Is $39000 too expensive for a Landcrusier

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 26, 2005 at 18:41
ThreadID: 24199 Views:3596 Replies:10 FollowUps:7
Ook ok ok I'm a traitor to Patrols, I don't own one, but I would love a 4.2 diesel GU Patrol w'gon with live axle, excellent LSD etc., etc.. I've seen this Landcrusier GXL 100 S HZJ105R '98 for sale though. As a newbie to purchasing 4wd's I have found it difficult to come across this particular Patrol w'gon (they appear rare ie: the 3 litre diesel dominant production).

This Landcruiser's got a lot of the things I'm either considering or wish to perhaps include.
They are:
Front live akle (no dreaded IFS which comes standard with most GLX's).
ARB bullbar with IPF driving lights.
Manual Transmission with 4.2 straight diesel motor
Tradesman roof rack, full length.
Dual batteries.
safari snorkel.
dual radios uniden UHF & AM CB.
Long range tanks 190 litres (I think).
Side step rails.
Rear wheel carrier with the 2nd spare, the 1st is still under the rear end (ahhh, oh well begars can't be choosers).
Cargo barrier.
K's travelled: 95165 kms. The vehicle was used to travel around Australia.
BF Goodrich 16" A/T's (I would prefer Cooper ST's, but hey again these are the tryes on the machine & they appear to still have a long life ahead of them).
Plus also it has the safety pack Dual Airbags, ABS etc.. for OSWMBO
The exterior appears in good condition.
The interior appears slightly shabby. Rear passenger interior roof handles missing.

The dealer wants $39000 on road.
What I want to know from you guys, is what sort of deal do you think this is?
I'm concerned that it's perhaps a bit expencive, but it's ad ons are attractive.

Reply By: Niko - Sunday, Jun 26, 2005 at 18:49

Sunday, Jun 26, 2005 at 18:49
go to cars.com.au to see what is a good price. I know a local guy who purchases ex-mining Landcrusiers and sells them on. He buys them from an Auction just down the road from me. The ones I have seen are in just as good a condition as ones in a car yard that charge an extra 20%. Don't buy from an Auctioneer that also has setup a sales yard, they rip you off as well. The good Auction site is smith broughton and son http://www.smithbroughton.com/
AnswerID: 117572

Reply By: G-wizz - Sunday, Jun 26, 2005 at 19:12

Sunday, Jun 26, 2005 at 19:12
http://www.redbook.com.au/
AnswerID: 117577

Follow Up By: madCrow - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 18:27

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 18:27
Thanks G-wizz for the redbook web address. had a look there today, it's a great site finding the values of vehicles: new price, trade-in price, private sale price, as well as the comparison prices of up to 3 vehicles.
Thanks again, great info!!!

madCrow
FollowupID: 373078

Reply By: WheelTravel - Sunday, Jun 26, 2005 at 19:18

Sunday, Jun 26, 2005 at 19:18
Don't buy an ex-miner! They get treated real rough. I met a guy who bought a TD Troopy and said he'd never do it again.

Ex chasers/ambos are good at the auctions. and they come with all the gear. Ex Telstra can be Ok too.

I bought my 01 Troopy from Fowles www.fowles.com.au with 34,000ks, Winch/BB/Steps/Stratos Seats/Front Locker/Driving Lights/snorkel for only $34,800! Took me 7mths to find though!

Trick is to go to auctions where dealers are at.

What you have abovewill save you a lot on a fitout, but if it has done 90,000k's around oz, it will certainly have taken a bit of a beating. Ideally you want a vehicle set up for outback travel, but not used. That's why the ambo was perfect, coz they have all the gear as "just in case"

Cheerio
AnswerID: 117578

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Sunday, Jun 26, 2005 at 22:15

Sunday, Jun 26, 2005 at 22:15
biggest problem with them is that they are coated 24/7 with mud created from hypersaline water, If they aint rusty when you buy em they soon will be and you will get a host of underneath problems that keep on costing - brakes, clutches etc etc not hard to give em a good clean and spray that black stuff over everything but the damage has been done
FollowupID: 372961

Reply By: Exploder - Sunday, Jun 26, 2005 at 19:39

Sunday, Jun 26, 2005 at 19:39
MadCrow

Try and talk the dealer down, It has done lower than average kilometre’s but he is jacking the price up because of all the accessory’s, Which is bull really because if you had traded the car in like that you would not get anymore for it than somebody trading in a stock 100 series of the same year.

The hard part now is that you have found a truck with a few thousand $$ of goodies on it, yes it is overpriced but is it better to pay a bit more for something that is already set up, or get one that is more reasonably priced and than build it up.

AnswerID: 117582

Reply By: Rob from Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Sunday, Jun 26, 2005 at 20:13

Sunday, Jun 26, 2005 at 20:13
I sold my 2000 GXL 4.2 deisel 5 spd for $26,500. It was in immaculate condition but naturally had a few k on her 250k. Sheepskin covers TJM steel b\bar r\rack OE mags BFG tires suspension set up 2' lift, tint. Dealers were talking $24 k so as you can see there is a fair bit of profit built into a 98 at $39k. Wish people would learn, condition is far more important than klms. I have had my T\D since late November and done over 50k already. Cheers Rob
AnswerID: 117586

Follow Up By: madCrow - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 01:22

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 01:22
This great feed back thank heaps to the replies so far.
I should have said I'm based in victoria, I know that often really good bargains happen north of me in Qld, but I'm sticking to this state for purchasing.
Rob from Cairns Offroad Training & Tours your GXL 4.2D sounded great, 'tis a petty we're @ different of this continant.

Thanks for the info Rob et all.
FollowupID: 372973

Reply By: Johnny boy - Sunday, Jun 26, 2005 at 21:14

Sunday, Jun 26, 2005 at 21:14
Hi madcrow .
mate all I can say is I bought my 98 4.2 D GXL 3 yrs ago it had just over 100,000 kms on it the body was reasonable, interior showed a little wear and the only xtras I got was a crapy alloy toyo tryhard b/b more like a nudge bar with ears! a stacker under the seat , fake woodgrain dash etc,factory towbar , alloys,and a safari turbo with an inter cooler wich I think sold the car but at the time it was still a great deal that I have had no regrets buying ....BUT all I can say is that I thought no worries Ill throw all the xtras on that My 4 runner had ( before it got stollen!) and she will be right ...well that was untill my wife asked just how much things were going to cost ...very hard to justify to the other half when you have a morgage and kids so I just wish I had a few xtras like yours to at least kick start the build , well now I have said that I think you should still price around but consider the accesories if you intend putting them on later.

P.S mine cost me $ 38,000 good luck hope I helped in someway ?

cheers Johnny boy.
AnswerID: 117602

Reply By: MT - Sunday, Jun 26, 2005 at 21:59

Sunday, Jun 26, 2005 at 21:59
Hi Madcrow,

I guess that I would accept a landcruiser. if they offered me 39K ... though I would hold out for 40K - that might cover the first few years fuel and servicing costs.

Got to love that over priced, mass produced Jap rubbish.. and then you get to pay through the nose for through life support costs. They are laughing all the way to the bank, no wonder they can afford Lawsy and Steve Irwin to promote them!

Spread your horizons and look beyond the mass market and bottomless advertisng accounts that have bought out most mainstream 4 wd magazines in this country.

And, in anticipation of all those who will write in an talk of cow cockies and mining companies using toyotas etc across the outback .... Its called fleet sales ! There is no imperative other than the bottom line when you write the bugger off on tax over 3 years , then buy another one! Fine of course if you are a private buyer...

Sleepers awake! you have all been conned by an absolutely bloody brilliant marketing exercise ! Try driving something else and be pleasantly surprised.

Yours in anticipation of the inevitable response from the wider, objective and well informed audience (lol)

MT

AnswerID: 117614

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 00:21

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 00:21
And what are these other vehicles??? btw dont bleat that "only reason they use them fleet sales thingo" there is not a manafacturer of any goods let alone vehicles that doesnt give a discount for bulk buys
FollowupID: 372970

Follow Up By: MT - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 23:13

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 23:13
Davoe,

you miss the point, and at the same time emphasis mine - Numbers have nothing to do with quality! I did not say that fleet sales = bad. I did say that fleet sales does not necessarily = good.

I say again, if you own 100 of the buggers and write them off - more power to you. If you own one like the majority of us - watch out for your dollars, both in acquisition and ownership costs. What makes economic sense for BHP Billition does not necssarily make sense for the average punter - despite the sales BS or the combined technical ignornace of the masses.

If you are a die hard 'private' LC 100 owner, get an accountant to check out your purchase price, the cost of parts, ownership cost [ insurance etc], the servicing regime and the fuel economy against any other mainstream 4 WD. Then write in an tell us how good you feel. :-)

MT
FollowupID: 373116

Reply By: 100 Series - Sunday, Jun 26, 2005 at 23:09

Sunday, Jun 26, 2005 at 23:09
Too dear. The dealer would have only paid around $30000-$31500 for the 98 model. Go in and offer him $33000
AnswerID: 117628

Reply By: Steve - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 08:37

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 08:37
before Christmas I was looking at a LC100 all tricked up at a dealer's. He was asking for the going rate (redbook) + the add ons. Admittedly, they were put on by a bloke who has an accessories business and reckoned he'd never used em. You could believe it looking at the condition. Top notch. But I wouldn't give the cheeky b@st@rds top dollar for the add ons. Different story when you're trying to trade one. Anyway, went past several months later and the car's still sitting there. Considering this was suburban Sydney where most are bought for mum's taxi, I told him he was dreaming when he said it'd walk out at that price. He then tried to convince me that most inquiries are from serious off-roaders and it'd go soon. btw, whenever I look thru the trader, 4x4 or caravan, looks like the (most) best deals are in Vic.
AnswerID: 117642

Reply By: ADM - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 12:58

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 12:58
I have a 11/99 GXL diesel for sale and would do a better price than that.

95000k, white and in vgc.

Contact me on the below if you are inerested and i will send some pics.

sootygu@yahoo.com.au

AnswerID: 117690

Follow Up By: madCrow - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 18:16

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 18:16
Hi ADM or AMD (there's a computer chip manufacturer in there somewhere)
I'll send u an email

thanks
madCrow
FollowupID: 373074

Follow Up By: ADM - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 10:39

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 10:39
madCrow

Are you still interested in the vehicle. I am not sure if you have tried to send an email but I am yet to receive anything.

FollowupID: 373249