Diesel Prices Reversed?
Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 18:23
Fusion
Just passed 2 servo's on the way home. Both of them had diesel cheaper than petrol. A BP was 116.8 Diesel & 117.9 Unleaded. A Mobile was 114.9 Diesel & 117.9 Unleaded. On the northern end of the
Gold Coast. The usual fluctuation is from about 18c dearer for Diesel to about 4c dearer.
This is the first time I've seen prices like this in...
well almost forever. Anyone know why?
Aaron.
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 18:31
Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 18:31
Aaron,
On my way home to Penrith from Parramatta along the M4 Diesel and Unleaded were $1.25 p/l.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 21:41
Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 21:41
Hi there Wayne, nice to know that some one lives around my area havnt read anybody on this
forum from penrith. I'm actually at Glenmore
Park, good to see you on this
forum,Take Care Steve M
Follow Up By: chump_boy - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 09:44
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 09:44
Hi guys - I'm from Parramatta, but grew up in Penrith /
Richmond areas.
Chump
Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 11:06
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 11:06
We are not alone ..... (insert X-files theme music) :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 11:27
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 11:27
Get out!! I was Quakers
Hill,
Richmond, Glenmore
Park, Miranda and now ....
Perth!!!! I think my voting registration should have..."of no fixed address!"
Follow Up By: techie - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 12:35
Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 12:35
Try Roseville, North Shore. Bit out of the way but still in the neighbourhood.
Donk
Reply By: steve21 - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 18:35
Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 18:35
unleaded randwick 126.9 today, was only 114 yesterday!! not happy
Reply By: chel - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 20:51
Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 20:51
cowra - diesel $1.31, unleaded $1.19
Reply By: Member - Jezza (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 20:53
Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 20:53
Same at a Mobile servo I passed tonight here in
Canberra - ULP 127.7 and Diesel 126.7. Still too expensive though!!
Jezza
Reply By: Member - Johno (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 21:27
Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 21:27
I would have thought it was because of the public holiday in
Brisbane today. If it stays like this though there will be some unhappy customers out there tommorrow.... But what can you do. At least diesel is is a consistantly price, consistantly over priced.
Reply By: fig_jam - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 22:12
Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 22:12
well i must say your rather lucky, down here in tassie the cheapest ULP ever gets is 125.9 and regularly pushes 130. diesel prices,
well i just dont want to even think about that...
Reply By: Member -Dodger - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 00:18
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 00:18
Hope the trend continues even when the prices drop sic.as if!
In Tas two tanks and your round the block, do that on the mainland.
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 18:25
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 18:25
Price for Diesel in Chudleigh (mid north)today--$1.339
Reply By: Member - John C (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 07:58
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 07:58
Couple of world factors could be coming in here.
Diesel is a heating oil in the northern hemisphere, and it is summer there.
September is holiday time in the states, so they are starting to stockpile petrol.
Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 08:25
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 08:25
Just wait a day or two, the price is sure to go up ;-(
Filled up both cars yesteday morning at $1.03
By luchtime same servo was $1.18 :--(((
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 08:55
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 08:55
My guess is that its just the lag you get with diesel prices - give it another 2 weeks and they will be higher too.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 10:42
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 10:42
Yeah I recon your probally right... It's a nice thought though! ;-)
Reply By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 16:46
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 16:46
Brisbane nth side ,ulp $1.12 WITH discount voucher ......diesel $1.11.9 without voucher. , can only hope that normality is about to return , by that I mean diesel was and should always retail for less than ulp seeing that ULP takes more refining ,ie: work to produce.
Reply By: Fusion - Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 16:54
Thursday, Aug 18, 2005 at 16:54
I read (In the www.smh.com.au I think) a week or 2 ago about the Aussie $$ going up next year because countries like China will start to look for energy fuel elsewhere rather than in diesel, with the ridiculous prices. If this is the case the analyst said they'd probably be buying coal or gas which we have heaps of in Oz.
Anyway wouldn't be making any difference now, but it'd be nice if the pressure on fuel prices came off, or our goverment would start spending a dollar or 2 on making our country more self sufficient with Bio Diesel etc.
Aaron.
Reply By: techie - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 12:46
Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 12:46
ps Petrol is definitely more expensive than Diesel!
esp north shore. $122 diesel $127 unleaded.
Converting
mine to LPG next week - 45c.
$2000 all up - should make it back in 18 mnths
Reply By: Skinny- Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 13:02
Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 13:02
Saw recent news story 1973 petrol was 10c per ltr and a ham sandwhich was 20 c
A ham sandwhich is now around $4-5.00 dollars that would make petrol around $2 -2.50 ...what do you rekon.
Skinny
Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 13:19
Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 13:19
Where were they selling ham sandwiches for 20 cents back in '73? Did the article say? I sure don't remember them that cheap. I do remember meat pies being 22 cents though...
Reply By: terstell - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 14:41
Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 14:41
yea aaron, they are trying to suck you in.
I got an email the other day saying , along with other things, that BP & Mobil are the largest oil companies in oz-- if nobody was to buy their fuel for 12 months, the fuel prices would drop dramaticaly-- but everyone would have to stick together-- buy whoever you like but not BP or Mobile-- the mail then stated that the other fuel companies would have to follow suit-- I am doing it ( where possible)
nothing ventured , nothing gained.
safe travel
terstell
Reply By: chump_boy - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 15:18
Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 15:18
Heard something interesting the other day....
Shell is going to start phasing in 50% Ethonol into their fuels in the next 18 months or so. Apparantly it is not as bad for motors as we all first thought (or were led to believe)....
Heard some stuff about aqua-diesel, and bio-diesel as
well coming in in the next 2-3 years or so.
It would appear they have realised oil is in short supply, and getting shorter...
Hope this means the price will come down.
Chump
Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 19:58
Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 19:58
You can relax Fusion the price here in the south of
sydney is back the right way around today
ULP 122.9
DSL 126.9
all is right with the world again
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 20:51
Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 20:51
Bought my last Queensland subsidised diesel for a while just a few days back with the supermarket 4 cents off it came in just under $1.09.
How come we are giving you guys so much additional tax you can get the subsidy and not the rest of us?
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 21:29
Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 21:29
JohnR, it goes back to the pre GST days. All states except Qld had a state tax (excise) on petrol, in addition to the federal tax. Qld never introduced a state petrol tax.
With the introduction of the GST, the states agreed to remove the state petrol tax in return for getting the money from GST. Queensland said, we've never had a petrol tax, so rather than get a windfall gain for the govt, and allowing an increasse in the price of petrol, we'll give the equivelant amount back to the motorist as a subsidy.
All it does is retain the status quo from before the GST. Although the no petrol tax pre dates the current governmnet, it was smart of them to retain the advantage for Queensland motorists.
All states could do the same thing if they wanted. But don't hold your breath.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 18:36
Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 18:36
Norm C I could accept your explaination easily if I had not read quite a different one on the fuel pumps in North
Rockhampton when I met up with friend Austravel. I am also
well aware of the fight over the Commonwealth Grants commission fight. Obviously Queensland doesn't need to taxes like as much as other states do..........
I do understand how it helps the outback, but when we pay more in close country Victoria than does
Boulia.......... We are expected to compete all across Australia.
Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 19:06
Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 19:06
On a recent outback trip , I asked a garage owner why petrol was so expensive in the bush (as a sh*t stir) , his answer was that there fuel subsidised the city fuel. I had to laugh , so all 10 of you in this town subsidise the city ? lol
Had nothing to do with transport costs lol
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 20:02
Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 20:02
Hi JohnR, No skin off my nose whether you accept my explanation or not. But it is correct. Google Qld fuel subsidy and you will get plenty of confirmation.
Here is one from the Qld Office of State Revenue:
Why does Queensland have a fuel subsidy scheme?
On 5 August 1997, the High Court made a ruling which questioned the constitutional validity of the States and Territories collecting business franchise fees on tobacco, fuel and liquor. To help ensure the States and Territories did not lose this valued revenue source, the Commonwealth Government agreed to collect these business franchise fees on their behalf.
However, unlike other States and Territories, Queensland did not collect a fuel tax. To ensure that Queensland motorists weren't disadvantaged by rising prices, the Queensland Government formed an agreement with the Commonwealth and the fuel industry to introduce a fuel subsidy scheme
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 20:35
Saturday, Aug 20, 2005 at 20:35
Norm, as I said I have no trouble with the reson given at all, that you have given. I believe you may indeed be right. I do wonder though with the explaination of the revenue office "To help ensure the States and Territories did not lose this valued revenue source, the Commonwealth Government agreed to collect these business franchise fees on their behalf" why the fed taxes don't mean that the consumers across Queensland don't pay the same taxes as the rest of us.... Perhaps they aren't applied! Something just doesn't seem to add up
The other point I make is of the state needs and the application of taxes. NSW and Victoria both have lobbied for change as the needs and requirements have all changed, but it requires all states and the commonwealth to agree to change. NSW and Victorian governments as all 'huff and puff' trying to change people perception to that of inaction by the Feds. It is the inability to change the tax structure of the Labor mates all round the state governments...
The sticker in Rocky actually listed the vehicle useages eligible for the subsidy, or otherwise. I was interested in the explaination. BP, I think it was, on the highway in Nth Rocky.