T-Van, Worth the money?

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 19:32
ThreadID: 25329 Views:35324 Replies:26 FollowUps:30
G'day all, Further to previous post re travelling around Aus ( all replies appreciated), My wife and I are thinking about making a Track Trailer TVan our home for 12 months. At $33k they are at the more expensive end of the market, In people's opinions are they worth it? Any replies appreciated.
Jack

Reply By: Member - toohey - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 19:40

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 19:40
gid'ay jack
in my opinion tough enough for the job but i reckon to much money for what you get.,can get abit cramped in em' for that length of time for that many $$$$
regards toohey.
AnswerID: 123659

Reply By: Member - Kim and Doug (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 19:41

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 19:41
if you are planning on spending that sort of money get a kimberly kamper heaps more room and it will go anywhere your 4wd will.
AnswerID: 123660

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 19:54

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 19:54
IMHO I reckon that the assymetric suspension of the T-Van and its other Track cousins looks like the toughest (military-spec) out there.... including those trailers with heavy-duty trailing arm systems.

What do you need in a trailer if you're on a trip that causes you to stop daily? You need some sleeping space, a covered area that's QUICK to erect (in tail gate on T-Van) yet still lets you pull out a full-sized awning and covered area if you really want to. Speed is if the essence with the T-Van.

I'd have one in a flash. Didn't know they'd gone up to $33k though..... :( At $25k they were still within reach..........
AnswerID: 123661

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 19:56

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 19:56
T-Van suspension & chassis is way more advanced than Kimberley.
Excellent build quality & like nearly all camper Trailers .... overpriced!
But they do represent good value compared to the rest of the upmarket campers.
AnswerID: 123662

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 19:57

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 19:57
I've gotta say that the Ultimate Camper is around the same money and (in my opinion only) offers a far more user-friendly layout.
Offroad-ability is at least as good as the T-Van (ours has been to Cape York twice, across the Gulf'd "top road", across the Simpson Desert, down the Border Track etc etc).
Good luck.....it's a lotta $$$$ and you don't want to be making an expensive mistake that will become a pain in the arze!!!
AnswerID: 123663

Follow Up By: jack74 - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 20:08

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 20:08
Roachie, Thanks for your reply. How do you think the ultimate would hold up in the heavy rain of northern Aus compare to the solid sleeping are of the TVan?
Thanks and Regards
Jack
FollowupID: 378665

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 20:50

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 20:50
Jack,
Never had any problem with the Ultimate in any sort of rain. It has NEVER leaked at all, but we have found that in really cold weather, we need to leave the end windows open about 1/3 (they've got an "eye-brow" over them) so as to minimise the condensation on the inside of the canvas. I'm 6'2" and can stand up inside, no worries. The bed is a King size (better than our bed here at home).
We love it!!
FollowupID: 378677

Follow Up By: Austravel - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 13:19

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 13:19
This is the camper I'm interested in also but I noticed the price is now over $37k and with a couple of extras $40k is no dramas. Starting to wonder if they are pricing themselves out of the market.
FollowupID: 378784

Follow Up By: ginga - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 17:18

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 17:18
And remember, you have to make the bed everytime you stop for the night - & unmake it & pack it away when you pack up.

For me that was the killer!

I didn't like the T-Van as there is nowhere for a fridge & its use of space is poor - these are my opinions obviously :}

The campervans that I reckon are worth a good, hard look - in the hard-floor category, are the Cape York campers:
http://www.ozroamer.com.au/Sales/Camper_Trailers.htm
& the Odysseys from
http://www.australianoffroadcampers.com.au/

Again, just my opinion
FollowupID: 378819

Reply By: John - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 20:05

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 20:05
Dear Jack
I have owned the Tvan for the last two years and couldn't recommend it highly enough. If you want a proper four-wheel drive camper trailer it's a very comfortable option. It's very reassuring to know you are sleeping under a completely waterproof fibreglass shell when it's pouring with rain outside.
Hope you enjoy your trip.
Cheers John
AnswerID: 123666

Follow Up By: pjd - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 15:54

Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 15:54
were does all the water go when it runs off the canvas when the trailer is folded up doesent your floor get drenched & does it get on your bed not a goog desing in my opinion !
FollowupID: 378937

Follow Up By: John - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 17:29

Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 17:29
Dear pjd
I'm not sure I fully understand your question.
When the Tvan is closed up everything is entirely encased in fibreglass and there was no chance of any water getting on the bed or floor or anywhere for that matter.
If you mean when packing up the Tvan one of the big advantages is even if it's raining you can stay relatively dry and if the canvas section is wet it doesn't make the bed damp in unlike many other designs.
If you mean when the Tvan is erected the sleeping area is entirely enclosed in fibreglass and the fibreglass hatch covers much of the living area making things try and cosy.
Cheers John
FollowupID: 378947

Reply By: gregr - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 20:45

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 20:45
gday jack 74
we have 2004 kimberley classic mariner only way to go in my opinion if you want to take a tinny with you - ours is a 3.75 bermuda vee punt with 15 hp motor carried on the boat loder on the camper or occassionally on the nissan roof racks and we have a real easy folding trailer also

we had some initiall warranty hassles with the KK but kk ballina eventually fixed them and we are fine with it now - good solid camper trailer

mate all the camper trailers are really a compromise of one sort or another and 12 months is a hell of a long time to live in a fairly small and restricted camper trailer - in my opinion they are fine for week ends; great for a week or two and still pretty good even for a month or two if the weather is reasonably kind - the longest we have used ours if for 6 weeks straight to the cape and back and we stayed in a motel on a regular one day per week basis to break it up a bit when we could - but to be honest if i was off for a 12 month trip i would buy a 16 ft or 17 ft off road van with an enclsed awning - the lightest i could find

hope this helps in some way
see you greg
AnswerID: 123672

Reply By: Elsewhere9 - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 21:43

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 21:43
Hi Jack,

At the end of the day, you decide what works for you and your own priorities. We looked at Ultimate, T-Van, Kimberly Kamper, Cape York etc and decided on an Aussie Swag Ultra. It was the closest to our requirements and worked best for us.

If we all had the same needs, they would only make one type of camper trailer.

AnswerID: 123686

Reply By: Fusion - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 21:54

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 21:54
G'day Jack,

In the same price bracket as the Tvan is the Adventure Camper. They are about $30,000 these days. They have a King size Bed, a huge kitchen, a separate awning over the kitchen & vastly more storage than the Tvan. But you are under canvas in the Adventure rather than fibreglass. We've been through plenty of rain without a problem, but we've yet to see days (or weeks) of torrential rain.

We found with the separate awning we could pack up the tent and still have somewhere to shelter (from the sun or rain) until we're ready to move camp, then 2mins to put the awning away and we're gone.

Anyway, horses for courses, just thought you might want to check out all your options. If you haven't already you should also check out www.campertrailers.org On that site you will find heaps of good info, plus links to the camper trailer forum which has over 1600 members.

Aaron.
AnswerID: 123689

Reply By: Member - John (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 22:08

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 22:08
Jack
We thought storage was an issue with the T-Van. Liked everything else but couldn't see where to put everything. Just didn't come away confident with it overall after looking at it twice.

Have you looked at a Jurgens Expedition

AnswerID: 123696

Follow Up By: Flamelily - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 13:24

Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 13:24
Dear John

We have recently sold our TVan after 4 years of good use. We sold ours for a Profit when compared to original purchase price. We camped with 2 adults / twins girls (14). Long camps were easier than short. There is lots of space in the Tvan. We never kept our 2 Engels in the Tvan as they are always carried in the Cruiser. We spent some really "wet" days in the Tvan and she never let us get wet especially when compared the the Jayco Hawk Offroad piece of rubbish!!! We have just recently picked up our Jurgens Xpedition. Haven't been away yet (bad for us!!), but have noticed one major difference is the "ball weight" when towing. The TVan is very well balanced, but the Jurgens is just better. We towed the Jurgens from Melbourne to Sydney. The Jurgens tows very well as does the Tvan. Friends of ours sell Kimberly Kampers, but decided on the Jurgens. (J = $34k vs KK = $44k). I also feel that the KK is nose heavy. Setting up the Jurgens is very quick - pop and in bed!!! Build quality in the Jurgens and Tvan are both of high standard.

FollowupID: 378925

Reply By: Well 55 - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 07:52

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 07:52
We spent over 12 months looking at campers at the higher end of the market, $30k pluss and settled on the Coota Camper. A dual axle with roller rocker suspension, (tough) heaps and I mean heaps of storage, 250lt water tank, dual battries etc etc.

It's built for extended trips, carry a boat if required. On the road it rides really well, yet to use it on really rough tracks, but being the exact same wheel width as the Patrol, tracks great in mud/clay roads.

Quick to set up for the overnighter, about 20 min to put up the full annex.
AnswerID: 123739

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 17:41

Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 17:41
Well 55. The Coota Camper with the dual axles is a beauty. We fell in love with it. Would love to have one, but it was just too heavy for us. I didn't want to tow much more than 1000 KG. We ended up with an Odyssey from Australian Off Road Campers. A great camper; well built and tough. Wife loves the hot water system and shower!!
But if you have a good tow vehicle and don't mind pulling a bit of extra weight, The Coota is a great piece of kit.

Norm C
FollowupID: 378951

Reply By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 08:59

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 08:59
You can live with any choice once made - all of them require compromises in what you want to do - I bought a Campomatic - the Kimberley was first choice but too heavy on the nose - I thought the TVan very attractive, but shied off the storage space and the tight living area - was also a little concerned that cleaning around the tail area might be a real pain, with all those nooks and crannies etc. The stone guarding appeared inadequate too (as was the Campo - I improved mine). The Tvan would be great for sleeping - it has power and water and jerry storage - and it can go anywhere - that can't be bad - if you like it, the only issue for mine is reasonable resale value, so you don't waste all that dosh when you want to trade to something different. and .........Ron Moon loves his :-) ............. But Ron probably got his for next to nothing ..... he runs a big ad every month !
AnswerID: 123750

Reply By: flappa - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 09:09

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 09:09
The Tvans are excellent quality and will go anywhere you choose to take them without ANY issues , but , living in one for 12 months . . . NO WAY.

WAY WAY WAY to small for that sort of thing.

The kitchen is outside , what if it rains ?

You need the awning up on almost every occasion.

I would think the Ultimate would be a far better proposition for extended touring due to having the kitchen , lounge , and huge beds inside.

You then have a choice whether you want to cook outside or in.

AnswerID: 123753

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 09:49

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 09:49
Isn't the kitchen on the T-Van under the awning?

Fat & smoke inside not too keen on that idea.

Plus the Ultimate is butt ugly!
FollowupID: 378737

Follow Up By: flappa - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 10:05

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 10:05
Yes its under the awning , but , thats my point you NEED to have the awning up for any sort of cover.

The Ult , is inside , so you need to have the canvas up anyway , but , nothing extra to erect.

Cooking inside , yes , I agree , but , you HAVE a choice. Quite a number of people I know that have the Ultimates cook outside wherever possible , but , in bad weather you are well protected.

Appearances , well , to each their own.
FollowupID: 378741

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 11:14

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 11:14
Quote: "Plus the Ultimate is butt ugly!".......surely this is a matter of personal opinion. You have yours and I have mine; no worries. Just remember, the shaped nose cone is more than just a "look" (be it considered okay or "butt ugly"). No, the shape is MUCH MORE than that. There has NEVER been a recorded case of a vehicle towing an Ultimate suffering a smashed back window. Any rocks thrown up either go under the camper (it sits quite high above the ground), or, if they DO hit the upper section, they bounce off to the side of the road.

As for , Quote: "Fat & smoke inside not too keen on that idea.", well what can I say.......we've had ours for over 6 years now. We've NEVER cooked anything fatty inside on the stove. It gets used (usually only in crappy weather) for boiling the kettle, cooking toast under the griller, and maybe boiling up some veges to go with the meat that I cook outside either on the BBQ plate over the fire or (if fires not permitted/possible) on the gas ring.

The TVan (as some have already stated), has very limited storage area whereas the "boot" in the nose cone of the Ultimate has a relatively huge amount of space. Add to that the 4 storage compartments on the sides and the drawers, pantry and under seat storage areas and we have enough room for all the stuff necessary for an extended trip for our family of 5.
Too easy.
FollowupID: 378755

Follow Up By: flappa - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 11:26

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 11:26
Quote: Ultimate has a relatively huge amount of space

Being slightly modest there I believe , nothing "relatively" about it.

The Thing has a HUGE amount of storage space.
FollowupID: 378760

Reply By: Troopie - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 09:34

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 09:34
There is a TVan Yahoo Group that may wish to Visit/Join - full off TVan owners - so they are the "converted" but full of usetip and experiences living with the TVan.

To visit the group on the web, go to:
http://au.groups.yahoo.com/group/Track_Campertrailers/

AnswerID: 123761

Follow Up By: Troopie - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 09:37

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 09:37
I shouldn't type so fast - apologies for the typos....

There is a TVan Yahoo Group that you may wish to Visit/Join - full of TVan owners - so they are the "converted", but plenty of useful tips and experiences living with the TVan.

To visit the group on the web, go to:
http://au.groups.yahoo.com/group/Track_Campertrailers/

FollowupID: 378735

Reply By: Redback - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 09:36

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 09:36
Yep i'm with Flappa way to small, a phone booth on wheels IMO, the KK or Ozromer, aussie swag, Pioneer, Cub or any of that style would be much better.

AnswerID: 123762

Reply By: Member - Rattles (Andrew R) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 09:41

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 09:41
Hi Jack,
we have had our Tvan for nearly 3 years now and it is fantastic. We spent 3 months in it last year up north with two adults and two kids. It was a little cramped at times but really not a problem. I think there is a lot of good campers out there all with good features. It would be great to roll them all into one. We like the Tvan as when you pack up in the rain there is not wet canvas on the bed. But that is not always a problem anyway. We think it is great, however I bought it second hand EXTREMELY cheaply, so the price was not so much of an issue to me.

Good luck with your decision

AnswerID: 123763

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 11:25

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 11:25
G'day Andrew,
I've only seen one being packed-up in the morning. It was at Barmera at a 4x4 show and the bloke was there with his wife "displaying" how easy the TVan was to set-up and pack-up. He was an agent from Mildura I seem to recall. Anyway, he seemed to be having a helluva job getting the canvas up into the back door cavity at the time. It seemed like one of those jobs where you need at least 2 people, preferrably 3....he'd get one bit pushed up, and another bit that was already up would come loose and fall out/down. I'm assuming he didn't have the technique quite right or that is the sort of thing that would drive you bonkers real quick!!
Glad you're happy with yours
FollowupID: 378759

Follow Up By: Member - Rattles (Andrew R) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 11:35

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 11:35
G'day Roachie,
I can easily pack mine up by myself. The guy just must have not known what he was doing. We can be packed up and driving within 30 minutes if we want to. And that includes all the clobber two adults and two kids have hanging around a camp site. I really like the the Ultimate as well, but my wife doesn't like having the kitchen inside. Each to his own I suppose.
Planning any trips at the moment?

FollowupID: 378762

Follow Up By: flappa - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 11:38

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 11:38
I just felt to restricted in the bed area of the Tvan . . . obviously you dont have a problem with it , or , got used to it ?
FollowupID: 378763

Follow Up By: Member - Rattles (Andrew R) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 11:44

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 11:44
I have heard that comment alot Flappa, and I suppose it's each to his own. However, we sleep with our head at the back rather than the front. i think most people sleep the other way. Oh well! who knows!

FollowupID: 378765

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 18:34

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 18:34
G'day Andrew,
We seem to be off somewhere just about every 2nd weekend lately. We did just get back from a 2 week trip across the Simpson.
This weekend we're off to Burra Gorge with a couple of new Ultimate owners from Murray Bridge and Mannum as well as a few others including Pesty and Glenda with their trailer as well.
Then we've got the Kadina Show the following weekend, then off to Port Augusta for a weekend etc etc
Never a dull moment.
FollowupID: 378827

Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 12:37

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 12:37
Have been agonising over just this for ever - but finally decided on the Tvan and a Nissan DX Patrol 4.2 litre (delivered yesterday) to pull it.

I do not feel it is possible to compare the TVan with much else. What it offers is simplicity and particularly immediacy. Drop the back and it's habitable in seconds. A minute or two later its together.

The Ultimate and Gulfander are superb offerings too - but lack that immediacy and simplicity.

Certainly a TVan's built-in storage is not great, but the more we travel the less we take with us and see no problems at all re this.

Can you live in one for a long time?

Well I would not want to - and don't intend to -(had enough of that with a VW Kombi) but we did have a couple of younger people staying with us a few months back who'd been living happily in a TVan for about two and a half years.
Collyn Rivers
AnswerID: 123783

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 22:03

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 22:03
We bumped into that same lovely young couple in Alice after that had been across the GRR and they certainly had no complaints about spending a couple of years in their Tvan. It sounded appealing to me!! Congratulations on your Tvan purchase too! When is your new campertrailer book out?

FollowupID: 378869

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 13:37

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 13:37
Just to confuse you a bit further.

I have had a Trak Shak for 9 years now. 2 Adults and three kids, the oldest id now 17. We have slept 14 in it. Ok most were simply on the floor but that gives you an idea of how much space there is inside.

In 9 years the only things I have replaced are shock absorber rubbers and the cable for the over-ride breaks. It has been to Cape York, Simpson Desert, Blue Mountains and lots more.

It has heaps of space is quick and easy to set up and will go anywhere the car will. It will carry 12 jerry cans so you can mix and match what you carry water/fuel in any configuration 6/6, 5/7, 4/8 etc. I usually carry 8 jerries and 2 9kg gas just as another option. It has an area of 7 x 4 feet by 20inches high for storage. Dust and waterproof.

The kitchen is hung inside the rear door and can be accessed without setting up the camper. It can be left inside the camper if you need to or removed and set up wherever you want.

It is a canvas camper and it does flap a bit in a strong wind. We have become very good at finding some protection for it when choosing a camp site, I will admit that we have had some uncomfortable nights in strong winds. We have never had a problem with water getting in. Last hols we were camped in the Warrunbungles and I could feel the water flowing under the floor but we were dry.

Like others have said you are the one who has to live with it so you have to like what you buy. I thought the T-Van was solid and looked pretty flash but with three kids I needed more room and more storage than it offered.

The wife and I occasionally talk about what we would buy if we did not have the kids. That discussion keeps coming back to a choice of 2. Keep the Trak Shak or get an Ultimate. But that is us not you.

AnswerID: 123793

Reply By: Member - Drew T (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 14:06

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 14:06
We hired a TVan for 2 weeks last year to go around the red centre. 2 adults & 2 teenage kids (who slept on thermarests on the floor).

Things I liked about the TVan:
- the overall quality/finish
- the suspension seemed bullet proof
- how quick it was to set up & tear down (especially if it was raining) & as the rear hatch is essentially the last thing to close it provides cover from the rain till the last minute!
- I thought there was more than enough storage space
- during travel the kids bedding was stored on the main bed
- the wet canvas is very simple to fold up in the 'pocket' provided & doesn't get anything else wet

The only things I didn't like were:
- 2 kids sleeping on the floor effectively uses up that space completely & therefore unless you set up the external annex it gets a bit tight for space
- the side where the kitchen is really needs a very quick-to-set-up, self-supporting, pull-out awning, rather than having to use the conventional clip-on awning with poles&ropes each night.

AnswerID: 123795

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 14:24

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 14:24
I dont think so.
AnswerID: 123798

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 15:45

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 15:45
Hi Jack74

We love our Tvan! We have had ours nearly 12 months and it has surpassed all expectations for this family of 2 ads & 3 kids ( aged 4, 7, 11). We have been on a few trips now ranging from weekend aways to our latest 8 week Kimberley adventure, got back 3 1/2 weeks ago:( .The pack up and setup are as easy as advertised, with many times it just being me to do it....and I was a pro at it by the end too!!! The kids were on thermarests on the floor unless we stopped somewhere for a few nights and they pitched their tent. Yeah it was a big crowded, but we only ever go in there to sleep...all our living was done outside. We were fortunate to have beautiful weather the majority of the time so the need for the extra awnings were few and far between. We did however put the awning up when it rained solidly for 2 days and we were kept very dry...no leaky canvas...very impressed. Then when it was time to packup..we did not have to pack wet canvas onto the bed..another plus in my books. I reckon there are heaps of features that make it the way to go....but others may disagree...and thats ok too! I guess we looked at it being our holiday house on wheels( as another member here looks at her camper as being) so the price was factored to that as well. We chose the Tvan knowing that it would be squishy now with the kids...but come the day that they have had enough of sleeping with mum and Dad, we reckon it will be perfect for the 2 of us....Anyway...all the best in choosing..it is a bit of a nightmare really!!! Happy travels

Jen ( and the other Big Kidz)
AnswerID: 123808

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 17:08

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 17:08
I am surprised that people are saying that the storage is a bit limited. This is what Track say on their website "Two to three times the load volume of other campers Significant load and storage opportunities 1300 litre load volume – 500kg load mass." The load storage was one of the reasons we bought the Tvan.

Jen and I kept our clothes in the overhead storage above the bed and rarely got into our tub of clothes. Under the bed we had five plastic Sabco drawers in which we kept the kids clothes, spart sheets, coats etc that we did not really need to take to the Kimberley! We had another tub with shoes under there too. We kept a couple of buckets with gear just inside of the hatch on the floor and our Portaloo lived there as well. Heaps of storage space above the bed for kids thermarests and sleeping bags and pillows and table and shelf - put my sisters family or sixes bedding on there too when they were away with us.

In the storage locker we have four 25 litre milk crates and three smaller probably ten litre small crates for tools etc. There was plenty of room for storing things - maybe people are forgetting the storage inside the Tvan and only thinking about the storage locker!

I would quite happily live in the Tvan for a year if the weather was warm enough to be outdoors most of the time. Think I would rather a caravan like the Jurgens Xpedition if it was really cold and wet.

The other thing that I liked was being able to have the kids sleep in a tent sometimes - not sure that I really want them sleeping the same area as me....Jen can be quite noisy when she gets 'excited'!

AnswerID: 123823

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 17:14

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 17:14
It is NOT me that is the noisy one!!!!!!!

Jen
FollowupID: 378817

Follow Up By: Peter - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 17:49

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 17:49
Thought it was more like your snoring that FORCED the kids into the tent.
hahahaha
FollowupID: 378821

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 18:06

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 18:06
. . . and I thought that was a pack of dingoes making all that noise at Robe!
FollowupID: 378823

Follow Up By: Member - Kimberly Kruiser (WA) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 18:26

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 18:26
So it was THAT Tvan and funny noises the boys were talking about the other night. Apparently kept half of Kununurra awake most of the night!!!!
FollowupID: 378825

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 19:00

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 19:00
A girl has to do what a girl has to do to get her pink diamonds!!! Mind you I am still waiting lol

Jen
FollowupID: 378832

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 19:06

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 19:06
Andrew, I've got a client who is licensed to sell Argyle diamonds. Give me a call when Jen finally realises that it's when she says "NO" that you'll come around to her way of thinking.
FollowupID: 378833

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 19:10

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 19:10
So that is what I am doing wrong.....after all these years.....hmmmmm ......thanks for the tip wombat!!!!

jen
FollowupID: 378834

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 19:15

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 19:15
Ooooooppppsss!!!! Sorry Andrew!
FollowupID: 378835

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 22:07

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 22:07
Had her fooled for all these years .....WOMBAT!!!

Felt like spring when we were in Kununurra - compared to about 10 degrees and rain in Melbourne.... she might need a cuddle!

FollowupID: 378870

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 04:52

Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 04:52
That is alot of money for something without a motor. Personally I would grab one of the Troopy campers getting around - why tow? and you would still have 5-10k change if you got a good one
AnswerID: 123902

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 09:50

Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 09:50
yea way overpriced, and isnt there a 3-6 mth waiting list for em? Or is that another overpriced boxtrailer?

Theres good campertrailers out there for $10k second hand.. $20k would pay for a few around aussie trips.
FollowupID: 378893

Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 10:02

Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 10:02
Andrew and Jen

The book will out in late September. Pre-press copies have already been sent to managers of several relevant websites. May I suggest you contact me privately re this - because I otherwise cannot avoid abusing the non-commercial side of this excellent Forum.
Collyn Rivers
AnswerID: 123934

Reply By: lhall - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 21:56

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 21:56
Problem with canvas work on tvans. Eyelets not reinforced with leather also leaking.
Kimberley is alot better
AnswerID: 124991

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 22:43

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 22:43
Quote:- "Kimberley is alot better"

Based on what facts?

Take the time to bend down & look underneath & compare them both, then you will realise that Kimberley is quite agricultural compared to T-Van!
FollowupID: 379822

Reply By: johnross - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 21:04

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 21:04
I have a new trakshak for sale, it is perfect for a family. search in archive to see what others have to say,, or look at there web site. Ours has only been used for two nights, & is only about 4 months old. It is being sold (only) due to a recent back injury. The one we have is the hybrid, 2 Queen size beds & all the accessories, including solar,boat rack,independent suspension,two fridges,ect,ect. We are asking 22K which is alot less than we paid for it & what it is worth. It just upsets the family seeing it sit there. ajr900@optusnet.com.au
AnswerID: 126695