Melbourne - ya gotta luv dis city.

Submitted: Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 15:30
ThreadID: 25549 Views:3572 Replies:15 FollowUps:15
Much of the commentary on this forum is centred around the highlights of the traditional Australian outback with very little discussion on the attractions within our capital cities and rural centres, so I thought I might share the story of my last weekend.

Last Friday was my wonderful lady's 40th birthday so I thought it fit to remove her for a few hours from the drudgery of her everyday life with a few surprises. The fun commenced when a stretched limo' picked us up at home and drove us to the Windsor Hotel where we booked into a Victorian Suite Then on a glorious horse and carriage ride down the Paris end of Collins Street, across the Yarra at Princess Bridge and down to the entrance of Crown Towers at Southbank it wasn't difficult, with the melody of horseshoes on the road, to imagine oneself transported back more than a century to a time when the simple pleasures of life were far more important than the rampant consumerism which pervades today's society. In my mind the foyer of Crown is one of the most magnificent pieces of interior design and I could happily spend hours there listening to the majesty of the acoustics whilst delighting in the ongoing water ballet created by the incredible plethora of fountains.

We then wandered hand in hand along the southern bank of the Yarra River discussing how incredible the transformation of this area was in comparison to the crime infested, corrugated iron shanty town which used to reside here, not that long ago, until an exquisite Venetian style gondola berthed at a pre-arranged time and place to take us on a peacefully romantic hour and a half cruise along the river. Halfway through this tour our very friendly gondolier, Simon pulled into the bank where much to Helen's surprise our great friends from Castlemaine hopped on board to help us drink what was now our third bottle of complimentary champagne whilst we laid back and watched the world float by.

After we had all disembarked and returned to the Windsor, which has an incredible sense grandeur about it, we adjourned to one of our favourite restaurants - 111 Spring Street, to enjoy some fine food, wine and company.

On the Saturday morning we returned home to the most wonderful greeting from our little girl and settled down around the open fire to watch the mighty Bulldogs run rings of fire around the Weagles. Of course we had explained to Helen that we had taken into account that she wouldn't be prepared to feed visitors that night so we'd booked a table for five of us at the local tavern which is housed in an ©1843 bluestone building. What we hadn't told her about was the fifty or so family and friends who'd travelled from all over Victoria to share the special day with her. Yes, it was a big Saturday night that somehow managed to still be going strong on Sunday afternoon.

Anyway, on reflection, I'm sure the other population centres around Australia must have hidden secrets such as gondola cruises and carriage rides, or iconic establishments like The Windsor, and I was hoping (maybe for future reference, who knows where we'll be in ten years time) that the ExplorOz family could highlight to the world what they are.

The best parts of Australia aren't necessarily outside of the populated areas. What are your favourite bits?

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 15:34

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 15:34
Where's Melboune ??
:))
AnswerID: 124940

Follow Up By: signman - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 15:39

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 15:39
ya go to Birdsville....hang a left...and follow the smell of the Yarra
FollowupID: 379779

Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 15:40

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 15:40
Methinks you've gotta cut loose, Footloose, kick off your Sunday shoes, and get out and see the city sights.
FollowupID: 379780

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 15:40

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 15:40
heheheheh...oh that's nasteee....gottta luv it :)))
FollowupID: 379781

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 15:42

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 15:42
Wombat I love the city sights. Its just the people I can't stand :))
FollowupID: 379782

Reply By: Nudenut - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 16:09

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 16:09
three bottle of champers....strewth, i hope you were all wearing life-jackets...
AnswerID: 124942

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 15:04

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 15:04
Apparently it's impossible to sink in the Yarra Nudie - It's too thick!
FollowupID: 380000

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 15:11

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 15:11
...a seniors moment
silly me for forgetting you can play god on the yarra
FollowupID: 380006

Reply By: Blackie - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 17:02

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 17:02
Could this post please be deleted.
You are setting the bar far too high.
AnswerID: 124944

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 15:04

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 15:04
Ooops sorry Blackie.
FollowupID: 380001

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 17:07

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 17:07
Bloody hell..........how romantic was THAT????????????????????

Jeez, I hope Annette doesn't read this post or she'll realise how much of a cheap-skate i am...oh, hang on, she already knows that anyway....so no worries.

Good one Wombat.....that should've earned you a few million brownie points, eh?

Cheers mate and glad you had a gr8 time.

AnswerID: 124946

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 15:08

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 15:08
What is the current rate for AUD - Brownie Points?
FollowupID: 380004

Reply By: spondo - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 17:37

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 17:37
hey hey g'day
so if i chuck a lefty north of alice springs that should get me to the tanami track then head up there and i'll find fitzroy............ ooops sorry i seem to be on the wrong forum, my bad

robs
AnswerID: 124948

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 18:46

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 18:46
Happy birthday Helen!

Yep, Melbourne is a favourite place of ours when we have to go to the Big Smoke.
AnswerID: 124956

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 15:10

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 15:10
I shall pass on your best wishes, thanks Willem.
FollowupID: 380005

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 15:16

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 15:16
BTW "Happy birthday Helen!" seems like such a great name for a song. Maybe you should let the Greg Arnold from Things of Stone & Wood know?
FollowupID: 380007

Reply By: Lyds - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 19:57

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 19:57
at least being near the Yarra you weren't too far from the long drop :-)
AnswerID: 124965

Reply By: AdrianLR - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 19:57

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 19:57
We did something a bit similar earlier this year for our 10th wedding aniversary. Even though we live 5km from the CBD we had a very special dinner at Southbank, spent the night at a hotel there and then wandered through the gallery after a lazy breakfast. It was really wierd being a tourist in your own city but at the same time very nice. It's all too easy to thnk of your own city as a place to just "be" in between the holidays.

Good on you for putting in the effort.

Adrian
AnswerID: 124966

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 15:23

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 15:23
Hmmm! Our 20th anniversary next year Adrian . . . but I've already got that one planned. As you suggested I think a lot of people get so anti-social that they fail to see the fantastic opportunities for adventure that they are surrounded by. Too busy yearning for that next holiday that they don't realise that their life is passing them by. To paraphrase John Lennon "Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans."
FollowupID: 380011

Reply By: Emo - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 20:35

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 20:35
How many times did you get to use low range?

Only joking. I reckon that Melbourne's pretty good. The laneways now hide lots of good little bars and great restaurants.

AnswerID: 124975

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 20:51

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 20:51
Now this was no where near as romantic as your little episode Wombat.

Just as well really, the missus was 1200km away.

Bunch of us yokels from "the Hill" in Sydney for the weekend found a great little Indian eatery in Croydon, called the "Joy of Chennai".

It was the kind of food you don't chew "cause that would remove the delightful taste from the mouth way too quickly.

Apart from my mates, the thing I miss the most about living in a rural centre is the variety in dining opportunities. Don't get me wrong we have some great restaurants in Broken Hill. Just not the variety that a big city offers.

'Still like our traffic jams are better. Two cars at a stop sign and its time to look for an alternative route.

AnswerID: 124979

Reply By: Lyds - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 20:51

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 20:51
Despite my previous response, I actually like Melbourne.

You have a much better chance of getting good food and importantly a decent coffee than anywhere else. People also tend to dress better as well.

and you're just down the road from the High Country!
AnswerID: 124980

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 15:26

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 15:26
I always try to dress my best for the High Country!
FollowupID: 380012

Reply By: AndrewW - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 23:17

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 23:17
I live in the outer eastern suburbs and commute an hour each way, each day, on the dirty and always late trains, into the Melbourne CBD.

If I never ever had to go back again, I would be happy.

I still have to put on my 'Id rather be in Birdsville' number plate holders. Best do that this weekend.

AnswerID: 125004

Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 23:21

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 23:21
I went to melbourne once, to watch Brisbane beat Essendon in the Grand Final. Yeah not bad, but I prefer Perth. Funny that, I live here.

Poor old Dockers are copping it at the moment. That rope hanging from the tree out the back is starting to look good
AnswerID: 125005

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Saturday, Aug 13, 2005 at 08:22

Saturday, Aug 13, 2005 at 08:22
Wombat
I agree. We had a great weekend in Melbourne last year. We stayed in some serviced apartment in the middle of town and did all the touristy things: lunch at Southbank, tram rides, breakfast at a footpath place over the road from Parl House. Yet I've been there for a hundred meetings at boring hotels and hated every minute.
So I reckon your appreciation of every place is determined by your state of mind. We used to live in Sydney, and all I remember is how appalling the traffic was (and dropping my wallett in Oxford St and kicking it along the ground all the way to the SCG before daring to bend over to pick it up). But go back for a weekend at Manly or a city hotel and you can really relax and enjoy it.
BTW, three bottles of sparkling and I would have "disembarked" too.
Best experience in Melbourne: 89 Grandfinal Hawthorn v Geelong and Ablett's 9 goals.
AnswerID: 125013

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 15:38

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 15:38
You're right Bob your appreciation of everything is determined by your current state of mind. A perfect example of this was your inclusion of tram rides in the touristy things to do. The only tram you'll ever catch me on by choice is The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant
. . . and my best experience in Melbourne . . . . is yet to happen.

FollowupID: 380013

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 13, 2005 at 08:40

Saturday, Aug 13, 2005 at 08:40
You old softie Wombie, Melbourne's a great place to see.... in my rear vision mirror.

AnswerID: 125016

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 15:19

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 15:19
is that why you came to Adel.?
FollowupID: 380010

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 15:40

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 15:40
I have to agrre with you Bonz. One of my favourite views of Melbourne is, indeed, in my rear view mirror, as it means I'm on the way home to my girls.
FollowupID: 380014