SA Fires

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 06:52
ThreadID: 19286 Views:1799 Replies:5 FollowUps:8
G"day,
don't know if we have any forumites in the affected areas and this is really OT but if so, let us know you're okay. it's a nasty one. So far it has been a relatively quiet summer in Sydney.

Reply By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 07:24

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 07:24
Ditto on the letting us know you're ok, also if any of you have family in this area.

Also should any of you have been affected and need anything, call out I'm sure we are all here ready to help in anyway we can!!

Sandy and Steve
AnswerID: 92568

Reply By: Member - Anni M (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 09:34

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 09:34
Thanks for your concern, I know we have EO members on the Eyre Peninsula, so I too hope they are OK. Warren (aussiechef) let us know what's happening.
I was involved with the fire at Mt. Osmond yesterday, and am really glad to say that everyone is OK from that one. I am immensely proud to be involved in the SA Country Fire Service, and salute all my fellow members. Across SA yesterday there were over 500 volunteers hard at work in 40 plus degree heat - an amazing effort. (I'm afraid I worked in airconditioned comfort as part of the Incident Management Team).
AnswerID: 92594

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 09:41

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 09:41
G'day Anni,
Warren is okay. He is on Yorke Pen (Pt Vincent), same as me (Kadina). We copped a lot of smoke haze yesterday, but nothing like what those poor buggars had on the other side of the gulf.
I think Muddy Doe (aka Steven Lee) was also involved in the Admin work for the fires yesterday; at Mt Barker.....
FollowupID: 351473

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 09:50

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 09:50
Good 'o Anni,
dippin' me lid for your efforts, IMT is a very important role.

Jeremy (RFS, Berowra)
FollowupID: 351475

Reply By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 10:23

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 10:23
Any body got any proper news on where the fires are. I only saw it on the 11.00 news and they mentioned Wanilla being n/e of port augusta - must be hard to get good help. They mentioned a caravan park near port Lincoln I assume is North Sheilds. From the map it looked like the areas around Tumby Bay and Yallund Flats (where they filmed some of Gallipolli). These areas were my old stamping grounds as Kids when we would spend summer from Wudinna in Tumby bay and my sisters would show jump at Yallunda flats.
AnswerID: 92601

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 11:04

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 11:04
Davoe, the fires started adjacent to Coffin Bay and very quickly crossed the bottom of the Peninsular burning out a portion of the North Shields caravan park. 10 dead very tragic.
Port Lincoln is unaffected from damage.
FollowupID: 351492

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 17:23

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 17:23
Wanilla is north of Port Lincoln..not Port Augusta.
FollowupID: 351546

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 17:27

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 17:27
yea hence my "hard to get good help comment" went to school with a really hot chick form there you dont forget that kinda thing. (my home town Wudinna was 206k north of port lincoln)
FollowupID: 351549

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 17:32

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 17:32
Sorry mate..just read it again. I used to work an live in wirrulla, as well as working on kondoolka,Lake everard and Hiltaba stations. My 10 yo daughter was in greenpatch yesterday but after an anxious night with not much news i was happy to get the good news this morning that all was well.....fire came to 10 feet from the ex inlaws back door.
FollowupID: 351552

Reply By: Mike - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 13:18

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 13:18
Good luck all you fellow Firies, CFS and interstate. I was with a task force to Mt Osmond fires yesterday afternoon and evening. (No air conditioning!) got to bed about 3am. Makes you wonder why we were there, when you look at some of the crap in some people's properties. They just won't learn!

Once again good luck to all my fellow Firies, for the rest of the season. Stay safe.

Happy trails, Mike.

AnswerID: 92631

Follow Up By: firestang - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 16:47

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 16:47
We had about 110 CFA and DSE (Department of Scorched Earth)trucks in the Halls gap area yeasterday in Vic yesterday .

A hint of things to come in Vic , hope not .
FollowupID: 351538

Follow Up By: Member - Anni M (SA) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 13:02

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 13:02
I thought DSE stood for Department of Sparks and Embers!

Hope all is well for you guys in Vic too.

Anni
FollowupID: 351675

Reply By: Dave ....Adelaide - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 23:42

Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 23:42
Hi Bushfix

I live in Port Lincoln , only just moved back here 6 mths ago after living in Adelaide for the last 10 yrs. I went for a drive out around Nth Shields , Wanilla way today , i couldnt believe the carnage i saw, unfortunaetly 3 of our friends lost everything they own , but worst still the young woman and 2 kids killed in the ford wagon were also known to us , we purchased our house from them 6 mths ago when we moved back here, the most unfortunate thing though is if they had stayed in their house they would have been quite safe, the fire didnt touch it, my wife and i had just spoken to the young girl the day b4 whilst checking our mail box at the lincoln post office............The amount of goods being donated to all the victims at the moment is overwhelming, my f/inlaw is involved with the salvos here in lincoln , and he was saying that he is amazed at the offers of help and money and people donating cars and boats and caravans is just amazing......Cheers .......Dave
AnswerID: 93160