chump_boy
Does anyone know what those doofuses are protesting about in
Sydney?
It seems to be a general purpose protest....banners for Voluntary Student Unionism, Get Out of Iraq, No HECs, something about the World Health Organisation.....
200 Students without classes today, hey?
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 13:45
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 13:45
I thought they wee protesting about a few blokes who had more money than they did??????
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 13:46
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 13:46
$hit did it again, should be "were" not "wee"
Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 13:49
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 13:49
I was listening to talkback radio about this on the way to work (yeah... I admit I listen to talkback). It came to light that out of those arrested, they were ALL aged between 20 and 24.
Do they need an education..... or a "lesson"?
Follow Up By: chump_boy - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 13:58
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 13:58
It was actually quite amusing to see more office workers on the foot path than protesters walking along the street. There would have been 200 of the little cretins at most. Watch the news tonight, and see how many of the people shown were wearing business clothes....
If they are going to march during lunchtime in
Sydney, they need to rent a few more people me thinks....
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 14:37
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 14:37
Simple, they need a job and kicked off the dole.
Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 15:20
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 15:20
Spot on truckster.
Show me someone with a full time job that has time to protest!
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 20:02
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 20:02
Actually I have long intended on getting onto one of those protests - especially the ones outside of the detention camps coz in case you havnt noticed there is a disproportianate amount of 20 something shielas. Y know I can spin them a line about just returning from India after building some orphanages etc etc
Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 20:05
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 20:05
LOL Davoe !!!
You couldget bashed with a truncheon and gain one of these girls' sympathy.....
You sook!
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 21:13
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 21:13
nah I didnt mean actually do the hard yards. I am picturing my self wearing an amnesty international t shirt covered with that fake blood and a bit round the nose sitting a few hundred yards back pretending to nurse my wounds with a busted guitar alongside me (so they dont fintd out I cant play folk music with it) just waiting for some kind assistance
Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 21:22
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 21:22
mate you got to watch those protester girls, when i was at rmit i walked into the street to check out what they were protesting against that day and this chick who had never used a toothbrush approached me to get me to join in, as it was i actually agreed with the gov policy in question and told her of my opinion, to that she said, i supported mass murder. i couldnt quite see the link but anyway she was kind of gross to be around and you dont want to be striking up a relationship with a chick like that!
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 21:37
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 21:37
Is that supposed to put me off? Maaaaayte if it wasnt for fat ugly chicks with bad teeth I would still be a virgin
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 22:44
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 22:44
gee F4, your picky!! any port in a storm!
Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 23:50
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 23:50
Upright and breathing gets a tick :)
Reply By: flappa - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 13:51
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 13:51
Isn't it because they are Influential Business People . . . Some of the Top Ranking Businessmen (haven't heard of any females) in the World.
The sort of people that "could" apply a little pressure to Pollies ?
Professional Protestors , wouldn't feed any of them
Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 14:00
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 14:00
Definitely the usual rent a crowd mob.
Follow Up By: flappa - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 14:11
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 14:11
Years ago I worked in
Nimbin.
Every week , Buses left there for protests all over Australia.
I have very CLEAR
views on Professional Protestors.
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 16:40
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 16:40
Hi flappa...
"Professional Protestors , wouldn't feed any of them "
Trouble is you're already feeding them, with your taxes...
Reply By: Time - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 16:20
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 16:20
I'm just glad I live in a country that allows protests.
I wonder what these people would think about 4WDers protesting about the closure of tracks?
I seem to remember being classed just the same way during the moritorium protests of the 70s, but everyone of my generation now thinks that those protests were valid and went a long way to changing the nature of Australia and encouraging us all to question what governments do in our name.
............I'm not about to start throwing stones.
Follow Up By: Member - Russell B (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 16:58
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 16:58
I believe in the right to protest, strike etc I don't believe in violence.
And I'll beat the crap outa the first person who disagrees with me.
Follow Up By: Old Soldier - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 21:16
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 21:16
Yeah, I remember you blokes.
Remember you
well.
You're the blokes that used to spit on us and throw animal blood on us when we returned from Vietnam.
Bet ya feel proud about that eh???
Like I said - I remember you
well
Follow Up By: Member - Russell B (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 21:37
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 21:37
Nah ya got me wrong, I won the lottery in 71 and proudly wore the jungle green serving in the CMF.
so there!
From one grumpy old sod to the other.
RR
Follow Up By: Old Soldier - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 21:48
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 21:48
Nah - not you Russell - the bloke from the moratorium protests above you. :-)
Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 23:22
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 23:22
Hah, I remeber seeing a protest at some economic sumit a few years back. A great horde was protesting about globalisation. Whilst I must say I'm no fan of global corporations either... one idiot was carrying around a dirty big
sign saying BOYCOTT NIKE - JUST DO IT !!! and the journo walked over to him, asked him what was so bad about Nike.. he spoke a heap of crap.. then the camera moved down to his feet.. yes.. A nice clean set of Nikes on his feet... maybe some of you might remeber that one...
Follow Up By: Time - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 13:07
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 13:07
The bigger the generalisation the bigger the red neck !!
Follow Up By: Old Soldier - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 20:07
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 20:07
Time,
No generalisation on my part pal
I have personal experience.
Me and about 6 other blokes who came of a civvie flight in
Adelaide in the middle of a demonstration.
All wearing plainly visible Red Cross Medevac tags
Two on crutches - one on a stretcher.
Still we copped abuse from pricks like you.
Really made me proud to be an Australian.
If that makes me a red neck - so be it.
We did not ask to go to Vietnam - we were sent.
At least we gave service to our country
What have you done.?????????
Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 21:54
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 21:54
If I may say so, we live in a country that allows us to enjoy perhaps a higher degree of freedom than any other in the world. To some, that also includes the right to protest. But it should never be forgotten that our freedom came at a bloody price. Dearly paid by the Diggers and their families. Noteven the the largest or loudest protest has ever had as much impact on me , as the silent reverance of an Anzac Day dawn service. If the time ever comes to defend this country, I'd happily form up with the likes of Old Soldier and the rest of his redneck mates and defend the rights of people like Time protest those who might return.
Reply By: techie - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 17:18
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 17:18
My 2 bobs worth:
Uni lectures, tutes etc take up about 20 to 24 hrs / week for 4 subjects.
3 subjects = 18 hrs per week.
The rest is study/ assignments etc etc.
Attendance at lectures is not compulsory - just attend the tutes and pass the exams.
Therefore there is a lot of free time to attend protests etc.
If you fail the exams the Uni usually requires a reason for not expelling you
ie other subjects were ok - you attended the tutes, you did the assignments.
Fail a second time and you better have a bloody good reason!!
Most attend protests to watch - I did, and the free food (Austudy is pretty miserable).
Re waste of Govt money.
The amount the Govt spends on unemployed is miniscule in comparison to what the spend on themselves and
infrastructure. (police , electricity, water etc etc).
The max an unemployed single person can get (including rent subsidy if rent > $200wk) is $507/ fortnight. ie $253 p/week.
Try living on this in
Sydney.
Unemployed do NOT want to be on the dole unless they live at
home.
Donk
ps maybe thats 4 bobs worth.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 20:04
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 20:04
In this current economic climate the only people without jobs that are capable of working are tose that dont want to work
Reply By: Member - ROTORD - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 15:34
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 15:34
Hey Time
You like to question our government ! You supported Ho Chi Min , I wonder if they can question their government . The troops I worked with in Vietnam were magnificant . I couldnt describe your mob without obscenities .
Reply By: barry74 - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 19:13
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 19:13
This is my first EVER post - can I just say from north Qld that it's great to see someone actively using 'doofus'. I thought that this word was becoming extinct ... great to see it to be used describing razor dodgers!