Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 20:13
Stuart Butler
Hi Everyone, Been looking at the
forum for the past month or so, been able to pick up some great information thats for sure. I am patiently waiting for my first foray into 4wd and currently driving a Toyota Soarer, not really the ideal offroad vehicle however has been on a tag along tour gem fossicking at gem tree NT, very embarrissing. I thought it was to be the type you get in a tour bus and off you go, nope, we had to follow a convoy of patrols, landcruisers etc. The guide drew us a mud map so we could get to where we were going. My fiance walked in front of the soarer at
places moving rocks out the way. The others on the tour were in hysterics. Had a ball though
Anyway, Ive got a few questions regarding my 4wd. I take delivery of a new 2005 Hilux dual cab next friday, turbo diesel. I was considering trading in the tyres right away for something different to suit a small amount of offroad. probably 20% off and 80 % on. What are the largest tyres I could probably put on it. It is the SR model so is 16" I think. Any suggestions on make, model, perhaps ones people have tried out there on this model. Hoping to lift the ride height slightly
Other question is how demanding is the skytrek in the flinders, would the Hilux have sufficient ground clearance as I have heard some negative things regarding the ground clearance
Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 20:25
Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 20:25
Now that would have been a sight to see! A Soarer (for those that do not know it, a large low slung
grey import sports coupe) on a tagalong with Cruisers and Trols!
Anyway, onto the q.
Yes, if you want to do ANY off road effectively then distch the standard passenger tyres on delivery of the car. If you just drive around town then they are fine but that is not what you buy a 4by for RIGHT???? The tyres they sell on the car are just to hold it off the ground in the yard! Nearly always no good for more than gravel roads.
Look at what deal u can do on the
well known brands in the All Terrain pattern. BFG A/T, Bridgestone Dueller A/T and Cooper ATR are about the pick of the crop but can be about $300 each depending on where you go. Toyo Opats and Savero A/Ts also get wraps on here. and there are heaps more.
Tyres are one of the most discussed topics on this
forum as they are about the most customisable and one of the most important bits of your vehicle. Have a look thru previous posts and see what deals u can do.
Have not done Skytrek yet but have heard it is great. Min spec in a low range gearbox and high clearance. But most vehicles handle it just fine.
Best of luck with it and enjoy the new toy!
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 20:29
Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 20:29
Hi Stuart, welcome aboard, You to can become as silly as the rest of us if you spend too much time on this
forum... Enjoy!!! Michael
Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 20:38
Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 20:38
Agree with Muddy about the tyres. SKytrek is a great track and i am sure you will enjoy it. Clearance should be ok......just watch for the big rocks. We had a current model Pajero follow us when we did it and they seemed to be bottoming out lots, but i am sure it was because they were in a hurry. From what i have read about the new Hilux the clearnce issues are more to do with the factory bull bar restricting departure and approach angles. As for going to larger tyres.check the legality and also your insurance company as
well as Toyota warranty.
Reply By: Member - David B (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 21:24
Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 21:24
Hi Stuart,
I supose you will hold the record for the lowest car in a gem fossicking tag along.
When our hilux arrived, 8 weeks of waiting, tyres were traded strait away for 31x10.5x15's BFG's at's on original alloy rims. The hilux rode and handled alot better.
Dave.
Reply By: jdpatrol - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 21:38
Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 21:38
Welcome to the site Stuart.
Regarding Skytrek, we did it in July and there are some large 'woofs' placed in the up track on the plain, before you come back south on the higher / challenging bits, before which there is an escape route. I reckon the owners planned it (very
well) that way. I would say those 'woofs' will stop the vehciles that wont make it up the challenging bits mostly so I dont think you can go wrong. Just dont get there later than say 9.30am - it's a big day and a good one -we got there at 10.30 and were rushing a bit at the end.
And if it's too much for your vehcile there is plenty more route choices in the Flinders!! Enjoy
Reply By: Stuart Butler - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 22:00
Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 22:00
Thanks for the suggestions, definitely would hold the record for lowest vehicle on gem fossicking tour, still find red dust in crevices and various
places still in the car.
I ordered it about two weeks ago and then found out about a three month wait for any of the colours I liked so settled for a white for quick delivery.
CAN NOT WAIT
Follow Up By: Member - David B (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 10:49
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 10:49
Hi Stuart,
I herd the locals in Thailand have a nine month wait on orders for the hilux.
Reply By: Stuart Butler - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 22:01
Tuesday, Aug 23, 2005 at 22:01
excuse the ignorance, what are woofs?
Follow Up By: jdpatrol - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 14:18
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 14:18
Sorry mate. Too casual. Just meant steep isolated mounds in the track - they have been placed there / shaped by earthmoving equipment.
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 00:37
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 00:37
Hi Stuart and welcome.
Skytrek is a MUST DO to test your new 4by out.
You shouldn't have any problems with ground clearance with the Hilux.
You are given fairly comprehensive notes when you pay your fee and the trek is not hard core at all. The notes even tell you when to select low range etc., so its a really enjoyable experience. The only recommendation I would make is to do it on a long weekend, or a time when you have three days to spare.
Day 1. Drive to Flinders (about 5 hours) from
Adelaide then set up
camp, or book into some accommodation in the area. (Skytrek actually have huts/cottages available if you are not yet into
camping, or great bush campsites if you are)
Day 2. Take the Skytrek tour and finish off with a side drive to
Skull Rock, then back to camp/accommodation for a relaxing evening.
Day 3. Maybe visit the Pound on the way back home.
All in all, just one of the great holiday experiences in the Flinders.
By the way, you can get a good explanation of Skytrek on this site under Trip Planning - Treknotes, then scroll down to Skytrek.
Happy 4WD'ing Stuart.
Reply By: Member - John C (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 08:16
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 08:16
Hi Stuart,
Good story.
I think you learnt your first 4wd lesson in the soarer. Care and a good line will get you a lot of
places others would fear to go. And you don't always believe what people tell you about treks and tracks until you see it for yourself.
And give that fiance a big hug and don't let go. Know a few that wouldn't even get out of the car in that situation. But you worked it out together. Now, if you had cleared the road and let her drive, that would say something :-).
I remember driving crazy tracks in a beetle 30 years ago with a certain girl friend who is now my wife.
We did the skytrek last year in a pajero and thought it quite straight forward. Few steepish climbs and a few gullies with a dip but no traction problems. Could have almost taken the beetle around it :-). 30 years ago I most probably would have. Make it a grade 2 or 2.5 out of 5.
But you must do it.
Reply By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 08:40
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 08:40
Good to see you can have a laugh about the Soarer episode - shows a somewhat "level" oulook to life in my view. The Hirux should be a great - should get you anywhere that others can tread - re the tyres - indeed - that would be first on my list - you will lose some ride softness but make up for it with durability. I choose BF Goodrich - always been very good to me. Tip: I only upgraded four tyres on day one (to save some $) - silly me - still stuck with that original spare (laying on the shed floor) - never been on a road and can't seem to sell it. I should have gone the 5 and used that one in the next set.
Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 14:27
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 14:27
Welcome Stuart!
Soarer on tour - too funny!!!