Flash; are you still around this forum?

Submitted: Monday, May 09, 2005 at 12:20
ThreadID: 22800 Views:1807 Replies:4 FollowUps:5
Back in September 2004 there was some lively discussion about By-Pass oil filtering.

In post number 15,993 there was some input from visitor...."FLASH". One of the things that Flash mentioned is that he always fits an oil pressure buzzer to any new vehicle he buys as by the time you glance down and notice the red light is on or check your gauges and see that the VDO is sitting on "O" pressure, it's gunna be far too late to switch off the motor.

My question is: what brand of buzzer do you use? and is it just soldered onto the single wire that I have coming off my oil pressure sender? The Nissan (and most other vehicles I would imagine) have a single wire coming from the pressure switch. I have done a simply test with a multi meter (sticking the pointy probe through the insulation), but can't get any reading, even when the ignition switch has been turned on, and before start-up. This is when the oil pressure light is lit up on the dash and i would have thought there would have been some reading on the multimeter.

Anybody else with any infor on these buzzers is welcome to join in too please.

I am still mucking around with the idea of a by-pass filtration system and want to make sure i have all the bases covered before i start.

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Monday, May 09, 2005 at 12:30

Monday, May 09, 2005 at 12:30
I think you'll find the pressure switch makes and breaks the earth Roachie that's why no voltage reading.
AnswerID: 110426

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Monday, May 09, 2005 at 13:27

Monday, May 09, 2005 at 13:27
Ok I'm back, so you'll need to connect one wire from the buzzer to positive and the other to the oil pressure switch wire. When the pressure is low the pressure switch completes the circuit and the buzzer drives you mad :)
FollowupID: 366947

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, May 09, 2005 at 14:09

Monday, May 09, 2005 at 14:09
I reckon Roachie is a retired pilot, and tryin to make his GU 'cockpit' look the same as a 747, and the car weigh as much!

More alarms, buzzers for buzzers, and gauges for gauges..

:)~
FollowupID: 366953

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, May 09, 2005 at 14:22

Monday, May 09, 2005 at 14:22
Thanks Ray, I will try that with a buzzer I already have at home, but which didn't work when I tried it using the + onto the pressure switch's wire.

Truckster, I think you may be right. If I was the sort of bloke who believed in all that 2nd life stuff (like SWMBO does), I'd say I must have been a pilot in my previous life...haha

FollowupID: 366956

Reply By: Member Steve & Lorraine Mc - Monday, May 09, 2005 at 13:55

Monday, May 09, 2005 at 13:55
G Day Roachie Long time no say, let me know what type of buzzer you install it would be a piece of mind having one fitted also good for the wife who cooked my last GU OUCH???I have been running a Baldwin B50 since the car was new. I use the Caltest oil sampling extended the oil drains to 10,000 then 15,000, Im now 3,000 Ks of a 20,000k
drain sample at the 15,000 the oil was perfect. soot level was 0.1% Viscosity & Oxidation will be the one I,ll be looking at next test. With 62,000 ks on the clock in 12mths it also saves me getting under the bloody thing all the time.

Cheers Steve

AnswerID: 110441

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, May 09, 2005 at 14:20

Monday, May 09, 2005 at 14:20
No worries Steve,
Watch this space for an answer. I do have a simple buzzer at home (from Tricky Dickies I think it was). It only has 2 wires and IS curent-direction sensitive (ie: it only buzzers when it has the red wire on +). I will try that with the earth wire to the wire on the pressure switch.
Cya mate
FollowupID: 366955

Reply By: Member - Raymond - Monday, May 09, 2005 at 16:23

Monday, May 09, 2005 at 16:23
Hi Roachie
You can also go one step further and have an auto shut down, if the buzzer goes for more than 15 secs it shuts the engine down. Whenb driving the rear engine coaches we had this system fitted to both oil and water level with a limp switch to allows us to get the coach of the road
Ray
2 sleeps and we are off for 3 months Central Oz and the Gulf
AnswerID: 110473

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 15:08

Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 15:08
Thanks for idea Ray, but I reckon if I can get a buzzer working I'll settle for that.
Hope you have a great trip, you lucky buggars.....I'm jealous as hell.

Cya when ya get back

FollowupID: 367089

Reply By: G.T. - Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 15:23

Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 15:23
Have a look at posts 15993 , 16027 , 17991 , 18255 , re by pass filter systems.
I would not use a system that uses a toilet roll as the filter element. Get a system that uses a conventional oil filter. Regards G.T.
AnswerID: 110636