Bon Voyage - Kimberley here we come

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 12, 2005 at 09:47
ThreadID: 24639 Views:1816 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
Hi fellow formites,

Well the time has come for me to sign off for the next 3 months as my fellow travellers and I make our way to the Kimberley via Mt Isa, Kakadu and Darwin. We are planning to reach Darwin 29/7 and spend the weekend there. The following week we are off to Kununurra via Litchfield and Gregory NP’s, and Lake Argyle. Some sightseeing here and at Wyndham before hitting the Gibb River Road. Doing the gorges, homesteads and sights as well as (planning anyway) visiting Kalumburu, Mitchell Falls and Walcott Inlet before Derby.

Hoping to reach Broome early September spend some time there before departing around 21/9 for Halls Creek. Detour to see the Bungle Bungles before travelling the Tanami to Alice Springs. From Alice we plan to travel the Simpson to Birdsville before heading home.

Planning to catch up with several members along the way and any other we may run into. Travelling in convoy are my Nissan, a rodeo, a triton and a disco with trailers and if you see us say hello we’re a friendly bunch (we’re usually on channel 29 UHF).

Wishing you all well and will provide a trip report on my return.

Reply By: scottywiper - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2005 at 11:05

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2005 at 11:05
Enjoy!
AnswerID: 119934

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2005 at 15:19

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2005 at 15:19
Thanks mate, needless to say we are looking forward to this trip!

FollowupID: 375032

Reply By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2005 at 11:08

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2005 at 11:08
Have great trip and stay safe.
Look forward to a trip report when you get back
AnswerID: 119935

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2005 at 15:22

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2005 at 15:22
G'day Des,

Thanks, we're allowing plenty of travel time and in no particular hurry - so I hope this equates to a safer journey.

Got the cameras and lappy with me - hopefully to do the report as we travel. That is unless the fish are biting.

FollowupID: 375033

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2005 at 12:31

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2005 at 12:31
Beatit,
If you get this before you leave I thought I might give some advice on Walcott Inlet.You mentioned that you were traveling with trailers.I certainly would not take a trailer in there as there is great likelyhood of damage and last year a guy in there had to have a very strong offroad trailer welded up to get it out.Leave that stuff behind at Mt.Elizabeth station and pick it up on the way out and it will be more peace of mind.Enjoy your trip.
AnswerID: 119946

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2005 at 15:32

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2005 at 15:32
Thanks Rambler, contacted the Laceys who felt it would be possible to take the trailer. Like most of our travels we make an assesment at the time. We don't mind a bit of adventure but are not fooolhardy and all have strong off road trailers. We take our own welder and can do running repairs, hopefully this won't be necessary. I appreciate your point though.

Some time ago you mentioned that you might be up there yourself, any likelyhood? Will look out for the troopy.

FollowupID: 375034

Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2005 at 15:13

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2005 at 15:13
Beatit and co,

Happy trails, hope all goes well for the entire trip. Some wonderful places you are planning to visit and I can't wait for the trip report on your return. In a way I suppose that's the part you are not looking forward to as this means it's back to the daily grind (HaHa).

Best regards Trevor.
AnswerID: 119973

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2005 at 15:38

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2005 at 15:38
G'day Trevor,

Thanks, we have travelled together before (2 months on the Cape last) and seem to have a great camaraderie. This adds to any trip we do together. So its not anly the places but the company as well, not to mention any members we might also run into, that will make it a great trip.

Hope to do the notes as we go, mainly because I'm betting on outfishing the rest and the notes and photos are my way of rubbing it in. Haven't gone yet so I really won't be thinking work for a while (yuk).

FollowupID: 375035

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2005 at 00:31

Wednesday, Jul 13, 2005 at 00:31
Beatit,
You guys seem to be very well prepared so hopefully you won't have any trouble with your trailers going into W.Inlet.Watch out for the very big tides that run through the river as you will find the highs and lows are a lot different times to the tide chart due to the big back up coming in from the ocean.When it comes in it sure comes in and dont camp too close to the river bank as there is a fair bit of erosion on every high tide.Yes I will be up that way but am not doing the Gibb R.R this time as I am heading up to the n. Territory to do some shooting(pigs).You will have left Darwin when I get there but Iwill be in Broome while you are there.My rego is 1AYD 764 and mobile is 0405695880 so we might catch up. What is your car rego?Good luck and safe travel.
AnswerID: 120079

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2005 at 08:22

Wednesday, Jul 13, 2005 at 08:22
G'day Rambler,

My rego is ETGO2 and the phone is 0427 053574. Hope to catch up in Broome.

FollowupID: 375125

Reply By: OLLY - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2005 at 07:28

Wednesday, Jul 13, 2005 at 07:28
Enjoy you trip and stay safe..

I will be waiting to read your report upon your return as we will be doing pretty much the same trip only in reverse next August. Can't wait

Catch ya

Olly
AnswerID: 120092

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2005 at 08:23

Wednesday, Jul 13, 2005 at 08:23
Thanks Olly.
FollowupID: 375127