Slow news day - AGAIN... More stats 'n Scruby

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 13:38
ThreadID: 24257 Views:3125 Replies:13 FollowUps:10
Accident stats show 4WDs the deadliest
June 28, 2005 - 1:24PM

Page Tools
Email to a friend Printer format
A 16-year study of Australian road accidents shows four wheel drives are far more likely than conventional vehicles to kill or maim other road users.

Monash Uni's Used Car Safety Ratings project, on behalf of the Royal Automobile Club of Victoria, Traffic Accidents Commission and VicRoads, investigated almost 1.5 million crashes in Australia and New Zealand from 1987 to 2003.

RACV chief engineer Michael Case said the typical Australian family sedan offers good crash protection but some small cars still expose occupants to unnecessary risk.

He said Australia's road safety lemons are the Daihatsu Charade and Ford Festiva, noting their safety performance was lower than average and had not improved over successive models.

He said Australian-made family sedans were mostly a good choice second-hand vehicle, and he singled out the Ford Falcon AU, Holden Commodore models VR/VX and the Mitsubishi Magna (1991 to 2003) as "strong performers".

He also said the Toyota Corolla built from 1998 to 2001 also showed "strong design can ensure a strong result even in small cars."

Advertisement
AdvertisementThe study assessed 288 of the most popular cars driven on Australian and New Zealand roads, providing information on the impact of vehicle occupancy and other road users.

Four wheel drives were described as providing the same safety for occupants as family sedans but they have greater impact on the occupants of other cars, and particularly pedestrians, cyclists, and motor cyclists.

Pedestrian Council of Australia chairman Harold Scruby called on the federal government to scrap tariff reductions on 4WD vehicles, and to apply lower tariffs to safer vehicles.

People who genuinely needed 4WDs, such as those in remote areas, could be exempted from increased tariffs, he said.

But elsewhere 4WDs should be "taxed off the road".

"I don't think people in Mosman and Toorak should be getting these vehicles at five per cent tax when a Corolla is taxed at 10 per cent," Mr Scruby said.

He also took aim at young drivers in regional areas who drove souped-up utes often adorned with bullbars, aerials and stickers.

"In the bush every young driver wants to drive a Holden ute with a bullbar," he said.

"It's a testosterone thing, it's all about `mine is bigger than yours'."

However, NRMA vehicle policy expert Jack Haley said the high rate of injuries caused by 4WDs was due to the type of vehicle involved, not the behaviour of 4WD drivers.

The same tariffs should be applied to all cars, Mr Haley said.

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 13:43

Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 13:43
Ho Hum!!! Sorry I'm falling asleep again.

AnswerID: 117892

Reply By: gramps - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 13:48

Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 13:48
"He also took aim at young drivers in regional areas who drove souped-up utes often adorned with bullbars, aerials and stickers."

Yep...... gotta get those damned dangerous "stickers" off cars.

The usual load of c$#@p from Scrubydon't.
AnswerID: 117894

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 14:23

Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 14:23
LMAO, I was thinking the exact same thing about those deadly stickers!

Very misleading introduction to that storey too, especially seeing as half way through it says that 4wds offered similar protection to sedan for occupant protection...
FollowupID: 373181

Reply By: Member - Landie - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 14:47

Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 14:47
This story is being run in the Telegraph........looks to be a take on the same thing.

Home Top Stories Story
12.45pm

4WDs compensate for 'anatomical deficiencies'

By David Crawshaw

June 28, 2005

FOUR-WHEEL-DRIVE owners will often tell you they chose their vehicles for safety reasons. But Pedestrian Council of Australia chairman Harold Scruby reckons it has less to do with safety and more to do with compensating for anatomical deficiencies.

"There's a Freudian factor; certain people have to buy these large cars because they're missing elsewhere," Mr Scruby said today.

"The majority of drivers see [4WD owners] as aggressive and arrogant – it's a certain type of person who has to have one of these vehicles and sit above everyone else."

Mr Scruby today called for the removal of tariff reductions for 4WDs as a new study showed what many already suspected – that 4WDs are the most dangerous cars on the road.

The Monash University study found 4WDs were far more likely than conventional vehicles to kill or maim other road users.

Mr Scruby, who drives a Subaru Outback, said it was hard to tell to what degree the people driving 4WDs were responsible for the high injury rates, and how much was due to the physical nature of 4WDs.

It was not really possible to improve safety for the occupants of one vehicle in a crash without compromising safety for the occupants of the other, he said.

Mr Scruby called on the federal government to scrap tariff reductions on 4WD vehicles, and to apply lower tariffs to safer vehicles.

People who genuinely needed 4WDs, such as those in remote areas, could be exempted from increased tariffs, he said.

But elsewhere 4WDs should be "taxed off the road".

"I don't think people in Mosman and Toorak should be getting these vehicles at 5 per cent tax when a Corolla is taxed at 10 per cent," Mr Scruby said.

He also took aim at young drivers in regional areas who drove souped-up utes often adorned with bullbars, aerials and stickers.

"In the bush every young driver wants to drive a Holden ute with a bullbar," he said.

"It's a testosterone thing, it's all about 'mine is bigger than yours'."

NRMA vehicle policy expert Jack Haley said the high rate of injuries caused by 4WDs was due to the type of vehicle involved, not the behaviour of 4WD drivers.

The same tariffs should be applied to all cars, Mr Haley said.

AAP

AnswerID: 117910

Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 16:33

Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 16:33
Same old beat up...ah well, I suppose they have to find something to fill the rags.
AnswerID: 117925

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 17:38

Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 17:38
I have lost more mates to trees & stobie poles.

Of course a 4 x 4 is gonna do damage... physics... mass x inertia... duh!

If people are really worried, by a damn Volvo, with all the air bags.

Wolfie
AnswerID: 117927

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 18:21

Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 18:21
and the mass and the inertia, hiya Wolfie good to have you back home mate

FollowupID: 373203

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 17:53

Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 17:53
What a revelation when two objects meet the larger wins. Why are they wasting money trying to determine what was known by the cavemen.
AnswerID: 117928

Follow Up By: 3.0turbob - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 06:25

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 06:25
Because the caveman known as Harold Scruby needs to justify his position in an organisation that does bugger all. How often do you hear him attacking stupid pedestrians that disobey traffic signals and run blindly through the traffic talking on their mobiles. If they get splattered by a vehicle, 4WD or whatever, who's to blame?????
FollowupID: 373240

Reply By: Exploder - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 18:17

Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 18:17
Four wheel drives were described as providing the same safety for occupants as family sedans (but they have greater impact on the occupants of other cars, and particularly pedestrians, cyclists, and motor cyclists.)

No Shi* I am glad to see all these guys managed to pass year 10 physics, And a 4 cylinder Echo is 99% more likely not to make it along the gun barrel Hwy, to be written off after hitting a roo at 110 and not being able to Taking the family plus the camper trailer on a trip in the bush

Humm. My guess is that weather a 4WD or a Compact hit’s you at 60 you are ether going to be dead or paralysed, to me there is not a lot of difference

"It's a testosterone thing, it's all about `mine is bigger than yours'." Yes Mr Scruby I know my brain and everybody else’s is bigger than yours.

I wish this guy and his followers would get a real Job and hobby like the rest of Australians

AnswerID: 117932

Reply By: basecamp15 - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 23:29

Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 23:29
hmmm, I thought a souped up Holden ute was 2WD?
ROFLMFAO
AnswerID: 117990

Reply By: BenSpoon - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 09:53

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 09:53
Wow- I didnt know scruby owned a 4WD.
"People who genuinely needed 4WDs, such as those in remote areas..." Im sure he will find a way to fall into this category.

"In the bush every young driver wants to drive a Holden ute with a bullbar,"
I know on the weekend when I did 1400km to see the family and passed through a number of country towns I didnt see a single mongrel ute. Not one.

If I had a shrivelled sick animal no one liked, was dribbling all the time and making unwanted offensive noises, I'd consider putting it down. Wheres Scruby's mum when you need her?
AnswerID: 118016

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 10:21

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 10:21
Wow... there's been a LOT of ANTI-Scruby sentiment shared on radio 2GB talkback in Sydney this morning. I reckon that maybe 1 in 10 callers actually thought that he was sane.

Good vibrations........
AnswerID: 118020

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 18:58

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 18:58
I agree..
But how thebleepdoes he get so much Positive Press?
FollowupID: 373299

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 19:10

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 19:10
Just had him on Cra--y Afair with ray look at my hair Martini , how the bleeping hell can they be serious ,, ,, bit like the new N.S.W demerit scheme ,,, drive with your elbow on the sill =3 points+$225 ,,park on a level railway xing = 1point +$225 + DEATH ,,
PS .what if its not a 'level' xing ,, ,, stupidity in action by the pollies we all pay a fortune for.
FollowupID: 373303

Reply By: Wombat - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 11:18

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 11:18
Why not ring the man in question directly to explain to him that Holden utes are generally 2WD and that to date there has not been one fatality attributed directly to either aerials or stickers. Harold Scruby's telephone number is: (02) 9968 4544. Please be polite!
AnswerID: 118027

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 12:56

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 12:56
Just for a laugh tried the number ,and viola ,the pedestrian council answers , asked if he knows that the scooby doo is a 4x4 and answers that it is only a station wagon ,,
FollowupID: 373261

Follow Up By: Wombat - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 14:20

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 14:20
I thought I might ring to request a Pedestrian Council sticker.
FollowupID: 373266

Reply By: chris_legend_25 - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 13:26

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 13:26
You rekon if I rang up and asked him if he were interested in a suspension lift and a bull bar for a subaroo he would be interested?

What if we all rang, and asked the same question?

lol...better yet, anyone have any old ARB catalogues they could send him? Along with some Nissan and Toyota catalogues? We could go through his garbage in a weeks time, and show the media he is thinking of upgrading to a landcruiser, with a steel winch bar, large tyres, etc......
AnswerID: 118055

Follow Up By: chris_legend_25 - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 13:28

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 13:28
Actually, i just thought of something.

Being the sole member of the pedestrian council, why doesn't he walk everywhere?

Didn't this turkey run a pedestrian over many years ago?
FollowupID: 373264

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 14:32

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2005 at 14:32
From News Ltd - TODAY. Chew on this Harold!

Roo alert over car crashes
June 29, 2005

ANIMALS caused more than 17,000 crashes on Australian roads last year, with kangaroos accounting for most of them, an insurance company said today.
Other animals involved in collisions included wombats, foxes, dogs, cats, horses, cows and sheep, SGIO insurance warned in a statement pointing to the winter month of July as a particularly notorious time for kangaroo crashes.

"Traditionally kangaroos are a problem on regional roads during the winter months," SGIO's Western Australia (WA) manager Garry Moore, said.
Advertisement:

"During winter it gets dark earlier and motorists spend more time driving with their headlights on. Unfortunately, lights can startle and confuse animals," he said.

"In regional WA, animal-related collisions make up a greater proportion of all collision claims."

Nationally, kangaroos were involved in 13,003 out of a total of 17,748 animal-related accidents, research showed.

Most of Australia's millions of kangaroos are nocturnal, and motorists were urged to take extra care at night and around dawn and dusk when collisions are frequent.
AnswerID: 118063

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 30, 2005 at 01:02

Thursday, Jun 30, 2005 at 01:02
How the heck do I insure a Kangaroo for Comprehensive insurance? Or at least 3rd party Fire & Thaft?
FollowupID: 373345

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 30, 2005 at 07:44

Thursday, Jun 30, 2005 at 07:44
Tell them that the kangaroo hanging off the bullbar is actually "Cousin Bob" - up from the country for a week to visit.

When Bob has a few, he just "does that"........
FollowupID: 373351