Daly River/ Woolianna/N.T.

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 23, 2005 at 03:04
ThreadID: 21454 Views:4510 Replies:3 FollowUps:5
Have been looking for somewhere to wander off to at the end of the wet for a bit of a family holiday/fishing/relaxing holiday. Have checked out the Daly River, in particular Woolianna by map & net. Anyone out there with personal experience on the area. Any feedback appreciated. Looks good, just wondering if it is as good as it looks.

Wal.

Reply By: CUM800 - Wednesday, Mar 23, 2005 at 07:36

Wednesday, Mar 23, 2005 at 07:36
Wal,

Haven't been there as yet, but I am going with another bloke in June for 12 weeks fishing. There and the south aligator river. He assures me that it is a great place. He has been there a number of times. We are camping more towards the mouth of the Daly. Express from Sydney and then just settle back and fish. Looking forward to it

AnswerID: 103540

Follow Up By: Member - Kimberly Kruiser (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 23, 2005 at 12:43

Wednesday, Mar 23, 2005 at 12:43
G'day John

I'm looking at mid to late May for 8 days or so, but don't have to travel the distances you do.
Hope you have a great trip.
Like the look of the "New Baby".

Wal
FollowupID: 361094

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Mar 23, 2005 at 08:40

Wednesday, Mar 23, 2005 at 08:40
Hi Wal ,

I have fished the Daly half a dozen times in the Barra Classic and am going up to Woolianna this April with my tinny and a couple of mates .

Woolianna is the best park , as it is the furthest down the river ( closest to the best fishing ) and has great boat launching and mooring facilities . Also you do not have to cross the river to get to this caravan park - which can be quite difficult if the wet continues late as it sometimes does .

The good fishing starts below Browns Creek - you could camp there last time I was up , but it is bush camping with no facilities ( or it was last time I was there ). Also at Browns , it can be difficult to launch a decent sized tinnie .

The Daly can be a bit tricky if you have never fished any of the tidal rivers up there before . There are sand bars and rock bars to be careful of and the tidal flow can get you into trouble too .If you have not fished there before , maybe you should ask lots of questions when you get there , and try to follow another boat for the first couple of days - I strongly suggest you do this .

Fishing there is mostly trolling and live bait . Casting to the snags always seems to be a waste of time , although using softbaits at the creek mouths usually gets quite a few smaller fish . You need to take lures that troll at 10' and some deeper diving ones for the deeper holes deeper .Also make sure you take a "tackle back as you get snagged a lot .

The Barra Nationals Run April 16 - 23 and the Barra Classic runs May 1-5 .
There will be probably be 35 to 50 of these boats in each comp tearing up and down the river during these dates , so maybe you would want to avoid these times . On the other hand , these are good tides to fish and it is quite entertaining to watch their antics as they troll 20 yards behind each other after someone has caught a fish . You can find out good spots to troll by watching them because , on the whole , they are pretty switched on fishermen . Also it is a huge river so even with 50 extra boats it is possible to find plenty of areas to be by yourself .

I am getting there on April 28 . If you see a silver Toyota TD with a Trak Shak , wander over and say hello .

All the best ,

Willie

PS . I have booked a site . I am not sure if that was neccessary , but maybe you should check this out , if you have not already .

AnswerID: 103552

Follow Up By: Member - Kimberly Kruiser (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 23, 2005 at 13:07

Wednesday, Mar 23, 2005 at 13:07
G'day Willie

Thanks for the feedback.
Looking to be there around mid May for about a week or so. Unfortunately dictated by work times, not tides. Also unfortunate that I have the cantankerous part but not retired.
Will keep an eye out for you. I will be towing a slightly modified Viscout Gazelle pop top with either a Troopy or 80 series ( both white ). Will
probably do the dingy hire thing for a couple of days while there.
Will be booking when the bride sorts out her time off or perhaps I could look for a cook when I get there. ( I strongly deny having ever said that ).
Have a great trip.

Wal.

FollowupID: 361101

Follow Up By: Davo - Thursday, Mar 24, 2005 at 15:36

Thursday, Mar 24, 2005 at 15:36
Willie,
I'm not a fully fledged member as yet; I noticed that you have a trak shak with a 4.2m quinnie onboard.
I'm interested to see some pics of the set-up of yo're okay with that.
Do you use a folding trailer for the boat?
Please email me at djdubbelboer@yahoo.com
Oh yeah,
Thanks for reminding me what I'm missing out on up there on the Daly; I'm originally from Darwin and miss the Barra fishing HEAPS !

2001 Landcruiser GXL T/D HDJ100R
Front & Rear ARB Diff locks with Air compressor
ARB Winch-compatible bullbar
4wd Systems Overhead console
Kaymar Rear Bar & Wheel Carrier
OMEmu LTR Nitrocharger Shock absorbers
Safari Snorkel & Safari D-Tronic EMS
3" S/S Exhaust
Long range fuel tank (260L total)
GME TX3400 UHF
IPF 740 Super Rally Driving lights
IPF 840 Driving lights
300W wiring loom & Spike protector
Rhino Sports Roof Rack
FollowupID: 361261

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Mar 24, 2005 at 18:15

Thursday, Mar 24, 2005 at 18:15
Davo ,
I tried to email you at the address above , but the email was returned saying the address had "fatal flaws" and that address did not have a Yahoo account .
Perhaps Yahoo rejected it because of the size of the attachments - three photos .
Can you confirm your address please .
Cheers ,
Willie
FollowupID: 361279

Reply By: Davo - Friday, Mar 25, 2005 at 00:23

Friday, Mar 25, 2005 at 00:23
Willie,
thanks for the reply.
djdubbelboer@yahoo.com is correct; Yahoo has a 250MB mailbox
or try bluemarlin@iinet.net.au
maybe your emai server has a problem with the file size you're trying to email.

AnswerID: 103798

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Mar 28, 2005 at 16:35

Monday, Mar 28, 2005 at 16:35
Davo ,
I am having trouble sending you my answer by email . I put three fish photos with it and it did not work , then I cut it down to two photos and it stilll says it is in the OUTBOX .
Maybe it went through - can you confirm or deny this .
I am talking about my answer AFTER I received your email with the three fish photos .
Cheers ,
Willie
FollowupID: 361534