tyres coopers or bridgestone

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 01, 2002 at 01:00
ThreadID: 2507 Views:6014 Replies:13 FollowUps:9
has anybody tried coopers st or bridgestone d693 tyres ? i was wondering what their grip was like on wet roads and how they preform on sand.

Reply By: Slunnie - Sunday, Dec 01, 2002 at 01:00

Sunday, Dec 01, 2002 at 01:00
Cooper ST's are pretty good on the sand. Of course size and pressure are factors also. Seems ok on wet and dry roads, though it has not rained around here much lately.

BS 693's we found puncture a lot in the bush, and thats in the 235/85 spec which should be the tough one I think. I don't think this tyre grips up much in the wet or dry on bitumen. Not had these or seen these on sand so can't comment in that respect.

Slunnie
AnswerID: 9178

Reply By: Peter - Sunday, Dec 01, 2002 at 01:00

Sunday, Dec 01, 2002 at 01:00
Have used the D693 in 205R16 on a hilux. Very quiet on bitumen, much improved handling in the wet than Desert Duelers. Not had any probs off road regarding punctures or slashes, Also found them good on sand because the tread is not very aggressive pattern. Hope this helps.
AnswerID: 9180

Reply By: Member - Ray - Monday, Dec 02, 2002 at 01:00

Monday, Dec 02, 2002 at 01:00
Read the past posts on this subject. Bridgestone don't have a good reputation on 4wd tyres and as far as I am concerned they are RUBBISH.
AnswerID: 9184

Reply By: Steve L - Monday, Dec 02, 2002 at 01:00

I agree with Ray.

I prefer either BFG or Coopers - both these types seem to have a much better reputation that Bridgestone.

AnswerID: 9193

Reply By: flappan - Monday, Dec 02, 2002 at 01:00

I'm not quite as harsh as the other guys.

I've used the Bridgestones and found them good on the road, and OK on the soft stuff.

IMO both the BFG's and Coopers are better, with my leaning to the Coopers.

Cost may be an issue though.

Bfg's around $240 , Coopers around $250, Bridgestones around $150.
AnswerID: 9195

Follow Up By: Pappas - Monday, Dec 02, 2002 at 01:00

$240 for BFG. Were From as i am looking in sydney.
FollowupID: 4635

Follow Up By: Flappan - Tuesday, Dec 03, 2002 at 01:00

Tuesday, Dec 03, 2002 at 01:00
Pappas,

This was from Quikfit in Canberra. Although from Enquires I made, They seemed to be fairly similar elsewhere.
FollowupID: 4641

Reply By: Member - Paul- Monday, Dec 02, 2002 at 01:00

I also agree with Ray & Steve. You cant go past BF Goodrich. I have a set of 265/70/16 on my nk pajero. 50,000km on with Simpson desert,
gibber plain, high county, beach sand, river beds, central Aust. & all the tracks & bitumen in between. not 1 puncture (yet) & probobly a good 30,000km life to go. I havent tried the Coopers but I reckon when your on a good thing stick to it. BFG for me.
AnswerID: 9196

Reply By: Tim - Monday, Dec 02, 2002 at 01:00

Andrew, I'm onto my 2nd set of coopers the first being 265/75/16 on a NL Pajero T/D with a trip to cape york and the eastern kimberley and another 20000 klms on bitumen prior to selling car - sold car @ 39000k's and tyres were v/good may have had another good 20000 klms road useage remaining and now have a set of 285/75/16 on a GU3 thats been to the kimberleys and hardly show a sign of initial wear - I'm a great convert to Coopers and have used BFG's, Yokohamas and varios others in the last 20 years and will stick to coopers until someone can show me something better - regards tim
AnswerID: 9198

Reply By: Truckster - Monday, Dec 02, 2002 at 01:00

Theres a test on the Coopers here

www.offroad.au.com

and another

Bridgestones are a good tire too.... I was sponsored by Bridgestone yrs ago to race on bikes, and they were THE Stuff... So IM a little bit towards B'Stones!

Coopers are around about the highest selling tire now according to .?.(cant remember first name!) Green their sales rep that came to our club to give a talk on them.
AnswerID: 9202

Follow Up By: Diamond - Friday, Dec 06, 2002 at 01:00

Friday, Dec 06, 2002 at 01:00
russell green is the guy i think your thinking of nice guy too.he came to our club bendigo 4wd club and did a talk on coopers and i was very impreesed so i was due new tyres and spoke to the guys jim i think it was at borough tyres in bendigo about coopers.well i bought 31/10r15 st for my 1990 patrol.i was surprised how quiet they were to start with on the road and how well they handled in the wet .got cought out in some huge rain in canbera.i dont do a lot of off road but was invited away for a weekend up at marysville. we me and a cpl of friends got there i was a little shocked i was the only one with a standard patrol in height and tyres all theese other guys had big lift kits and 33-35 inch tyre minimum.any way of we go and i managed to go every where theese big boys went except for a little more under body bashing that they did up and down some really big hills with out my coopers even looking like letting me down infact one of my mates actually jumped out the car at one stage.dont thing he liked the angle we were heading down.any way tried the coopers and loved them dont think ill use anything else now.told a few other people who now use them and only hear good things
FollowupID: 4754

Reply By: Joe - Monday, Dec 02, 2002 at 01:00

This subject always seems to raise a lot of strong opinions and even some very angry people.

Not sure why, maybe their mother didn’t breast feed them or something.

Anyway – I have recently put my second set of D693s onto my 4WD as I have nothing but praise for them.

They grip well on wet and dry bitumen, better than BFGs and definitely better than Coopers. Their performance off road is affected by their comparatively closed tread pattern, but that aside they work well. Not as well as BFGs, but well enough. I have no direct comparison with the Coopers, but I would expect the Coopers to be better off road.

Unlike some people, I have had no puncture problems at all.

It would be fair to say though that I am a tyre pressure Nazi and I change my pressures to suit the road and track conditions and that may well have given me better performance and longevity than I might have otherwise experienced.

I am happy to recommend them over the Coopers/BFGs if you (like me) do most of your miles on the bitumen or gravel tracks. If you do any significant mud or rocky track work then perhaps the Coopers/BFGs would be better.
AnswerID: 9212

Follow Up By: Truckster - Monday, Dec 02, 2002 at 01:00

Just a question, you say the b'stones
"... definitely better than Coopers"

then you say
" I have no direct comparison with the Coopers, but I would expect the Coopers to be better off road."

You have or havent tried coopers? Otherwise how would you know??? Could be another one of them strong opinion from some very angry person...
FollowupID: 4620

Follow Up By: Dean - Monday, Dec 02, 2002 at 01:00

Joe,

Can you tell me what size you use on what vehicle,

Dean.
FollowupID: 4621

Follow Up By: Rodeoowner - Tuesday, Dec 03, 2002 at 01:00

LOL! (breast feeding)
FollowupID: 4655

Reply By: Andrew - Monday, Dec 02, 2002 at 01:00

thanks for your help everybody.i got a better deal from the bridgestone dealer so i pick them up on saturday. i couldnt consider the bfg tyres on my pajero because the tyre load rating is 105(235/75/r15) and all the light truck tyres ive seen in that size are 104/101.
AnswerID: 9243

Follow Up By: Kezza - Monday, Dec 02, 2002 at 01:00

dont worry about the "deal" u got from the dealer do some home work on what YOU need the tyres for and which tyres suit your needs - do some searches plenty of info and debate around. dealers dont have your interests at heart - beleive me
kezza
FollowupID: 4637

Follow Up By: Flappan - Tuesday, Dec 03, 2002 at 01:00

Andrew, thats exactly what I have on my Pajero.
FollowupID: 4640

Follow Up By: John@fourbys - Monday, Dec 16, 2002 at 01:00

Monday, Dec 16, 2002 at 01:00
Kezza has a point. Many regular tyre store salesmen simply don't have enough experience of 4WDriving to recommend the right tyres. That's why it helps to find a store that specialises in 4WD tyres. Our guys try really hard to find out what the 4WDriver is going to do and then match them with a tyre that will give them the best solution no matter which brand. Sure we have our favourites, but we understand that budget as well as performance matter. Besides, most of us have sufficient experience of the different brands to help the customer make the right choice. In the right conditions the 693's are just fine. Frankly, most tyres these days are pretty good, it's more degrees of "good" and suitability to the task they have to cover that matter in the end.

John@Fourbys
FollowupID: 5060

Reply By: Joe - Monday, Dec 02, 2002 at 01:00

G'Day Truckster,

There are two comparisons mentioned in my post, one for bitumen and one for off road. I have driven coopers on the bitumen so I was able to give a valid opinion on their performance. I have not driven them off road (I don't count gravel as off road) so I couldn't contribute there.

Dean,

The D693s are a 265/70 R15 on my Pajero.

The BFGs were whatever the correct size was for fitment to a GQ (actually a Ford Maverick) and the Coopers were whatever size my mate had fitted to his 80 Series.

Sorry I can't be more specific there!
AnswerID: 9244

Reply By: Young - Tuesday, Dec 03, 2002 at 01:00

I have a set of Bridgestone 693 on my Hilux (235/75R15) - have travelled 25,000km on them and will be lucky to get another 10,000 out of them. Complained to local BS agent how lousy they are and he said
that milieage is normal. With mileage like that, why would you ever buy them?
After checking here in FNQ it appears that is about all you get out of them.
Wouldn't buy them again no matter how cheap they are.
AnswerID: 9282

Reply By: rodeoowner - Tuesday, Dec 03, 2002 at 01:00

I have BS 693. I reckon they are good for what I need them for, like Joe, mostly blacktop. Checkout www.consumerreports.org. All terrain SUV tyres.
AnswerID: 9292