NSW Police to Use Paj's

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 19, 2005 at 12:16
ThreadID: 20574 Views:2059 Replies:9 FollowUps:6
I saw an interesting vehicle the other day. A prototype police 4x4, it was a new pajero. Looks like even the cops are steering away from patrols now.
Tim

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Saturday, Feb 19, 2005 at 12:42

Saturday, Feb 19, 2005 at 12:42
Wouldn't it be really funny, if the Police in Sydney used them......LOL!!
AnswerID: 99064

Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Saturday, Feb 19, 2005 at 16:23

Saturday, Feb 19, 2005 at 16:23
be no good up there wolfie the nth sydney mayor wont let them park anywhere without paying extra parking fees

FollowupID: 357437

Follow Up By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 20, 2005 at 00:18

Sunday, Feb 20, 2005 at 00:18
They've gone to the RA Rodeo's in Sydney for their paddy wagons.

4x4 Petrols.

As GOB said, hope they don't go to Nth Sydeny.
FollowupID: 357456

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Feb 21, 2005 at 17:36

Monday, Feb 21, 2005 at 17:36
Tim, I saw some police here in WA chasing some guy through the pine forrests. They got bogged and they were standing around scratching their heads trying to figure out how to get "un stuck". One of the nice locals on his trail bike stopped and told them they might want to lock their hubs.... So their decision to not buy patrols probally has more to do with $$$ than any common sense or offroad ability.
FollowupID: 357668

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 19, 2005 at 12:50

Saturday, Feb 19, 2005 at 12:50
They use X Trails in Tassie. Saw one yesterday at the Launceston Airport.
AnswerID: 99066

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 20, 2005 at 13:49

Sunday, Feb 20, 2005 at 13:49
Geez jimbo Launceston was busy we were there on Friday came back Saturday..took the kids for their first flight to see how they'd go...didn't see any Xtrails though....
FollowupID: 357489

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Saturday, Feb 19, 2005 at 12:58

Saturday, Feb 19, 2005 at 12:58
Queanbeyan coppers have a high speed pursuit TD5 disco. I understand it is great for chasing the kids who have the audacity to ride their peewee 50s in the local bush.
AnswerID: 99067

Reply By: Chucky - Saturday, Feb 19, 2005 at 18:37

Saturday, Feb 19, 2005 at 18:37
th eonly 4wd's I see QLD coppers in never go off road. They just park them on the side of roads and take pictures of people and send you a little letter demanding money for service renderd. But really do coppers need a $60K 4wd just to put a spped camera in.
I suppose it is just another example of our taxes being put to good use.
AnswerID: 99094

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Feb 19, 2005 at 22:06

Saturday, Feb 19, 2005 at 22:06
Wat!!!! police driving Pajero's!!! How low can they go??? oopppppss!

AnswerID: 99107

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Feb 19, 2005 at 22:45

Saturday, Feb 19, 2005 at 22:45
They already do in Vic, when at JohnR's the local bacon down there was in one at Port Campbell.
AnswerID: 99114

Reply By: Member - Jim M (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 20, 2005 at 00:00

Sunday, Feb 20, 2005 at 00:00
how ya going ? being a patrol fan and truckie i drove through a town north west of orange called cumnock the other day and here's this unmarked burgundy magna wagon sittin on the side of the road with a radar hangin out the window. had to ask my mate who's behind me to double check. my truck could out run it. LOL. take it easy.
AnswerID: 99117

Reply By: Matt (W.A.) - Sunday, Feb 20, 2005 at 13:21

Sunday, Feb 20, 2005 at 13:21
Here's My 2 cents worth!
I recon if they Supercharge them like i'm going to then they'll get an extra 100kw out of them thats when we start seeing the hoons take notice! if you ask me they couldnt have picked any better!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 99152

Follow Up By: Tim - Sunday, Feb 20, 2005 at 16:24

Sunday, Feb 20, 2005 at 16:24
I forgot to add, it was a DiD I saw too.
Tim
FollowupID: 357494

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 20, 2005 at 21:25

Sunday, Feb 20, 2005 at 21:25
"... thats when we start seeing the hoons take notice"

I'll have $100k on papadopolousovicski in his turbo skyline thanks.
FollowupID: 357538

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Monday, Feb 21, 2005 at 17:12

Monday, Feb 21, 2005 at 17:12
Yep the cops at Lancefield have one all decked out, looks grouse.
AnswerID: 99341