ph - 02 9913 1395

Fax - 02 9913 1395

Mobile - 0408 299 583

e-mail - info@greatdividetours.com.au

internet - www.greatdividetours.com.au

I agree with your comments, you would think that buying a Tent would be fairly easy. Best place was the Rosehill Show last year -2004. Every manufacturer seemed to be there with all models. No help to you now of course...........

AnswerID: 90928

Follow Up By: Trace 'n Marc - Saturday, Jan 01, 2005 at 14:57

Saturday, Jan 01, 2005 at 14:57
Thanks lx, and yeah, we went to the Caravan and Camping show last year (now) in Coffs.. but were focusing at the time at looking at camper trailers. I suppose it did help OH decide down the track that he'd rather go the tent option.. but we didn't think at the time to check out tents. Never mind, the internet and forums like this are a wonderful thing! and if anything the experience and feedback you get here is worth more than a sales pitch. - We obviously should just live in Victoria. (*cough cough*)

Realistically, after weighing up all the input from here, if we get to see _a_ tent from each (no matter what model now) in the 'flesh', I think it will give us what we need. Seems to me that there are pros and cons to each, and it's going to be a personal thing as to what wins out. Little things like the fly attachment, and the pole thing (through the roof or not through the roof, _that_ is the question!), and D or U doors.

(And once that dilemma is solved, our next issue will be bedding!! But I've done the searches and started reading up on that; about as easy a decision as the tents!!)) I know people that just walk into Big W and pick up the first tent they see, and off they go.. but I guess we just want quality, to maximise the camping experience through all situations!! (Weather and otherwise!) Not getting any younger, and I want a bit of comfort with my outdoor experiences!

Have to say thanks for all the feedback - you're a great bunch !
FollowupID: 349510

Reply By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Saturday, Jan 01, 2005 at 20:17

Saturday, Jan 01, 2005 at 20:17
T&M,

Hate to throw a spanner in the works, but have you checked out the range of tents from OZTENTS, a ripper design and super quick & easy to erect, well worth a look www.oztents.com.au

Browny
AnswerID: 90961

Reply By: Trace 'n Marc - Saturday, Jan 01, 2005 at 22:33

Saturday, Jan 01, 2005 at 22:33
Hi Browny, thanks but I looked at the Oztents when I waded through the archives... and decided they weren't quite what we were after....
AnswerID: 90974

Reply By: Blackie - Sunday, Jan 02, 2005 at 14:13

Sunday, Jan 02, 2005 at 14:13
There is a near new SC tent on the Trading Post Web site. It is the western suburbs of Sydney.
AnswerID: 91008

Reply By: derraux - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 00:30

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 00:30
well after folowing this thread i cant beleive it is so hard to see good touring tents on display, unfortunantly i am in perth but i have most of the freedom tents available to set up and show, how do people expect to sell these products, i am sorry about the response you got from freedom head office if you are still intrested i would sujest you ring them and ask for ken. If not ring me in perth Go Camping in Balcatta Perth w.a

Derek
AnswerID: 91052

Reply By: Member - Landie - Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 10:33

Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 10:33

I think someone else mentioned it previously, however if you want to see SC Tents set-up call in to All-Camping supplies at Thornleigh in Sydney.

It is a family run business and they will go out of there way to assist you. I even had a roof top bag made by them, charged me far less than they should have....

Good luck.
AnswerID: 91237

Reply By: Trace 'n Marc - Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 13:43

Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 13:43
Thanks for all the tips. We'll make the shop at Thornleigh our first stop as we're heading for Pennant Hills. (They were closed over xmas.) Will try the guys at Emu Plains to check out the Freedom Tents (unfortunately Perth is a bit too far!). Either way, I daresay we'll come home with one or the other.. and if we don't get a Freedom only because we can't see one up in the biggest bloody city in Australia, then Freedom need to get their act together with dealers !!!

I'll let you know in a couple of weeks what we decide!

Ciao.. and thanks again for all the responses!

Tracey and him.
AnswerID: 91273

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 08:33

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 08:33
A friend bought a cheap 12x9 centre poll tent from Getaway Camping. The price was less than 300. After i saw it errected, and checked out the tripple stitching and flyscreen d door, etc, i bought one too :-)
11/10 value for money..and it doesnt leak either. Bonus!!
Andrew Wollongong
AnswerID: 91384