BIRDSVILLE GATHERING

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 11:51
ThreadID: 24253 Views:1599 Replies:4 FollowUps:5
OK only 4 days and i'm off to Birdsville via Carnarvon Gorge spending 2 days there then on to Birdsville, see ya there if your going.
If anyone is doing a Simpson crossing we are leaving Birdsville monday to cross hopefully would rather do it with someone or a group than aloan.

Reply By: boyd - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 13:20

Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 13:20
G'day Baz,
were leaving on Saturday from Sydney planning on being in Birdsville on Tuesday or wednesday, then dong the Simpson. If this fits in we with you we may be able to do the crossing together.
Boyd
AnswerID: 117889

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 13:27

Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 13:27
I wish it did but the girls want to see Carnarvon and spend a couple of days there, we are leaving saturday as well, so won't be in Birdsville till thursday or friday, thanks for the offer though.

FollowupID: 373174

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 13:48

Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 13:48
G'day baz,
Our group should be in Birdsville on Sunday arvo and we plan to head across Simmo on Tuesday morning (12/7)......we want to have a slap-up feed at the pub on Monday night.
If you can wait another 24 hours, you'd be welcome to come with us. At this stage there will be 4 vehicles in our convoy, 2 of us are towing campers (my Ultimate and my mates Trak Shak). We are not sure if we will be able to go due west to Poepels corner yet or if we need to head down Birdsville Track and then turn NW to poepels.....will need to get advice from those who might have come in from the west as to track conditions and also how much of the wet stuff they have in the meantime.
AnswerID: 117895

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 14:08

Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 14:08
Thanks Roachie that might suit us well, i think SWMBO might be happy with that, i didn't want to tow the camper across as i don't know if the conditions would be good for it, also i don't know what it would be like never having towed a camper in the sand or what it is like out there, i didn't want to be a burdon on anyone we travelled with, thinking that we might be towed over some of the dunes, am i being paranoid or just safe, i have faith in the Disco but with farely skinny tyres, not real sure.

FollowupID: 373179

Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 19:25

Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 19:25
G'Day Roachie. I should be leaving Big red Tuesday morning with a group so might see you out there somewhere. One of our group is going W-e first then back the other way so will have up to date track report.

Pat
FollowupID: 373212

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 07:23

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 07:23
Pat i had a chat to the misses and i think your group is the best for her i will see you monday in birdsville on your way to Big Red, i'll message Cewlison today and let him know.

We are leaving saturday and going via Nyngan now so should be in Birdsville by wednesday or thursday.

See you all there.

FollowupID: 373241

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 15:57

Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 15:57
Redback.

Leaving Bris early Sat. Birdsville via Currawinya NP, Sturt NP and the Cooper.

Drive safely all.

Wim
Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 117921

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 16:03

Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 16:03
Hope to get there Friday or Saturday going via Innamincka assuming that Walkers Crossing is open. Not going via Tibooburra this time to see your mate that welcomed us last time Baz.

A bit slow today on dialup as my laptop won't talk to the sever for some social connectivity reasons.
AnswerID: 117923

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 17:12

Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 17:12
Have a great trip :))
FollowupID: 373199