The ULTIMATE laptop protection?

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 19:32
ThreadID: 21006 Views:3321 Replies:18 FollowUps:43
So, what do some of you guys use when taking you laptops away bush?

Obviously something dust-proof, but what about endless corrugations?

I am aware that there are some nice MIL spec laptops out there, but I want to stay with what I currently have.

Pelican cases? Any good?

What else is out there that you have found is good?

Done a few searches on Google, but I would like to hear what people are actually DOING, and doing with success.

Only want to hold 14" Laptop, and NOTHING ELSE. Everything else can go elsewhere, in other bags.

Wolfie

Reply By: Leroy - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 19:44

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 19:44
I just use a normal laptop bag. I try to store it with the handle of the bag up and so the heads on the hard disk if they moved would not touch the platters. But I generally don't worry about if the HD dies or not. I make sure i back up my pics and other important info to CD as I go.

Leroy
AnswerID: 101354

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:03

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:03
I have downloaded the Pelican pdf, and have ringed the 1490 as a contender.

I will call Pelican, here in Adelaide tomorrow.

I want to see what else people are doing.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 359291

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 08, 2005 at 19:42

Tuesday, Mar 08, 2005 at 19:42
Don't modern day HDD heads park when switched off?
FollowupID: 359499

Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 19:48

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 19:48
I find the best for me is a laptop from work. Nothing seems to worry em!! Cheers
AnswerID: 101355

Follow Up By: motherhen - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:00

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:00
So what sort are they Luxoluk? I'm looking for one to take on the rough roads we find.
FollowupID: 359290

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:04

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:04
Chuckle!!

I am assuming, that you mean that the care factor is pretty close to zero!!

Wolfie
FollowupID: 359292

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:48

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:48
My work laptop is similarly indestructable.

Must be "special builds" I reckon.

As for the care factor; I care if our IT department can't get it fixed quickly for me.

FollowupID: 359301

Follow Up By: motherhen - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:54

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:54
So what make are these "indestructable" laptops - i want to look after mine - but i want it tough enough to take the knocks of the good ozzie outback roads. I don't have an IT department to fix it - I'm IT!
FollowupID: 359306

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:55

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:55
Bit like driving a company car. Or worse - a HIRE car!

Amazing where that Hertz falcon would go that I took for a drive around Tinnaroo Dam outside Cairns when I had a day to kill between flights.

I was really expecting a cleaning charge but never got one. Was metallic green when I picked it up but was just dark brown when I dropped it off. Light rain all day on dirt roads. Great fun.

Muddy
FollowupID: 359307

Follow Up By: Leroy - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 21:17

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 21:17
The laptop I had was an IBM Thinkpad PIII 1.3g and that went to Flinders Rangers, Cape York, 2 Pajero Challenges and many other trips. I have since sold it and have a work IBM Thinkpad R51 and I use it like it is my own. It did a Paj challenge last weekend and was covered in dust but I just blow it all off and give it a wipe and it's good as gold. Just because it's a work laptop doesn't men it doesnt get looked after. They are tougher than what people think.

Leroy
FollowupID: 359318

Follow Up By: Member - Luxoluk - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 13:15

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 13:15
Hi Motherhen. I use a Toshiba Laptop which is an old junker from work. After about 3-4 years they are technically redundant and have already endured quite a bit so there's very little that I can subject them to which is going to be a problem. Book value would only be a few hundred dollars so if one fails there are choices from the old stock!!
FollowupID: 359367

Follow Up By: motherhen - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 14:11

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 14:11
Thanks Luxoluk. From my research, the Toshiba's have a reputation as good ones - and i notice they are more expensive than Acer, Asus and a few "cheapies". As i'll be paying new price, I think it worth paying a little more to get something strong. Motherhen
FollowupID: 359369

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 08, 2005 at 19:44

Tuesday, Mar 08, 2005 at 19:44
Yeah I can relate.... NEC work Laptop with cracked motherboard and wife's company falcon up to the axels in mud. LOL
FollowupID: 359500

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:12

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:12
Wolfie,

Mine fits nicely into a zipped canvas bag from Halls Canvas goods. Then it doesn't look like a laptop, so less likely to get flogged.

phil
AnswerID: 101357

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:22

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:22
Cheers Phil.

Missed you yesterday.

I had to endure the wrath from Sharon, Mignon & Jo!!!

Along with my wife, they ALL ganged up against me!

( we bought Sharon's house ).

Wolfie
FollowupID: 359297

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:34

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:34
Wolfie,
What you been drinkin'??
I don't know any Sharon, Mignon and Jo :-)))
Different phil ?????

phil
FollowupID: 359299

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:51

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:51
He drinks Bourbon, dunno why when you can get kero for $2 a litre LOL
FollowupID: 359303

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:53

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:53
Ummm......

Gone and buggered that one up, didn't I!!!

Thought you was the same dude who works at Snowy's.

I can always introduce them to you, they are a scream!!

sorry......

...... where's that whip......

Wolfie
FollowupID: 359305

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:56

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:56
hehehehe

Don't work at Snowys, but spent enough there :-))
I messaged you last week about the Anne Beadell Hwy, and Camera C.

FollowupID: 359310

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 21:23

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 21:23
You've gotta give up drinking kero Ian
FollowupID: 359321

Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:15

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:15
Mate,

I use a "NOTHING ELSE" case which I bought at COMP-USA in Hawaii. It is made of wetsuit material and provides great protection and no extra bulk.

I found it for you ;-)

Best of all - $10 US - just gotta get it here (or find it locally...

Ivan
2008 D4D Prado

AnswerID: 101359

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:20

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:20
Cheers Ivan.

Got one of these.

Here they go under the name of STM.

They are good, like for keeping scratches & stuff of the laptop.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 359296

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 06:24

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 06:24
So what are you looking for that this doesn't do for you? - I thought this would do everything you were after..

Ivan
2008 D4D Prado

FollowupID: 359340

Follow Up By: Member - Patrick (SA) - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 14:02

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 14:02
The case you are talking about wolfie. Did you get it hetre in Adelaide. How much did it cost you

Cheers Patrick
FollowupID: 359368

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 18:00

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 18:00
Patrick...

I got it at Next Byte down at Glenelg.

Ivan....

I wanted something that would give a little more rumble & tumble, without too much worry. The STM in my opinion is simply a sleeve, and would not really protect against jarring.

I think I've got it nailed though, I've ordered a Pelican 1490, which should be here in mid April.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 359385

Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:59

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:59
Hi Wolfie Mine just goes in its carry case sitting on a pillow behind the pass seat.
had no troubles yet with dust or vibration yet. Keeping everything crossed.
cheers Brian
AnswerID: 101368

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 21:05

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 21:05
Brian.

When you sit this on the pillow, is it like laying flat, or standing up?

Another chap in some posts above, has mentioned about how he wants the head to park correctly on the drive..... or something like that .... all a bit above me :(

It is interesting to note, that in a recent 4 x 4 magazine, they mentioned, that they have NEVER, had a problem, with ANY 12 volt fridge, that was simply sitting on the rear seat. Something to be said for cushioning.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 359315

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (WA) - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 00:41

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 00:41
Wolfie. Just lays flat, had not thought of standing it upright
FollowupID: 359338

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 08, 2005 at 19:46

Tuesday, Mar 08, 2005 at 19:46
There is less than a human hair's width between the heads and the disk while running, it won't matter which it's upside down, left right or flying over the moon, if you hit it hard enough it's going to do damage. However as I said above, I'm pretty sure the auto park so it is a non issue.
FollowupID: 359501

Reply By: Member - Robb (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 21:06

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 21:06
Hi Wolfie,

I use a 'Crumpler' bag for my laptop... Expensive but very very good... And I use a Pelican Case for my cameras...

AnswerID: 101371

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 21:11

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 21:11
Robb.

Cheers...

When I bought the laptop, I also bought the big Crumpler bag, but there is a problem.....

My little Japanese Spitz Doggy, sleeps next to it, and he has been molting, and there seems to be more of him IN the bag, than what is supposed to be on the dog!!

Crumpler IS a good bag, and I have used it for around 8 months. Don't know about its dust resistance though. ( maybe Kobi's fur can act like a dust filter........ ).

Wolfie
FollowupID: 359316

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 21:10

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 21:10
Wolfie, I'll be honest, mine just gets chucked on the front passenger seat, no cover, case or special precautions but I do tip it upside down every few months to shake all the crumbs out of the keyboard. Goes real well too.
AnswerID: 101372

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 21:16

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 21:16
Ray....

Is this like..... REALLY, REALLY true?

I have often wondered about simply just doing that.

There is no fan, or cooling ports.

A Journo dude in Iraq, takes his Apple iBook, ( same as mine ), up in helicopters, and near front lines & stuff.

Apparently, or so he says..... he just taped up the i/o ports, and the CD slot, and that was ALL he ever done.

In reality, what could go wrong, if I did the same?

Wolfie
FollowupID: 359317

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 21:35

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 21:35
As Leroy said above they are pretty tough thngs.

My work laptop has been to Weipa in the back of a tray top ute just in it's normal padded laptop bag. I had it standing up in the bag wedged in between a couple of other boxes. Some people ghave them running in dashboard mounts on dirt roads running moving map applications. That is going to give the HDD a real pounding over corrugated tracks!

The last laptop I had got dropped from 3 feet onto a hard floor. Fractured the case and busted the clip that holds the screen shut. Still worked fine. Compaq engineer came out and replaced the case (which basically meant taking the whole thing to bits and installing all the bits in new case). That took 2 hours and cost the company $500.

My laptops have copped a bit of abuse over the years and I have never had a real problem. Point above is also good about backups - burn your important data to CD every few days if travelling. takes bugger all time to do and CD's in a case are virtually indestructable. You can even mail them home or to a mate so that if the worst happens and the whole car gets flogged then you have not lost all your important documents and digital photos.

Muddy
FollowupID: 359324

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 21:39

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 21:39
Mad Dog doesn't speak with forked tongue Wolfie. It sits on the front seat running oziexplorer.

I'm thinking about maybe taking it apart and blowing the dust out. I've been on a few trips where the dust was pretty thick in the ute so I suspect it may have a coating inside. When not in the ute it gets used everyday around the property inside and out. Never been in a case and treated roughly since new two years ago and never missed a beat...that's they way I am with my gear and I'm not about to change :)
FollowupID: 359325

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 21:54

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 21:54
Sure is true Wolfie I have seen with my own two eyes. I have a Toshiba in its normal laptop case and am seriously thinking of taking it to the Simpson, will be taking the PDA anyway but the lappy has a bigger screen, and DVD's for the kids

FollowupID: 359328

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 22:36

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 22:36
Ours is on the puter arm I made Wolfie, If you are at Murray Sunset I will show you. Am sure a talented maschine bender like you could make one. It is verticle if not in use and nearly horizontal if in use. Has done a few thousand kms so far. You can type in it from the passenger seat or swivel to the driver if he/she can't make out the navigators directions...
AnswerID: 101393

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 22:47

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 22:47
Unfortunately John, I will be a no show .... :(

Got 4 trips all before July, and Tracy has JUST LEARNT, that whilst she is overseas, in China, in October, I have been secretly planning another two week trip!

You may have to send me a piccie, and if I'm still alive, then I might be able to make one up, when my broken limbs heal!

Wolfie
FollowupID: 359333

Reply By: Bilbo - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 01:02

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 01:02
Same as "Madog", when I was pegging mining leases in the WA Goldfeilds, I just had my Compaq Presario sitting on the passgenger seat of the Mav ute - with the drivers window open, mind you. Trundled up hill and down dale with it running mapping software and a GPS. Never missed a beat. Jut blew the dust off it now and again.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 101398

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 18:06

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 18:06
it would seem that I am perhaps treating my laptop with kid gloves. Perhaps I am overly worrying?

Wolfie
FollowupID: 359387

Reply By: V8troopie - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 02:41

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 02:41
OK here's what I use for my laptop, which had only travelled on bitumen so far, alas, but has been out often on my sailboat which will provide a rough ride occasionally.
I looked around my place first for something suitable and noticed this nice, sturdy black typewriter ( remember these?) case on a shelf in the shed.
Got the typewriter out and packed it into a plastic bag (heirloom perhaps :-)

The case and lid was lined with that egg carton like foam rubber, to fit the laptop exactly. It keeps it nicely cushioned in this sturdy case, it looks fairly inconspicuous too (who'll nick a typewriter?). Have not yet tested the dust sealing but it looks adequate to me.

Klaus
AnswerID: 101399

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 18:11

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 18:11
I reckon the funniest thing is.....

Can you imagine say, around 30 or 40 years ago, when the dudes that packed your typewriter in its case, in the typewriter factory, say, got a visit from you, in a time machine, and you opened the case, and showed them a laptop!

After you went back to your proper time ( 2005 ), the poor buggers would be telling everyone in the lunchroom, about this electronic marvel, but their mates would simply be taking the plss.

One guy however, would be sitting in the corner, a young pimply faced dude, taking notice..........

His name would be Steve. Steve Jobs............

Wolfie
FollowupID: 359388

Reply By: old-plodder - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 08:57

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 08:57
First came across vibration problems and computers when working in Sydney and living in Brisbane in 1987. 2 weeks on and 2 weeks off. Took computer with me in pajero in the back in it's box. Had to reformat the hard drive every 2nd trip.
(Good weekend routine every month, oil change on car, reformat and reload hard disk)
Put it on a 75mm layer of foam in back and all OK for another 25,000k.
So I always travel with computers on a seat and havn't had any problems. Longer trips use a bit of foam under.

Just drive like your wife is in the car and you have to keep her happy and not too many bumps, just don't let her know its because of the computer :-)
AnswerID: 101407

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 18:02

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 18:02
"Just drive like your wife is in the car and you have to keep her happy and not too many bumps, just don't let her know its because of the computer :-) "

Priceless!!!!

Wolfie
FollowupID: 359386

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 09:12

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 09:12
Mine lives in its bag. I take it out and hen use it on the seat when plotting a map. Does not shake or rattle much as I drive a very comfortable Nissan :o). Give it a dust every now and then. Have had no real issues with it. It is a generic Pioneer built from all sorts of bits in Sydney and is 3 years of age. I am hoping that Member Eric will have my new laptop base for me at MS this weekend.
AnswerID: 101408

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 18:26

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 18:26
When it's in its bag, do you just simply just stow it anywhere? Like whatever space is available at the time?

I am still unsure of this head thingy parking on disc platters, and having to reformat a drive. All sounds rather scary.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 359392

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 20:08

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 20:08
Yes.....I find a place for it and store it upright. These laptops are prtetty rugged things. Remember the laptop saw its first workout in Rosie which was like living inside a vacuum cleaner......... lol
FollowupID: 359402

Reply By: Wombat - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 12:08

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 12:08
Ian,

Our Powerbook and iBook both get put in their normal el Cheapo laptop bags, straight in the Black Widow _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx (one on top of the other) and off we go. We rely on them for work and to date neither has shown any ill effects from the Oodnadatta Track, Litchfield, or the East Macdonnell Ranges (including Ruby Gap & N'Dhala Gorge). I think it's just luck of the draw!
AnswerID: 101426

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 18:17

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 18:17
THERE IS A GOD!!!!

Welcome, fellow apple users!!

As I have outlined in a previous reply, I may be being too over cautious with my iBook.

I still have ordered the Pelican 1490 case, which will work around upgrades as they occur ( ie, not just for the 14" snow iBook ).

Wolfie
FollowupID: 359390

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 20:28

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 20:28
Isnt it time you washed that Triton? Wombie.......................lol
FollowupID: 359407

Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Mar 08, 2005 at 11:00

Tuesday, Mar 08, 2005 at 11:00
I'm not game to wash it Willie - then people will able to tell straight away that it's not a Nissan or Toyota and I'd feel quite inferior!!!
FollowupID: 359452

Reply By: Bazza - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 13:14

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 13:14
G'day Wolfie,
I have the ultimate in laptop protection ..... I leave it at home. With the amount of gear I take away, either for safety issues or for personal comfort, I've drawn the line at taking my laptop. IMHO enough is enough ... I've got gadgets crammed in every oriface ... I ca'nt take any more. I've got a sat12 GPS and a compass, and I can read maps. I do'nt need to download any pictures untill I get home, and I do'nt need a 15" LCD screen to show me where I am, been, or going.
How did we all get a long before all this techno mech. happened? Maybe we just enjoyed the trip and the senery.
As I said .. IMHO, each to his own.
Bazza.
AnswerID: 101440

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 18:21

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 18:21
Bazza.

Good call, on all counts. I am with you ALL of the way.

Trouble is, when I go away camping, on my own, I like to write. I seem to get in the zone a little easier when sitting down with a keyboard.

It is the only reason I would be taking it. I upload my RAW files into my iPod.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 359391

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 20:50

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 20:50
Just do it Ian. Why worry about a flamin laptop when you can worry about health and happiness. If it carks it...well...it's carked it. Are you gunna be worried about ya flamin laptop on your death bed cause your laptop wont be worried about you....just do it
FollowupID: 359409

Reply By: Graham- Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 22:39

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 22:39
Hi Wolfie,

I have an iBook and bought one of the laptop sleeve bags from here:

http://www.creativeshed.com/comp_bag.htm

The bag is padded and has an extra pouch to put charger and other cables etc.

I have to admit that I have dropped it once, when in bag, and still worked! Lucky!

Graham
AnswerID: 101514

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Tuesday, Mar 08, 2005 at 07:46

Tuesday, Mar 08, 2005 at 07:46
Cheers Graham.

There is just something good about things that begin with the letter "i"

iBook
iPod
iMac
iAn.....!!!!

Wolfie (Ian).
FollowupID: 359438

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 09, 2005 at 17:48

Wednesday, Mar 09, 2005 at 17:48
iDIOT hahahahaa Wolfie you're a classic

FollowupID: 359618

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 08, 2005 at 00:18

Tuesday, Mar 08, 2005 at 00:18
Ian I run a Dell Inspiron on a mobile desk lap top stand in my troopy.
www.mobiledesksolutions.com/trek.htm

I run moving map display constantly.
The kids play DVDs and I have ripped a heap of music to the HD and run it constantly through the cars stereo saves changing Cd's.