Is the extra spare wheel becoming obsolete?..............

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 16:12
ThreadID: 25525 Views:5025 Replies:30 FollowUps:18
There have been a number of posts recently on how and where to carry that extra spare wheel or tyre.

I have always been in favour of carrying that extra spare wheel.

In recent times however, I have only been carrying an extra casing to cut down on weight.

After our recent trip of 16,000km travel with some pretty horrendous track sections in between the good gravel roads, and having had NO punctures, I am wondering whether it is worth all the effort of carrying the extra tyre.

The majority of the time, especially if you carry it on your roofrack, it is in the way, awkward to tie down and a complete waste of space.

These days the tyres are pretty tough and if you watch where you drive and keep to reasonable speeds then you should not need that extra spare. Carry some large tyre patches and a spare tube by all means, just in case.

What do you think?

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 16:19

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 16:19
Willem
I reckon a fair proportion of the weight is the tyre itself. An alloy rim doesn't add much. I'd have to say that on every trip I've been on at least one of the vehicles has used more than one spare. And thats using plugs and fixing most punctures before the tyre is destroyed. I always carry two spares, and when I take the trailer with wheels interchangeable with the car, I take 3 or 4. There's nothing worse than a three cornered car.
AnswerID: 124787

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 17:38

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 17:38
Bob,

A 265/75R16 tyre and steel rim weigh about 35kgs. And from memory, 17kgs is tyre and the rest is rim. I think an alloy rim is about 6kgs lighter than a steel one.
FollowupID: 379676

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 16:24

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 16:24
It's something I've always asked myself Willem - given that for a while these I was in a smaller car (the Jeep). Now I'm back in a full-sized 4WD the question re-opens itself for me too. Given that I have room in front of the rooftop tent (small 1/3 rack) then yes, I'll carry the second FULL spare up there.

I suppose that you just never know when a trail or track vanishes in front of you (drowned out, dust storm, etc) and you have to follow your GPS and just go cross-country for a while. Severe tyre problems are par for the course at that stage.

I'd just rather have it than not. Then again, if I don't have room (like in the Jeep) I don't take it.... because I can't.
AnswerID: 124788

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 16:36

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 16:36
Murphy's Law. If you don't carry it you will need it. I've never had a puncture yet (tempting fate now).
AnswerID: 124790

Reply By: Member - Kimberly Kruiser (WA) - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 16:46

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 16:46
Willem

I suppose then it begs for the appearance of Murphy in full vengance.

I know they can be a pain in the proverbial until needed but I suppose I would rather lug one around and not need it rather than need one and not have it.

I would agree that tyres in general have become a lot more reliable and robust
over the past few years and failures seem to be less of a hassle. If going remote I would still carry one. If just going for a big drive and staying fairly close to civilisation, probably not.

Wal
AnswerID: 124791

Reply By: Flash - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 16:57

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 16:57
Willem,
IMHO it all depends on where you travel.
Certain roads/tracks are a nightmare for your tyres, whilst "TYPICAL" dirt and bitumen roads have given me only one puncture in the last 15 years....whatever typical means.....

On the other hand we destroyed a tyre the other day in the missus 4 cyl car coming home the 2 klms from Woolies- A sharp piece of steel fell off a truck in front of us which collected the sidewall of the tyre- nearly new and destroyed!
Call it Murphy's law..
AnswerID: 124794

Reply By: Richard & Leonie - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 17:39

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 17:39
4 wheelers aside how about these new luxury cars that have no spare wheels at all. My son-in law bought a Crossfire. (His choice - no taste), and all they give you is a pressure can of tyre repair fluid. About as useful as throwing cream puffs at the town hall when the walls ripped. He got two punctures at once in the second week and the dealer had to send out a tow truck to pick the car up and take it back to the workshop. A couple of thousand dollars later for two new 19" low profile tyres and its back on the road the next day. In the meantime they lent him a Jeep Cherokee. He cannot even fit a roof rack on the Crossfire to put a spare on!!!
AnswerID: 124803

Follow Up By: Willb - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 18:02

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 18:02
Hi, it has even got to the stage with some prestige cars they only supply a space saver spare and when the spare is placed on the car the full size road wheel will not fit in the boot. People are not impressed when the punctured tyre has to fit on the back seat.
Will
Always planning the next trip. VKS-737 mobile 1619

FollowupID: 379682

Reply By: Member - George (WA) - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 17:41

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 17:41
Hi Willem,
I know what you are saying. I usually carry 2 spare wheels, but they are a pain in the ar..se having to move them out of the way to get to other stuff on the roof rack. I find it easier to just change the whole wheel than patching tyres. I guess it depends on where you are going. A bit like taking out house insurance, seems like a waste of money until your house burns down.

Happy travelling
AnswerID: 124804

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 17:58

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 17:58
I think the first time you dont carry one ... you will kick yourself for not having it....
AnswerID: 124808

Follow Up By: Member - George (WA) - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 21:37

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 21:37
A bit like Murphy's law you think
FollowupID: 379719

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 18:02

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 18:02
Willem,

Some numbers:

I haven't had a puncture in the desert for 6 years. I do at least 2 big desert trips and a few small trips per year.

I've run 3 Simpson Desert club trips (26 vehicles) and no one has had a puncture.

I've run 3 Anne Beadell Hwy club trips (18 vehicles) and had a total of 2 punctures. Another vehicle had 2 tube failures with split rims (Korean tubes).

IMO, if travelling in a group where tyres or casings are interchangable, you don't need a second spare provided you adhere to the following:
- run low pressures (<25psi),
- Don't overload
- Speed below 80kph
- Run good tubeless tyres with plenty of tread.

If I were to travel alone, its all different. Always take a second spare casing or mounted spare plus tube.

Likewise, if running split rims, you need a mounted second spare.

And tubeless plug kits are a great invention.

AnswerID: 124809

Reply By: greydemon - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 18:16

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 18:16
I drove up to the Kimberly, visited a few gorges along the Gibb River Road, went to Mitchell Falls, all with no problem at all. Then, within 20 kms either side of Ellenbrae, I used all three of the spares I was carrying, AND I had to plug one and refit it as I managed 4 punctures in all. One lost the sidewall completely, one was too big a gash to plug. The guy at Ellenbrae told me (after puncture number 2) that this sort of thing often happens after the grader has been through to stand all the sharp rocks up neatly on edge! He claimed, and I believe him, that the grader is subsidised by one of the tyre shops in Kunnunurra! 8-)

So, yer pays yer money and yer takes yer choice. I did the old Gunbarrel without a single puncture, it all depends on how the great God Goodyear (may his name be praised) feels on the day.
AnswerID: 124815

Follow Up By: Lyds - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 21:12

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 21:12
the folks at Mt Barnett Roadhouse seemed to be doing a roaring trade in tyre repairs... maybe theres a GRR virus for tyres...
FollowupID: 379715

Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 08:19

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 08:19
The GRR virus is speed! Looks a lot better than it is - the sharp rocks don't get rounded by the grader.

I did a couple of tyres along there when they had 85,000 km on them - the Kununurra tyre shops sold me a set at only $20 dearer than Sydney prices per tyre - and threw in a few free services too.

Funny though - the second puncture appeared as we got into Drysdale station, so 220,000 km of never using the second spare still stands. Will chuck it in for the likes of desert trips though despite it being a pain in the butt however.

Max
FollowupID: 379739

Reply By: Andrew (Whyalla SA) - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 18:28

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 18:28
Willem

I always carry a second spare, although its never been needed. I just know that Murphy bloke is waiting for the day that I dont. LOL I dont see it as being any different to carrying all of the other spares that we take. A tyre is still the most likely thing to let you down so it makes sense to double up.

Maybe strap a casing to the door mounted spare and if nothing else you can fill it with rubbish.
AnswerID: 124818

Reply By: Wombat - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 18:29

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 18:29
Hi Willem,

I think your question is probably the ultimate one that we all ask ourselves before heading into 'the great unknown'. But fate being the fickle mistress that she is you can almost guarantee that you will be in the most inhospitable terrain when that first tyre becomes irreparably damaged, and even though the chances of a second tyre going the same way are slender, the stresses created by the images of such a scenario endangering the travelling companions who mean so much to us are something that shouldn't spoil a great trip. My feeling is take an extra case as a bare minimum.

AnswerID: 124819

Reply By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 18:49

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 18:49
Our little group (york 4x4 ) (usualy 4 to 6 veichels) has dun over 20 trips with no punctures . This last trip however , two weeks in the Pilbara , a total of 4 flats with 2 tyres throwaways . It don't matter how good a driver you are or how carefull you are , it can still happen anywhere . I for one , will still carry my spare , plus two caseing's and tube's . Some of those trips inclued Connie Sue , Gun Barrel and Kimberly's . Cheers Errol
AnswerID: 124821

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 20:20

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 20:20
thats a few flats...
but i've seen a mate of mine who followed me thru from leigh creek to worturpa springs (140 klm?) with 4 flats..me none..it can happen!
in his case a ute traveling to honeymoon uranium mine lost a qty of tek screws out the back after going thru dips. I missed them all but arkaroola made heaps of $$$$ fixing flats with tek screws that week.
FollowupID: 379703

Reply By: D-Jack - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 19:04

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 19:04
carry the carcass only, and stuff it with stuff that will use the available space.

D-Jack
AnswerID: 124823

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 19:13

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 19:13
It's a question I keep throwing up in the air myself... I' grew up in the pilbra and we ALWAYS had two spares. With the surf and the family, however, it's not an easy thing to do and to this date I havn't. I've tossed up the idea of putting a second spare under the back (where the factory spare is on the 4runner) but also want that space for a long range tank and have thought the same things as you...

I carry some of that green tyre gue that's supposed to fix two 4wd tyres but have never tried it and probally wouldn't like to rest my families life on it!! But we don't really go to many remote places by ourselves anyway, we normally have at least one other vehicle with us if we are straying right off the beaten track. At least I have 31"R15 tyres, must be the most common out there in the bush...
AnswerID: 124825

Reply By: Nudenut - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 20:11

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 20:11
its a what if !!!!????

have you packed enough coopers till help arrives?
AnswerID: 124833

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 20:13

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 20:13
come to think of it...a extra spare that wont be needed can make space for lot of extra coopers!!!
FollowupID: 379700

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 20:18

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 20:18
Pale Ale of course :-)
FollowupID: 379702

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 20:21

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 20:21
of course! :-)
FollowupID: 379705

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 21:27

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 21:27
Slab of Coopers draught weighs 9kgs. Spare casing weighs 18kgs.

Not such a tough choice.

FollowupID: 379716

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 07:30

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 07:30
works out to 3 extra slabs!
FollowupID: 379737

Reply By: Steve - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 20:22

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 20:22
Go on Willem. I dare you.
AnswerID: 124838

Reply By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 20:26

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 20:26
We have just travelled 17000ks from Qld to Wa and back. Found one cooper that was previously on car until the trip and then put on the trailer ended up with a bubble in tyre. Broken casing not fixable so new tyre - well put second hand one one as we had extra spares back home to put back on. Luckily still not on car as could have been a blow out while driving. New Coopers put on for trip got to Halls Creek coundnt do the Plenty closed due to wet so went the Bucannan about 20 - 30ks out one flat tyre found screw in tyre so back to Halls Creek to repair -both us and the repairer didnt see the hole in the tyre where a rock had gone through unfixable - needed to buy new tyre so we had a spare for trip home. So will always carry at least one for the car and one for the trailer and if room a casing as well.
Jenkie

AnswerID: 124840

Reply By: Member - John (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 20:36

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 20:36
The 2nd spare is the only reason we are considering getting a proper roof rack - don't want to do it because of becoming more top heavy but feel it's a must have for more remote trips. - and if I get a rack I'll probably then fill it with other stuff like jerries, space case etc and then fuel bill goes up etc ..... all because of a bluddy trye.

we have weakspot for the blues too Willem.
AnswerID: 124845

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 21:50

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 21:50
Hi Willem... I rekon there would be a greater chance of getting a flat that there would be of splitting a radiator hose but we all take extra water dont we?..
Both problems can stop us in our tracks..
AnswerID: 124857

Reply By: arthurking83 - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 22:50

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 22:50
Is it just my imagination or are all the tyres that have been destroyed, and thrown by the wayside, on rough roads always mud terrain types?
On our last outingting to Finke, I noticed lots of those dinky 12" tyres usually found on poptops! Did the driver of that vehicle really think he was going to make it to Dalhousie or wherever with those tyres?
Also there was one chap that had Magna sedan as his choice of transportation to and beyond there!
He must have left Dalhousie about an hour before us, and we passed him on our way to Mt Dare. He arrived (in one piece) about an hour later.
Said he averaged about 30kmh and topped about 50. I remember the road was littered with rocks the size of oranges!
But he made, tyres and all!
AnswerID: 124864

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 00:32

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 00:32
Travelling mthe grr i made it into kunnanura with 2 wrecked tyres and one with just 10 psi. but to answer your q if running splits then maybe yes you only need a do nut max As I generally remove the tyre fix the puncture and put it back on . That was for work Since going to splits and cross plys for personall use It would be very rare to get a flat as cross plys will take most track work in thjeir stide and it takes severe cross country work to get the occasional flat - not the sort of thing your average shmo undertakes. Before going to splits my answeer would be are you mad as i suffered many punctures and wrecked tyres using radials
AnswerID: 124866

Reply By: fatz - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 08:16

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 08:16
Willem,
As my old man would say "You would be better off looking at it, than looking for it son" (in his best thick Irish accent). Be a bit of a risk not carrying it knowing some of the places you go!

Mick
AnswerID: 124878

Reply By: at4x4 - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 09:08

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 09:08
Havent carried a 6th spare since 2002, when MTRs became available, and I run super low pressures, high speeds, and abuse my tyres, to see what they put up with, given i sell them all, I want to know what lasts, and even this years desert trip Hay river, cross country, some of Madigan line, the hay river bed for 160km, etc, as well as high speed gravel, from murray sunset, dangalli, Arkaroola etc on way up, and across the lambert centre, Abminga, Eringa, Oodnadatta, oodnadatta track on the way back, and have only needed my spare once since 2002, in the high country, onbly because of a leaking bead I couldnt be bothered fixing while in the spot I was.

If I ran standard fitment OEM tyres, i would still be carrying a 6th spare.
AnswerID: 124886

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 18:29

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 18:29
Darren

Weren't you running Pro Comps on the Hay River trip in July? If so, how did they perform?
FollowupID: 379794

Follow Up By: at4x4 - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 20:45

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 20:45
Ran the Pro Xterrains for the hay river trip, and had no problems with them, running lower pressures, running 140-150kph on gravel, sand, very muddy roads coming home, and averaging 125kph on the blacktop heading home, doing 1600km, on the last day to get home.

The Xterrain is the tyre that is designed for the all around use, like a Cooper St, and drive very nice on the road, little bit of noise, and the only reason i ran MTRs previously is because they werent directional.

The tyres I had on also did the outback challenge on another car, before I used them for the hay river trip.

We sell all brands, and I had to give the Xterrains back to Pro Comp after the trip, but bought another set for my touring vehicle while I was there, after trying them again for this type of travel.
FollowupID: 379807

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 21:02

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 21:02
Must drop in and say G'day when we next visit the rellies at Anglesea, maybe late September

Let me have your physical address. Can send it via email through my website below
FollowupID: 379809

Follow Up By: at4x4 - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 08:02

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 08:02
No worries at all Willem,
we are at 90 Fyans St Geelong Sth

Just near the toyota dealer.
FollowupID: 379948

Reply By: AndrewW - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 09:51

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 09:51
Hi Willem,

I am totally agreeing with everyone else.

Did my first outback trip this year, including the Simpson Desert and we didn't have one puncture. I took six tyres, a tube various puncture repair bits and tyre pliers. Never needed any of it. Worse that happened was one guy had a slow leak after very low pressures on Big Red, with sand in the bead. The guys in Birdsville cleaned the beads no worries.

I won't bother with six tyres again, unless it was something like the Hay river or the Canning. A relatively new set of MTRs or similar tyres seemed to work very well. We even had a guy with a set of Dueler ATs that were 9/10ths stuff, and he had no problems.

RIP 2nd spare.

AnswerID: 124893

Reply By: Moose - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 13:32

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 13:32
G'day Willem
I assume you are referring to the carrying of 2 spares. If so I'll go against the general consensus and say that I only carry one and always have. Been to lots of places and sure I've had a few flats over the years, but rarely have flats resulted in totally stuffed tyres. The only time I actually had to buy tyres whilst on a trip was when I made the mistake of going with semi bald tyres - never again. I always take tubes, patches etc and ususally travel with someone else. Our little group is happy to lend each other a spare if necessary. But even if going alone I still only have the one spare. Yep it could happen that I stuff 2 tyres but then again I could have a heart attack, a croc could eat me, space junk could wipe me out, a taipan could bite me etc. I'm willing to accept the risk.
AnswerID: 124923

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 18:27

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 18:27
Thanks for all your thoughts fellas. An interesting subject.

I always carry a spare casing.

I see however, that on our 1987 cross country Simpson trip, we only carried the normal spare. I did have brand new BFG muddies on the Suzuki though. My mate had brand new Desert Duellers. We did not get any punctures.

A couple of months later my old mate, Ron Moon, led a convoy of 10 vehicles over the Madigan Line and they managed 45 punctures between them.

Seeing as I do solo trips to remote areas on a regular basis I do heed on the side of caution. My next set of tyres will most likely be Wrangler MTR's and I have been told by yet another forumite that he no longer carries the extra spare since xwitching to MTR's.
AnswerID: 124953

Reply By: nick riviera - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 19:03

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 19:03
Nope they are not obsolete at 3.30am in the morning with nothing open, and you have got another 900km to get home. :)

I am pretty chuffed with our carrier it allows us to change a tyre on the fly in under 25 minutes doors open to doors closed, compared to having to muck around with the tyre winch under the vehicle. My wife says its paid for itself twice already.

I think they are Great, If i lived in a large town/city like say Cairns I would not have one, As they are trully a pain for tight city parking spaces and make the cruiser a lot longer.

I have always wondered how these old fellas get those tyres off the roof rack, and then back up there.

AnswerID: 124959

Follow Up By: at4x4 - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 20:48

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 20:48
on a cruiser there is a tecnique to make it easier, little more difficult on a patrol.
FollowupID: 379808

Reply By: Steve - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 21:42

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 21:42
As a seasoned tyre fitter...i can say that really one doesn't need to carry any spare tyre / wheel...providing you can repair any damaged unit on the spot !!...all you need is a complete tyre fitting and repair facility incorporated into your unit, providing spare tubes, tubeless repair kits with tyre spreaders, compressed air, spare tubes...(Michelins are the only really reliable ones) ..., glues. patches and gaiters.., not to mention the quick fix 'plugs' and prodgers needed for those tubless units..combined with a small amount of experience coupled with a serios amount of brawn and fall back experience to accomplish the 'deed '...don't forget the tyre levers and a welter of experience in fitting and removing tyres from a host of assorted rim styles .. its really something we can all do around a feast of beer but when in the bush with SHMBO..barking...

IT'S EASIER TO CARRY TWO SPARE WHEELS.............drink to that !!!

as for ...'awkward to tie down and a complete waste of time' ....that's the missus ure talking about !!...and ure right on that !!!
AnswerID: 124988

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 21:53

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 21:53
How many beers have you had?

Apart from tyre fitting equipment most of us carry all of the stuff you mention. And have used them in the past.

As for the missus...go get a life , mate
FollowupID: 379815

Reply By: Coops (Kalgoorlie) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 11:08

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 11:08
Howdy Willem
One of the mods I had (repeat - had) on my wish list was for a dual rear wheel carrier. However after 50 000 km's on my Wrangler MTR's and not even a hint of trouble, I must confess to being prepared to run the gauntlet now and put the 2 grand towards my daughters education or something worthwhile like that.
The Cruiser would look great though but I'm not that much into it any more and especially not for that money.
Tyres really are a lot more reliable nowadays aren't they?

My regards to Jude (& G&M when you see them next)
AnswerID: 125387

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 19:28

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 19:28
Thanks for that feedback, Coops. Am thinking about whether to carry that spare or not. Might go for those MTR's, next.
FollowupID: 380207