Mechanic in Melbourne

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 15:29
ThreadID: 22061 Views:1981 Replies:3 FollowUps:9

I've just moved to Melbourne and need recommendations for any good 4wd mechanic. I'm located on the western side of Melbourne near Flemington Racecourse and was wondering if there was a good 4wd mechanic/workshop nearby that does general servicing?

Ray

Reply By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 16:09

Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 16:09
I have a guy in Coburg that turns buses into 4wd's.
Have seen him work on 4bys alot there.
He is a pretty smart cookie. Old school though. Good man.

J & D Automotive. 17 Mercier St. Coburg Nth. 9354 9310

I always pay cash and dont require reciept. He does not ask for that but I assume it's appreciated.

He put a 1996 2.4 Hilux engine and a 5 speed box in the 1975 Coaster. I suppose the average mech cant/wont do that.

Check him out.

He's no mate of mine just a good mechanic.

Welcome to Victoria.The place to be. The garden state. On the move. I think that's all. lol

AnswerID: 106739

Follow Up By: Moggs - Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 16:40

Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 16:40
LOL, Geez iMusty...I hope ther are no tax office types on the board who are having a bad hair day! I'm sure your mechanic would prefer that his 'cash' business remained un-documented.
FollowupID: 363729

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 16:49

Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 16:49
Oh yeah ! I never thought of that.

He always gives a reciept. My post before contained lots of typos. Sorry.

I meant to say he always gives a warranty which you require a reciept for. So dont offer to pay cash as it's not a good idea and he might be offended.

Signed by
Frank Williams Jnr.
FollowupID: 363732

Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 17:48

Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 17:48
LOL, Ripper iM, a good cover up.

Browny
FollowupID: 363736

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 20:16

Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 20:16
"The place to be. The garden state. On the move"
surely you cant believe a vic? geez they crap on hahaha
next they'll be telling you that melbourne is the capital of australia.

FollowupID: 363762

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 21:23

Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 21:23
Hi Ray

Welcome to Melbourne - the worlds most livable city. This a beaut place to be though as everyone is finding out it is becoming a little crowded. We have this event called the Formula 1 Grand Prix - you should go as they have nothing like it in South Aus....

Geez I have to go through there on the way to the Kimberley.... they are great neighbors those South Aussies....
FollowupID: 363777

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 09:12

Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 09:12
That has to be Andrew, Jen wouldn't say things like that.

Bloody Mexican!!!

For your information we turned the ex Formula 1 event into a really beaut racing weekend. Recognized by everyone (except for Victorians probably) as the best event on the V8 Supercar calendar.

Going to have my Valium now.........

FollowupID: 363811

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 09:30

Friday, Apr 15, 2005 at 09:30
That's nice.... : )

Maybe we can get that one day too.

The Albert Lake Protesters wont mind them either. Rather slower and quiter than the F1 machines.

It would also slow our booming population growth because not as many people would come to see them.

We would need to find a place to put the F1's though.

A place who would value them and do what's needed to be done in order to keep them.

A real organised State.

Nah... we'd just keep that too. Lol.

Have a real quiet day. SHhhhh....

close your eyes....

Only 11 more months till your BIG RACE! is on Lmao

iMusty

FollowupID: 363813

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 16:55

Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 16:55
On Track 4x4 Repairs
53 Slater Pde
Keilor East 3033
(03) 9331 6536

they deal with real 4wds, not hacked heaps ofbleep
AnswerID: 106748

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 18:35

Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 18:35
So, Ray (S A).....

What Non De Plume are you going to go my now?

Ray ( Missing S A)
Ray ( Having A Crap Day )
Ray ( I'll be back one day... )

Tell ya what.....

I always try to arrange my travel arrangements around one thing.

Not the weather...

Not the price of fuel...

Not school holidays...

But... the availability of FARMERS UNION ICED COFFEE!!!!!

Mate..... was it REALLY worth it? lol!!!

Wolfie
AnswerID: 106764

Follow Up By: Member - Ray (SA) - Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 19:24

Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 19:24
Mate,

If I had my way, I'd be back home in a shot.

However, have you noticed that Farmers Union Iced Coffee is becoming more available in the rest of the country!!!

One good thing about moving back south, even though it's not SA is that at least I'm much closer to the source of FUIC.

Ray
FollowupID: 363757

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 22:49

Thursday, Apr 14, 2005 at 22:49
Ray, if you get round Geelong way, try the Great Ocaen Road Iced Coffee or even better still is the Premium Chocolate. Local to Western Victoria and not overeas owned like a lot of the other. Good substitute to FUIC.
FollowupID: 363794