Stockton Beach camping

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 02, 2005 at 23:21
ThreadID: 19017 Views:7958 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
Anyone know if setting up a tent on Stockton Beach is still allowed? Tried to call Port Stevens Council but they are closed till the 4th. Thats the day i want to arrive.
Cheers Angelo

Reply By: CUM800 - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 06:34

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 06:34
Coke,

The last few times I have been there, there have been a number of camps setups along the beach including large sites consisting of a number of tents,

AnswerID: 91058

Reply By: hl - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 06:58

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 06:58
Yes,

You need to get beach permit though. The servo at Anna Bay have them.

AnswerID: 91059

Reply By: cokeaddict - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 09:04

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 09:04
Thanks guys, very much appreciated.
AnswerID: 91066

Reply By: Peter 2 - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 11:40

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 11:40
You would be well advised to try and get in behind the frontal dunes rather than out on the beach especially if a southerly is forecast, can get very windy, BTDT several times! slow learner!
Was a lot younger then though, but can still remember getting up in the night to move the FJ40 to move it around to try and break the wind as the sand pegs didn't have ahope in hell of holding the tent, ended up tying it to the truck in sevseral spots and everything filled up with sand.
AnswerID: 91080

Reply By: Rick Blaine - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 18:53

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 18:53
Samurai Beach is the best of the lot....
AnswerID: 91140

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 19:30

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 19:30
Hey Rick,
Are you making a statement here or just an opinion?
I checked my Newcastle map and i cant find it anywhere, can you tell me where its located please. Im heading off first thing in the morning.
Cheers Angelo
FollowupID: 349712

Follow Up By: Rick Blaine - Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 09:57

Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 09:57
Samurei beach is noth of Stocton beach near Fingal bay
FollowupID: 349787

Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 20:42

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 20:42
Ang, I've asked the Ranger's on the beach before now - camping is 'tolerated' - which can be read as, if you are doing the right thing, they'll leave you alone - if you're not (well, there's no need to go there, is there ;-)

I love the entry from the servo at Lavis Lane

Some "Must See's"

Lavis Lane entry S32°49.680' E151°52.722'
Wreck of the Sygna S32°51.463' E151°50.651'
Tank Traps S32°48.863' E151°55.880'
Silver City S32°48.567' E151°57.609'
"Ivan's big Hill" S32°49.338' E151°54.604' (may not be so big! - the dunes move and change shape

Also just to the WNW of the Sygna is another big dune we used to drive up - a big mother ;-) I don't have the coords, but is about 400m away and somewhere near S32°51.426' E151°50.495'

Have a good one !!!

Also, make sure you get right off the beach and get up some of the big dunes - the back side of them are often near vertical, and you'll think they're a bit much - give them a go!!!! Of course, need a buddy, and snatch strap - I think most of the sand dudes are on ch 25

Ivan
2008 D4D Prado

AnswerID: 91162

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 21:24

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 21:24
Ivan,
Thankyou so much for the time and effort you put into this. I will check out most of what you suggested. I am introducing a friend to 4wd'ing for the first time. He just got himself a hilux ute 4x4 and i thought we could kill 2 birds with 1 stone so to speak and get some much overdue fisihing in too. I got all the gear with me as i am sure he will get himself stuck a few times. I know the dunes your refering to as i tried them once a few years ago with my old GQ. This time the diff lock should come in very handy.

Thanks again mate
Angelo.
FollowupID: 349747

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 21:25

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 21:25
No worries mate ;-))

Ivan
2008 D4D Prado

FollowupID: 349748

Reply By: bigjon - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 22:22

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 22:22
Camping is allowed, obviously you need a permit as stated which can be obtained at the Ampol at Anna Bay or the petrol stations at the entrance to Lavis Lane. If I remember right, Samari (sp?) Beach is the nudist beach near One Mile Beach between Anna Bay and Nelson Bay.
Also, don't forget atv's with rec rego are legal and have as much right out there as 4X4's. I nearly got ran over on the weekend by a ute, I know he would have won the budging match but he would have paid dearly with his insurance if he hit me. Had to get it off my chest :)
AnswerID: 91185