Member - Blue (VIC)
Bearing in mind that your info may
well get me sacked...
My boss who never talks to me has hit me with the big question(apparently he thinks that as I have a 4WD, I must be an expert)... Ex gov vehicle, 1HZ(I presume)... He wants to know if there were any probs with this model, he requires it for his hobby farm in Woori Yallock, carting hay/fencing/firewood... Also wants to commute to Altona in it as his V8 Disco is costing too much...
Any thoughts, again bearing in mind the first line...
Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 10:49
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 10:49
Bluey,
Tell him about this great website you found where he can ask questions like you just asked and get answers from experienced unbiased owners. You are then off the hook if he buys a dud.
If you don't want to do it that way, my 1hz wagon that I owned was good apart from the weak as
water 5th gear. Great warranty if he buys one still under toyota's warranty.
Cheers Trevor.
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 11:00
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 11:00
I tried that line first, all I got was "do you think I've got nothing else to do with my time?" at which point I couldn't help cracking a wee little smile... So I said I'd see what I can do but made no promises.
Reply By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 11:55
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 11:55
..... "as his V8 Disco is costing too much"...
Sheesh mate, Business must be bad ay. considering fuel for his loved Disco is tax deductable. He cant afford to run his Disco but he can afford a toy for his farm.
try seek..when looking fora job :-)
Ange
Follow Up By: Becky 34 - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 12:01
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 12:01
ROTFLMAO.
How's the fridge Blue? And the smoke house? And the kids glasses?
We really must have a drink one day.
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:58
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:58
Ange,
I don't know the finer details of running a hobby farm, if the farm isn't making a $(I'm not privvy to this though) I guess it's hard to pay to run a V8 between tax claims...
Also, as an unskilled nuffy, I doubt I could find anything like the job I have on seek, reckon I've used up a lifetime of BS getting this one...
Becky 34, familiar, might I find you loitering on a similarly named group???
Fridge is currently having a spell under the workbench, smoke house is still in the planning stage(read Mrs & kids sucking up all my time & money) and the kids glasses, their eyesight has returned to normal but I just had to
fork out $800 for glasses for me & my lady, that'll teach me for mocking the kids... I could use a drink sometime, "time" being the operative word...
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 14:47
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 14:47
Blue,
Yeah great vehicles blah, blah blah (unbiased opinion :-))) But seriously, they are one of the most sorted vehicles you'll come across.
The factory turbo 79series came out in 2002, so it can either be a 1Hz or a 1HD-FTE. No prizes for guessing which is the preferred. But you pay a lot more for a second hand 1HD-FTE.
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:36
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:36
Thanks Phil, I'll tell him to look out for the 1HD-FTE...
Reply By: Exploder - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 19:09
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 19:09
My mate had a 1997 75series Ute (Basically the same thing). In the 130,000k’s he had it.
1. Rear diff rebuild
2. Something with the bearing’s in the rear of the gearbox (Bearing got replaced)
3. Leaking brake master cylinder/ rear calliper
4. New tail shaft
5. Aircon problem (Hole in condenser)
6. New return to centre steering dampener
Reasons for each.
1. Probably caring too much weight around when working/ not changing the diff oil after submerging most of the car crossing a river.
2. It happens.
3. Revert back to point 1, also proving to us that a diesel land cruiser will smoke the rear tyres on bitumen with 33inch muddy’s, Come to think of it probably the resin for the diff problem as
well.
4. Mechanical problem most likely. Happened just after he got the car.
5. Bad luck.
He brought it with 130 on the clock and sold it with 260, and it was driven hard a lot of the time.
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:37
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:37
Burn outs on 33" muddies, always a recipe for happy days...
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 20:39
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 20:39
Having driven more of these things than I can remember. I can tell you I have never had a problem with them. However it seems that with the 79 as compard to the 75 there are a few lemons so be wary of someone telling you how much work has been done as chances are it will be ongoing - others are fine. For commuting these things have no overtaking power and have a max speed of around 130. they are better suited to pulling 4500 rpm in low 3rd up a decline or putting way to many sample bags in the back until the towbar nearly scrapes the ground. Or going through the bush from a to b without using the tracks. Find out which gov dept had it as some are treated extremely tough. Really needs a road test as
well as no 2 of these things go the same with some blowing smoke everywhere and struggling to top 120 where others will get close to 140. If he doesnt buy this one beware of dodged up ex miners
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:44
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 21:44
I don't think overtaking is the order of the day, he spends most of his commute on the
monash car
park... I think he bought the Disco V8 for show boating to his toff neighbours, suddenly it uses too much fuel and he's too scared to scratch it. I wonder if Fowells auctions will allow a test drive... somehow I think not.
Thanks Davoe...
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 22:36
Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 22:36
just as an exercise in futility I have just timed our work ute from 80k to 120k slight incline I think (sort of thing you dont notice in a car) 1 minute and 20 seconds