3.0 nissan survey update

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 18:41
ThreadID: 19305 Views:2526 Replies:12 FollowUps:27
There was a post prior to Christmas about month and years of good and bad Nissan Patrol 3.0.
The series three has supposedly had all probs fixed. Na Ah
We had a series three towed in today with a blown engine.
Month and year was 10/01 and definetly a series three.
115 000 km.

I'm not bashing just reporting the results. Its an ex cop car and it looks as though Nissan are coming to the party at this early stage.
I don't wish to start a debate just informing the person compiling results.

Reply By: Member - Sparkie (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 19:20

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 19:20
Interesting 80scruiser,
I was looking at them the other day and I couldn't remember which cars to look out for. I wonder though if with all the 4WD's sold it is not just a lemon??? I personally wouldn't know.
Thanks for the info

Sparkie(IE not Y) ;-)
AnswerID: 92695

Reply By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 19:35

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 19:35
Dont really want to touch this one but I will put a different slant on it. Dont know what you do but by the ppost possibly mechanic? If that is the case and you were getting a steady stream of them then yea shout it from the rooftops people need to know that sort of thing. However one swallow doesnt make a summer. Problem is however Joe blogs posts how he is looking at a series 3 then all of a sudden people that have read this post tell him they are crap and blow up coz they saw it on the net. then 1 series 3 with a dubios past condemns all Nissan owners to hell. Not telling you to shutup (far from it) just telling those that read it to kep it into perspective of all other things they hear
BTW happy tojo owner x2
AnswerID: 92700

Follow Up By: 80scruiser - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 21:30

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 21:30
Facts are facts
Updating my post 17701 as I should have stated.
Went back as far as October but couldn't find the one I was looking for. I made it hard for myself as I didn't respond to the original post.
Say La Ve.
Yes I am a mechanic and have my own workshop and for what its worth I am sick and tired of having to explain to my customers why there is so many problems with these engines and I am sick and tired of continually having to sort the same problems out. I might put a new page on my website and refer everybody there.
I don't hate Nissans as they have an excellent TD42T, TB45E, TB48DE etc but if you want it, Nissan have done some silly things like yesterday I found the auto dipstick is missing on the 4.8. Why do this? Nissan can't even answer this. OK the ZD30 was something new and it obviously isn't working so why keep selling it. The Toyota 1HDT had bearing problems so Toyota addressed it. Why can't Nissan?
Apologies as I promised my self I wouldn't start and try to stay professional. For what its worth I have 1 early model ZD30 still going fine but it scares the s*&# out of me everytime it comes in for service.
OK I've had my say and I will call it quits for now.
FollowupID: 351578

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 21:50

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 21:50
Nissan have done some silly things like yesterday I found the auto dipstick is missing on the 4.8.

do tell us more.. LMAO!!
FollowupID: 351585

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 22:08

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 22:08
Say La Ve...........C'est la vie......hahahahaha
FollowupID: 351593

Follow Up By: 80scruiser - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 22:11

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 22:11
The 4.8 petrol Patrol was never released with a dipstick for the auto transmission, only a blank off cover.
Nissan tell me that all dealers were issued with 1 dipstick for service reasons. I am not sure how the owners check their auto oil.
I used the scenario, "a patrol has busted a cooler line down the road so we got it to the workshop, repaired the hose but how do I know how much auto oil to top it up with". As I said they have done some silly things.
And the best part is you can't buy a dipstick from Nissan parts.
Now thats what I call intelligent manufacturing. LMAO as well.
FollowupID: 351595

Reply By: Member - Rob J (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 21:25

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 21:25
.Speaks for itself doesn't it. Ex cop vehicle, have you ever heard of a public
servant driving a vehicle with care let alone when cold
Not knocking the coppers, they have a job to do. Like the post the other day from the ambo who said they give their vehicles stick when cold.
As we all know, driving a vehicle hard when the engine is cold does more
than just stuff up engines.
Maybe just say that this 3 litre was thrashed and the other 99 out of the
100 will make 300,000 if driven properly
AnswerID: 92711

Follow Up By: Member - Maurice F (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 22:09

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 22:09
Not trying to nit pick but I think a 10/01 3.0 Would have been a Serries 2 (the model with the dodgy motor) Serries 3 has large reversing lights 2 has thin clear lens in middle of tail light assembly. Having said that i still went for a serries 3 TD4.2 TDI im not sure if the 3.0 will still be going strong after 14 years like my old GQ4.2td With no probs with any componants
Maurie
FollowupID: 351594

Follow Up By: 80scruiser - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 22:15

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 22:15
This one had both sides Quote "large reversing lights" and late design front park/indicator but didn't have the extra oil sensor under the turbo as the latest model has. Possibly this one is a hybrid and is a series III with an old motor or has the engine failed previously and had a second hand engine installed. Not sure but the gearbox has been out and clutch replaced at 85 000km as per normal.
FollowupID: 351597

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 22:42

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 22:42
Never compare an ex cop car with a normal vehicle.

I made the mistake of buying an "interceptor" (VK Commodore 308) in 1985, just 12 months old and only 60,000 km. Went like a shower of bleep but I spent big money on the motor twice before I got rid of it at 100,000 km.

Coppers have no respect for cars that someone else (taxpayers) fund.
AnswerID: 92736

Follow Up By: Wormboy - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 00:38

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 00:38
Jimbo
How about rental vehicles, leased vehicles, loan vehicles- do peole have respect for them, warm them up nicely, drive them like they own them- I think not - I know some general duty coppers hammer the cars - but there not the only ones to pigeon hole
FollowupID: 351610

Follow Up By: 80scruiser - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 07:28

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 07:28
As an ex copper I can verify that not all cars are hammered.
But I guess if somebody who requires police quickly don't complain then.
We had a 3.0 patrol and blew the engine the second patrol never had a drama and that was in 12 months. We did 60 000 km in six months where I was.
FollowupID: 351620

Reply By: DARREN - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 08:43

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 08:43
Thanks for your straight forward non provocative post.

Amazing how little it takes for the 3 litre bashers to jump on board, even more amazing that non of the 3l bashers drive series 3 GU's yet seem to know all about them.!
Yes because of the first reported actual failure of a series 3 (that was not a mates cousin's uncle's daughter's car) I think I will throw my 2003 3.0 GU (which I am extremely happy with) away now and buy a 4.2 so that I can spend a lot of money on it to try and make it go like a 3l.
AnswerID: 92756

Follow Up By: DARREN - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 09:23

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 09:23
yeah....................whatever.

Lucky Vic, I think you missed the point.
FollowupID: 351630

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 09:34

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 09:34
"Yes because of the first reported actual failure of a series 3"

Are you thinking this is the first case for a series 3?

LMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 351632

Follow Up By: Lucky Vic - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 10:07

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 10:07
No I understood your point.

Patrol does not sell as it drives like a truck and has suspect reliability , that is why they are practically giving the things away in comparison to the LAndcruiser / Prado.

I know I would much rather own a Toyota franchise than a Nissan one ;)
FollowupID: 351638

Follow Up By: Geoff- Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 10:26

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 10:26
Lucky,

"Patrol does not sell as it drives like a truck and has suspect reliability...."

They all have their problems.
What about LC diffs, IFS, cooling fans into radiators, etc.......?

You only get what you pay for.............?.

Another way of looking at it;
You NEVER get more than you pay for, but it's very easy to get LESS...

FollowupID: 351642

Follow Up By: Lucky Vic - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 10:44

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 10:44
Very true !
FollowupID: 351647

Reply By: 3.0turbob - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 09:49

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 09:49
In one of your replies, it sounds like you/your workshop has a website? Could you post the address?

Rob
AnswerID: 92764

Reply By: The Crow - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 20:11

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 20:11
I have a series 3 ST 3ltr Patrol manual have had it 2 years and I am stoked with it no dramas with it but serviced every 5000ks currently planning a trip up the Tanami Track to Halls creek starting from Bris accros to Windorah, Bedourie, Boulia across the Plenty Highway to Alice. Always warm before driving off and never over rev while cold. I do get under it when it is hot though. Also to 18ft van when We go up the coast tows great hardly know van is on.
200 Series V8 Diesel
Thanks for the Rest Flying West and Flying Very Low along the track not coming back. The Crow

AnswerID: 92871

Follow Up By: The Crow - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 20:13

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 20:13
that should be tow a 18ft van
200 Series V8 Diesel
Thanks for the Rest Flying West and Flying Very Low along the track not coming back. The Crow

FollowupID: 351819

Follow Up By: Lucky Vic - Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 09:30

Friday, Jan 14, 2005 at 09:30
As it should.

FollowupID: 351917

Reply By: gregr - Saturday, Jan 15, 2005 at 19:52

Saturday, Jan 15, 2005 at 19:52
80scruiser
thanks for reporting the prob with the ser 3 gu td 3.0 l
i like others like to stay reasonably well informed
it would appear none of the later ser 3 have blown engines to date

i have a ser2 gu td 3.0 l build 01/ 2001 112000 kms which is obviously in the possibles but no worries yet thank heavens and i am pretty happy with it really

i guess the main thing from my point of view is that nissan is coming to the party with a new engine under warranty even if the vehicle is out of warranty by a time or kms so far to date
and if they continue to do that then if an engine blows its an bl**dy inconvenience but prob fixed ok and we go on our merry gu way

when it becomes real bad news is when they refuse to replace a blown engine with a new one either under a standard or an extended warranty (which i have extended to 150K kms) or when out of warranty by a small time or margin

thats when i will definitely get my knickers in a knot

but up to now my gu 3.0 l td has been fine is a good solid off road performer
and had no real probs with it and i hope it stays that way

but once again thanks for keeping thoes of us informed who have the ser 2 gu 3.0 td
my regards greg

AnswerID: 93277

Follow Up By: 80scruiser - Sunday, Jan 16, 2005 at 15:02

Sunday, Jan 16, 2005 at 15:02
Thanks gregr
I have a customer with a 2000 model 3.0 and it is performing great to date with 115 000 km on it.
The one thing I do notice is that this one doesn't have the get up and go like most others. Related or not I don't know but I'm not going to touch it. I have had one customer refused by nissan to replace a blown engine as it was out of warranty yet this latest one is having full replacement with a new engine as of Friday. The pattern I have found is that ex police vehicles are the ones Nissan are playing along with and everybody else can go and play fiddle sticks.
The extended warranty is the way to go but I think you will find Nissan aren't offering it on and ex police owned vehicle.
My issue is why didn't Nissan recall in the early stages like they did in Europe. Their customer relation skills are disgusting especially the dealer in my area which I won't state but is western Sydney. If I spoke to my customers the way they do I would be out of work within six months. However Nissan in head office Melbourne have been great to my customers.
Thanks again for you comments. Its good to here from somebody who offers credible comments and doesn't get on the gravy train.

80 s
FollowupID: 352401