Har floor or Soft floor

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 16:32
ThreadID: 25847 Views:4348 Replies:18 FollowUps:12

I am researching what kind of camper to buy.

I have a Nissan x-trail, wife and an 11 month old daughter.
I like the look of the Cub series of campers because they are off the ground, easy to setup and light to tow. I have seen the cavalier campers and think they look solidly built but they are a soft floor camper.

I intend to use the camper on weekends initialy @ caravan parks and national parks (for the next couple of years) but would like to take longer holidays when the baby gets a bit older.

I don't want to fall into the trap of getting the wrong camper and needing to upgrade in a year or two.

From what I have read so far, a slide our or easy access kitchen seems to be an important feature.

Any advice would be apreciated

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 16:46

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 16:46
Go and hire a couple for weekends.. they are cheap to hire, and you can decide for yourself.

mate did a few weekends up high country which helped him pick and choose what he wanted in his camper
AnswerID: 126648

Reply By: flappa - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 16:53

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 16:53
Trucksters spot on.

Hire a couple of different ones to see what suits.

Hard floor and soft floor are quite different.

The hard floors are normally quicker to setup and pack up , and of course , have a hard floor , but , are limited in size to whatever size the trailer is.

Almost always need to have the awning erected to get any sort of space. For a couple , not a big deal , add kids , it does.

The Soft Floor has oodles of space. Its not restricted by Trailer size.

My 16ft soft floor has room enough to sleep 4 teenage kids.

Get something like a Trak Shak , and you could sleep an army , comfortably under canvas.

The other major difference is cost.

A bare bones basic hardfloor starts around $10k ,and goes up HEAPS from there. $30k or so for Kimberley Campers and top line Cubs.

Spend $10k on a soft floor and you are likely to have most of the bells and whistles available.

Each have their own pros and cons.

Hire a few to see what suits.
AnswerID: 126650

Reply By: willg - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 17:14

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 17:14
Thanks for the replies.

It seems it is probably worth while trying before buying.

The size issue is important and the soft floor campers seem to have a lot more room. Should make for more comfortable camping.

Can't wait for the weather to warm up (-3 in Canberra this morning) and go camping.

AnswerID: 126653

Follow Up By: Member - John C (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 18:03

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 18:03
We are looking at a camper trailer for the first time too, now we are getting to be oldies :-).

Like trucksters idea of hiring.

What I have noticed is that all of the hard floors tend to hinge off the back, which gives you an area at the back the same width as the trailer, about 2.0 to 2.2m wide and about 7' to 2.4m long.

Whereas the soft floors fold off the back or side. The side folding seems to give you more room in the annex, and are 8', 10' and 12' deep off the trailer and the length of the trailer. Sorry, too used to working in both metric and imperial at work, say 2.2m x 2.4, 3m, or 3.6m.

Having used a tent for the last 20 years, soft floors don't worry us, we will just put a tarp down for a bit of extra protection like we do with the tent.

What else have you noticed?
FollowupID: 381231

Follow Up By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 20:04

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 20:04
Instead of using a tarp under the floor use shade cloth. Heaps better water runs through if any gets inbetween and you just shake out before you fold up. Works great on sand and dirt. Have used now for over 10 years under tent and annex of caravan.
FollowupID: 381250

Follow Up By: Member - John C (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 21:22

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 21:22
Good idea.
FollowupID: 381270

Reply By: Paul - OzRoamer Camper Trailer - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 18:19

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 18:19
Hi willg

Send me your email address and I will foward a recent review compiled by Caravan World magazine on The Cape York Wedge Explorer.
This hard floor CT was specifically designed with the XTrail and Outback/Forester in mind.

It might help.
AnswerID: 126663

Follow Up By: Old Soldier - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 20:23

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 20:23
Hi Willg,

Like you I am looking, except that my tow vehicle will be a Subaru Forester.

Have a close look at the link above.

I had a look at Cape York Trailers at their factory in Cairns last year and was impressed with their build quality.

I have also been down the road of soft floor campers some years back in a much heavier 4X4.

I would never own one again.

OK for a couple of days away, but they are a real PITA on a long outback trip.

Hard floor is the only way I will go in future - but each to his own.

Just my thoughts

Dennis
FollowupID: 381251

Follow Up By: Member - John C (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 21:25

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 21:25
What problems did you find with the soft floor?
FollowupID: 381271

Follow Up By: Old Soldier - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 06:39

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 06:39
G'day John,

Pegging out was always a PITA - especially after a hard day on the road.

Your "level" [or lack of it] of the floor was always determined by your camping area - with a hard floor you can adjust for "level".

Underfloor surface can be rocky at times. There are places where you simply can't get a smooth area for underfloor.

Underfloor wetness. This can be allieviated to some extent by placing a plastic tarp under the floor, but I found condensation was always present between the floor and the tarp in damp weather.

An absolute pain when packing up - especially if you are in a hurry to get on the road.

Also, you have to pack up a wet tarp and shove it somewhere.

Like I said above - its a hard floor for next time.

More expensive - but like most things in life - you get what you pay for.
FollowupID: 381306

Reply By: Woobla (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 19:28

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 19:28
Hi Willg,
My wife and I just purchased a Pioneer camper and what was offered to us was that the hire cost would be taken off the cost of the purchase if we liked the unit and decided to buy newey.
We didnt take them up on the offer but I think it costs around $400/week to hire them.
Purhaps you could try that approach and test a couple over a period?
Good luck as there are so many to choose from.
Jeff
AnswerID: 126668

Reply By: johnross - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 20:18

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 20:18
I have a new trakshak for sale, it is perfect for a family. search in archive to see what others have to say,, or look at there web site. Ours has only been used for two nights, & is only about 4 months old. It is being sold (only) due to a recent back injury. The one we have is the hybrid, 2 Queen size beds & all the accessories, including solar,boat rack,independent suspension,two fridges,ect,ect. We are asking 22K which is alot less than we paid for it & what it is worth. It just upsets the family seeing it sit there. ajr900@optusnet.com.au
AnswerID: 126681

Reply By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 21:32

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 21:32
Hard floor can be up in minutes and with just one littlie that will be an advantage.

Soft floor (and I own one), much bigger but takes a lot longer to set up.

I've modified my soft floor to make it quicker to set up, but when I eventually convince "her indoors" to do the big trip, we'll trade our's on a hard floor.

Soft floor works well for us at the moment, but the thought of setting it up on a day to day basis makes me want to stay at home.

AnswerID: 126703

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 22:04

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 22:04
I have a hard floor AussieSwag which we think is great. Hired a softfloor and went out in the desert but bought the hard floor.

We tend to travel and only overnight. Rarely do we camp in same place more than one night. The hard floor is quickly swung over and presto you are in bed.

If you you were camping for long periods in one place then the poles and pegs of extra flys etc are worthwhile.

I have noticed that the hard floor is great out west where there is no soft ground and the best camp is on a rock slab or even gibber desert as this avoids the dust.

We also have been in very heavy rain and it is great to have the water flowing under the floor and not worry about punctured floors etc.

Ours has been out west (birdsville, Innaminka Flinders etc) several times and up the gulf as well as through Victorian high country.

The only down is when the campsite is not flat. It has adjusting legs etc and these must be played with to get the floor to sit supported. A slight slope is okay so long as it is a flat slope. We take some blocks of wood with us to adjust the wheels to get the bed level and then adjust the legs on the floor. We are now give clever at picking a spot that needs no mucking around with levels and the flipped floor works fine without adjustment most times.

AnswerID: 126709

Follow Up By: Member - Gary W (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 13:39

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 13:39
We too have an Aussieswag. Also reckon its great. Also been to similar places.

Hard Floor Plusses.
- Quick setup and packup.
- Off the ground.
- Seals when closed to keep dust out.
- Different configurations for over night or longer stay.
Soft Floor Plusses.
- More room.

Gaz
FollowupID: 381354

Reply By: willg - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 23:05

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 23:05
Thanks for the replies.

Just some other general questions about soft and hard floor.

Do soft floor campers generally have more storage beneath the bed ?

Do soft floor campers generally weigh less than hard floor ?

Which trailers generally have easier access to the trailer when closed ?

AnswerID: 126714

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 01:40

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 01:40
Willg,

Depending on the design of each type, I would say that storage beneath the bed would be similar.

Again, depending on individual design, soft floor campers can weigh as much as hard floor ones.

One of the advantages of the soft floor camper is the amount of extra storage space available for annexes, etc., underneath the storm cover.

On most softies, when the trailer is closed, you can still access the storage space underneath the bed by lifting the whole base up sideways.
My camper for instance has hydraulic dampers to assist in the lifting and lowering of the entire bed/base, (secured by lockable latches) to get at the storage area, as well as from the tailgate itself.

The variety of features of each brand and style of camper is almost endless and can be confusing to the new buyer.

I started out shopping around for a hard floor camper but found the price range was $20,000+.
A good soft floor unit can be bought new for less than $13,000 with all the bells and whistles and start much cheaper than that.

In my opinion, the time it takes to erect a soft floored camper is a secondary consideration. They don't actually take all that long.
Simply flip them down, tighten the adjustable internal frame and bang a peg in at each corner for stability of the floor. Additional pegs are really only required in strong wind conditions to give extra support.

As for annexes, they generally take the same amount of time fiddling with poles and ropes, regardless of whether you have a soft floor or hard floor style.

Like others have said, hire one or two different types until you get a warm fuzzy feeling about the style and features of the different types.
Then you are less likely to be unhappy with the subsequent purchase.

FollowupID: 381303

Follow Up By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 07:05

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 07:05
My Aussie Swag hard floor has a lift up bed for storage. However, the storage is in a roll out drawer and this can be accessed with the unit shut through a tail gate.

The kitchen also slides out the side with the unit shut however we don't tend to use it this way during the day too much.

The whole unit is very waterproof and dustproof. It came with a plastic cover for the bed to use when shutting it down with wet canvas. But wet canvas is no problem and have found the cover to only get slightly damp.

The problem of hutting down in the rain is the person getting wet rather than any gear etc. Some softfloor have their kitchen inside the canvas which probably helps. In case of rain we put an annexe up (comes with two) so have to close kitchen before dropping annexe before dropping camper.

As stated above, recommend you hire different type and see which type suits you best. The hardfloor will be more expensive.

FollowupID: 381307

Follow Up By: Member - Gary W (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 13:41

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 13:41
I reckon generally the soft floor campers have more storage. Although the latest Aussieswags have improved in this regard.

Oh BTW - at the risk of stating the obvious the main advantage of the soft floor units is price.

gaz
FollowupID: 381355

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 09:32

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 09:32
Will. You already sound sold on the soft floor...
FollowupID: 381907

Reply By: uncle - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 07:31

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 07:31
Some great reading here guys,wifey and Myself are in the same boat,but have plenty of time to make up our minds.I was batting for the hard floor team and she 's for the softy,We'll take the advice of hiring afew also sounds good.
AnswerID: 126739

Reply By: Lyds- Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 09:53

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 09:53
check out the Camprite ; everbody is kept off the ground, and you unless you want the awning up you don't need to peg anything.

AnswerID: 126760

Follow Up By: Moggs - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 22:05

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 22:05
Lyds,

That is the best thought out camper I have seen for 2 adults and 2 kids. If we ever go the camper route then that will be the first I look at - magnificent piece of kit.
FollowupID: 382045

Reply By: cuffs - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 11:24

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 11:24
The X-Trail loves the off road and the towing, helps even more with trailer wheels tracking in the same track as the tow vehicle and you have the right coupling, especially in the sand.

http://xtrail.australia4wd.com/index.php
http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/Australian_X-trail/
AnswerID: 126777

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 12:42

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 12:42
I've just gone through this process and settled on the soft floor. Why - cause I found that getting the trailer/hard floor combo level was far more difficult then putting a couple of pegs in the ground basically. But I agree that there are swings and roundabouts for both - you just have to try and then make up your mind what is best for you.
AnswerID: 126784

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 12:43

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 12:43
I've just gone through this process and settled on the soft floor (Kanga Big Red DL $16,700). Why - cause I found that getting the trailer/hard floor combo level was far more difficult then putting a couple of pegs in the ground basically. But I agree that there are swings and roundabouts for both - you just have to try and then make up your mind what is best for you.
AnswerID: 126785

Reply By: rileyinc - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 20:52

Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 20:52
There is a Yahoo group just for camper trailers. They have a lot of good advice and tips.
Also a website - www.campertrailers.org
Might give you a bit more insight.

Me - I have a 20 year old Coleman pop up camper - towed with an Xtrail. Hate to put it up just for one night stays - would love something better byt it was the best around for the dollars we had. Very comfy, even if the curtains are daggy!!!
AnswerID: 127012

Reply By: lloyd1977 - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 14:56

Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 14:56
hard floors are good if you can afford one try sunset campers they do a neat unit.
AnswerID: 127085

Reply By: Discorob - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 21:18

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 21:18
Hello Willg

If you are in Canberra and still looking, we have a Camprite... I gather there's not many on this side of the country. We love it (and have two small kids). Happy to open it up for viewing...

Reply with your address details if you wish...

Rob
AnswerID: 127364

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 16:18

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 16:18
Short term or Long term ,that be the question ?? hard floor you can be in bed in 5 min or so , soft floor 15+ . ..room to move = soft floor ,new baby close and cuddly = hard floor. ...baby becomes toddler = more room = soft floor ,, child wants mates to also come camping = more room needed = soft floor .. Mum+Dad now getting older ,touring /camping on thier own = hard floor .. as others have said , hire /borrow/ before you spend the $s involved , we went for the soft floor as even though only 1 child [7yr old going onto 21] we find that we "need" the room.
AnswerID: 127461