Extinguishers
Submitted: Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 12:05
Truckster (Vic)
Not much else going on, and havent really heard people discuss this before, which would indicate people overlook it.
So, having spent 13yrs in the RFS, what do people carry, and what do they expect from them? You would be shocked at what some people think they can put out with them.
EG: Most would carry the tiny 1kg Dry Chem, which isnt a bad selection of type of extinguisher, but wont really put much of a fire out at all. More of a placebo.
In a perfect world, a 9kg of the correct type for the fire would be the most useful, but extremely impractical for size and fitment.
Have a look here for a list of sizes
Some specs on types of extingishers
What do you think this bloke should use Look for the dude in the tower on the right.
Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 13:22
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 13:22
Been thinking of getting a Halotron extinguisher. From what I can find out they're as good as the powder ones without the messy residue.
What's your thoughts on this type?
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 14:35
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 14:35
Halotron came around after I left the RFS, but I know it is good although hard to find and EXPENSIVE compared! But what price is ya
wheels worth...
It leaves no residue either unlike dry Chem, which is nasty powder like talcum powder, and gets into EVERYTHING. Try it one day, let off a 1kg dry chem and stand
well away from the end!
Halotron has replaced the old banned BCF which was sort of the top type for want of better words, but it had harmful to the Ozone layer stuff in it. BCF are actually illegal to have, but I still have a 9kg in the house.
It is listed as Class B and C fires.. But they are not listed for Class A which is suprising although it may work.
Classes of fire
You could try accordin to a thred on the paj site
Mercury Fire Safety Pty Ltd
U1/ 75 Forsyth St O'Connor 6163 (08) 9331 8788
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 21:06
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 21:06
I had an old dear in a Smegma drive stright through a stop
sign into the drivers side door of my old 75 series ages ago. The Mitsi caught alight with the old bird still sitting in it so I grabbed my yellow extinguisher and let it go under
the gap in the bonnet. Worked a treat.
When the fire truck arrived they told me my extinguisher was illegal. I ofered to catch up to the
ambulance and set the lady back on fire if they would prefer it but they said it would be OK.
So yes, the old ones work very
well. Got a red 9kg in a galvinsed steel bracket sitting in the tray of my new 75 nowdays as
well as the little 1kg number next to the transfer case lever too.
Reply By: Moose - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 13:35
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 13:35
G'day Truckster
Yep - carry the 1kg dry chemical type. I reckon it should put out a fire under the bonnet (not the one in the video - he needs a bloody big fire truck!).
I do know that they will put out a tent that's on fire - happened once many years ago when we used to travel with a 3 way fridge. Bought a Trailblaza as soon as we got home after that!
Mate - is it true that the dry chem type contents will settle and they need to be shaken every so often?
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 14:37
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 14:37
yea, shake them up, basically they are filled with powder like talcum.. left standing or laying the stuff packs in.
Most people just fit them in the car and forget.... Shake
well before use!
Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 16:35
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 16:35
Doesn't the shakin', rattlin' and rollin' from off-roadin' shake 'em up enough?
Just curious, I have heard that it's wise to shake 'em up, and I do shake it from time to time.... how often should it be done??
Follow Up By: G-wizz - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 17:34
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 17:34
"Doesn't the shakin', rattlin' and rollin' from off-roadin' shake 'em up enough?"
No it actually settles the powder into a hard lump. That's why they need shaking up.
Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 17:54
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 17:54
fair enough..... I learnt something today..... thanks guys!!!!!
Follow Up By: pjchris - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 15:05
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 15:05
years ago when I owned a service station we had a car catch fire as it was leaving the driveway. A fuel hose popped off the carby under the bonnet we think.
Anyway it took all of a 9kg extinguisher to put it out, and no we didn't lift the bonnet. Just cracked it and shot the powder in.
When we did the fire training they poured 1 litre of petrol into a tray and lit it and then gave us a 1kg extinguisher and told us to put it out.
We couldn't...
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 15:21
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 15:21
pjchris..
Thats a common training exercise with new members and FOAM extinguishers... some can do it, some cant! you basically have to smother the flame of all oxygen..
Aim the nozzle of the foam extinguisher at the backwall of the tray - not at the fluid (dont wanna splash it everywhere), so it runs down the wall of the tray, ONto the fluid, then slowly works its way back towards you.
Follow Up By: pjchris - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 16:00
Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 16:00
Truckster,
Tyhey gave us powder extinguishers....not foam...exactly like you get for the car...
Even the instructer didn't quite manage it.....
Reply By: Rotty - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 13:43
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 13:43
He probably needs several rolls of
toilet paper and a change of jocks. With all that rain/mist spreading the fuel I think a red flag to stop the race may be better than a yellow flag. It does not look like he is holding a fire extinguisher to start with, more like a black flag or similar so a longer stick may be useful to push the fire away and also to put the marshmallows on.
In regards to size of extinguisher many people would struggle with a 9Kg extinguisherat the best of times. The 1 kg ones look good but near to useless, a bit like some passenger cars in the bush and some women in 4x4's in the city who could not even
park a shopping trolley let alone a large 4x4 without hitting something.
Reply By: Member - Mozza (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 13:45
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 13:45
personally.... i don't carry one.
i guess it comes down to the amout of risk that you place you and your 4wd in which determines whether the need to carry one is warranted
i guess in the end... they are a "life saving" device... (mental note: ensure a Fire Extinguisher is incoporated into the design of new storage _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx for 4by)
that car i the above wmv clip sure throws a fair size flame !
Follow Up By: Member - John C (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 16:01
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 16:01
Just drove past a cobra replica yesterday, burnt out to a floor plan.
Wasn't early enough on the scene to loan him an extuingisher.
It looked like they didn;t have one either.
Reply By: pmacks - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 13:55
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 13:55
good topic truckster,
i have a 1kg dry chemical type but i can tell you from experience they are not that good for under bonnet fire.
On the 24 th January 2002 my jackeroo cought fire about 30 klm north of Mittagong NSW the four 1kg extingishers that i and passing motorists had between us didnt do a thing, nor did the 2 x 9kg jobbies that we got from passing trucks then the first rural fire truck turned up and emptied a load of water on the vehicle, but it kept burning didnt go out till second truck turned up with foam and dumped a full load on the girl. End result 1 x pile of motlten metal and plastic and a bad start to the Australia day long weekend.
The caurse of the fire, i had just had a new fuel pump installed and when the mechanic put it in they nicked a fuel line and this made fuel under presure spray around the engine bay.
The good thing about all this i got a new patrol
pmacks
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 14:49
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 14:49
Thats what I mean, the 1kg's are basically as useful as whale nuts on a Tick.
You went through 4, and when you think, some would have been sittin in the car with the powder settling to a block in the bottom, you would have been lucky to get full value out of them. Thats when the old date 'ole would have been twitching as you threw everything out of the car!
But you would have been driving for a while, there would have been masses of fuel in that engine bay and under that car, suprised you didnt smell it... things would have been soaked!
Out of interest, how did they find the nicked fuel line werent they all melted? And who paid for the car in the end!?
Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 14:17
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 14:17
Hi Mate,
I carry a 1kg dry chemical type and have used it once helping another guy out and it emptied itself real quick.
It makes you wonder in the event of a decent fire these would not have enough grunt in them.
Have a good one.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 14:55
Reply By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 14:57
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 14:57
Hey Truckster,
How is ya ?
I have a 1 kg bottle too. Didnt know it needed shaking though, so thanks for alerting me of that.
So what other alternatives do we have mate? cant carry a 9kg bottle and would be stupid having 3 x 1kg bottles as by the time i get to take them all out, chances are the car will be almost crisp !!!
Ange
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 15:26
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 15:26
I actually think a 4.5kg would be nice, fitted inside the rear doors in the corner, basically above the taillights.. Cost about $85+ for Dry Chem
Still all depends on whats burning
Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 00:13
Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 00:13
I have the 3 x 1 kg bottles! 2 in the car, and 1 stays in the camper trailer. I didn't have a clue they needed to be shaken up either. Now I am seriously thinking about getting the 4.5. I realise my reply is a little late to this topic, But I just wanted to say thanks for the info Truckster, it is really appreciated.
Reply By: pmacks - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 15:10
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 15:10
truckster,
nicked fuel line was the reason that the NRMA investigater gave as the only possible cause, this was after they had the car for a month for forensic examination. My understanding is they were going to go the dealer for cost recovery because i had to hand over all reciets from vehicle
servicing. This car was on a novated lease and they got my permission to get a copy of all service documents from the lease company, car was purchased new from dealer and serviced at dealer for its whole life.
We had only done about 40 k's from Campbelltown ( home ) when it went up and the only indication was a plume of white smoke out the back and to tell the truth i thought the radiator had gone because this is what the smoke looked like mind you we were doing 100kph on the expressway and didnt see flames leaping out the bonnet till we stopped. We were very lucky as we had the camper on and managed to get it un hooked and moved and unload the car before it got to hot to get near. Car didn't explode like in movies just a complete burnt out shell not a single wire to be seen under the bonnet and all the plastic was completly gone as well. The car looked just like those you see burnt out in the bush except it had only happened 30 minutes before very surreal.
pmacks
Reply By: gramps - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 15:32
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 15:32
Truckster,
Ha ha ha. The guy in the tower needed at least four arms. Two yellow flags were nowhere near enough.
Dammit! I carry two 1kg jobbies. One fits neatly in a depression under the driver's
seat of the Hilux (there's an opening there for a wisecrack or two :-)) while the other is in a box in
the tub nearest the tailgate.
They both get shaken up whenever I decide to clean the truck (which ain't often) or immediately before a trip.
Don't think there are too many alternatives unless you are about to enlighten us O wise one :-)
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 01:45
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 01:45
Naaaa!!!! Two yellow flags are enough. He only has two arms.
Just needs to flap them a little harder.
I also have a 1kg jobbie under the drivers
seat because I couldn't find the mounting bracket that came with it.
Shouldn't have the same problem with the powder compacting though.
It rolls from side to side in the well, as I turn corners.
Also carry another 1kg bottle in the boat box.
I have a bigger one at home (about a 4kg) and would have problems in shaking this baby very much.
All up, may not be all that much, but in an emergency, it beats trying to p!ss on the fire.
Follow Up By: gramps - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 11:20
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 11:20
If he flapped any harder he'd be airborne LOL
Agree with your sentiments. The 1kg jobbies are not a cure all but at least you have a chance with a small fire before it gets out of control. Obviously nowhere near enough in pmacks case above.
Thanks Truckster for posting a subject the majority of us take for granted and should maybe give a bit more thought to.
Reply By: motherhen - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 15:59
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 15:59
I don't drink the stuff - but the old idea of a carton of
beer being the best fire extinguisher has much merit. Some years ago, my husband was bringing our daughter and friend home for the weekend from boarding school, when they noticed smoke coming out of the dash. Quick stop, disconnect
battery, but by now it was flames. While the girls threw the luggage out of the back windows, some youngsters stopped and sacrificed their
beer and saved our cruiser. Still several thousand dollars worth of repairs (new dash and windscreen), but so close to losing the whole vehicle. A couple of weeks later, a vehicle went up near here so quick that passersby with car fire extinguishers couldn't save it.
Beer has it's merits after all!
Reply By: Member - John C (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 16:03
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 16:03
CAMS just upgraded thier regs for motorkhanas and other club
events from 1 to 2 x 1kg extuingishers. 0.9kg OK for a little while. Just put a 2nd one in my sons car.
Reply By: flappa - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 16:50
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 16:50
Only tried to use them once , had no effect. I dont bother anymore.
I have a fire blanket for the Campertrailer.
Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 17:19
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 17:19
This on the Africian 4x4
forum, sounds like good advice.
Consider the following criteria for fitting a fire extinguisher:
1. It must be in a position where damage to it is unlikely.
2. It must be easily located in the dark.
3. Only a single arm action of the driver should be necessary to locate, unclip and bring it to a usable or carrying position.
4. It must not interfere with the exit or entry to the vehicle.
5. A third party or passenger should be able to locate, unclip and bring it into action with only a bit more difficulty than the driver.
6. Should it accidentally unclip, it should not fall onto the driver or passenger.
Remember that fire extinguishers are usually brought into use during times of stress, like firearms, and therefore any hinderance can mean a catastrophic result. Practice getting it into action and get used to its operation. It may save someones life.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 22:21
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 22:21
thats why I think just inside the rear doors above the tail lights would be perfect for em.
1) check
2) check
3) dont think that it is feesable.
4) check
5) check
6) check.
I have had a 9kg dry chem go off inside the cab of my ute while being used as pickup truck at Oran Park... All we saw was 2 dudes diving out of the doors and white powder pissin out of the cab for about 10 mins.
Reply By: G-wizz - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 17:27
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 17:27
We carry 1kg dry powder extinguishers in our work cars and on at least 2 occasions we have used them to put out fires in other peoples cars successfully. As far as I'm concerned they are a must have.
Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 18:09
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 18:09
I have 3.1kg Powder type ...Quell extinguisher. It lives in a handy space behind the back
seat. When I am travelling it lies under the front
seat covered by a piece of cloth. Is that OK?
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 22:25
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 22:25
If you and Judith know where it is, and you can get to it in a hurry, then yea its fine..
Also extinguishers do 'get out of date'.. if its old it maynot work..
Reply By: Jimbo - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 22:07
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 22:07
If my insurance company would give me a rebate for carrying a decent extinguisher I would carry one.
As they don't, if my car or camper catches fire we will just run, and........
scream FIRE.
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 13:32
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 13:32
scream? doesn't sound like you jimbo....hahahahhaha...
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 12:05
Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 12:05
Better than the bloke in the 91 fires in Menai - they evactuated the area, and the bacon wondered what this bloke was doing on the roof of the house..
Filling his gutters with fluid from jerry cans.. Caring resident isnt he..
Nope it was petrol! he wanted the insurance $!
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 22:26
Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 22:26
Another very VERY important point people.
*** MOST EXTINGUISHERS DO HAVE A USEBY DATE - IF YOU ARE UNSURE, GET IT CHECKED OUT! IT ISNT THAT EXPENSIVE ***
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 06:33
Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 06:33
Ever had one checked out? I have had to for work the first one they just put another tag on it coz they said it couldnt be checked and the rest they said it costs more to check them than the extinguisher is worth so i walked out with 3 newies.
At a bucks show I have seen a 1kg job fully charge fail to even squeek when someone aimed it at the buck
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 12:03
Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 12:03
yea gettin em checked out in the business can be a bit of a scam. Yes, there are some that cant be checked without recharging them.. :-s makes testing a bit shonky eh!
the oen at the bucks may have been the compacted thing mentioned, but could have been something else. when they go off its like a bucket of talcum powder being thrown round - gets into EVERYTHING!
Reply By: RussellV - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 12:43
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 12:43
I have a 1kg Dry chem type. What do people think about strapping one to the passenger side of a cargo barrier??? You could easily store a 3kg there.....
Another thought is what do people do driving through spinifex country and the seeds get around the muffler etc underneath the car and start smoldering you'd need an extinguisher with a decent hose attachment to get to those. I've heard some people use the handheld pump sprayers filled with water for those.. any thoughts on tackling those sort of fires???
Russ
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 15:08
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 15:08
I think having it standing ON something maybe better, like standing on the rear storage, strapped to the cargo barrier in their stand/mount/bracket setup maybe...
I've seen heaps of 1kg strapped to cargo barriers with their bracket kits they come with.
Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 12:51
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 12:51
Yep, 1kg dry chem for me also. Nice point on the shaking mentioned, I didn't know that.
Truckster, you're last point about expiry. Is it expiry (ie. like milk in the sun) or is it a need for a pressure or functioning check? Also, how do you get rid of the thingss if no good? Wouldn't have thought the rubbish bin or tip would take em.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 15:05
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 15:05
Depending on the type and size of unit, you can get them tested...
... but with the 1kg jobs, I think it could be cheaper to replace them, they are only $25ish from Kmart. You would have to check with Wormald or similar companies.
Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 15:15
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 15:15
How would you dispose of the crap unit...?
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 15:21
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 15:21
use it for practice :) Then throw it in bin.