Finally used the trailer/rooftop tent & shower -5 photos

Submitted: Monday, Mar 28, 2005 at 21:30
ThreadID: 21564 Views:3739 Replies:2 FollowUps:8
Finally finished it off and used it to great effect this week (Easter) in Lightning Ridge, NSW. Worked a treat. Tent is set high on the frame which gives it the height necessary for the ladder to extend - and to give you room to get to stuff under the tarp. Added advantage is that you can see through the gap between the traler and tent from your rear-view mirror. Tows and tracks like a dream. Towball weight is pefect, and the general trailer balance both on road (at 120kmh on those long, straight, enpty and very bump roads out near the NSW/QLD border).

Also used our new Coleman "Hot Water on Demand" system in our new Sportive dual-cubicle tent. Had the hot water system in the left cubicle and the dunny and shower head in the right. Great camping in the dust for a week..... well..at least we were refreshingly clean every night and slept well!

Very happy chappy:)

Image 1: [ View Image]
Image 2: [ View Image]
Image 3: [ View Image]
Image 4: [ View Image]
Image 5: [ View Image]

Reply By: Richard & Leonie - Monday, Mar 28, 2005 at 22:05

Monday, Mar 28, 2005 at 22:05
How come you did not photograph some delectable significant other using the shower? Spoil sport!
AnswerID: 104065

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Monday, Mar 28, 2005 at 22:09

Monday, Mar 28, 2005 at 22:09
Hmmm.... good point. I'll have to amend the photo collection next time out... :)

I 'spose I could have set a timer on the camera and taken one of myself....but it may have upset most fumumites here ....
FollowupID: 361563

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Monday, Mar 28, 2005 at 22:18

Monday, Mar 28, 2005 at 22:18
OK - she may not actually be in the shower - but here's the other half:

My better half: [ View Image]
FollowupID: 361564

Follow Up By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 29, 2005 at 07:36

Tuesday, Mar 29, 2005 at 07:36
Enjoyed your photos, having the MOTH fitting an awning on the Troopy yesterday when a southerly blew up I wonder how those roof top tents go in a big blow!!

Lovely photo of your better half, you game showing her off in here. LOL.

Carolyn
FollowupID: 361575

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 29, 2005 at 08:01

Tuesday, Mar 29, 2005 at 08:01
Carolyn - thanks :) It was a bit of a risk putting the photo of Jeeny up here, but she's pretty familiar with a lot of people in 4WD circles and doesn't mind.;)

The tent is quite stable in the wind - in itself. It doesn't deform at all and has the weight (60kg empty) to not be knocked around by anything other than cyclonic winds. When you have two people in it it weighs (for us anyway) around 190kg. If you're sleeping in it, it doesn't move much.
FollowupID: 361577

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Mar 29, 2005 at 09:53

Tuesday, Mar 29, 2005 at 09:53
Hmm...has she got a sister ? LOL
FollowupID: 361587

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 29, 2005 at 10:59

Tuesday, Mar 29, 2005 at 10:59
Footloose

Yup - but she's married and just about to pop her first.

Sorry mate... a couple'o years too late.... ;)
FollowupID: 361596

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Mar 29, 2005 at 11:06

Tuesday, Mar 29, 2005 at 11:06
Crispy, no worries. Bargains that that get snapped up on the second hand market too :)) Never mind, one of these days I'll meet a similar model in the bush......but I'll be too old to enjoy the experience. LOL
FollowupID: 361598

Reply By: Mr Robert Walker - Tuesday, Mar 29, 2005 at 17:40

Tuesday, Mar 29, 2005 at 17:40
Tent & shower great but where can you buy a ladder like the one to tent. I have searched everwhere for on for van/roofrack - is it light?
Rob
AnswerID: 104177

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 29, 2005 at 19:41

Tuesday, Mar 29, 2005 at 19:41
They're made in South Africa - specifically for this tent. It's extruded so it's collapsible and very light - about 2 kg I guess.

Not sure you can buy one separately. Maybe call Hans at OpenSky in Sydney and ask if you can buy one - you may have to spin a line about yours being damaged or something...
FollowupID: 361665