Gas radiant heaters that screw onto a bottle
Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 21:49
Jimbo
I bought a Gasmate heater today. My wife has been a bit crook and I need something to warm the camper for her after a shower and before bed.
I screwed it onto a gas bottle tonight and it sure belts out some heat. I have no doubt it will do the job.
My query is this. It is rated to use 106 grams of gas per hour. For the heat it puts out this seems to be a bargain. Do they really use that little?
Or should I get an extra gas bottle to be safe?
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 22:23
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 22:23
Aw Jimbo, you're just a big softie you are!
Good to see you are looking after your Bride mate.
I always have a back-up gas bottle available, even though my 4.5 litre bottle has a gauge on it. The extra 3 litre bottle doesn't take up that much room in the camper.
Reply By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 22:34
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 22:34
Jimbo , being in Godsown Qld we don,t get to use our heater a great deal so cannot advise on consumption ,but will tell you to make BL--DY sure that you have bulk amount of fresh air VENTILATION when using the heater ,tits gas +oxygen your burning ,plenty of cases of "no wake up" due to lack of ventilation , ,keep warm but keep safe.
Follow Up By: Jimbo - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 22:57
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 22:57
Fine advice.
It won't be used whilst we're asleep.
Like you, I lived in that godforsaken dung hole called QLD for 8 years. It was all aircon and fans.
Hot today, frigging hot tomorrow.
In
Townsville we could only
camp for four months of the year. Other than that you would trade your tent for a sauna.
I couldn't wait to get back to civilization.
Follow Up By: bgreeni - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 23:28
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 23:28
After 3 years in the 'civilisation' of London, I look back on 25 years of
Townsville's climate with a great deal of kindness
Reply By: Redback - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 23:08
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 23:08
Jimbo with what your situation is at the moment have a look at this, it's what we use and we don't care what others think, we just use it, trust me i know how you feel and what your going through.
[ View Image]
And no it's not the dog it's the heater, it's worth the money mate trust me, the peace of mind of the warmth is good, setting it up is easy too, we have it the same way at home.
Follow Up By: Jimbo - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 23:20
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 23:20
Great set up Baz.
Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 23:56
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 23:56
Baz ,love the heater , don,t know why you need one though when you have such a fine dog to keep you warm on them cold nights ,,, still stress need bulk ventilation using gas from bottle or from dog ..LoL.
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 09:23
Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 09:23
Sorry Jimbo, hijacking this post......
Hey Baz, I don't seem to have your email addy. Was wondering if Vanessa has finished with my
balaklava. Could have used it a couple of times recently.
Hope things are
well, there in the Big Smoke.
Follow Up By: Redback - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 16:37
Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 16:37
Sorry Willem i just spoke to her and she said "oh no i forgot" so we'll send it monday.
Email is
bmfitz at optusnet dot com dot au
Sorry mate
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 18:40
Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 18:40
No worries, Baz
Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 07:41
Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 07:41
I am always scared that someone not as
bright as you Jimbo will use a gas heater on a chilly night in an enclosed space. Carbon monoxide poisoning is quite a common cause of death apparently. Carbon monoxide safety
Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 08:53
Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 08:53
Thanks for that.
I was of the understanding that burning of Propane/Butane did not produce CO. The only danger I was aware of, was the burning of any flame consumes oxygen and hence the need for adequate ventilation.
I note it is a US site and wonder when they refer to gas, do they mean gasoline? I need to do further research.
Follow Up By: navaraman - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 09:57
Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 09:57
Jim,
As a gas fitter I can assure you that LPG can produce CO. This will only occur if there is insufficient ventilation available, or appliance is in need od service. Under normal combustion it will produce CO2 and H20. Personally I don't know how these things are legal, all gas appliances need minimum ventilation, distance from combustible materials and need to be secure so as not to fall over. How any of these criteria can be gauranteed for a portable appliance in a tent/camper/caravan is beyond me.
If there is a rating on the heater inMJ/h I can tell you how much ventilaition is required.
Follow Up By: navaraman - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 09:59
Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 09:59
Above posted by Patrolman Pat.
Membership lapsed and unable to change username
Follow Up By: navaraman - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 10:12
Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 10:12
Heater should be 5.3 MJ/h. Ventilation requirements should be minimum 15cms2 at high and low level.
It is illegal to install a flueless appliance in a bedroom according to the AGA gas regs ( there is probably a reason these things get around that but I'm buggered if I can work out why.) There is also a clause restricting the type of heater allowed in a caravan, these don't meet that standard
Like I said above how these things can be sold is beyond me.
Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 12:12
Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 12:12
Thanks for your help Pat.
Yes, it is 5.3 MJ/h. The side curtains on the camper are up high and do not seal completely. The flap on the end of the fold out tent bit is down low and it also does not seal fully.
I'm thinking I'll easily get 15 square cms at each of these. That is only a gap the size of packet of smokes. To be safe I'll unzip them a bit.
I'm assuming these figures you have provided are for continuous use? Are you saying it can be safely run all night with that ventilation? I don't plan to run it all night whilst we are in there. Just somewhere to go to get dressed after a shower and warm up the camper for an hour before we go to bed.
Thanks Again,
Follow Up By: navaraman - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 12:42
Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 12:42
I wouldn't run one whilst sleeping or with the camper unattended purely from a fire risk point of view. If ventilation is adequate, and in a camper that shouldn't be a problem at all, then the flue gases shouldn't be a problem. I'm overly cautious about these things and tbh you would have to be very unlucky to encounter problems.
We bought an electric fan heater for
camping (only useful on powered sites though) and it does make a huge difference when you keep warm.
Just apply commonsense Jim.
Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 17:06
Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 17:06
Thanks Pat,
Help appreciated.
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 08:54
Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 08:54
G'day Jimbo.
Good to see another who uses this method of heating.
Who cares whether its 105, 106, 108 or 200gms of gas per hour as long as you and yours are warm.
Also the sucker will run out of gas when not expected - just like a BBQ, so carry a an extra bottle.
I'll give you a ring later on (Sat) and tell you where you can all sorts of size bottles at the 'right' price. (Just for you).
Take no notice of the doom, gloom and dispare brigade - a little 'common Dog' goes a long way.
Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 08:57
Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 08:57
Thanks Ken.