I think it's a scam

Submitted: Friday, Apr 29, 2005 at 20:49
ThreadID: 22492 Views:2658 Replies:15 FollowUps:3

Below is a copy of an e-mail received in response to a Trader Add placed here a couple of weeks ago. Received what looked like a genuine enquirey and responded.
The e-mail below is from the prospective purchasor but does not seem quite right to me. Anyone had similar in the past?? Am I being paranoid??

Best regards

The e-mail " "

"Hello,
Am very Greatful for you telling me the condition of the (Trader Enquiry - Zodiac Dinghy Type 1507) And i
will like you to know that i have spoken with my client and he make me to
understand that he is going to make the payment into a check which you
will be deduct the cost of the (Trader Enquiry - Zodiac Dinghy Type 1507) which is $1,100and you will be
sending the remaining funds to the shipping company which they will use for
the shippment of it and you will be Expecting A Certified check of
$5000 As soon as you have the check you will deduct the cost of the (Trader Enquiry - Zodiac Dinghy Type 1507)
and send the Balance Of The money to The Shipper company Who will be come for the
pickup of the (Trader Enquiry - Zodiac Dinghy Type 1507) And keep the remaining $200 my client Promise to give you
As for the Inconvenecy you And After you have receive the Check And
Wire the Balance of the money to the shipper Company they will contact
you immediately And arrange with you where the pickup will take
place,i will like you to get back to me with the information be low so
that the payment can be mail out to you fast,

Full Name
Address
State
City
Zip Code
Cell Phone
Home Phone

I will be looking forward to have the information And i will like you
to email me with the pics of the (Trader Enquiry - Zodiac Dinghy Type 1507) so that my client can see what he
is paying for.
Best Regards,"

Reply By: hoyks - Friday, Apr 29, 2005 at 20:51

Friday, Apr 29, 2005 at 20:51
dosen't sound at all dodgey.
AnswerID: 108852

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Apr 29, 2005 at 20:53

Friday, Apr 29, 2005 at 20:53
Mike,

You just have to be suspicious of someone who can't talk the talk. (English)
Give him a very wide birth. This is a well known scam.

AnswerID: 108854

Reply By: Des Lexic - Friday, Apr 29, 2005 at 20:58

Friday, Apr 29, 2005 at 20:58
Forward the enquiry to EO and they will block the mothers ability to try their scam.
AnswerID: 108856

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Apr 29, 2005 at 20:58

Friday, Apr 29, 2005 at 20:58
There is a warning on the home page of the trader section about this sort of thing.
Advise David by email about the contact and he will block their access.

AnswerID: 108857

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Friday, Apr 29, 2005 at 21:03

Friday, Apr 29, 2005 at 21:03
These are common.....

Email him and say........

Sorry, I had written Zodiac Dinghy Type 1507, whereby it should have read Zodiac Sign Leo 69 ( metric equivalent 181 ), and see what he does.....

He'll reply saying........

Okay mister, friend say okay but make money wire back to me bit more because zodiac sign leo 69 is maybe not very fast yes?

Then you tell him you've also considered selling another car..yes I said CAR..... called a zodiac libra, would he like that as well?

Document and save all sent & replied, we wanna see this wanker in action!

Wolfie
AnswerID: 108858

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Apr 29, 2005 at 21:05

Friday, Apr 29, 2005 at 21:05
SCAM ALERT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The problem is that if you try to be smart with these fools and get them to send you the big cheque, when you bank it and it bounces, you cop all the bloody bank fees and even if you haven't been silly enough to have sent them back the money they have asked for, you're still out of pocket.

Tell them to send the funds directly to your bank account, but quote one of the digits (transpose the last and second last numbers of the account nuumber for example). Hopefully your bank will be smart enough to work out the number is quoted incorrectly and will match up your full name and address etc with the almost-correct account number. Then, when you've got the 5 grand in your account as 'clear funds', you've got them over a barrel and can call the shots.

But don't hold your breath waiting for the money to fall into your account....it'll never be sent!!!!!

AnswerID: 108859

Reply By: Pterosaur - Friday, Apr 29, 2005 at 21:13

Friday, Apr 29, 2005 at 21:13
G'day Mike,

the scam is common - check out the following site -

http://www.419eater.com/index.htm

details the nature of the scam, and countermeasures that you can take if you feel like a game !

Terry
AnswerID: 108860

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Apr 29, 2005 at 23:21

Friday, Apr 29, 2005 at 23:21
419 is different...
FollowupID: 365633

Follow Up By: Pterosaur - Saturday, Apr 30, 2005 at 00:34

Saturday, Apr 30, 2005 at 00:34
variations on a theme....
FollowupID: 365638

Reply By: Member - Craig M (NSW) - Friday, Apr 29, 2005 at 21:38

Friday, Apr 29, 2005 at 21:38
Hi Mike,
I agree with what everyonehas said, it is ust a scam.
If you want to have a good laugh go and have a look at the site Terry suggested, there are some hilarious reports on it. Even one where a bloke went along with them aranged to meet one of them at a English Airport, and even got some money out of them. No he didnt go to the airport and meet them and were they furious, threatened to kill him and all sorts of crap, only problem was is that he was actually in USA not the UK. He recorded there phone calls etc and they are all available to listen to etc. And some of the pics are hilarious too.
Nearly everybody on Ebay no longer have anything to do with enquires from Africa etc.
So Beware.
Money in the account always first.

AnswerID: 108865

Reply By: Member - Oskar (Bris) - Saturday, Apr 30, 2005 at 07:33

Saturday, Apr 30, 2005 at 07:33
Get the cheque and just frame it or put it in you photo album just for fun. LOL
Nah ... $5000 isn't really big enough for a trophy is it.
Oskar
AnswerID: 108892

Reply By: Member - Banjo (SA) - Saturday, Apr 30, 2005 at 07:47

Saturday, Apr 30, 2005 at 07:47
Yep - got one the other day re my advert here - binned it after reading half of the first line. These ferals are simple web vermin.... get the Ratsak I say !
AnswerID: 108893

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Saturday, Apr 30, 2005 at 08:54

Saturday, Apr 30, 2005 at 08:54
I reckon you blokes are a bunch of cynics. It looks completely legit to me.
AnswerID: 108897

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Saturday, Apr 30, 2005 at 09:46

Saturday, Apr 30, 2005 at 09:46
Hi Mike
I received something similar the other day after advert for a split rim was put in....the guy is from another country, by his email address, and i dont think he would want my split rim....more like he wants my email address to on-sell.
Might be wrong...
AnswerID: 108903

Reply By: Member - Andrew R (VIC) - Saturday, Apr 30, 2005 at 10:00

Saturday, Apr 30, 2005 at 10:00
Hi Mike,

I just got the same thing and thought it was dodgy. Now I see you have one I know it's dodgy

Hello,
Am very Greatful for you telling me the condition of the (Trader Enquiry - 100 series Outback roof console) And i
will like you to know that i have spoken with my client and he make me to
understand that he is going to make the payment into a check which you
will be deduct the cost of the (Trader Enquiry - 100 series Outback roof console) which is $415.00 and you will be
sending the remaining funds to the shipping company which they will use for
the shippment of it and you will be Expecting A Certified check of
$715.00 As soon as you have the check you will deduct the cost of the (Trader Enquiry - 100 series Outback roof console)
and send the Balance Of The money to The Shipper company Who will be come for the
pickup of the (Trader Enquiry - 100 series Outback roof console) And keep the remaining $200 my client Promise to give you
As for the Inconvenecy you And After you have receive the Check And
Wire the Balance of the money to the shipper Company they will contact
you immediately And arrange with you where the pickup will take
place,i will like you to get back to me with the information be low so
that the payment can be mail out to you fast,

Full Name
Address
State
City
Zip Code
Cell Phone
Home Phone

I will be looking forward to have the information And i will like you
to email me with the pics of the (Trader Enquiry - 100 series Outback roof console) so that my client can see what he
is paying for.
Best Regards,

AnswerID: 108906

Reply By: Member - Ross H (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 30, 2005 at 11:05

Saturday, Apr 30, 2005 at 11:05

I would be more worried about identity theft, thats why you should forward it on to the local police. It is one of the fastest growing crimes today.

regards ross
AnswerID: 108913

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Apr 30, 2005 at 16:36

Saturday, Apr 30, 2005 at 16:36
Everyone

'I think it's a scam'

Check out the following link and you will all do more than 'think'.

This is a wake up call that if you enter any of these schemes, you run a real risk of 'doing time for the crime'.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/common/story_page/0,5478,15110288%255E2862,00.html

AnswerID: 108944

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Saturday, Apr 30, 2005 at 16:47

Saturday, Apr 30, 2005 at 16:47
How dumb was this guy??????

"What do you do for a living?"

"Oh - I just sit back and wait for head office in Russia to fill my bank account up with thousands of dollars. Then I go and withdraw it as CASH and troop off to the local Western Union office and wire the money back to Russia. They even let me keep some of it!!!!!"

And he thought he was working for a real Finance Company!!!

Maybe next week he will be talked into transporting bags of powder to Indonesia.

Hopefully readers of EO will be the sort of well informed people that can avoid being sucked into unscrupulous scams by the low-life bottom feeders who inhabit the more sad parts of the world.

Stay vigilant!

Muddy
FollowupID: 365679