Mixing Oil

Submitted: Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 16:18
ThreadID: 25962 Views:2469 Replies:3 FollowUps:12
I read recently in the forum about mixing engine oil, but can not find it again.

Is there a problem if I mix 2 oils in the engine.

After I did my last oil change I accidently bought Castrol instead of Valvoline which I used last time and had some left of. Without starting an argument is it bad if I use the castrol to mostly fill after draining oil (and replacing filter) and top up with the valvoline? In other words use 2 manufacturers oil products together.

Engine is 2.8TD.

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 16:35

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 16:35
I don't believe there would be any adverse side effects of mixing oil brands. They should preferrably be the same "type" of oil (ie: viscosity rating and intended use etc). I have recently switched over to using a fully synthetic oil (AMSOIL 15w40), but the agent from whom I bought it said it would be quite okay to top-up the oil with some of the Caltex Delo 400 I already have at home. I am in a "R&D" stage with my engine oil, since I fitted a full AMSOIL by-pass system. Part of this "R&D" includes sending oil samples off to Castrol's laboratory in Sydney at various intervals so that they can evaluate the quality of the oil.

I used to change my oil religously every 5000klm. However, I have done almost 9,000 since the last oil change and the latest test results show everything is still going okay. There is still no sign of any soot in the oil and it is still nice and "thin". I'm hoping to get maybe 20,000klm out of each oil change.

Sorry for the off-topic.
AnswerID: 127324

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 16:39

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 16:39
Im gonna use that stuff yuo gave me this weekend, what were the steps with it?

Drain, refill with oil, add that stuff, drive 20mins drain again fill and live happily ever after?
FollowupID: 381826

Follow Up By: Member - John C (QLD) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 17:01

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 17:01
Roachie,

Have a friend doing the same with a diesel disco.
Without the full bypass system, just the normal filter.
Gets it tested when he changes the filter.
Has just done 20,000 and report back says should be good to 40,000 plus at the moment.
Only oil he puts in is to replace the oil thrown away with the filter.
FollowupID: 381830

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 17:04

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 17:04
Yep, that's the right steps....just use cheap chit oil for the 20 minutes. They actually recommend not to "drive" as such, just to "fast idle" it for 20 minutes (around 1100 rpm)...... Of course you and I can do that with the hand throttle....there's not too many vehicles around these days that still have that feature.
FollowupID: 381832

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 17:34

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 17:34
G'day John,
One of the things that's not easy with doing these oil tests is getting a sample out of the motor. The easy way would be to get a syringe and suck some out of the dipstick hole. Castrol kits actually include a long plastic hose that fits down there but I haven't got a syringe.
The first sample I took involved several times of sucking the oil up the hose until it almost got to my mouth, then blowing hard back down the tube to force the oil into the sterile container. Of course that result came back with a "WARNING: water present" courtesy of my breath depositing water in the oil. So the next sample I took was by taking off the main Bypass oil filter and draining the oil out of it. Of course what i was actually doing was "back-washing" the krap from the filter into the sterile jar....so a reading of increased soot was recorded.
I've now bought a new sump plug as advertised in the latest 4wd Monthly mag (www.futomo.com.au), which will enable me to easily drain a small amount of oil out without losing the lot or getting a contaminated sample.

FollowupID: 381839

Follow Up By: Member - toohey - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 19:20

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 19:20
gid'ay roachie
this sounds good,is there a web site for info.we've been do'in this with cat. dozers(testing) for years
cheers toohey.
FollowupID: 381852

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 22:07

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 22:07
how much does oil testing cost, and where do you get it done?
FollowupID: 381870

Follow Up By: Harrow - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 22:23

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 22:23
Hi Roachie

You can insert a small sampling tap into the mounting block if the dual bypass system, there are 2 bungs in the full flow filter end, the RHS bung can be removed and a small sampling tap inserted.

Just make sure you give it a wipe and flush a little oil out before taking your sample with the motor running to give oil pressure.
The tap is handle is best drilled and tied with tie wire to make sure that it dosnt vibrate open (just as they do on aircraft).

On my 1hz with aftermarket Turbo using my Amsoil dual bypass setup at 25,000km this oil and filter set and still fine.
What is the cost and contact details of The caltex oil testing, I want too see if the results concurr with the results with my oil testing facility.

Oh by the way the main tank is now for "Biodiesel" and the Longrange SUB is for standard diesel (Not sure if the hoses on the aftermarket LR tank are suitable for Biodiesel)

just testing at the moment and limited supply 60 L at a time so trying to get a full Biodiesel tank to test consumption.

When I flick from Standard Diesel to BioDiesel on dead flat Hwy with cruise control on at 110 Km my EGT drops by about 10oC from 275 to 265 oC (pre turbo temp) and the boost did not change at all.
change to Standard diesel and it goes up again, repeated it a few times and is consistant.

Also the motor loses some of that diesel knock, had to tell my mate to get out and walk as he said it sounded like a Petrol, insensitive b@stard.

Harrow
FollowupID: 381874

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 22:26

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 22:26
Toohey and Truckster,

I contacted Castrol on 1300 554 890 after looking up their website:
www.castrol.com.au

They put me through to someone in their sales department and I gave them my details.

They sell the kits in a minimum batch of 10 and they cost me about $33- each. You receive a cardboard box which contains 10 zip-top plastic bags; each of which contains a black plastic bottle/jar and a Aust Post prepaid lable to send it to Castrol. Inside that bottle is a smaller, clear plastic jar, into which you put about 200ml of oil. Each bag also contains a plastic tube about 4' long and a form to fill out with all the relavent deatils of the oil and the machine and compartment it came from.

You may be able to share the package with a mate (or 2) as the initial outlay of $330- (you have to pay up front) is a bit stiff, but the credit card didn't quite go into melt-down.

FollowupID: 381875

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 22:49

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 22:49
300 jam that!

shame i dont live in the nell still, could have given it to wayne to test!
FollowupID: 381878

Follow Up By: Shane (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 09:39

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 09:39
Roachie,
If you want to get oil from the sump in any quantity all you have to do is to go to Whitworths (Boats), and buy a sump pump which is made to suck the oil through the dipstick hole on inboard motors. These come in electrical & mechanical, but the mechanical Finspray is the better one to buy. About $30 from memory.
FollowupID: 381910

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 20:47

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 20:47
Shane , thanks for the tip.....I've already got the whiz-bang sump plug now, so will probably go with that idea, but probably should've got the sump-pump I spose....

Harrow, I saw the pet-cock which can be screwed into the opposite end of the dual by-pass. My supplier did not have this and in any case, the way I've installed the dual head unit, those 2 bungs are hard-up against the bullbar.

Good to read that you've got 25000klm out of your oil. The bloke who sold me my set-up has a GQ ute with over 170,000klm on it and he's changed the oil only 3 times since he bought it new. No worries.

The Patrol cannot have 2 separate fuel choices really, cos the sub-tank pumps across to the main tank, so the 2 different fuel types would soon become mixed together. Strange though that you can get such a better result with the biodiesel. Makes me wonder!!!
FollowupID: 382249

Reply By: Tanka - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 17:10

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 17:10
Im sure many people have mixed oil for thousands of years without any trouble at all. I wouldnt see any drama as long as the viscosities were similar and both oils are designed to run in your turbo motor. Not sure about mixing mineral oil with synthetic though, as I know with greases if you mix different types it can have disasterous consequences. The only thing that you can be sure of however, is that in the event of any oil related failure or problem that occurs whilst mixing oils, neither oil company is going to want to touch you with a twelve foot pole.
Tanka.
AnswerID: 127327

Reply By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 17:47

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 17:47
I'm told that many motors, including mine don't completely drain when we do a change anyway. There's a lot left in my system - the plumbing for the various systems is so convoluted that when we change oils by design, we might well have a litre plus of dirty oil left in the system anyway - My guess is that if the new oil's specs are much the same as the old one, there's not much more than a camp fire yarn in the whole question ! Castrol told me that mixing synthetic and conventional when changing from one to the other was not an issue.
AnswerID: 127330

Follow Up By: ChrisGU - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 09:37

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 09:37
Thanks for that people. I figured it'd be ok, but it's always nice to know. Might have to try and find some AMSOIL 15w40 somewhere in adelaide and give it a go. Nothing like a bit of R&D.

FollowupID: 381909