Portable Dunny Chemicals, Green/Blue

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 20:54
ThreadID: 23927 Views:2135 Replies:5 FollowUps:3
The old blue chemical that I have used in my Porta Dunny for years contains formaldehyde. The new green (colour, not political persuasion) one is supposed to be environmentally friendly.

I have been advised by a chap at a camping store that the "green" one is little more than a scent to make the ablutions smell OK. In contrast the "blue" one breaks the contents down.

I've been very happy with the "blue" stuff and am in no rush to change.

Just what environmental damage is formaldehyde supposed to do?

Reply By: Member - Paul P (Bris) - Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 21:10

Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 21:10
Jim

Its flammable and very unfriendly to septic systems. The environmentally friendly colours work okay, you just need to empty after about 3 days.

Have a read of the bottle info. A solids breakdown claim is made by the environmentally friendly colours.

My experience

AnswerID: 116063

Follow Up By: guzzi - Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 06:47

Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 06:47
Jim,
The "Green" stuff from hayman Reese for porta-potties does seem to do the job of breaking down the toilet contents.
I was pleasently surprised at how well it worked, and the smell is "acceptable".
Didnt even envoke the gag reflex on emptying, just dont look at it too closely :))
FollowupID: 371667

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 21:13

Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 21:13
hi Jimbo

I can't answer your question...hahahha..though formaldehyde is used for preserving bodies, can't say what it does to the environment....however, the blue one is the "GO" with me too, and I've just been to BigW and bought some more.

and Jimbo...Bonz IS coming to Porchetta's tomorrow night, but I'm not...hahahahah

Lyn
AnswerID: 116065

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 21:25

Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 21:25
Thanks Lyn,

I've just spoken to Ken, who also confirmed Geoff will be there.

Sad you and the little bloke can't make it. We'll miss you.

FollowupID: 371640

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 21:39

Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 21:39
never mind Jimbo, we'll make the next one.....
FollowupID: 371641

Reply By: Member - Mike H (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 21:14

Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 21:14
G'day Jim,
Google is your friend :-)

Info
AnswerID: 116066

Reply By: vitara - Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 10:45

Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 10:45
Hi Jimbo.we use this stuff at my work for bombing our spore area which is live culture. DONT EVER BREATH the fumes of this deadly stuff as it is cancer causing. I know that these days everything you read is cancer causing but we do air tests with calibrated air moniters before we go into a room that has had this stuff sprayed around. Mate deadly stuff okay to use in porta loos as it is diluted down but dont get on your skin direct from bottle or as I said dont breath in the vapours.As far as enviromental goes once it is poured down a drain or into a river or what ever this stuff becomes non existent. It dilutes down to nothing so no worries. Its not like oil or anything lie that. So take care and have fun. Vitara
AnswerID: 116125

Reply By: Flash - Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 08:44

Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 08:44
Would suggest you all consider this stuff-
"BioMagic".
It's absolutely enviromentally friendly and actually HELPS septic tanks work.
I got onto it at the caravan show and would now never go back to the other stuff.

They are on 1800 888 205 and www.biomagic.com.au
AnswerID: 116488