health insurance

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:02
ThreadID: 25299 Views:2236 Replies:6 FollowUps:7
it pays to have a health insurance as i have just found out, i do have one but not the top cover and it dosen't cover me for private hospital, i was booked to go into one on thursday for a angiogram when i rung i found out i wasn't covered and had to pay up front on admission, no worries i said how much, she told me an i think i had a heart attack right there, are you ready for it, $15,000 and that is just for in and out on the same day add more if something is wrong which there is as that is what i am going in for, so now i am going on the public waiting list, for how long is anyones guess. serves me right for being a tight a#@. i just had to tell some about it, and don't get sick if you are travelling if you can help it. we are trying to keep our heads up but looks like our plans for travel have gone on hold.
peter

Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:15

Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:15
Sad to hear Peter.

It is fantastic what can be done in medical science these days but the flip side is that it can incredibly expensive.

Hopefully the test, when u do get it done, will give you the right answer and you will be off travelling again.

Muddy
AnswerID: 123429

Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:51

Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:51
Sorry to hear about your medical probs Peter. Yes, we have some of the best medical facilities and staff in the world I rekkon. The downside is the cost. I've had private insurance for 40 years. Other people have had houses, boats and cars but I had the insurance. Used it a few times. Last year had to get a kidney stone zapped with a laser. The GAP payment was around $3500. That's after paying and going without for 40 years of top private cover.
15K for a test ? That's hard to swallow.
Good luck with it all.
AnswerID: 123442

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 21:03

Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 21:03
We gave up our Health Insurance at the beginning of the 90's.

It turned out we couldn't afford it and so we didn't worry at that time. When we could afford it later we didn't bother.

It all came unstuck in 1999. So I had to go on the Public waiting list in 2000. Had one knee replacement in 2003 and the other one hopefully by October this year. Cost for the two knees is $40,000 and will have taken 5.5 years. BUT the gap payment would be about $35,000 as, unless you have maximum cover, you are not covered.

So it is a waiting game. I am a bit luckie,r as I live in the country, and had the operation at a regional hospital. Still, at the end of 2003 had 48 patients in front of me in the queue. Just be patient and wait.

In the mean time we travel whenever we can.
AnswerID: 123447

Reply By: rob&kev&roo - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 22:49

Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 22:49
and who do we have to thank for all of this THE GOVERNMENT. they want us all to have private cover so we can a health system like the USA. A system where approx 20 million people go without cover of any kind because they can't afford it the majority of the country has work place health insurance which is inadequate at best.
as far as an angio is concerned there is a machine used in sydney at St. Vincent private i beleave that does the same thing in about an hour and only costs $500 dollars but the government wont buy more of them or have the use on the medcare list. thank goodness our government looks out for us. when was the last time you heard of a polatition on a medical waiting list.
AnswerID: 123476

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 23:15

Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 23:15
Funny system we have in our Federation though. It is the States that are responsible for hospitals.

Hence major differences in waiting lists and standards. None fantastic, but I think you will find we have one of the best systems in the world.

My daughter has been living in the UK for two years. Has horror stories about their NHS.

None of this is very helpful to the poor buggers on the waiting lists here though. Pay about 40% of your income in tax for a lifetime and what do you get for it???

Even if you have private insurance, you are only half covered. If an insurer only insured half you car you would tell them to p*ss off.

FollowupID: 378498

Follow Up By: Shawn - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 08:22

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 08:22
Be alright if we weren't paying for: those who believe it is their right NOT to work, the drug addiction sickness epademic, 'professional' unmarried mothers, bludgers, .......... the list goes on
FollowupID: 378520

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 08:42

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 08:42
Even as a private patient I had to pull strings to get to see a particular specialist inside of 6 months for my kidney stone.
I had mine fixed without any waiting and only the gap hurt.
But what about someone without private cover ?

What a system ! Medical millionaires and waiting lists a mile long.

Ever hear of a politician on a waiting list ?
Ever know a medical specialist who came from a disadvantaged background ?

When it comes to our health, surely this country can do better.
FollowupID: 378524

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 15:40

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 15:40
"those who believe it is their right NOT to work, the drug addiction sickness epademic, 'professional' unmarried mothers, bludgers, .......... "

Yeah and then there's little old me. I'm leaving my job in two weeks to look after my baby daughter and go to Uni to become a primary school teacher. My wife is going back to her Job. We have a morgatge, two kids and one average income (less than 50k a year). So we figure, "HEY!, we've never got a cent of the government EVER, why not find out about austudy, it might help us out a bit".

WRONG!

I'm 28 years old. If I lived at home with mummy and daddy (I moved out at 18) and didn't have to pay a cent for anything I'd get over $200 a fortnight in austudy. But because I live with my wife (who earns less than 50k a year) and I have two dependants (two kids) and a morgatge and a car and all the expensises that we are all acustom too, I'm not eligable for austudy. Go figure....
FollowupID: 378603

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 02:47

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 02:47
Hi peter, never nice to hear of others health issues... Hope it all works out for the best in time.

Private health is one of those grey areas for me, I can't afford the top cover nor can I afford the gap... Iguess all that's left is to ponder the experiences of people close to me and try and make an informed decision... My sister inlaw had 2 of her 3 kids in public hospital even though she had private cover, no beds available in any private maternity wards at the time... My father inlaw was looking at $10,000 gap for a hip replacement so he went public and waited an extra 3 weeks for the surgery. One of my work collegues copped a $7,500 gap for knee surgery... When we had our first child we paid for a private package(2 wages helps alot here), one of the first questions I asked was about bed availability, not wanting to pay upfront and be shoved somewhere I didn't want to be because of no beds... Was given in writing, a guarantee of an available bed, something the nurse said the regular private patients do not get, as later proven in my sister inlaws case...

My decision is thus far, it it's vital, I'll dip into the mortgage to make it happen, if not, I've made my bed and I'll lie in it without complaint.
AnswerID: 123485

Reply By: cokeaddict - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 08:44

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 08:44
Peter,
My brother-in-law's wife's mother (whatever that makes her to me) just got out of a private hospital. She had major problems with broken bones through falls. Over time she became addicted to the drugs she was taking for the pain and eventually became addicted to drugs without realising it, After 5 months in and out of private care with a few operations and a whopping bill of....wait for it....530,000.00, YES thats correct, no typo with extra digits. Being a pensioner her private cover paid the lot. I freaked when i heard it but i saw the bill.

Very scary stuff indeed.
Hope all works out for you though, chin up mate, we do have the best people here for medical stuff.
Ange
AnswerID: 123504

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 14:19

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 14:19
Slightly off topic, but...

Wouldn't your brother-in-law's wife's mother be your mother?

FollowupID: 378583

Follow Up By: Two Dogs - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 15:40

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 15:40
Chump_boy.

I bet you had a rubicks cube
FollowupID: 378604

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 15:42

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 15:42
LMAO, I think chump_boy's right....

Rubicks cube, LOL, I like it!
FollowupID: 378606