Sydney 4x4 & Fishing Show

Submitted: Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 10:40
ThreadID: 24215 Views:4170 Replies:10 FollowUps:5
Went to the Sydney Show over the weekend, paid my $15 to get in and spent hours walking around talking to people and looking at campers.
Very disappointed with the offering. Did not seem to be anything new of unusual.
I thought it was a waste of money as the parking was another $15.
What do others think of the value ?
Vince

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 10:52

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 10:52
G'day Vince,

I questioned the value, so stayed home, got the 12 qt dutchie out and lovingly brewed a hearty oup over 6 hours, whilst playing with the kids and drinking home brew. Reckon I made the right decision.

sorry 'bout your day mate, hope you made amends before you turned in.
AnswerID: 117659

Reply By: Member - Jack - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 11:22

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 11:22
I have to agree. Not a patch on the one at Rosehill, nor the Maitland Show. I *still* managed to spend some money though. Happens every time. I think I will cross this one off my list for next year.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 117665

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 12:27

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 12:27
I glad you both felt the same way. I was starting to think I was turning into a Grummpy old man.
Vince
FollowupID: 372998

Reply By: garthyguts - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 13:27

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 13:27
i got stuff there like $15.00 fishing reels,spin off fuel filter,allways some thing to buy
AnswerID: 117696

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 15:37

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 15:37
$15.00 fishing reels should last at least 2 trips...LOL
Sorry mate couldn't help myself LOL
FollowupID: 373048

Reply By: KiwiAngler - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 15:38

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 15:38
quote: "paid my $15 to get in and spent hours walking around talking to people ....
Doing the maths this looks like good value for money $15/ x #hours=beggar all.

If you spent $15 for your parking then you paid to be there for 24 hours - it was only $3.00 per hour at $15 so you must have decided that you were goig to be there for 5 hours at least before you went in.

I see in another post someone is comparing this to the Rosehill show...Rosehill is better described as a Caravan/Camping/Fishing with a little bit of 4x4. This show was a 4x4 and Fishing show.

Personally I thought it was excellent value, well set out (unlike the Rosehill one) more focus on 4x4 and Fishing (what caravans that were seen were at least 'outback' in design)

I actually spent 5 hours and when I came out I re-sold my parking ticket (it was valid until 8:00am Sunday morning) to another guy for $6 so I got 5 hours parking for $9.00 and he got whatever hours he stayed for $6.00.

AnswerID: 117732

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 16:46

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 16:46
Don't kkow where you parked. I was in P1 from midday till 3'00 pm and they hit me for $15.
FollowupID: 373056

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 17:36

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 17:36
Parked in the outside "Visitors Parking' at back using the money in the machine thingy. At 2.4mtrs high my 4by doesnt go into covered parking :-)
FollowupID: 373070

Reply By: angler - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 16:37

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 16:37
One wonders why we should have to pay to go shopping. Is this the next step for woolies or coles? Pay at the door then do your grocery shopping.
I personally think the exibitors should let us see their wares free.
I have been to one caravan show and never again. Parking, entry, hassle, fuel, time, parking rage, crowds.
Jeez I must be getting old and cranky.

AnswerID: 117739

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 17:43

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 17:43
In this case the carpark isnt owned by the 'shop keeper' and is run as a seperate business to the show itself
FollowupID: 373071

Reply By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 20:04

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 20:04
We also went to the show and paid our fee. I thought that the show was not good value, the only freebees I got was some lousy car sales magazines. You would think that one would at least get a couple of free pens or a baseball cap! Even the food was overpriced.
Sparky
AnswerID: 117780

Reply By: brett - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 22:25

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 22:25
We all pay to get in but why? Why do we pay to look at what somone is selling. Westfields don't charge you to come into their shopping centre. Never felt comfortable handing over money to look at stuff people are selling.
AnswerID: 117813

Reply By: Croozer - Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 22:49

Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 22:49
Sorry Vince, but I had an exhibitor pass from a friend with a fishing stand, so free entry. I went to the show on Sunday at 3pm, parked in the carpark opposite the end of the hall with the fishing stuff in it, could not see a ticket machine that worked (many other cars with no tickets) so also got free parking.
Food was a rip off as usual and could not find a beer where we ate..... Bugger.
Stu
AnswerID: 117821

Reply By: Member - Bernard - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 12:58

Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 12:58
We spent more than six-hours on Friday at the 4x4 show. It was far from perfect but I thought much better laid out than Rosehill, more space to look and better aimed at 4x4. And easily managed to spend too much money than originally planned.

It was easy to talk to people on the Stands without being bumped and pushed, and I thought the exhibits were of a reasonably good standard. !On the other hand, the food was lousy, half cold and overpriced.

I agree that $15 entry plus parking is a bit steep. But but the overall rentasl charged for the venue, plus public liabilty insurance, business risk cover, along with security and other costs, is impossible to recoup from only the exhibitors -- they'd never be able to justify let alone afford the lease costs. Unfortunatley, cross subsidisation is here to stay thanks to greedy, overpriced government quangos.

AnswerID: 117886