GME antenna to Uniden Radio..Advice!

Submitted: Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 15:25
ThreadID: 24352 Views:5601 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
Gday all. I'm having a few problems thinking about how I'm going to connect up the AE409L antenna to the UH052XR for temporary use. I would like to set it up to this handheld 5 watt unit for only temporary use before I purchase my GME 3400 but I am unable to because I don't know what I should to with the coax connection. The connection off the coax lead that runs to the base of the antenna is different to the socket on my HH, so I'm not too sure what I should do and if there's a way round it. Any ideas? Cheers All!!

Baz

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 15:43

Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 15:43
Get a connector from Dick Smith that changes from the type on the radio to the type on the aerial.
AnswerID: 118421

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 16:22

Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 16:22
Dick Smith probally won't have the adaptor you need. I'm pretty sure the Uniden UHO52XR has an SMA connector? Anyway, it's not a heaps common plug but they are around, you may need to try a radio suppliler (like WA CB) or altronics or similar. It's simple to make your own adaptor from a PL9 to SMA with either a crimper or soldering iron.

I made one up for my UHO52XR and it was a simple PL9 Connector on one end, a small bit of coax cable then to an SMA connector (I'm pretty sure it was SMA but don't quote me on it).

Works good, but the UHO52XR's were a pretty crappy unit, they get HELL interference from other bands and you'll find when you hook up a decent antenna you start getting couriers and all sorts breaking through on your UHF channels!!

I had mine hooked up to a base station antenna on my roof at home for a while and it drove me nuts, I was 25km as the crow flies from the city and I was getting interence that my GME would only get as I drove right through the CBD. They work alright as a handheld, but there are new models now MUCH smaller.
AnswerID: 118427

Reply By: Big Bazza - Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 16:42

Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 16:42
Yeah Jeff your right about the connection on it, it's SMA. I'm not really sure how to manually make an adapter myself so does anyone know any stores online maybe that sell these sorts of adapters? Cheers.
AnswerID: 118429

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 18:24

Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 18:24
Where are you? I reckon theres a store in Melb that'll do it for you at a doddle, up Sydney Road

FollowupID: 373624

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 18:28

Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 18:28
Go to any Communications supplier and they will probally make you one up for $10 bucks.
FollowupID: 373626

Reply By: Big Bazza - Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 19:11

Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 19:11
Will do fellas. I live up in QLD in Hervey Bay by the way. Thanks for all your help.
AnswerID: 118458

Reply By: See You - Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 19:29

Friday, Jul 01, 2005 at 19:29
Hi Big Bazza, There is a propper connector for sale in the trader that does exactly what you want. Just saw it in the trader under radios and GPS section. It looks like the goods. They are usually about $90.00 new. You may be able to beat the guy down a bit as it has been there a few weeks.
AnswerID: 118462