Superwinch

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 14:58
ThreadID: 21291 Views:1809 Replies:4 FollowUps:3
Gooday, I have an X9 superwinch that was taken off a late model landcruiser trayback (the vehical was traded in where my old man works). I have a non compatible T1 TJM bar so the thing is useless to me. The winch looks new and is in very good condition, however I have not tested it at all myself. Does anyone know what one of these would sell second hand for (and if their anygood). Two good friends have GU patrols and are semi keen to buy it - although I would assume a 9000 lb winch would be pushing it to use on a 2.4 - 2.6 tonne vehical???
Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Reply By: Alan S (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 15:48

Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 15:48
That size winch is a bit small for a patrol using a straight pull but will work fine if always used with a snatch block. If you sell it to your friends for the right price then why not? No idea how much it is worth, sorry.
AnswerID: 102791

Reply By: Member Eric - Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 17:16

Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 17:16
9000 pounds is around 4 ton , no issue for a 2.5 ton car on any pull. I have one on my cruiser and pulled hard many times with no snatch block and never failed . Also used it top pull John R with his 3.5 ton patrol out of DEEP sand .
AnswerID: 102800

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 18:16

Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 18:16
And John R had his brakes on at the time:-))

FollowupID: 360473

Reply By: japmel - Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 21:05

Thursday, Mar 17, 2005 at 21:05
Turbos,

G'Day, If your mates decide they don't want it email me
jap.md.harris@bigpond.com.au
If the price is right I could be interested.

japmel
AnswerID: 102831

Follow Up By: Turbos - Friday, Mar 18, 2005 at 16:52

Friday, Mar 18, 2005 at 16:52
No worries, they cost bit over $1000 new (see post 9290) so I would charge 400 - 500 considering it appears near new and in v.good condition. I'll keep your email address and get back to you soon - with some photos if my friends bail on me. I do need to check its operation first just to make sure everythinks aok - I know it will be though.

FollowupID: 360566

Follow Up By: japmel - Friday, Mar 18, 2005 at 21:33

Friday, Mar 18, 2005 at 21:33
Thanks mate I look forward to hearing from you Hopefully.

japmel
FollowupID: 360607

Reply By: Member - Jeffrey - Friday, Mar 18, 2005 at 22:56

Friday, Mar 18, 2005 at 22:56
Hi Turbos,
I could be interested in the winch aswell darby26@swiftdsl.com.au
All the Best In Health and Wealth
Jeffrey (AKA) JD
AnswerID: 103004