Towing in 5th gear

Submitted: Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 10:36
ThreadID: 25892 Views:4970 Replies:21 FollowUps:15

does anyone know if it is advisable to tow in 5th gear. I have a 2005 Nissan Patrol 4.2 Td and tow around 1600kgs (goldstream camper). I once heard that this is a big no no, and can kill the gearbox real quick.

Don

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 10:38

Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 10:38
I don't tow but general concensus on all the forums I go to is don't do it.
AnswerID: 126936

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 10:47

Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 10:47
Ive done my fair share of heavy towing in 5th, both vehicles no probs, the 1999 4.2td has 330,000ks. I actually cant imagine the extra revs of the diesel in your ears on long trips and the extra fuel..
AnswerID: 126937

Reply By: LIGAF - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 10:52

Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 10:52
always tow in 5th gear
change down when you need to
be damn stupid not to tow in 5th gear
fuel consumption noise wear on engine would be horrific
if they did not expect you to tow in 5th gear they would put a big warning sign to that effect
1600kg is chicken feed on a Patrol
AnswerID: 126939

Follow Up By: GUPatrol - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 18:33

Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 18:33
Recently did some tests with my TD42T 99GU towing a 1600 trailer.

Economy travelling the same route over 300kms was better in 4th than in 5th....

Engine labured less and overhall it was more comfortable, but did change to 5th down hill...
FollowupID: 381555

Reply By: flappa - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 11:04

Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 11:04
Dont labour the motor , change gears when required.
AnswerID: 126941

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 11:12

Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 11:12
Exactly. If the motor labours this will put more stress on the geatbox and more so if in 5th.

Leroy
FollowupID: 381484

Reply By: Member - Maurice F (WA) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 11:06

Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 11:06
Had a gq4.2TD 230,000ks now have 2004 Gu4.2tdi 67000 ks towed 17.6" around Aus 20KS mostly 5th gear no probs 89 -98 2002-- 2005 g/boxes are ok 99-2001 had narrow 5th gear and suffered failures why nissan did this who knows but generally nissan boxes have good name for being tough
Van full sze offroader

Maurie
AnswerID: 126943

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 11:06

Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 11:06
Don,
I used to always tow in 5th gear. However, I had have the gearbox of my 2000 GU 4.2TD rebuilt at around 85,000klm cos 5th cog was just about to let go. This was a well known problem at the time and has since been fixed. The Nissan bloke reckoned that towing in 5th would have been a contributing factor. Others on here have also said that the way a gear box is designed (I know stuff all about it myself), means that 4th is direct drive....not relying on any cogs, just straight through on the main gear shaft... Whereas 5th gear is a relatively small cog, set off to one side of the box and was designed as an overdrive, not for towing.

I'll be interested to see where this post goes, cos I've been towing in 4th gear for quite a while now (about 2 years) and it's a bloody pain in the arze!!! higher revs, reduced fuel economy.
However, having said that, I do notice that my exhaust gas temperature is actually lower when towing at say 2600 rpm in 4th, than it is at 2000 rpm in 5th (on those rare occasions when I do experiment for a short distance on flat highway). This would indicate that the motor is "happier" in 4th.
AnswerID: 126944

Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 13:28

Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 13:28
Roachie - I'm with you. Used to use 5th until this issue was covered in great detail sometime last year. A search should find it. Had some excellent responses from the mechanically knowledgeable (which doesn't include me) explaining why towing in 5th is not advisable. Some people come up with crap for responses - the noise and fuel consumption are not horrific when comparing 4th to 5th - at least not for my petrol 80. Maybe if one towed at 100 plus but when off the blacktop I like to take it easy and I stay off the tar as much as possible. Interesting that you mentioned the temperature - I do recall something about that in the old post I referred to above. In it there was something about the gearbox running a lot hotter in 5th which apparently meant more stress.
FollowupID: 381510

Follow Up By: GUPatrol - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 18:38

Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 18:38
Guys,

What it refers to is the fact that 5th is overdrive, as such it is a much smaller gear and has less surface area to get rid of the heat which contributes to the gear expanding and waring faster.
So regardless of any gearbox fault, 5th gear is not recommended for heavy loads, it was designed as a cruising gear.
This is technically and by design.
FollowupID: 381556

Follow Up By: Goona - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 22:38

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 22:38
Roachie,

What is the build date of your 4.2?

Goona
FollowupID: 382050

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 20:17

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 20:17
Goona......May 2000 mate
FollowupID: 382244

Reply By: garrycol - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 12:16

Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 12:16
Depends on the vehicle and I don't know about the Patrol. Some cars are notorious for chewing out 5th gear.

Commonsense should prevail. No gear likes being overloaded - so driving to the conditions selecting the right gear. We don't labour an unloaded car in 5th gear going up a steep hill so the sames applies when towing - just select the right gear appropriate for the conditions.
AnswerID: 126954

Reply By: Wizard1 - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 12:54

Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 12:54
I'm amazed there wasn't the usual groundswell toward the cons of towing in 5th. Pleased to see I am not the only one that does it with a Jayco 1600 kg caravan.

Apparently some beleive the dramas usually associated with auto overdrives must equate to a manual transmission.

As most have said, keep an eye on the revs and hints the engine is labouring..

When in the NT I used to hook along at 120 with a boat (quite legal there) in 5th and still had juice to overtake road trains, etc...

Wizard
Gold Coast
Prado TD
AnswerID: 126960

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 13:58

Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 13:58
Moose.. diesels are much noiser than petrol engines,
AnswerID: 126968

Reply By: BamBam - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 15:26

Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 15:26
Many folk have talked about not labouring in 5th. When towing would labouring the gearbox be below 80km? 85km? or another speed?

What is a good speed to sit on in 4th when towing?
What would be a good speed to sit on in 5th when towing?
AnswerID: 126974

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 15:36

Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 15:36
G'day mate,
Depends on your vehicle. With the GU, I try to keep the revs around 2000 to 2400......... this is where the donk seems happiest to operate. In 4th gear, 2000rpm is around 85k/h and in 5th it's about 100k/h.

FollowupID: 381536

Reply By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 15:42

Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 15:42
Have just had to spend nearly $2000 to fix gearbox 5th gear failed in 4 2000 GU 4.2. Always changed gears back before labouring, gearbox let go doing just over 100ks per hour speed about 400ks from home after traveilling approx 17000ks trip towing a lighter camper trailer.
Nissan didnt come to the party to fix out of warranty as they were doing to some previous stories due to the faulty manufacture of the spline. Also had a extended warranty plan from where we brought our car second hand and as we coulnt get the car serviced in north WA unless we wanted to stay anywhere from 3 to 7 days to get serviced we did it ourselves and gave the extended warranty the grounds not to fix because we didnt get the service done at the correct mileage. Lost out both ways.
So as for towing in 5th wouldnt suggest it due to our experience.
AnswerID: 126975

Follow Up By: JW - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 17:44

Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 17:44
Roachie,
Are you talking 4.2 or 3.0? Our 2003 3.0 td sits on 2800 in 5 th for 100 kph.
Jon W
FollowupID: 381551

Follow Up By: Goona - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 22:43

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 22:43
Robyn,

What was the build date on your 4.2.

Goona
FollowupID: 382052

Follow Up By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 06:59

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 06:59
Goona
The build date was April 2005 and car is 4.2td. Someone else from the forum had theres in the same workshop at the same time with the same problem. I have since heard of another one in our local area which has done 5th gear as well and made big waves about the problem and he got his done for around $1500. So for towing in 5th I dont think we will be doing it again.
Robyn
FollowupID: 382087

Reply By: Rigor - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 15:46

Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 15:46
Hi everybody, TD 3.0 L jackaroo never slot into 5th until I reach 80 Ks (2000 rpm)
In most cases I would suggest that the average box would be OK , just don't lug , keep the revs up and all should be OK.

Cheers Dave L
AnswerID: 126976

Reply By: Bullwinkle - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 16:01

Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 16:01
I've got a '99 GU ute and pull an extended double horse float all over the place. I've found that the engine labours and gets warm if I sit on 100 in 5th. If I sit on 100 in 4th ( about 2800 I think ) it sits there all day, temp gauge doesn't move and it really doesn't seem to use much extra fuel. I've pulled the float ( about 2.8 tonnes all up ) for about 85000 k's now and haven't had any dramas with the gearbox at all. Cheers.....
AnswerID: 126979

Reply By: arofs1 - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 19:01

Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 19:01
I have had personal experience with a hilux diesel towing in 5th and eventually caused costly repairs. I am sure some vehicles can get away with it (depending on size/towing weight etc), but towing in 5th gear will generally cause excess wear over time. It did take a little getting used to the extra rev's, but I was told it would be more economiical and after doing the sums they were right. As previously stated 5th gear is a lighter cog and bearing and also creates extra tension from the side, which can also cause stress on the main shaft rear bearing.

Brian DJ
AnswerID: 126996

Reply By: ACDC - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 20:26

Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 20:26
Towing heavy loads in 5th gear is not good you have loads on just about every bearing in the box, in 4th very little load as the drive is going straight through the box to the transfercase so more efficient and less heat etc.
AnswerID: 127007

Reply By: snailbate - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 21:38

Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 21:38
hi All
Holden and Ford Gets over the problem of high temp in the dif and gearbox of the V8 and Turbo engines by specification of Synthec oil so i think a bit of synthec oil for the gearbox transfer case and difs could save a bit of wear and heat FOR EXAMPLE in LAND ROVER DEFENDER THAY SAY MINERAL OIL in LAND ROVER DISCOVERY it is SPECIFIED as SYNTHETEC OILS (SORRY FOR THE SPELLING )
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

AnswerID: 127021

Reply By: Trekkie - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 01:20

Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 01:20
Most comments above relate to Nissans.
I have 100S td Auto 3 speed with 4th being O/D. There have been previous posts about this and I have had various responses from Toyota service dept and other mechanics. I tow a camper trailer and use common sense.
On the bitumen I use OD, but flick it off on steep uphill and if it feels/sound lile strain on engine drive train. Almost always turn OD off when I am on dirt.
The Toyota Owners Manual is not really clear. Their only comment is when towing a trailer not to use OD in order to maitain engine braking efficiency.
AnswerID: 127051

Follow Up By: awill4x4 - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 17:37

Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 17:37
Auto's are a different kettle of fish. When towing, try to keep your torque convertor locked up as this reduces the temperature of the trans fluid dramatically. I have a manual lock up switch installed on my GQ and the auto temps really drop when the torque convertor is locked up. I normally tow in 3rd gear with convertor locked as the overdrive in the GQ is ridiculous, it's only doing approx 1700rpm @ 100 kmh with the overdrive on.
Regards Andrew.
FollowupID: 381650

Reply By: Ron173 - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 21:16

Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 21:16
I agree with above few posts, its not an issue at all, if it was it would be in handbook.
Important thing is to drive without engine labouring, if youre in hilly country and that means predominately 4th gear, then so be it, but I doubt any manufacturer would say you should tow in fourth regardless.

Its all about engine loading, its not hard to tell when an engine is struggling, when this is so, change down, and keep revs up, no rocket science, just plain cruisin rules!

Rgds

Ron
AnswerID: 127130

Reply By: 4runner - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 22:35

Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 22:35
I had this discussion with a mate who is a motor mechanic with Nissan. His advice was : "Tow in 5th at your own peril, gerabox overheats, engine is under excessive load, resulting in higher operating temps and the risk of having bits of gearbox strewn across the road is not worth the cost in repairs.Tow in fourth , take your time and you will still get to your destination with an intact gearbox ". So folks from the horses mouth, so to say, tow in 5th at your own peril and dont blame the vehicle when the `box says "ENOUGH" !!! and then dies. Think of the cost of having to have your vehicle towed to the nearest Nissan dealership, not to mention the inconvenience of having to stay in a motel, until the box has been repaired. What you would spend on towing , repairs+labour, accomodation, food and several days taken off your dream holiday becomes an expensive night mare.
AnswerID: 127138

Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 01:15

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 01:15
Before I bought my auto 3.0 patrol, I was looking at a manual 5 speed diesel cruiser. My brother has always said "never tow in 5th" so I phoned several Toyota sevice centres and ALL of them said don't do it. Even when you think your'e not labouring the gearbox, you probably are.

A few years back we drove up to Broome towing a Jayco camper with a 3.0 Auto patrol. Our traveling companions also towed a Jayco camper but with a 5 speed manual 4.2d cruiser. I towed in 3rd (auto), he towed in 5th. I used less fuel, didn't need to push the car as hard, and generally cruised along with no worries. He didn't say but I'm sure in the back of his mind he was concerned about the "MYTH" about towing in 5th.
AnswerID: 127148

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 11:16

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 11:16
Your not exactly comparing apples with apples are you?

Of course a 3.0TD uses less fuel, it is a smaller engine!

In addition the ratios are probably worlds apart for your Nissan auto and the tojo manual for your 3rd and his 5th.
FollowupID: 382320

Reply By: hl - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 11:01

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 11:01

My 2001 GU is currently at the local dealer having the gearbox replaced. (It has been there for nearly 4 weeks!!!!!)
It has done just under 50000k and towed very little. On the last trip to the Corner Country I noticed that 5th gear was a bit hard to downshift from after running for a while. I had the truck checked beginning of this month which confirmed 5th was about to go. We tow only a small box trailer full of camping gear.
When they stripped the box they decided it was cheaper to replace box as the cost of parts required would exceed the cost of a complete unit.
Anyway, should get it back tomorrow, but they sure take their time.
The vehicle is under extended warranty. Will I use 5th for towing again?
Sure, there is nothing in the operating manual that says anything about that. I believe it was a defect on a certain range, 2000-2002. I think it is also likely that the original design of this box which has been around for quite a while, did not anticipate the higher torque of the newer engines. So current ones should be fine.

AnswerID: 127164

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 17:32

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 17:32
hl , I think these guys are having a go at you , normally only need to replace a gear and a shaft , took 2 days the first time , 1 day after the reco box let go . Why do you need the whole box ? What dealership ?

Glenn
FollowupID: 381728

Follow Up By: hl - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 17:43

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 17:43
Yes, you are so right Glenn..
Won't say too much right now, just want my truck back!
FollowupID: 381730

Follow Up By: hl - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 18:04

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 18:04
Hi again...
Got my truck back on monday. 2 days short of 4 weeks. They did fit a brand new box and I am very happy with that (don't think the shift pattern would have been the same if these guys had actually re-build the box!)
As it happened, they did manage to drag the job out over another weekend even though they got the new box on thursday.
In addition, they didn't replace the small plug on the bottom of the clutch housing so water could have got in on the next river crossing. And, they re-fitted the drive shaft back to front. I don't think it matters a lot but I have always thought it is best to put things back the way they came out. After all, there are paint marks on the drive flanges from the factory so it can be put back the same way without stressing the brain. All in all, not a real happy experience except for getting a brand new box. The dealer is on the Northern Beaches here in Sydney.....
I must say Nissan were quite supportive after the first week and apparently paid the dealer to provide a loan car (a KIA.. not a good replacement for a Patrol, believe me!)
Why they took nearly 4 weeks.. I don't know, but I did have a similar experience with the same dealer 3 years ago with my previous Patrol.
Maybe they just hate me......But when they lie to you (as they did then) it is very hard to regain confidence. Once again they have lived up to my expectations.

FollowupID: 382408