OT - Wind up the POMs

Submitted: Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 10:23
ThreadID: 20953 Views:1880 Replies:9 FollowUps:8
Yes I know this is childish, but if we didn't get so much fun out of winding up the English we would stop doing it, wouldn't we?

It's that time of the year again for Australians to play havoc with an online vote. This time around its being conducted by the London Development Agency who want the public to name the new bridge which will lead up to The new Wembley Stadium.

Go onto this link and vote for the name of the new Wembley Pedestrian Bridge to be "The John Eales Bridge"

Link is here

Pass this on to everyone!!

Do your best!

Ivan
2008 D4D Prado

Reply By: Member - Karl - Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 11:25

Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 11:25
I put my vote in for John Eales and I have passed this on.
AnswerID: 101092

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Mar 05, 2005 at 19:28

Saturday, Mar 05, 2005 at 19:28
Yup ,
I did it too,
Willie
FollowupID: 359231

Reply By: greydemon - Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 14:43

Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 14:43
Love it!

Vote registered, link passed on.
AnswerID: 101122

Follow Up By: Member - Russell B (SA) - Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 19:51

Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 19:51
Will "skippy" - "not british" fit the bill.

And I haven't even been drinking either.

Silly POMS

Russell
FollowupID: 359162

Reply By: Utemad - Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 15:05

Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 15:05
I got this email too. Funniest email I've received in a long time.
AnswerID: 101128

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 15:10

Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 15:10
Mate, the funniest thing! - is it's fair dinkum ;-)

Ivan
2008 D4D Prado

FollowupID: 359124

Follow Up By: Utemad - Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 15:48

Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 15:48
I know. I voted and forwarded the email :-)

Would be funny if this gets a mention on their website when the votes are tallied.
FollowupID: 359130

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 15:33

Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 15:33
Voted for, pot stirred :-))
AnswerID: 101131

Follow Up By: Member - Alan- Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 15:56

Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 15:56
I voted to call it Jonny's Bridge cos he shoved it up the Aussies at the World Cup!
FollowupID: 359131

Reply By: Chaba - Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 23:57

Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 23:57
Ivan,

Reluctantly voted for it... although "Tana Umanga Bridge" (yeh yeh, expat Kiwi, love sheep and all that stuff) was my personal choice, but then I wouldn't feel comfortable asking you the the following question...

I'm driving the same rig as your good self and was looking at some Tough Dog suspension. Did you look at this gear before making your decision???

Chaba.
AnswerID: 101187

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Saturday, Mar 05, 2005 at 06:56

Saturday, Mar 05, 2005 at 06:56
Mate,

Never looked at Toughdog... - tried OME for six months, and then rode in GO_OFFROAD's 90 series. (Lovells/Bilsteins)

After that, I didn't want to try anything else (because they would have been an 'unknown', whereas the L&B were a 'known' quantity.

Very happy

Ivan
2008 D4D Prado

FollowupID: 359190

Reply By: timglobal - Saturday, Mar 05, 2005 at 10:09

Saturday, Mar 05, 2005 at 10:09
I have tentatively named it Rugby World Cup 2003, since references to the Bledisloe, Tri-Nations or Calcutta Cup would be as pointless to Wembley as they are to the ARU.

For Oz comedy value, I'd suggest Campo would be a far funnier name for it. Also, Wembley is the home of soccer, not rugby so the whole gag will be lost on their intellect anyway.

That should stir the pot in the other direction.

ROTFL

Tim

ps - What weighs two tonnes, lives in N Sydney and echoes with its emptiness...

...the ARU trophy cabinet
AnswerID: 101199

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Saturday, Mar 05, 2005 at 10:17

Saturday, Mar 05, 2005 at 10:17
Now now you colonial types. Leave our bridge alone or we might send Camilla to live over here to get even.
AnswerID: 101200

Reply By: Steve - Saturday, Mar 05, 2005 at 15:40

Saturday, Mar 05, 2005 at 15:40
you can get every ocker in the world to send in John Eales' name but not many people would know who he is. England winning the World Cup may have lifted Rugby's profile over there but a real "footballer" (as opposed to an egg-chaser) is more likely to get the accolade. Rugby is and always will be a minority sport compared with football
AnswerID: 101219

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Saturday, Mar 05, 2005 at 17:15

Saturday, Mar 05, 2005 at 17:15
You had me confused where you talk about football - but then I realised you mean soccer ;-)

Ivan
2008 D4D Prado

FollowupID: 359217

Reply By: Steve - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 07:36

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 07:36
nah, I mean the game you play with your feet, hence "football".
AnswerID: 101286

Follow Up By: Brian - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 10:52

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 10:52
What about all the flatheaded continental and old Dart types who have had the misfortune to head that wet soccer ball ??!!! Can hardly call it pure football
Go St Kilda Saints
FollowupID: 359359